Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Chevrolet Cavalier 1977-2013Change

272 reviews
4/5
Chevrolet Cavalier
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2013
1 review
2001
32 reviews
1991
4 reviews
2011
1 review
2000
35 reviews
1990
1 review
2010
3 reviews
1999
17 reviews
1989
3 reviews
2009
1 review
1998
14 reviews
1988
2 reviews
2008
2 reviews
1997
16 reviews
1987
1 review
2007
1 review
1996
11 reviews
1986
1 review
2005
14 reviews
1995
6 reviews
1985
1 review
2004
20 reviews
1994
2 reviews
1981
1 review
2003
38 reviews
1993
5 reviews
1977
1 review
2002
35 reviews
1992
3 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 251 reviews
1 2345 >

1993 Chevrolet Cavalier

by KL1 on 10-23-2014
GOOD TIMES
handles great, looks real nice.
very reliable
good gas on a 20 year old car
regular maintenance is the key
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier

by laurie7526 on 10-02-2014
Great car for sudent
only had to do regular oil changes brakes etc. Spent very little money. Has had one minor fender bender and one hit on the back drivers side. Tires are about a year old. I have had no problems with this car.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier

by ango96 on 09-17-2014
economical car
The Chevy cavalier is an economical vehicle that is low maintenance and reliable. The Cavalier is also provides good gas mileage and is perfect city vehicle .
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2002 Chevrolet Cavalier

by Hattan on 09-16-2014
Excellent budget car for small family
Excellent budget car. Wish not to sell it but I have to as my family members increased recently and I need a bigger car
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier

by Cavowner on 07-30-2014
great for the money
Had this car and it have never let me down, great little car. cheep for part and to service and good on fuel kind of a sporty drive as well love it.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Chevrolet Cavalier

Trim: Z Type
by Rob2931 on 06-18-2014
A Drivers Best Friend
This car is a comfortable, reliable partner. In the last many KMs I have had with it I never had any breakdowns or major issues. Everything was serviced regularly and the car was taken great care of. This car is awesome for booting around the city and taking those long road trips. The manual transmission makes it a breeze in the winter and gives your pocket a break in the summer. (I have never been stuck). This is a perfect car for anyone.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier

Trim: VXL
by Cavalier2003 on 06-17-2014
2003 Cavalier VXL
Great Little car. Nice and fast up through the gears.
Cheap reliable motoring.
Seats are quite buckety and floor low down.
So not good if you have a sore back or getting on a bit!
But other than that - great car!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier

by Towed on 01-09-2014
Tow car with Blue Ox.
Al;ways dependable. Hook up and go in less than 10 min, unhook in less. Pull one fuse is easily accessible. Have used this car for my trips down south for 5 years, never a problem.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier

Trim: LX
by anonymous1987 on 11-30-2013
Reliable, good on gas, great value!
Has never caused any major problems, and have never lost confidence even on 500km+ road trips. Easy to maintain, and if taken care of only minor rust issues and rare repairs needed. Surprisingly comfortable seats and always a smooth ride.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Chevrolet Cavalier

by Laurenm on 11-20-2013
Very reliable, comfortable, clean
I've been the only owner of this car since I drove it off the lot 7 years ago. It's incredibly reliable, really solid in the winter, and drives great! Really inexpensive to fuel up and you can usually get about 580km per tank.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier

Trim: z22
by 123_123 on 09-25-2013
Awesome on gas and bullet proof manual tranny
Had this car for 4 years (Bought used in 2001) and put 1200$ in it from faulty wiring and I think a faulty solenoid ( one piston wasent firing and still it got me home) and a little money here and there for oil changes and tires and brakes.

The manual tranny (clutch is bullet-proof) Never changed the clutch and I rode the crap out of this car and beat on it every day! Extrmely good in the winter time. Would I buy another one? In a flash without a doubt. in 2005 I made a trip and got 1000km out of a tank of gas on the highway going pretty hard on it most of the time. From Gatineau to Edmundston in New-Brunswick. Comfy ride great clutch and decent power, I had no ac in it. wouldn't rust at all. Changed the battery in it because the posts melted in the battery go figure. Buy one you wont be disappointed. But I've heard that at around 200 thousand km you will have to change the water pump witch is not a cheap fix and rear shocks top brackets need to be re-enforced but I think they fixed that with the aftermarket shocks like Monroe those go for around 80$ now a days for each. Loved this car and let me tell you I BEAT it to death and it still was going extremely strong!!! Great first car will not let you down. And now with the newer models with the eco-tech engines its even better.

Loved it, would buy another one, very pleased with this z22 cavalier. Then I bought a 2006 Cobalt SS 2.4L new and worst car I ever got. A real lemon
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier

Trim: ztype special
by kevin1994 on 08-18-2013
great car head turners looks great and goes great too
been the owner of the car for 2 years now, never had any trouble with it car drives smooth,looks good,sounds good, very reliable cheap on gas and is very well taking care of, car is mint shape absolutely no rust on or under the car
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier

Trim: Z24
by CooperK on 06-20-2013
Great commuter car
I reside just outside of the city and drive to work with this car. I have put mostly highway km's on it and it drives like a dream. I can get anywhere between 550-650km per tank of fuel (45-50L). Nice little car with lots of power, feels like I am driving a V6 with the 2.4L engine. Easy to get around town as well because of its size.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier

by Elizabeth4246 on 06-17-2013
RELIABLE
I have never had a problem with this vehicle, Its a good reliable car. I have had regular oil changes so that helps and the km are low. I would love to hold on to it. It has no a/c but it can be repaired but other than that the car runs well and has never let me down and I have never had to make any repairs.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1995 Chevrolet Cavalier

by wow2548 on 05-25-2013
Coupe de Baron
My 95 Cavalier coupe loves me, and I love it. The doors shut with a thud, the car rides like a dream. For what it is, it's tops. With some great tires and rims, it still holds it's own with 2013 model cars & trucks.

Not selling anytime soon, love it too much.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Chevrolet Cavalier

by cav on 03-27-2013
The Sturdy Cavalier
I bought the Cavalier used and have had it for two years now and have hit my first need for a repair. Love the car, the one thing I would say is I hate the windshield wipers. We needed to replace them and they are NOT user friendly. Overall good on gas, use it to commute to work and back. Doesn't have many frills or extras. Reliable A to B kind of car.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier

by TashinaGray22 on 03-27-2013
Pretty good for 17 years I guess
It's still good on gas, but it's tiny! Can barely fit my daughter's car seat in the back. Every time we use the cd player installed, all the songs skip the first 5-10 minutes of the drive at the slightest bumps. Pretty reliable, but I can't wait to replace it.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier

Trim: LS
by wolferx24 on 03-27-2013
It's a terrific ride!!!
I purchased the car last January and have had really good luck with it so far. The only thing I've done to it is the routine maintenance such as oil changes, rotating the tires, changing the coolant, changing the air filter and changing the automatic transmission fluid. Oh yeah and I changed the wiper blades. It's a peppy little car, it's quite roomy, it holds the roads rather well at highway speeds and best of all I think it's a sexy looking car. I always wondered what the fuss was over that Cavalier since I was seeing it every where and now I know what it was. This car is amazing. So if it's your first car, second, third, fourth or whatever I highly recommend that you consider the purchase of a late model cavalier. You shall not be disappointed. I'm just sad that GM is no longer producing the Cavaliers. I think they should go back to the Cavalier platform, but that's just my opinion.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Chevrolet Cavalier

Trim: LS
by hurrenj on 03-26-2013
Amazing Car but LS not needed
This is an amazing car; it's comfortable, reliable, great in the snow, crazy powerful and I imagine sexy in it's day (especially with the tints). I only have 2 cons after years of this car, I have owned both the 2.2L basic and 2.4L LS models and the gas mileage is astronomically better in the 2.2L, and given that 2.4L is virtually unneeded I would stay away from it, also it lets a ton of air noise inside the car making a not so quiet ride. Otherwise, its a great starter or budget mobile.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Chevrolet Cavalier

Trim: Z24
by kroppel92 on 03-26-2013
Great starter car!
This car gave me some memories i will cherish forever. it lasted until 2012 and i wish it were longer. in the last few weeks the water pump went and we needed to replace the engine due to a mechanics mistake but it proved too much for old Betsy.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier

by cafiene on 03-26-2013
Reliable wrokhorse
I drove this car in the city and on the highway for 12 years with very few problems. It did not want to say die! Drove and looked as good as the day I got it.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1988 Chevrolet Cavalier

Trim: white grey interior
by JonnieCar on 03-26-2013
The '88 Cav
This was the first car I ever owned. Oh how much I loved this car. No real bells and whisltes, just a reliable automobile.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier

by lilone on 03-26-2013
My all time fave car!
I loved everything about this little car. Convertibles cannot be beat! Comfy clean looking interior and great style on the outside too. Nothing comes close.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Chevrolet Cavalier

by waynetty on 03-26-2013
Chevy Cavalier Over 300,000K and still going strong!
I bought this great little car used with about 50,000 Kilometers on it. I have driven this car pretty much every day in all weather including the great Canadian winter and it is still running great. The only repairs I have done are your basic oil changes, brakes, muffler hangers and the starter. The body is starting to look a bit rough but basically this is a great little car. It is roomy enough for 2 booster seats and a car seat in the back. I use snow tires in the winter and it handle great even in the worst weather. Over all this is one of the best purchases I have ever made I am hoping to get 500,000 kilometers on it!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier

by Cavalier8969 on 03-25-2013
Chevrolet
It's an older car, but reliable and I love driving it. It it not very efficient on gas, but then again, it is an older model and it doesn't do bad either.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email