Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Honda Prelude 1981-2002Change

47 reviews
4.5/5
Honda Prelude
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2002
1 review
1996
1 review
1988
3 reviews
2001
9 reviews
1994
1 review
1986
1 review
2000
9 reviews
1992
3 reviews
1985
1 review
1999
5 reviews
1991
2 reviews
1984
1 review
1998
3 reviews
1989
1 review
1981
1 review
1997
5 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 42 reviews
1 2 >

1988 Honda Prelude

Trim: Si
by Carbikecanoe on 07-28-2015
Fun, Fun, Fun
This car is awesome!! It has a huge fun factor and massively reliable.

This is a 3rd gen car. Road & Track published a test summary that shows the 1988 Honda Prelude 2.0Si 4WS outperforming every car of that year on the slalom, with a speed of 65.5 mph (105.4 km/h), even besting exotics such as Porsche and Ferrari. For reference, the 1988 Chevrolet Corvette C4 took the same course at 64.9 mph (104.4 km/h).
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Honda Prelude

Trim: SE
by RLuebke on 11-05-2014
Great Car
This car is super fun and reliable. Great car for anyone who wants to have fun on a budget. In the couple years I've owned it there has never been any mechanical failures.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Prelude

Trim: SH
by happy_owner5298 on 07-01-2014
It is a sports coupe and handles very well
It is a fun drive, good mileage, good power and sounds great! Honda also has a the best reliability out there.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Prelude

by Eric2216 on 05-24-2014
It is a racing car
It is a racing car , powerful car . gas save car.
Load and comfort car.This is a reliable car. manual can give you the feel of driving.Two doors and body very slim .
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Honda Prelude

by rjriteh on 05-14-2014
A Sporty Car
I have an OEM body kit on my car that makes it look great and very sporty.
Handling and reliability are phenomenal, this car has never let me down.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Honda Prelude

Trim: Type SH
by cruising_car on 04-05-2014
great car for cruising
this car handles wonderfully, especially with the ATTS, which is a system that can transfer torque between the front wheels, acting like a differential. It has the power when you want it but it only runs through the gas like a fiend it you drive it like one.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Honda Prelude

Trim: Coupe
by TharanShan on 03-31-2014
Fantastic Car to own
Solid car, super speed but engine raves at 3200rpm going 120km on the highway. Super high raving engine, major gas consumer but great sports car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Honda Prelude

Trim: Black
by Carolyn7267 on 10-29-2013
Terrific car/fun to drive
This car is fun to drive and is very reliable. If you like a stick shift this car is for you. Call today to inquire and drive away a happy consumer.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Honda Prelude

Trim: SE
by Shan2576 on 10-28-2013
Going to miss this car
It was an amazing car, one of the best FWD drive cars of its time. Only gripe I had with the car was the comfort, but it wasn't major; the ride was a little rough but expected from a car that handles so well.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Honda Prelude

Trim: Type SH
by Strider on 07-27-2013
Awesome looks, reliability and performance
The Prelude is a classic car that was produced by Honda that you still see many on the roads today. This means that the styling is timeless, the car is reliable and on top of that the performance is top notch! Have never had any major issues with car other than regular maintenance. Only reason selling is starting family and require a 4 door sedan. This is the rare Type SH model that out-handles the regular model. Car literally hugs the roads taking corners!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Honda Prelude

Trim: SE
by Jodjcruz on 07-03-2013
Great car!
Reliable and running good. I had this car for over 10 years now. Does not give me big problem.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 Honda Prelude

by Celticwolf on 06-24-2013
She's a beauty!
This car is by far the best car I have owned for mileage. It rides smooth on long road trips. It would be great for a student driving to and from school.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Honda Prelude

Trim: SE
by verric on 06-06-2013
Good practical car.
Overall a good car. But so are most Hondas with regular maintenance - oil and filter changes every 5K for example. however, Gen 5's (1997-01) are well known for burning oil and needing valves adjusted. Keep a close watch out on oil levels and exhaust soot on rear bumper - a tell tale sign of excess oil consumption.

Transmissions are usually trouble free but may need shifter bushings at some point.

Steering should be tight and car should track straight as well, check ball joints for wear even in low kms cars.

Change the timing belt before 200kms regardless and clutches should last at least the same time if driven with care.

Prone rust spots to watch out for are at the rear bumper seems at the wheel well as Hondas are prone to rust there as well as the interior gas cap area.

Gas is good and you should get anywhere between 450-550kms per tank depending on your driving and braking habits. Shift at 3K for best kms p/tank .
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 Honda Prelude

Trim: SH
by Review-Prelude on 04-30-2013
So happy i bought her... Will always love my prelude...
Never disappoints...

Always starts...
Always impresses...
Always makes driving a pleasure...

People stare, women and younger men in particular, older drivers are amazed at the comfort and how they know where to put everything so you feel natural while you cruise around in absolute enjoyment.

Only downside is a lack of storage but lets be realistic, who buys a Prelude to move objects? Get real, this is all about you enjoying yourself in a dependable sports car that turns heads... love it.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Prelude

Trim: red
by swagbucksmaster on 03-27-2013
the best car
this car is one of the best car.this car is built in with v-tec. this car is great and i love it
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Prelude

Trim: red
by swagbucksmaster on 03-26-2013
amazing state
the honda prelude is one of the fastest cars.it has a 2.2 engine with vtec h22 some come with tritec.tritec means its in manual and automatic.this car is great on gas.and great for racing. i hope they come out with a new one of it
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1992 Honda Prelude

by NoSmiles on 03-18-2013
Great car, not made for large poeple
I absolutely love this car. It still runs great and is very reliable. My only complaints are that it is VERY low so I would not recommend this for someone with bad knees or who has trouble bending down low. The other complaint is that even though this is a four seater car only very small people can fit into the back seat. and if a normal sized man is in the front there is NO space in the back. This problem is exacerbated by the fact that there is an immovable console in the middle of the back seat. VERY little room back there. Having said that I rarely need to use the back seat for passengers so it's not usually a problem for me.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
2/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1991 Honda Prelude

by lastof9lives on 03-18-2013
it handles very well
since i got this car i've been very happy with it's low maintenance and great gas mileage man i love this car.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1992 Honda Prelude

Trim: Si 2.3 L 4WS
by SCChen on 03-08-2013
Dependable Sport Car With Japan Quality
I bought a used 92 Prelude 2.3 L 4WS in 2005 with 172,000 km, and drove it for 8 years to 255,000 km (5,000 km per year but some extra due to job). Well, it was a 13 year old car when I bought it, and it is 21 year old this year and still running.

Due to the old age, I spent $500 - $1,200 to keep it running. Some of them are preventive maintenance, e.g. brake rotor, radiator, water pump, timing belt, air cond dryer, wheel bearing, rusted muffler, rusted exhaust pipe. All of these are standard repair for cars more than 7 yr old, so I consider it as "regular maintenance"

There are common known issue specific to Prelude:
1. Cold solder for ABS controller causing 4WS warning light on
2. Cold solder in air condition on/off board causing intermittent air cond blowing warm air (turn off cold air cond mode)
3. Cold solder in main fuel injection relay under steering wheel causing intermittent startup problem, or auto shutdown

In addition, it has common known problem to Honda cars:
1. Rear wheel well easier to get rusted after 10 years. Replacing the metal body panel (cut) still will rust after 3 years
2. hunting idle due to Fast Idle Control Valve - I just adjust the plastic cap in MSF (http://honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=1564019)
3. power antenna failure - I just disconnect the power to it and let it always up
4. Dirty EGR port (not the valve) and trigger check engine light - clean it up
5. ABS wheel speed sensor replace every 7 yrs - for all 4 wheels

I wax it almost monthly to keep the paint intact. At 21 year old, the original paint is still shiny after wax (previous 2 owners garage keep it, so the original paint was excellent at 12 yr old when I bought it).

I love the exterior design of this car. It looks sporty and never feel the design is obsolete even at 21 yr old.

Trunk pass through is very small with flip down passenger side rear seat. Some times I really need a longer trunk, so this is a big minus for me
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Honda Prelude

Trim: se
by BlackWasp on 02-28-2013
Fast Ride
It is a fast car. it is also heavy and parts are expensive but investments made so far were worth it.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1992 Honda Prelude

by s2qwe on 01-29-2013
It's worth the money!
Overall this car has served well over the last few years. It's good to get you from point A to point B. It's a great car for someone who is just learning to drive and VERY good for someone who is learning standard. With a few fix it ups it could be in Perfect running condition, or would make an excellent car for parts.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Honda Prelude

Trim: SH
by AL_the_Big on 01-22-2013
Gone to soon
The make of this car stretch forth for generations, and although all were exceptional in quality and ingenuity, the 2000 Honda Prelude SH was the final link in this chain of quality and excellence. Overall body style was a logical approach to the brand that did many enthusiasts proud. The Motor: a powerful 2.2 liter Trademark Vtech engine purred like a pride of satisfied Lions at 6000 RPM. The suspension being race inspired could accommodate both the young at heart and the seasoned race technician, taking on every turn and bump the road could provide. The interior was simple yet elegant leaving one to believe that much thought went into providing comfort and accessibility. Sadly this vehicle was discontinued by Honda in 2001, but even by today's standard, this in its day $30,000 vehicle, can hold its own through and through against many makes and models in the category. The category being: brilliant, fun, well thought out sport car.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 Honda Prelude

by melissahodder on 01-10-2013
thanks for making me able to ride in style
this car is amazing! Drives smooth, and does corners like you wouldn't believe. the people help helped me get situated with this car were wonderful and I wouldnt go see any one else !!! thank Auto trader. this is one amazing day after another thanks to them you guys are amazing
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2000 Honda Prelude

Trim: SH
by Eric1111 on 01-07-2013
Great and reliable sporty car!
I've had my prelude for about 7 years and it has been great to me! The quality of the interior is better than many cars under $50k these days and it is very reliable. I've regularly maintained my car with oil changes and major maintenance(clutch, timing belt on schedule, etc).
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1994 Honda Prelude

Trim: SRV
by targa on 12-25-2012
I love my Prelude
I've owned my Prelude for just about a year and a half, it's been my first car. The areas where it lacks makes up for in the opposite areas. It has a powerful 2.2L vtec, but also gas guzzles like a 6 cylinder. I love the interior and exterior, and overall am very happy with the car. Long drives however can end up hurting my lower back.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email