Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Volvo XC70 1998-2012Change

25 reviews
5/5
Volvo XC70
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2012
3 reviews
2005
3 reviews
2002
1 review
2010
3 reviews
2004
5 reviews
2001
1 review
2008
4 reviews
2003
3 reviews
1998
1 review
2007
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews

2010 Volvo XC70

Trim: T6 AWD
by Farcloser on 01-07-2015
FANTASTIC CAR
This is our second Volvo XC70, and we just bought our third to replace this one. We love this car - reliable, comfortable, powerful, roomy, well appointed, and great to drive. If you want a superb all around vehicle that can take you out to diner in style and pull a camper equally well, this is the car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Volvo XC70

by Holinder on 12-04-2014
Best all round crossover car ever
Purchased our 2005 XC70 when it was 3 years old with 90,000km, it is now 9 years old with 230,000km. Car still looks and handles like new. Very reliable, changed normal wear items: brakes, tires, front suspension, timing belt, light bulbs. Only other items have been a new spark plug ignition coil and a new rear window wiper motor. Cost of parts and labour at local garage the same as for my earlier Ford Taurus. Gives a very comfortable ride, can carry 8ft lumber inside, can carry a 6ft bookcase with rear seats folded down flat and front seats slightly forwards. Have owned two 4WD Jeeps in the past and this XC70 is just as good in snow and ice as they were. The XC70 has a surprising amount of get up and go and my wife loves its solid safety aspects. Wife has asked if I ever intend to replace it, my response is: what would be the point.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Volvo XC70

Trim: black premium
by JohnT8080 on 11-04-2014
Clean, Safe and Luxurious
Safe and reliable vehicle to suit your family needs or to drive for practical reasons. Very cool and has the capacity of a Van.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volvo XC70

Trim: Cross Country
by dm6hats on 10-27-2014
Solid, dependable, safe!
This car can be driven for many more years. Volvo longevity is reknown! Safest cars on the road also. I had a 1989 Volvo 740 wagon that was broadsided. I had NO bruises, cuts or scrapes and the car drove straight as an arrow afterwards, albeit looking very ravaged on the one side.
Have been driving Volvos since 1971. Tried others and have gone back to Volvos!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volvo XC70

by putapeter on 10-09-2014
Expensive to fix
We really enjoy the vehicle until we have to pay for any repairs. Parts are not easily accessible, thereby forcing a home mechanic to have it fixed by a dealer.
Very expensive to repair. Love the vehicle when it has no problems
I personally will never purchase another Volvo because of the poor reliability and costs to repair.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volvo XC70

Trim: T6 Premier Plus Bliss XenonLights GPS with Winter Package on top of everything else
by EBUI on 06-27-2014
Excellent reliable and absolute safe car
I driven Volvo for many years now and my new car is again a Volvo. The GPS interaction with traffic has helped me avoid many hours sitting in traffic and the handling in the summer is absolute fun while the traction and safety in the winter makes this an enormous welcome part of my family.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Volvo XC70

Trim: Premium Plus
by Brian2114 on 04-02-2014
Amazing vehicle!
Have had a great experience with our Volvo XC70 since we bought it new from the dealer in 2010. Great for road trips, lots of space, comfortable, reliable and such a smooth ride. No issues at all and a great vehicle.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volvo XC70

by VolvoXC70 on 09-16-2013
Volvo XC70 - BEST CAR I'VE HAD - I bought another
Great, reliable car. Very low cost to maintain. Handles VERY well on icy winter roads. It has been a great family car - so versatile to adjust seats for kids, etc. It is ACCIDENT-FREE, but loaded with safety features that Volvo is famous for.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Volvo XC70

Trim: Black
by JJJJIM on 08-07-2013
This car has never seen snow !

I have owned Volvo wagons for the past 13 years and like all the previous, I never had one problem with the vehicle.
It is always stored in a garage and the mileage is mostly highway as I take it to Florida each winter.

Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Volvo XC70

Trim: 2.5T AWD
by Volvo_Guy on 07-19-2013
Made me a Volvo Guy
Comfort - love the cabin, found it a little smaller as kids got bigger. Will easily fit a family of 6' tall people though

Performance- power and handling

Fuel Economy - what you'd expect from an in-line 5 turbo

Interior - intuitive and effective

Exterior - looks like it could Baja

Reliability - 2nd to none. AND #1 IN SAFETY ABOVE ALL ELSE!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Volvo XC70

Trim: 2.5T AWD Cross Country
by REDUCEDGreatPackage on 07-12-2013
A Volvo Lasts
Anyone who knows anything about a Volvo will know that they are extremely reliable and that they will run forever!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volvo XC70

by Nightair on 06-24-2013
Volvo Quality
Very unassuming car, the turbo makes this car fairly quick and it will cruise effortly at above highway regulated speeds with good fuel economy. Long trips are easily negotiated with the great seats. The sound system is astounding both in quality and volume, built in subwoofer, and 6 stack CD player.
Full underbody pan help protect driveline from mud and snow.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1998 Volvo XC70

by dhc2 on 01-13-2013
Good quality, needs regular and sometimes expensive maintenance
Car has Been well used for the past five years. With the roof rack it will haul plywood, cabinets you name it. Inside, a quick wipe and vacume and the car still looks and feels great. We are the third owners, 2nd family for sure, with three kids,+saint bernard +camping gear this car will do it all.... and very comfortably at 120kms all day long. I can not think of a single North American made vehicle that could pull this off and still look and work as good at 265,000kms. AWD with Nokian WrG2 tires; brilliant in the snow; absolutely stable and confident driving manners. It is a real love hate relationship, the PCV and timing belt have to be changed religiously and often; $$$ you will get constant vacum leaks; which once you buy your own OBDII computer for $50 you can diagnose yourself and get to chase down. GREAT! Thirsty on gas. However, things like 265kms and still the origional exhaust, engine that spins like a top, great factory sound systems, width to put 3 child car seats/booster seats in the middle bench, st bernard +stroller in back. Pretty good value in all.. anything new would cost well over $35,000 to achieve this and I am not convinced they would still worrk as well after 14yrs of family use and abuse.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volvo XC70

by sylvesther on 11-30-2012
Safe, reliable, solid car.
V6 engine uses fuel but can count on car for any highway driving, superb traction in winter snow and ice, incredibly smooth ride, luxury details throughout.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Volvo XC70

Trim: black
by sylvesther on 11-21-2012
Safe, reliable, extremely comfortable ride
Excellent AWD traction in rain, through snow. Incredibly comfortable ride, luxury experience. Superb handling and responsiveness. All the features anyone could want in a car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2002 Volvo XC70

Trim: Cross Country AWD
by RobRyan on 11-13-2012
I love my Volvo!
I bought my 2002 XC70 five years ago and I have had great luck with it. The metal and paint is very durable, 226,000kms and not one rock pick on the hood! I live down a long dirt road that usually doesn't get plowed for days after a snow storm, not an issue with the Volvo at all. During heavy snow fall I am able to pretty much go the speed limit on highways on city streets while others are parked on the side with thier four way flashers on. I actually look forward to snow storms now :)
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volvo XC70

by Cevyn_55 on 10-20-2012
Great crossover
We only had this unit as a loaner and would consider purchasing one in the future. The ride is very good, interior styling is well laid out and very driver friendly. Things worked as they were supposed too, never did enough driving in it to get the feel for fuel economy though. Volvo is a leader in vehicles for colder climates and should be good to have in Canada year round...
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Volvo XC70

by AlexFrenkel on 10-17-2012
Just a perfect car
Volvo…. What can I say …. this brand even does not need an advertisement.
But I would like say some words about Volvo XC70.
It is really really amazing car. I love it because:
- very quiet inside even when you drive 100KM/h,
- very safe car. One of the features that I love is “Laser Radar auto brake safety system” It will stop the car in case of emergency even if you are pressing the accelerator pedal.
- Very good interior and exterior design
- The trunk space is huge and it is enough for any trip including fishing, lakes, cottages… etc.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volvo XC70

by TTownsend on 10-12-2012
A hidden gem in the used car field.
My wife and I are on our second volvo XC70, a 2004 with a blue exterior and beige leather interior. We have two small children and we go everywhere in this car.

The XC70 is a tank. No question, the safest feeling car I've ever owned. It is solid, robust, and capable.

This car looks great. It's a wagon that says "I might be a wagon, but can you do this?" then forage happily off across a farmers field in the middle of a Canadian winter. Yes, it can.

Whenever this one expires (which is likely to be a very long time from now) I will immediately replace it with another.

The engine is responsive and powerful enough, and because the turbo uses a variable blade angle compressor (very cool piece of machinery) it has lots of low-end bite; great torque for launching out of muck and snow. On the highway this car rides with refined European manners and is smooth and settled. Braking is terrific - no serious nose-diving; it tracks straight and smooth quickly, like someone dropped the anchor.

Economy on the highway is a pleasant surprise - at 110km I averaged +/- 35mpg, though it does go down a lot in the city.

For the handy people out there, this car is easy to work on. I replaced a wheel bearing in my driveway in one hour. Brake jobs are equally easy and there are plenty of sources of quality, low-cost parts for this car. One of the benefits of the benefits of being owned by Ford at one time is that the parts supply chain works well, so it is not expensive to service.

Overall, this car delivers strongly in every area and is very stylish.

As I said, I would not hesitate for an instant in getting another.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email