Owner reviews cbrook's review(s)
Owner Reviews written by cbrook
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

2001 Honda Civic

Trim: DX-G
by cbrook on 12-17-2014
Very Reliable and Fuel Efficient!
Having gone from a Camry to this car I can honestly say that fuel economy is the biggest draw for this car! Besides that, reliability is also top notch and extended service intervals also help to keep maintenance costs to a minimum. Being an automatic power can be lacking but as long as you're willing to get on it a bit it will become quite peppy in typical Honda fashion. The only real gripe I have is some rattly plastics on the interior which quite disappointing considering my Camry was much older and had well over twice the mileage and had no such rattles. However, considering this is my biggest gripe, I think I'm doing well!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1991 Dodge Caravan

Trim: SE
by cbrook on 09-17-2013
A Good Van Gone Bad
This was my dad's family vehicle from 1996-2006. There were many great memories with this van as it dependably took us on many family road trips and camping trips over the years. Unfortunately, the last couple years were rough for the van. It developed a habit of consuming starter motors and batteries at a rapid pace and required 3 starter replacements and 2 batteries in the last few years with us. Engine performance was a little on the weak side from its 3.0L V6 especially at the end of its life, not nearly as good as the revamped 3.0L V6 in his current 1995 Voyager. This van provided many years and over 250,000km of service but ultimately succumbed to age and mileage.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1995 Plymouth Voyager

Trim: SE
by cbrook on 09-17-2013
Overall a Good Van
My dad has had this van for almost 8 years now with very few problems to report. Most issues that occured with it happened in the first year or so as the result of the previous owner being an older lady who had it sitting in her garage for the better part of three years before he bought it and had only put 98,000km on it in the decade she owned it. It now has almost 190,000km on the clock and the main concern at this point, as with many American cars of the era, is the body which is starting to rust quite badly, especially the rear hatch. The rear window wiper is also an common problem area needing to be repaired often to remain functional but is, unfortunately, necessary for rear visibility during winter/rainy driving. But, these are not issues that cause the van to become inoperable so nothing serious really, just annoying. Overall a good van!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

Trim: Silverado 2500 Pickup LS Ext. Cab 4X4
by cbrook on 09-17-2013
A Fairly Well-Built Truck with Good Styling
This is my dad's current work truck. Build quality, performance and reliability are very much improved in this truck over his old 1999 Ram 2500. Like the Ram, the styling is really nice but it has a better quality interior to match the nice exterior styling. The 6.0L V8 performs excellently and even when pulling a trailer loaded with equipment and a bed full of yard waste, the truck barely breaks a sweat. Few issues have occured reliability wise other then a transmission coolant leak at around 120,000km which was fixed under warranty and a sagging driver's side door that had to be adjusted due to my dad using it to help boost himself into the tall cab of the truck. Fuel economy, naturally, is dismal. Overall a very good truck that's more than up to most any task you could throw at it.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 Dodge RAM 2500 PICKUP

Trim: Ram 2500 ST Quad Cab 2WD
by cbrook on 09-17-2013
Great Styling, Dismal Quality
This was my dad's work truck for about 7 years. It handled most jobs fairly well but wasn't as capable as his new Silverado 2500. The 5.9L V8 was a little on the sluggish and underpowered size for a truck of this caliber and definitely showed its 1970s origins. The biggest issue was the transmission, rust and general build quality. The transmission died at 7 years old with 160,000km on it and as of the time of trade-in in early 2010 with just over 200,000km, the transmission seemed to be on its way out again. By the time the truck was traded in, the cab was rusting off the frame, another common issue with these trucks, despite having undercoating every year. Finally, many of the interior trims pieces, such as the cupholders, were cheaply built and broke, the cupholders collapsed on several occasions. This, however, was a characteristic shared with American vehicles at the time, unfortunately. It's a shame this truck didn't have the quality behind its arguably best-in-class styling.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Trim: Adrenalin
by cbrook on 09-16-2013
A Great Little Niche Truck
The Explorer Sport Trac is not for everyone as other trucks can certainly haul more, have bigger beds and some even have better fuel economy. However, the Sport Trac is still a great little truck in its own way. Its smaller size certainly lends itself well to urban environments yet allows for some towing and hauling ability when necessary, more than most even need. Being that mine is the Adrenalin model it is also very well equipped and comfortable. I do wish the ride was softer at times as the 20 inch rims and sporty-feeling ride can be rough on long trips but this also has to do with its truck abilities. We bought it brand new and it is now pushing 100,000km with very little problems to speak of, mostly just maintenance. My main issues are electronic involving navigation system software issues and the SYNC system not functioning properly. These issues are usually fixed easily but are nonetheless annoying and resulted in my decision to deduct a star from reliability. As expected, fuel economy is not a strong point with its 4.6L V8. Overall, it's a stylish, well-equipped truck that is reasonably reliable.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Toyota Camry

Trim: LE
by cbrook on 09-16-2013
Amazingly Reliable!
We have owned many Toyota products over the years, including two other Camrys, and this one once again lives up to expectations! We bought it brand new and it now has over 300,000km. Thus far, very little has required repair outside of regular maintenance items such as brakes, oil, belts, tires, etc. As the car does a lot of in-town start-stop driving, the starter motor had to be replaced at about 275,000km and the front CV Boots tore open requiring a new axle just before 300,000km hit. Other then that, we have had to repair the air conditioning system, something that doesn't necessarily even need to be done to maintain the operation of the vehicle. Normally we would replace the car around 8-10 years but with such great reliability, we may just keep this for another 10 years and 300,000km!























































Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 Chrysler Intrepid

Trim: Base
by cbrook on 10-31-2012
Traditional Large American Front-Drive Sedan
If room and comfort is what you're looking for this is definitely the type of car you'll want. Even the base Intrepids come equipped with the usually assortment of power features making it well equipped. Interior trim is not the greatest but the seats are comfortable and the ride quality is very good. Fuel economy is pretty good for a car of its size. Avoid the 2.7L V6 at all costs; this engine has a serious history of oil burning and premature failure. If possible, go for a 3.2L or 3.5L; they have a much better reliability record and usually come with the better Autostick transmission rather then the standard 4-speed automatic. Also, watch out for the climate control/defroster and the front suspension components as these are common problem areas as well.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1995 Toyota Camry

Trim: LE
by cbrook on 10-20-2012
Great Reliable Car!
This car is absolutely astonishing! It's extremely reliable, very solid and still runs and drives like the day it left the factory. My car has almost 300,000km on it currently with barely any body rust and absolutely no frame rust whatsoever. These cars are good for easily 400,000-500,000km and I know of a couple examples of such cars. The 2.2L inline-4 in my car is pretty fuel efficient paired with good performance; you'd never need a V6. The 4-speed automatic shift smoothly and has a power mode that allows it to hold gears longer for faster acceleration. Despite its age, the car still looks modern today and the interior design/fit-and-finish is miles ahead of comparable American cars. I'd recommend this car to anyone!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email