Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Volkswagen Jetta 1986-2014Change

315 reviews
4.5/5
Volkswagen Jetta
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2014
2 reviews
2005
9 reviews
1995
3 reviews
2013
9 reviews
2004
12 reviews
1994
2 reviews
2012
22 reviews
2003
35 reviews
1993
1 review
2011
26 reviews
2002
21 reviews
1992
1 review
2010
7 reviews
2001
32 reviews
1991
1 review
2009
21 reviews
2000
13 reviews
1990
1 review
2008
21 reviews
1999
5 reviews
1989
1 review
2007
17 reviews
1998
5 reviews
1988
1 review
2006
44 reviews
1997
2 reviews
1986
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 315 reviews
1 2345 >

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Comfortline TDI
by AAA4215 on 06/20/2015
Terrible Electrical & Mechanical parts issues
Only Engine is good rest all Mechanical & Electrical parts have issues. Exhaust flap open to atmosphere & malfunctions. Triggers engine light. 3 door latches changed in 1 year period costs about $1500. Headliner falls off due to cheap glue. Is not worth to save little money on diesel & spend a lot on fixing the crappy parts.
Overall
2.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
1/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Treadline 2.0
by JefferyW on 05/09/2015
Wouldn't buy another one.
Since I have had this Jetta, I haven't had anything but problems with it. Squeaky breaks, rough shifting, and the odd break lock here and there, which according to my local VW dealers is all part of owning one of their vehicles and is perfectly normal and acceptable. Other issues have been electrical failure to the power window system (to which when I brought it in, they told me there were no problems), Bluetooth audio emitting a high pitch noise which can only be stopped by turning the car off/on, and the fuel door lock not working.

The positives to this vehicle is there is a lot of interior room for passengers in both the front and back seats, and a very large trunk. Fuel economy isn't great, but certainly ins't horrible.

Overall I can't say that i'm exactly pleased with this vehicle. It's the first VW that my family and myself have owned, and I can positively say that it will be the only one.
Overall
2.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
1/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Highline
by Santanu on 02/23/2015
Awesome
This is truly an awesome vehicle that delivers in all respects and does not disappoint. This is the best in line of the Jetta family and has all the comforts of driving. With upgraded music system you feel like sitting in a theater and with built in navigation system you will never be lost.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: TDI Comfortline
by Seth8432 on 01/28/2015
Reliable
Incredible vehicle - safe, reliable, extremely economical - great return on km's for business travel. Couldn't ask for more for a car under $26k
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: GLS - TDI
by D__ on 01/20/2015
900 KMS Highway on a tank of fuel
The definition of German engineering in handling/driving and reliability. Installed a block heater and the car has never failed to start even in chilly -30. The timing belt was changed proactively as suggested at 150,000 KM to avoid any problems (I'm very happy to have spent the $800.00 for piece of mind!). I love this car and it has served me very well and I will be sad to say goodbye but know the next owner understands and respects the TDI fuel-efficiency as well as the whole German experience. Very comfortable ride, even lengthy road trips. At only 185,000 KMs, this vehicle has numerous years left and the comfortable, fully-loaded interior is sure to please.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

by Basia on 12/12/2014
Reliable Car
This has been a great car from day one. Very reliable and fuel efficient. You can get over 1000km highway driving resulting in less stops at the gas station.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: 1.8T GLS
by germanengine14 on 12/07/2014
Safe, Reliable, and an Amazing Car to Drive
My second Jetta GLS 1.8T (I love this car). The 2003 model increased to 180HP, and it is a perfect balance of speed, agility, and fuel economy.

Comfortable leather interior (fully loaded) and sporty exterior makes this car one that I have been proud to own and drive. German engineering never fails to impress, and it has fully satisfied me in this great car.

I was lucky enough to purchase this car from a family that owned 4 professional mechanic garages - it was only given the best care and attention, and it has treated me equally well (in 3 years of driving, the engine has needed almost NO work).

Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Comfortline Plus
by Nimal on 12/03/2014
Excellent Driving Pleasure
Steady, Comfortable, Reliable, Superior, driving pleasure, economical, safer, elegance and proud to drive
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: TDI
by dieselrocks on 12/01/2014
Great Value
This diesel jetta has great fuel economy. Very reliable. Nice interior design and stylish exterior. Very comfortable.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: 2.5 4dr Sedan
by Francesco81 on 11/29/2014
Beautiful ride
I fell in love with VW and I think that they are the best deal for affordable yet reliable and safe cars. I think they are the Volvo's for the average people.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: 2.5
by VW_JETTA_777 on 11/18/2014
Good solid & trustworthy
This car is as solid as it gets. True German engineering under the hood. No major mechanical work done under the hood. Good for another 100K easy. Fantastic car. Quick pickup, nifty around corners, great handling. Loved this car!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volkswagen Jetta

by Junebug on 11/10/2014
Love this Car! Reliable and Fuel Efficient!!
This car has been a great car, I have always owned Volkswagens and recommend them to everyone. Great on gas, never left me stranded, all around a great ride.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: GLS
by gvw on 11/10/2014
It's a terrific ride
Awesome car, great economy! Excellent reliability, great on insurance. No mechanical problems. I have many VWs in the family and this won't be the last!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: 2.5
by SugarShaneM on 10/29/2014
She never let me down once.
This car has the power and durability to burn rubber, and if needed the ability to stop suddenly and as well as safely, I have never felt unsafe in Jenny and I know you won't either. There has never been one cold morning where she wouldn't start. And those heated seats are amazing!!!!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: 2.5
by pvcolto on 10/24/2014
Nice driving car
This car drives really nice and it still is as quiet as when it was new. The 2.5 litre has plenty of power on the highway.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

by JettaReview on 10/22/2014
Review of MY Jetta
Some would say doing this is biased, but it's all true.

Comfortable, but not leather.

Performs exactly how a Jetta should (average). It's not a sports car, but it's reliable and has good fuel economy.

Loved this car, but have to sell to cover wedding costs.

Thanks for the interest.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

by Priscilla6376 on 10/18/2014
This is an amazing car!
I have never had to send this car in for any type of repair since I bought it. With a full tank I can go for two weeks without needing to refuel. The trunk could comfortably take 3 stollers and some groceries. It is a realy good size for campers.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: GLS Turbo
by Ryan4278 on 10/10/2014
Good little whip
This car is a wolf in sheep's clothing. other VW owners will tell you this. I fell in love with Volkswagens because of this car. The 2003 Jetta 1.8T is a FAST car. my friends who have driven my car are shocked, when the turbo spools up, man this thing PULLS. additionally, she is pretty amazing on gas. my car has always been pretty good to me. The only thing I can say bad, as ANYONE will say, is VW maintenance can be expensive at times. VW and audi like to make is very very hard for you to do things yourself, and as a result you end of taking it to a vw or audi dealership, or a euro mechanic. Even simple things that anyone should be allowed doing themselves, cant always be done because its so advanced or need special tools. Other then that. I love love love this vehicle.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: GLS 1.8 Turbo
by jetta2002-Eric on 10/06/2014
We hate to let it go!
This has been a great car for us. The only reason we're selling is because we now have a company car and don't need a second car. The manual and turbo make it really fun to drive. Love the heated leather seats in the winter and the sunroof and auto windows in the summer.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: TDI 1.9 l
by Sue8030 on 09/27/2014
Reliable/great gas mileage
I have been the only owner & driver of this car & it has never failed me. It is the most fuel efficient vehicle I have owned.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: JETTA CITY Trendline
by shawn244 on 09/25/2014
Great vehicle!
This was my first Volkswagen, and it certainly will not be my last! This car has the 2.0L gas engine in it which is an award winning engine in Europe on Wards top engine list. It is a smooth ride and very reliable, I would recommend to anyone!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Confortline
by mlema094 on 09/20/2014
Great car, Great Value
This car is very economic in fuel. Not the most powerful, but gets you where you need comfortably and safely. It is enjoyable to drive, like most German cars.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

by TURBO2006 on 09/18/2014
Terrific Performance
Drove the car on many touring trips, across Canada and the US. The fuel economy and performance was great. The car handles like a dream in winding mountain roads and twisting assents and declines.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: GL
by Monica3472 on 09/14/2014
Reliable and zippy
I've loved my jetta over the years and am just ready to invest in something new. It has always been very reliable and good on gas. I love my heated seat on cold winter mornings and feel safe on winter roads. I've moved a few times in this car and am always amazed at how much I can fit into it with the seats folded down— the trunk is quite deep. I would definitely recommend it and think it will last for a long time.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

by Sue8030 on 09/11/2014
Great commuter car.
Mostly highway driven from Parksville to Nanaimo. Very stable on the road & in snow. A pleasure to drive very comfortable.



Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email