Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Volkswagen Jetta Wagon 2001-2009Change

30 reviews
4.5/5
Volkswagen Jetta Wagon
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2009
8 reviews
2005
4 reviews
2003
11 reviews
2006
1 review
2004
5 reviews
2001
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 30 reviews
1 2 >

2005 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

by Covertmann on 07-27-2017
Not Perfect but okay.VW TDI wagon
I had a silver VW Jetta TDI wagon. You have to drive in the sweet spot of between 90-100 kilometres an hour to achieve this so-called 1000 km per fill-up. Car is easy to break into. only a screwdriver is needed to jam into the drivers side keyhole. Maintenance is expensive. e.g. Timing belt.oil changes, and other minor issues. You lose all of your mileage saving through fluctuating diesel prices(compared to gasoline) and expensive maintenance and service cost. My turbo went at the end of year 4 but luckily it was covered under the 4 year powertrain warranty. Nice car when everything works but I would not want to own one again off warranty.
Overall
4.0
Reliability
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Performance
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: Leather
by Margaret1502 on 06-04-2017
Lasts long, excellent build.
I've had this car since 2005, and it's the most wonderful car I've ever bought. It's last me so long, and is so easy to maintain, also the fuel efficiency is wonderful! It's by far the best car for roadtrips and small families, as it is affordable and well built.
Overall
5.0
Reliability
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Performance
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: Wolfsburg
by speeddiva on 04-16-2017
Old Faithful
So this is one of VWs that was actually made entirely in Germany. This has been, hands down, the BEST car I have ever shared my life with. Never, never let me down. Peppy, reliable, little workhorse. This wagon has been schlepping furniture, appliances, dogs, bicycles, etc. for many years without a complaint. Thanks to those rotten concrete parking barrier things, I have managed to take the front end off her a few times, but she takes a licking and keeps on ticking. Super easy shifting, very durable leather interior, and it has a great sound system. Will be very sad when I finally drive it into the ground and it gets towed away as a donation to the Kidney foundation. But that won't be any time soon!
Overall
5.0
Reliability
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Performance
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

by Jetta2009 on 02-16-2016
It's fun to drive
This car is well engineered. With a low center of gravity, it hugs the road at all speeds. It is responsive and comfortable to ride for both driver and passengers. Its interior is spacious to accommodate a variety of a family transportation needs.
Overall
5.0
Reliability
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Performance
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: GLS 1.8 Turbo
by JamesNS on 07-16-2014
Great peppy wagon! Turbo
Has been a great highway car for travelling within the maritimes. Long time volksy owner. Has enough room for five people and cargo carrying. Can put additional racks on top with carrier. Just an all around great car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: GLS
by VPOman on 05-14-2014
This diesel wagon will go and go and go
We have owned it for 4 years and have had no issues whatsoever with this vehicle.
We have put on ~60,000km since purchasing it and love the gas mileage we get with it.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: Comfortline
by TDI1 on 03-23-2014
Great car - 2009 Jetta wagon TDI
Very nice car. Very tight and well planted. Lots of space and easily handles long trips or cottage hauling. Fantastic on gas 55L takes you 1000km. I think a round trip from TO to Florida cost us around $250. Once you get use to cheap mileage its hard to go back to anything else. But the car is more than that, the TDI has tonnes of torque and it handles making this a very fun car to drive, especially in 5 speed. Overall quality is very good and the car holds up better than most after time. I also like the look - its very sleek.
Overall
5.0
Reliability
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

by Jetta1015 on 02-19-2014
Extremely smooth and comfortable!
Not only do I love Volkswagens, but I needed a car that was comfortable with back support. Driving this Jetta Sportswagen is like sitting in the comfort of your living room. It is the perfect car to travel in and is great in the city! I've never had any problems with it. It runs by itself. In addition, I often get rave comments from others while I'm driving it.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: 1.8T
by ramp1 on 10-17-2013
Super reliable
Car has never let me down, love it! Great on gas and loads of room for the family. Manual transmission is fun and 1.8 turbo engine has lots of power on the highway for passing.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

by Trey on 09-04-2013
Very Reliable
I've owned the vehicle for 9 years and has been the most dependable car I've ever owned. Best fuel economy at even 450,000km. Fit and finish is great and still feels as solid as it did in 2004. My wife's GM vehicle only had 150,000 and felt very clunky at the same age!

The wagon has been very versatile providing over 5' in depth and over 3' wide to transport items - able to carry a bathtub with room to spare!

Only complaint would be the headlight covers loose their clarity.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: Trendline
by cizzerr on 08-27-2013
Great everyday or road trip car!
A great reliable sturdy build car. the Sport wagon can haul a lot of stuff. the seats are very comfortable for long distance driving. the Engine is silky smooth and quiet. I drive the 5 speed manual and the gear shift is great. has a great feel to it and very forgiving, great amount of low end torque making shifting very seamless and smooth. I recommend the 5 speed manual over the automatic transmission. Its a German car the built quality is next to none and the car feels very sturdy. It has about 103K km and all that was done to the car was regular scheduled maintenance, brakes replaced and a set of new tires.
The only negative aspect is personal one as i wish it had a little more power.
Overall
4.5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: Sport TDI
by Squirrely on 03-26-2013
Love This Car
I was dead set against wagons, but I desperately wanted a Jetta TDI. When I got behind the wheel of the 2009 Jetta Sport Wagon TDI I was in love. The dual transmission is a dream, the interior space is fabulous. Enough room in the backseat for our teen to be relatively comfortable on road trips. Fuel economy was astonishing, and a total selling point for us. We would run almost a month between fuel ups.
Overall
5.0
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

by JettaTDIWAGON on 03-16-2013
Mileage plus style
The TDI Jetta Wagon is a great vehicle, with amazing mileage and great comfort and pep. The TDI engine gives it amazing torque and the six speed transmission gives smooth transitions. The wagon body gives lots of flexibility. It comfortably seats five, with cargo space for luggage, or with the rear seats folded flat a full cargo bed.
The trim kit we chose has the full length sun-roof, which is amazing. Extending across both seating rows, it really brightens the interior on cloudy days. I would not hesitate to recommend this car to anyone looking for a reasonably sporty but fuel efficient family car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: GLS
by DougiePAnderson on 03-05-2013
2006 Jetta Wagon
The TDI model gets excellent fuel economy. The back seat is too small for use by anyone over 5 feet tall.

Be prepared to do a rear brake job every year if you do a significant amount of driving.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: TDI GLS
by BigBadThor on 02-05-2013
Perfect blend of economy, utility and fun
There aren't a lot of cars that can be everything to everyone, but my 2003 Jetta Wagon TDI diesel comes pretty close. It's cavernous inside for its footprint, yet is easy to park. Even in stock tune, there is plenty of torque underfoot to power you up hills without having to gear down even fully loaded with the AC on, yet returns mileage that can shame a hybrid, especially on the highway. And how much can a Prius tow?

One great thing about this particular model year is the ALH version of the VW TDI engine. It isn't as refined or clean as the PD and CR engines that followed it starting in 2004, but it is more fuel efficient, less complex, and has proven to be quite reliable (properly maintained). But what I like best about it is how much more power you can easily attain from it with a few simple modifications, without sacrificing reliability or - amazingly - fuel economy. As parts wear out I've been replacing them with upgrades, and as of this writing I have installed bigger nozzles, had the ECU re-tuned by a noted TDI tuner and upgraded the clutch to handle the extra torque. The original power numbers were 90 HP and 155lbs-ft of torque, and with these mods I'm now making roughly 122 and 228. This has transformed the personality of this car, obviously, and I'm still averaging 5.5 L/100KMs without trying.

With any European car you'll have a variety of quirky issues, but these are minor annoyances that don't affect my happiness with this car. I am going to try to keep this thing forever; at 320,000 KMs, it's still young for a diesel, which also means that I don't mind spending money to keep everything in top condition.

Also make sure you find a reputable mechanic (a TDI specialist) near you. And spend time on the forums at TDIClub.com. Not everyone is qualified to work on these engines and even VW dealerships are not known for their expertise, or their ability to save you money on repairs like a good "guru" can.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: treadline
by dozzer86 on 01-17-2013
Great wagon
This car is amazing. the size and the power on the engine is perfect for everyone. i would recomnet it to anyone
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: 1.8T
by marcaccioc on 01-04-2013
Great 4-banger
Great car. Turbo is a nice feature, but having to use premium gas is a negative.

Very comfy, great performance. Minimal rust.
typical older VW minor electrical problems.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

by Beverleb on 01-02-2013
love my Jetta
I love my Jetta Wagon. As a 1st time VW owner, I was a little anxious that my Jetta would live up to the VW hype...well it does! It's a smooth, comfortable ride...the seats are a million ways adjustable which is perfect for my trick back. The back seats fold down FLAT to give tons of cargo space. The only thing I wish it had is a flip up back window so that I can get lumber in the car more easily. Maybe they'll have that feature by the time I need to buy a new one :)
I think I've just become a lifelong VDubber!!
Overall
4.0
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

by vwkid on 12-18-2012
2004 VW Jetta TDI
Best car I have ever owned. Despite some small problems which really were not much to fix car gets amazing fuel mileage. Low on power but I am not looking for power with a diesel
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: GLS
by RPJ on 11-29-2012
2003 VW Jetta Wagon Diesel GLS
this car has been reliable has never left me down or broke down I had a front wheel bearing replaced but managed to drive to dealer.... the best part of owning this car was fuel economy I consistantly got from 4.9 to 5.2 L per 100 k
this is pretty hard to beat ever with the Hybrids
I thought I would drive it to the ground but my wife would like to upgrade and get an auto transmission
Yep I know just the vehicle .... Jetta/Diesel with autotrac
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

by Reikigirl on 11-13-2012
Our Jetta
We've had our vehicle for a number of years and we still love it. Our fuel economy is second to none. We are so grateful for the reliability of this model and year. The design is a step up from other vehicles. The seats, I must say are not as comfortable as they once were but it's carried us around for years.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

Trim: grey
by jrboi on 11-11-2012
Awesome lil' Wagon
My experience with this car has been great ! It's awesome for familys of 5 wanting to hit the road for day trips to the wildlife park or even just cruzing around the city. It's also benfited me and my family with moving you would be surprised with what you can fit in the back of these babies when you remove the backseats. All and all i would highly reccomand this car to anyone with familys or if you have pets that like to come along on outings :) Also equipped with A/C, power windows and heated seats ;)
Overall
3.5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

by DougiePAnderson on 11-09-2012
2005 Jetta Wagon Tdi
Excellent reliability, excellent fuel mileage.

Back seat is very small.

Maintenance costs are low.
Overall
4.5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

by vwkid on 11-08-2012
2004 VW Jetta Wagon TDI
My 2004 VW Jetta wagon has been very shocking for me. I have always driven Jetta sedans and was a little hesitant to get rid of my sedan. After owning the wagon for a while I realized how much cargo room there was. Extremely spacious for a small wagon. I took my family camping and was able to get as more stuff in the wagon then my wifes much larger Audi A6 Avant and still retained the amazing fuel mileage. Over all I love this wagon and plan on keeping it a long time. With over 250,000+ kms, it has had very few problems over the regular maintenance that is required for a diesel. I would highly recommend a Jetta Wagon to anyone.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

by jennperks on 11-07-2012
Clean Diesel
Will be sad to see this car go, but our family needs something bigger. Have enjoyed driving a clean diesel car, fuel efficiency makes a great difference. Looking to upgrade to a similar wagon with more back seat room; that is the only problem we have had with the car is that the kids car seats don't fit well if your driver/passenger are tall and need to recline their seats back. Cannot say enough good things about the fuel mileage; approx 1000 kms to a tank.
Overall
4.5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email