Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Volkswagen Jetta 1986-2014Change

324 reviews
4.5/5
Volkswagen Jetta
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2014
3 reviews
2005
9 reviews
1995
3 reviews
2013
9 reviews
2004
12 reviews
1994
2 reviews
2012
23 reviews
2003
35 reviews
1993
1 review
2011
27 reviews
2002
21 reviews
1992
1 review
2010
7 reviews
2001
34 reviews
1991
1 review
2009
23 reviews
2000
13 reviews
1990
1 review
2008
21 reviews
1999
5 reviews
1989
1 review
2007
19 reviews
1998
5 reviews
1988
1 review
2006
44 reviews
1997
2 reviews
1986
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 324 reviews
1 2345 >

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: GLS
by vwkev on 12/27/2015
Love my Jetta
i have had my jetta for 16 years. i loved it and am getting a brand new jetta. you cant go wrong with a jetta.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Comfortline
by Oliver5526 on 12/24/2015
Constant problems
I've been dealing with this issue almost since I got the car, which was April 1st 2014. It's an intermittent issue that I can't reproduce but I have provided plenty of evidence of it happening. When listening to Bluetooth, randomly, the sound will completely cut out and I will head nothing but a high pitched tone. Turning off my phone doesn't fix it, switching to another input and the back doesn't fix it. I should say that if I switch to FM for example, the sound does work. I have provided videos of the problem, which happens every 2 weeks, give or take and seemingly has gotten worse.
The dealer replaced the stereo 3 or 4 times and the MDI unit once, each time, same problem. They told me the problem was my phone not being compatible with the car, a Google Nexus 5, I need a new phone anyway so I bought a one plus two and happened again! This time Crosby and VW told me that I needed to use a mainstream phone as somehow, the Nexus 5, made by LG isn't mainstream enough. Okay, I ended up borrowing an iphone4 from a friend and probably a week later, the same problem happened again!!
The dealer had told me that the same tone issue happens in Passats due to corrosion issues with the MDI device, how in the world does this happen due to a manufacturers defect in Passats but on my Jetta, it's related to my device? At this point the deal basically told me there is nothing else they can do and closed the issue. I now have to deal with customer relations and they are pretty unresponsive.
On top of this, when I first bought the car there was the block heater recall. A voluntary ECM recall, the diesel recall, which is ongoing. And I had another fun problem where one day, I get in the car and the passenger window is down. Try to roll it up and it goes right back down! I called the dealership, they didn't return my call, drove to the dealership, they took the car and 'reset the software' which fixed the problem but they couldn't give me a reason as to why it happened.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen Jetta

by Jetta8747 on 11/16/2015
2007 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
This is a very good car, never had any exceptional problem with but changing brakes, changing oil, and everything a car deserves.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: JETTA CITY
by Seamus3050 on 10/23/2015
It's a terrific ride
This car has never once caused me grief. It's peppy, amazing on gas, has the classic VW handling, great around corners, solid and smooth suspension, quiet, fantastic stereo acoustics, classy and sporty. I love this car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: sportline
by Nicole7163 on 09/21/2015
Great Car!
This car is amazing. It has amazing performance yet is comfortable when that is prefered. It cuts an amazing profile and is an all around great car!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: GLS 2.0L
by Guy4982 on 09/13/2015
Nice car overall
I was always intrigued by the MK4 Volkswagens from the moment I saw them in 1999. I thought the styling was unlike anything out there and even today, 16 years after their release those cars still look brand new. I was interested in the Jetta, but I couldn't afford the higher trims so I cheaped out and got a GLS with a 2.0l engine in 2014, and I wasn't disappointed. The car has a surprising amount of torque and it can hold its speed going up a hill in 5th gear which is great. In winter the car holds the road nicely and stays planted with a decent amount of grip on ice which is a plus. I had mediocre tires as well, so I figured it's just the cars weight sticking it to the road which made me feel a bit safer. In all, it's a great, fun car and I loved my experience owning it!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: 2.5
by Plum416 on 08/19/2015
Horrible Experience
The car is rated high is design and styling, but once you start having problems they seem never ending.
Electrical is probably the biggest problem. Only one functioning door lock so the car is not secure and the alarm goes off all the time when someone tries to open the car when it's locked. Passenger and driver mirror indicator lights don't work and both mirrors are now in place with electrical tape since they both broke off due to corrosion. Air conditioning no longer works, and water pump needs replaced. AM radio is not working and FM is on it's way out. Rust is starting to appear on both rear wheel wells. I've replaced the battery, the alternator, the cooling fan, and the heating thermostat. Just waiting to see what goes next.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Comfortline
by Steph180 on 07/21/2015
This is my 4th VW TDI car

This car has been the best car I ever owned (8 Fords/GMs) and since I've moved to VWs, Jetta, Golf and Passat diesels, we've been very satisfied. Low maintenance, roomy, great in Ottawa summers/winters. I'm sticking to VWs TDIs.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Comfortline
by Jeevis on 07/17/2015
Well made Disel
This is an awesome car for someone that spends time driving throughout the day. The fuel economy on the diesel is beyond what I expected and the performance is outstanding with the diesel torque.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Comfortline TDI
by AAA4215 on 06/20/2015
Terrible Electrical & Mechanical parts issues
Only Engine is good rest all Mechanical & Electrical parts have issues. Exhaust flap open to atmosphere & malfunctions. Triggers engine light. 3 door latches changed in 1 year period costs about $1500. Headliner falls off due to cheap glue. Is not worth to save little money on diesel & spend a lot on fixing the crappy parts.
Overall
2.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
1/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Treadline 2.0
by JefferyW on 05/09/2015
Wouldn't buy another one.
Since I have had this Jetta, I haven't had anything but problems with it. Squeaky breaks, rough shifting, and the odd break lock here and there, which according to my local VW dealers is all part of owning one of their vehicles and is perfectly normal and acceptable. Other issues have been electrical failure to the power window system (to which when I brought it in, they told me there were no problems), Bluetooth audio emitting a high pitch noise which can only be stopped by turning the car off/on, and the fuel door lock not working.

The positives to this vehicle is there is a lot of interior room for passengers in both the front and back seats, and a very large trunk. Fuel economy isn't great, but certainly ins't horrible.

Overall I can't say that i'm exactly pleased with this vehicle. It's the first VW that my family and myself have owned, and I can positively say that it will be the only one.
Overall
2.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
1/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2014 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Highline
by Santanu on 02/23/2015
Awesome
This is truly an awesome vehicle that delivers in all respects and does not disappoint. This is the best in line of the Jetta family and has all the comforts of driving. With upgraded music system you feel like sitting in a theater and with built in navigation system you will never be lost.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: TDI Comfortline
by Seth8432 on 01/28/2015
Reliable
Incredible vehicle - safe, reliable, extremely economical - great return on km's for business travel. Couldn't ask for more for a car under $26k
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: GLS - TDI
by D__ on 01/20/2015
900 KMS Highway on a tank of fuel
The definition of German engineering in handling/driving and reliability. Installed a block heater and the car has never failed to start even in chilly -30. The timing belt was changed proactively as suggested at 150,000 KM to avoid any problems (I'm very happy to have spent the $800.00 for piece of mind!). I love this car and it has served me very well and I will be sad to say goodbye but know the next owner understands and respects the TDI fuel-efficiency as well as the whole German experience. Very comfortable ride, even lengthy road trips. At only 185,000 KMs, this vehicle has numerous years left and the comfortable, fully-loaded interior is sure to please.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

by Basia on 12/12/2014
Reliable Car
This has been a great car from day one. Very reliable and fuel efficient. You can get over 1000km highway driving resulting in less stops at the gas station.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: 1.8T GLS
by germanengine14 on 12/07/2014
Safe, Reliable, and an Amazing Car to Drive
My second Jetta GLS 1.8T (I love this car). The 2003 model increased to 180HP, and it is a perfect balance of speed, agility, and fuel economy.

Comfortable leather interior (fully loaded) and sporty exterior makes this car one that I have been proud to own and drive. German engineering never fails to impress, and it has fully satisfied me in this great car.

I was lucky enough to purchase this car from a family that owned 4 professional mechanic garages - it was only given the best care and attention, and it has treated me equally well (in 3 years of driving, the engine has needed almost NO work).

Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Comfortline Plus
by Nimal on 12/03/2014
Excellent Driving Pleasure
Steady, Comfortable, Reliable, Superior, driving pleasure, economical, safer, elegance and proud to drive
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: TDI
by dieselrocks on 12/01/2014
Great Value
This diesel jetta has great fuel economy. Very reliable. Nice interior design and stylish exterior. Very comfortable.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: 2.5 4dr Sedan
by Francesco81 on 11/29/2014
Beautiful ride
I fell in love with VW and I think that they are the best deal for affordable yet reliable and safe cars. I think they are the Volvo's for the average people.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: 2.5
by VW_JETTA_777 on 11/18/2014
Good solid & trustworthy
This car is as solid as it gets. True German engineering under the hood. No major mechanical work done under the hood. Good for another 100K easy. Fantastic car. Quick pickup, nifty around corners, great handling. Loved this car!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volkswagen Jetta

by Junebug on 11/10/2014
Love this Car! Reliable and Fuel Efficient!!
This car has been a great car, I have always owned Volkswagens and recommend them to everyone. Great on gas, never left me stranded, all around a great ride.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: GLS
by gvw on 11/10/2014
It's a terrific ride
Awesome car, great economy! Excellent reliability, great on insurance. No mechanical problems. I have many VWs in the family and this won't be the last!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: 2.5
by SugarShaneM on 10/29/2014
She never let me down once.
This car has the power and durability to burn rubber, and if needed the ability to stop suddenly and as well as safely, I have never felt unsafe in Jenny and I know you won't either. There has never been one cold morning where she wouldn't start. And those heated seats are amazing!!!!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: 2.5
by pvcolto on 10/24/2014
Nice driving car
This car drives really nice and it still is as quiet as when it was new. The 2.5 litre has plenty of power on the highway.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Jetta

by JettaReview on 10/22/2014
Review of MY Jetta
Some would say doing this is biased, but it's all true.

Comfortable, but not leather.

Performs exactly how a Jetta should (average). It's not a sports car, but it's reliable and has good fuel economy.

Loved this car, but have to sell to cover wedding costs.

Thanks for the interest.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email