Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Volkswagen GTI 2012Change

11 reviews
5/5
Volkswagen GTI
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2015
2 reviews
2007
13 reviews
2001
8 reviews
2012
11 reviews
2006
1 review
2000
3 reviews
2011
5 reviews
2004
1 review
1999
1 review
2010
7 reviews
2003
2 reviews
1995
2 reviews
2008
8 reviews
2002
2 reviews
1994
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: Autobahn Package
by EuropeanWerks on 09-17-2015
AWESOME VEHICLE!
Very awesome car! I enjoy every minute in it. Great all around daily driver that is fuel efficient and has a good amount of fun. I would definitely recommend it to anyone for a first or second car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: 4-door DSG
by Hoser1 on 06-25-2015
We love this car.
As empty-nesters, in 2012 we decided it was time to trade in the Gr. Caravan, & get something smaller. However, my wife said that whatever we got had to have "zip" (hooray). I quickly boiled the list down to a Mazdaspeed3 & a GTI. We had a bad experience with a Protege, so my wife didn't want another Mazda. Unlike other hatchbacks, the GTI's roof didn't slope down at the back & reduce the height of the back window (& interior space); my wife liked that. Also, I'm 6' - 2"; the GTI has lots of headroom, even with the sunroof.
Our GTI is black with the DSG tranny & all av. factory options; I would've preferred grey with plaid seats, but we couldn't find a grey one, leather seats came as part of one of the options package (which has since been corrected) and the price of this one was just too good to pass up.
German engineering really is not to be discounted, & the interior fit & finish is faultless. This car also has the best steering wheel this side of an Audi R8 (if it were only heated, it'd be perfect). The seats look great, and feel better than that. One other seemingly small thing that I really like is the digital display of the cruise setting.
About 6 months before we got the GTI, the lease ended on our '08 BMW 535i; in my view, the GTI has similar interior room, almost the same hp/pound rating of the Bimmer, and is far more fun to drive; the fun/gallon figure is pretty impressive. The Bimmer was arguably a mistake, but it did introduce me to the wonders of German engineering, it did scratch a long-suffering itch, and what's a mid-life crisis without a mid-life crisis car? We might be a bit unique, though, in that a GTI is not exactly what a retired couple are usually seen driving, but it sure is a hoot to drive, and is a lot more practical than a Mustang convertible .... or a Camry. The only gripe is that it is a bit noisy at speed, but sometimes you gotta make allowances. I can easily see us keeping this car for quite a few more years.

Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: 3DR
by RobW86 on 03-16-2014
Best car I have ever owned
By far the best car I have ever owned. Excellent build quality, excellent handling and amazing power and performance. I truly think this is one of the best value vehicles on the road today.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: Premium
by Jdub1982 on 12-28-2013
Very fast and fun car to drive, and it has amazing fuel economy
I love every minute I spend in this car: from the sound system, to the way the exhaust sounds, to the wonderful handling, it really is an absolutely pleasure to drive. I have nothing bad to say about it...wait, no, the fuel door is on the passenger side of the car...I always forget when pulling into a gas station and it drives me crazy. It has decently stiff sporty suspension, which helps it handle amazingly well in corners. It can fly if you want it to, i've never been able to really open it up so I can't say what it's top speed is but...its up there. never had a mechanical problem at all. german engineered and built. You'll love it!!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: GTI Leather Sunroof 6spd Manual
by Luke1141 on 12-02-2013
Buckets of fun and practical too!
I gave this car a perfect 5/5 for a very good reason. I can't find anything wrong with it!

Its spacious, drives like it was meant to be on the Autobahn, barely sips from the fuel tank, all while being absolutely beautiful. One of my favourite features of this car is the KESSY system. (keyless entry) I don't even have to take the key out of my pocket to unlock the car, its the little things like this that VW pays attention to that make driving a GTI such a joy!

I haven't had any complaints with it since I purchased it, no strange noises, nothing to be repaired, it just runs smooth. I really took my time to break in the engine too, I treated it with respect and purchased the 5 year extended warranty because I fully intended on driving it for the next 5-10 years. Its really going to make me sad to see this car go. If I didn't get a new job that required a pickup truck I definitely would not be selling it!

The hatch back is unbelievably practical, it goes from being a 4 door 5 seater to a cargo space that rivals most SUV's on the market. I can't say enough great things about this VW. Even the interior quality is on par with Audi. If you sit in the GTI and compare it to an Audi A6 sedan, the dash fit and finish rivals its bigger brother.

If you're looking for a car that will do it all, this is the car for you. Its quick and nimble, comfortable and stylish, fuel savvy and functional! Volkswagen has been making the GTI for 6 generations, it is an icon of German engineering, and has shaped the way we look at hatchbacks today.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: DSG
by GTI-2012 on 06-27-2013
My Best Car
I was hesitant at first to buy a Volkswagen with a DSG transmission, since I always purchased Japanese cars with manual transmissions in the past. I was pleased to discover what a good car the GTI is. Fun to drive, practical, and well built. I will not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who is seeking a good compromise between performances, comfort and practicality.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen GTI

by AWESOME2012 on 04-06-2013
One of the funnest cars on the road
This was my 6th GTI and by far the best. They keep getting better every year. This time I decided to add the APR chip the day after I bought it. The DSG gearbox is super fast and can just keep pulling through all the gears, handes like a charm, quiet, comfortable, and very reasonable on fuel, about 8 l/100 km. It's a shame to let it go and with the option package and the CAI and chip it would cost you over 42K to replace.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen GTI

by RajSumra on 11-27-2012
2012 GTI A must buy
Bought this car last Dec of 2011 absolutley love it! quick litlte rocket, looks great with the upgraded rims and love the led lights! DSG transmission had a few issues but got resolved minor issue aside from that this is a perfect car, still has great trunk space and fold flat seats for cargo or boxes to move around.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen GTI

by cjkniss on 10-30-2012
fun and frugal ride
I have only had my GTI for three months but it has been a joy todrive. Beautiful and elegant interior, sporty performance and quite economical. Nice ride and solid build with this car. So far I can say that I will buy German engineering again!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: 2.0 TSI 3-Door
by sl7437 on 10-18-2012
2012 Volkswagen GTI
great compact car for driving in and out of the city with great handling! media package easy to navigate around...only thing i can't seem to figure out is how to adjust the backrest?!?
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Volkswagen GTI

by Jason888 on 10-11-2012
Worth to have it
It's sharp when it turns, it's excited when it's accelerate, it's comfort at the same time. I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 3 found this review helpful.
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email