Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Subaru Impreza 1997-2016Change

108 reviews
4.5/5
Subaru Impreza
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2016
1 review
2009
8 reviews
2002
4 reviews
2015
3 reviews
2008
8 reviews
2001
4 reviews
2014
1 review
2007
9 reviews
2000
5 reviews
2013
6 reviews
2006
7 reviews
1999
3 reviews
2012
8 reviews
2005
8 reviews
1998
3 reviews
2011
9 reviews
2004
5 reviews
1997
1 review
2010
9 reviews
2003
6 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 89 reviews
1 234 >

2000 Subaru Impreza

Trim: 2.5RS
by theSTiBear on 07-23-2015
1st Generation is the best!
Purchased used one from Subaru and had drove for 10 years all-season daily owner. Excellent driving condition on summer and snow performance because it comes with rear-wheel locked differential (STi model after 2004 comes with hydraulic controlling). It changed me to become engineer because it made me figuring out how AWD and Subaru rally works. It was one of the best hobbies ever had before I purchased XV. I miss it sadly and MUST have it back!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Subaru Impreza

Trim: 2.5i SportWagon Special Edition
by RobbieSTG on 07-16-2015
Very strong vehicle All-around
I purchased this car new and have enjoyed it ever since. I was looking for something with 4 doors, all-wheel drive, and a manual transmission. Naturally, the Subaru won over its competition. The wagon's seats go down allowing for a lot of cargo space, the engine is more powerful than Civics or Corollas, and the All Wheel Drive system is extremely advantageous in Ontario. It is also a sporty drive, with a sharp manual shifter from STI and loads of grip in cornering and acceleration. The sport bucket seats taken from the WRX also hold you in on spirited drives. The brake system is also uprated. The larger engine and AWD system do come at a small price; fuel economy. You get more out of the car, but you have to put a little more in at the pump. In the end, I'm sure the driving enthusiast will decide this trade-off is worth it. (~10L per 100KM)
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Subaru Impreza

Trim: 2.5 Sport with Manual Trans
by Auto9068 on 06-28-2015
Good Road Manners
Excellent for Cdn Prairie winters especially with winter tires. Excellent handling and road feel with good steering feedback. Reliability has been very good and after 100k replaced valve cover gaskets, fuel cap, battery and tires plus regular maintenance. Interior is plain but all needed features are there including stability control. Seats are OK. Subies are noted for their excellent safety and crash test results. I have been very happy with this car and I note that re-sale value is also very good.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Subaru Impreza

Trim: WRX STi Tech Package
by azeagman on 11-27-2014
Fun to drive and more practical than you think
This has been a great car for me. With 305hp and it's rally pedigree it is the most driving fun you can have at this price range. The 5-door body also makes it far more practical than other sports cars. This car eats up the road will carry whatever you need to bring with you.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Subaru Impreza

Trim: WRX STi WRB
by ELEMENT on 11-05-2014
AMAZING RIDE
The Best Ride I have ever had!
Nothing I have ever driven compares yet.
Love this Car for everything I do. Work, Space, Play, Race.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Subaru Impreza

Trim: IMPREZA OUTBACK Sport
by subaru6107 on 07-10-2014
fast, good mileage and durable
great little car it ran great and got excellent fuel economy. it had a few problems like the clutch going and burning some oil but after 237000 km you can't complain about that. I used to be a ford man but this subaru was problem free.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
2/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Subaru Impreza

Trim: Sport
by DrDracula on 07-08-2014
Best car in it's class!
I love this car to absolute bits! I wish I did not have to sell it but I need an SUV. This car has never been stuck during winter and is an absolute beauty! If I get a chance to get another sport car, I will absolutely go for another Subaru Impreza!!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Subaru Impreza

Trim: XT
by LULU2031 on 06-11-2014
This a sought after 2.5 XT Turbo model
Great ride with styling, comfort and powerful performance in like new condition - fully loaded with great handling and driving style choices at your finger tips.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Subaru Impreza

Trim: Sport
by ShaoLimper on 05-13-2014
Safest most reliable car onthe road
Beautiful blend of everything with a heavy focus on safety. IIHS gives it a top Safety pick for crashtest safety. It also has the best All-Wheel Drive system on the market so you get crash prevention safety as well. Literally, nothing compares.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Subaru Impreza

Trim: 2.5i Sport
by Subaru2008 on 04-21-2014
Great handling, hugs the road. Fantastic for winter driving
I bought this car at Subaru des Sources in March 2008. I enjoy driving it. It was my first all wheel drive cat. I am sold on the concept. I would never go back to a front wheel drive, especially with the weather conditions in Montreal.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Subaru Impreza

Trim: TS
by Impreza on 04-14-2014
My review of my impreza
Over all car is great. Love the AWD system, lots of fun in the winter time. If you never had a AWD you should try one, made me feel like a kid again. Great on gas, got it to give me about 92-100 km for 10 L. Power wise it's not bad but a turbo on it would make it better. Didn't have any problems that I can complain about. Love the fact that you can take the car apart very easily, interior is mostly on clips.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Subaru Impreza

Trim: 2.5i
by AMKorver on 03-25-2014
The Boxter engine and AWD say it all
Subaru makes a great car, we all know that --- but it's the Boxter engine and AWD which give it the power to stick on the road when driving the highway in the winter (to go skiing). The Impreza is a safe, reliable, comfortable and good-looking!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Subaru Impreza

Trim: 2.5 RS
by Adrienne on 02-10-2014
Most reliable and safe vehicle on the market!
This car will get you anywhere you need to go regardless of the conditions. Great for the back country traveler as well.

It's very spacious with all the amenities you need.

Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Subaru Impreza

Trim: Standard
by myopinion on 12-01-2013
Been a great car
Driving it for over a year.. hassle free and quality. Great handling in the snow, especially with good winter tires. Doesn't seem to mind the cold.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Subaru Impreza

Trim: WRX
by Imprezablue555 on 11-21-2013
AWESOME CAR!
This car is great, and no one buys this car for the gas mileage. The handling is outstanding is any weather condition on any type of surface. If you want fast, responsive, fun to drive car, with amazing handling and performance, that is also safe and reliable... This is what you want. AWD makes all the difference in the world when driving in less than ideal situations. The handling of my 2000 Impreza saved my butt during several harsh winters. That being said the 2013 is even more capable. This car rocks!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Subaru Impreza

Trim: IMPREZA OUTBACK
by Pammy3181 on 11-06-2013
Want a Safe Car !!!
Once you own a Subaru, that is the only thing you will wanna drive, i can guarentee.. Look around there are alot on the road.. Safe, cool cars for Canadien winter.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Subaru Impreza

Trim: 2.0i Limited
by CarMaster8625 on 10-22-2013
Its a Subaru what can I say!
I have owned 3 Subies and they have all been great, this one is no different. My next car will be a subaru.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2011 Subaru Impreza

Trim: Touring
by Geny on 09-06-2013
It's a wonderful car!
Owning this Subaru was honestly an amazing experience. It drives so smoothly and offers a lot of comfort for a small-size vehicle. Driving it was excellent and it is very safe in the winter-time.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 Subaru Impreza

Trim: Brighton Wagon
by ImprezaBrighton on 08-04-2013
" Man's Best Friend ?" - I sure think so!
This incredible little work horse has shuttled my wife and grans daughter through all sorts of weather, over ice and snow and through heavy rainfall without ever hesitating or showing signs of "unwillingness". The 2.2 litre engine is so much more reliable than the later 2.5 litre version; headgasket failure on a 2.2 is almost unheard of. It might not be the world's "coolest looking car" but it certainly more enjoyable than some of it's German built competitors, especially when it comes to paying for front end "rehab"....When the wife wanted to replace the car, we were trying for a long time to find an Impreza with manual transmission and the 2.2 engine; regrettably they are not being made any more and the few that we could look at (used) were priced by "wishful thinking", rather than reality....My wife would buy the same car new in a heart beat, if it still was available; most likely the best car she ever had!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Subaru Impreza

Trim: Limited
by SJP on 07-30-2013
2010 Impreza Sedan
I bought my 2010 Impreza 2.5i Limited used, in 2012. It now has 106,000km on it.

AWD:
Living in Canada, it's important to me that I have a reliable vehicle that's good on fuel and that can also handle some of the harsh winter storms. This car is a tank in the snow! I've taken it out for a run in parking lots when the town is basically shut down from a snow storm - this thing will go anywhere! It also allows you to turn off traction control (which I've never had to do).

Fuel:
All I do is city driving. I get about 475-525km/tank, which isn't bad for JUST city driving and a permanent AWD system. I've taken it to my cottage multiple times, getting around 650-675km/tank.

Pros:
My Limited Impreza came with the built-in satellite radio and a 3 year deal with Sirius XM. It has a sunroof, spoiler and a nice black tint. The fog lights are a nice add-on too. I love the look of the exhaust - it's a "Y" exhaust, but people tend to think it's dual. I also have the WRX sport seats with an entire leather interior. I enjoy the heated wipers - perfect for that little layer of frost/ice in the mornings.

Cons:
The heat shield rattle is quite annoying. I have it clamped down right now, but you can still hear it. I'm not a fan of the sound system. I believe it's Pioneer. It's not the greatest (And I have the "Premium Sound System" apparently, so I couldn't imagine what the regular one sounds like!) I've also had issues with the fog lights cracking... I had to pay about $450 worth of repairs for JUST fog lights! I then bought Subaru's "Fog Light Protectors" and I haven't had an issue with them since.

Overall, being my first vehicle, I'm extremely impressed with this car. It gets me to work every day, no matter what the weather decides to bring. It's fun to drive and also has a decent amount of power. I definitely feel that Subaru will be in mind when I go and purchase my next vehicle!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2002 Subaru Impreza

Trim: TS
by RaseacRao on 07-15-2013
It is what it is, and that is pretty good
I've had this car 3 years, and put 90,000Km on it. It's at 230,000KM now, and it's still pretty outstanding. Great on any road in any road conditions. Reliable and easy to fix. Not prertty, not even average looking, quite unattractive in every way, but consistently so. You really can't find a single angle which makes you want to have anyone see you getting in or out of this car, especially the drivers seat. I drive Calgary to Edmonton every week, all year, and this car has never let me down. I used to drive only German cars, but not one of them has even come close to this car's performance in bad weather, and my infrequent repair bills are eyebrow rainingly small. I will buy another one for sure.... and may get in from the passenger side, or stick a rental car sticker on the bumper to cope with the horrid styling.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
1/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Subaru Impreza

Trim: WRX turbo charged
by subaruwrxfun on 07-05-2013
Subaru WRX!!!
performance. thats what this car is known for. Its fun to drive. Its been treated like a baby, opened up and well maintained!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Subaru Impreza

by subaru3338 on 05-29-2013
It is good experience to drive it on snow
Easy to drive in winter. Reliable and good size for small family. Since we own this vehicle, never broke down. I supply extra 4 wheels with new winter tires on.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2011 Subaru Impreza

by Socrates on 05-22-2013
It's a terrific ride
Amazing feel and smooth yet powerful drive. Very spacious and driver friendly. Car has amazing control during heavy storms, rain and on icy roads. The A/C and heater work very quick and defoggers also kick in right away! I love Subarus!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Subaru Impreza

Trim: 2.5i Sport
by SubaruRocks on 04-25-2013
2010 Subaru Impreza
Bought the car new, have had zero problems with it. It's fun to drive, gets better than posted fuel economy, and looks great too. Would buy another Subaru without question.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 234 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email