Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Toyota RAV4 1990-2017Change

203 reviews
4.5/5
Toyota RAV4
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2017
1 review
2009
18 reviews
2001
6 reviews
2016
2 reviews
2008
21 reviews
2000
3 reviews
2015
6 reviews
2007
12 reviews
1999
1 review
2014
2 reviews
2006
12 reviews
1998
9 reviews
2013
11 reviews
2005
6 reviews
1997
7 reviews
2012
28 reviews
2004
3 reviews
1992
1 review
2011
18 reviews
2003
5 reviews
1990
1 review
2010
22 reviews
2002
8 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 165 reviews
1 2345 >

2002 Toyota RAV4

Trim: Limited
by Wiser15 on 07-18-2015
One of the best vehicles I have owned
Bought in 2006 as a lease-back with 67,000 km. Now has 262,000 km on it and still runs excellent. Uses about a half litre of oil between changes every 8000 km. Very reliable, only problem I had to change the ECM and that was covered by warranty. Just recently had to do some work on suspension...sway bar bushings. Most reliable vehicle I have owned since 1960's.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2014 Toyota RAV4

Trim: LE
by mmachell on 06-21-2015
Exceeded my expectations
I am surprised by the get up and go this vehicle has with 4 adults and a bunch of groceries and other shopping. Being a 4 cylinder I expected the steep hills where I live to be more of a challenge. I really like the back-up camera. The only thing I don't like is the people in the back don't feel the a/c it would be nice if there was a vent or 2 back there for them.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Toyota RAV4

Trim: Sports V6 4WD
by Spike_6360 on 03-28-2015
Awesome all round vehicle
Awesome vehicle. The thing has so much power it's like it's wagging its tail. I pull a 2500lb boat in summer and live in snowy/icy Red Deer. Fuel economy way better than you'd expect. Transmission responsive. Pulled the boat back from Maine to Alberta one year (yes 4500 km) and was gleefully roaring past 18 wheelers on small, narrow highways at speeds I daren't admit to. Real shame they no longer do a V6 Rav cos I'd like a new one after 140,000 km in 4 years.

Only gripes. Aux input for audio system doesn't work properly and costs $150 to replace (a common fault I believe) and the cruise control switch has failed and will cost $300 to fix. Sport suspension a bit much when my bad back is hurting (wished I'd got the limited model).
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Toyota RAV4

Trim: Limited V-6
by sdwyer on 11-08-2014
2012 Limited V-6
Just picked up a 2012 Limited V-6 and have been very impressed thus far.
This is the third Rav4 in the family, one daughter has a '04, and the younger daughter has an '05, and we just recently got our very own gently used 2012 Rav4.
All of them have been wonderfully reliable and fun to drive!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Toyota RAV4

by Rav44763 on 10-31-2014
excellent
Fuel consumption is very good. Design of back window not so good gets dirty really quickly hard to clean also. Back up camera comes in handy, I truly love this vehicle. This coming from a girl who drove big trucks like Sierras and Tundras
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Toyota RAV4

by gai on 09-05-2014
Excellent first Crv
This is a great Toyota Rav 4 but I would like to up-grade to a new Rav 4 2014 because I feel I rushed into a new car. Now I will take time to look at other crv.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Toyota RAV4

Trim: AWD
by 2009ToyotaRAV4 on 09-03-2014
2009 Toyota RAV4 AWD
Toyota’s 2009 RAV4 is a compact sport-utility vehicle that is slightly larger than some of its competition. But despite its relatively large size, it’s also one of the lightest vehicles in its segment, a trait which pays dividends in the RAV4’s driving dynamics and fuel efficiency. The RAV4 returns excellent fuel economy of 10.69 liters/100kms city and 8.40 liters/100kms highway. The 2009 RAV4 is powered by a new, 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine that puts out 179 horsepower and is mated to a four-speed automatic transmission. The new engine is more powerful than the 2006 to 2008's 2.4-liter and is also more fuel-efficient. The RAV4 boasts class-leading interior space. Second-row seats are adjustable and offer spacious legroom. Cargo capacity behind the second row is an impressive 37.2 cubic feet. What we like most about the RAV4 is its refined, carlike demeanor. The excellent fuel economy of the four-cylinder, responsive and fun driving dynamics, massive interior space and Toyota Quality puts the RAV4 at the head of its class.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Toyota RAV4

Trim: Limited
by ssafdara24 on 08-27-2014
It's a terrific ride
No trouble, fully dependable, drove couple of long rides with no worry, very spacious, Owner's pride neighbors envy.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Toyota RAV4

by joyride on 08-23-2014
I love my RAV4
I bought my 2002 RAV4 from a Toyota dealer in 2005 when it came off a lease. It is the best car I ever had! So trouble free, no major repairs, just maintenance. Always starts even on the coldest days. Great cargo room - I was even able to fit in a single mattress moving my kid to university! And yet very compact and easy to park and maneuver.

I think the seats could be more comfortable and the stereo could be better.

At this point some rust is setting in, so I know my RAV4 will not last forever, but I don't know how I will replace it. The new RAV4s are too big. The 2002 model was just the right size, and I love the style and colour too (gold).


Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Toyota RAV4

by Ravv4 on 08-22-2014
Excellent drive, very spacious and a lot of leg room. Love the exterior colour Bl
Love it. High up and able to see the road clearer. Like having the rear view camera. Enjoy having the radio dials on steering wheel. Also having cruise control and blue tooth. Moon roof is awesome.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Toyota RAV4

Trim: Package C
by Steamy1201 on 07-26-2014
Great reliable small suv
This Rav4 has been great reliable car and and will give many more years of reliable transportation to it's next owner.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Toyota RAV4

by Kam7067 on 07-24-2014
COMFORT & SAFETY
It's a very reliable vehicle with very good fuel effeciency. The new buyer will love it for safety and comfort features.

Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Toyota RAV4

Trim: V6
by ViktorVukovic on 07-22-2014
Great Family car fr any event
Well made Model.
I have this car about 3 years.
Never have any issue, it is a pleasure to use it on a heavy snowy and slippery road.A big difference from a regular car.
Very easy to drive comfortable and reliable.
I also like the usage of gasoline in town and on the hw,
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Toyota RAV4

Trim: Plus Package
by davecam on 07-16-2014
A great city and countryside SUV. Easily maneuverable, but with plenty of room inside.
Equally at home on city streets and logging roads (and off-road, I'm told, but I haven't tested that).

In 2006, Toyota started making the RAV4 much bigger and heavier, and in the process turned it into just another unwieldy monster SUV. The 2005 model year marked the high point for the RAV4. It has airbags, stability control, and all the features you'd really want, but none of the bloat that showed up in later years.

Never had any trouble with it at all.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

1998 Toyota RAV4

Trim: basic
by MyRav on 07-13-2014
This a great little SUV
Had this car for 5 years , bought from reliable dealer in Fort Erie
Its a thrill to drive , special in winter good traction
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2002 Toyota RAV4

by martev on 07-05-2014
Great bang for your buck
Had this RAV since new , almost 13 years. Very reliable and virtually no maintenace.( not even one light bulb) Only issue was a recall on transmission and ECM which was fully covered. Even tho a 2 litre it has enough power to handle steep grades.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Toyota RAV4

Trim: V6 4X4
by A1-RAV4 on 05-13-2014
It's a Toyota!
This vehicle is practical and fuel efficient - suitable for all season's that we experience in Alberta. The interior's are spacious and well designed along with a rear mounted spare tire allows ample cargo space. The 3rd row seating = the more the merrier!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Toyota RAV4

Trim: LE
by GuruRav4 on 05-03-2014
Problems with engine light since the beginning
I like the RAV4 2013 but it has had so many problems with the engine light, engine, charcoal canister, etc, etc. After 8 times in the dealership (6 weeks using a rental car) and they still can't find what the problem is.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Toyota RAV4

Trim: LX
by Frankchan on 04-30-2014
Great handling, very responsive with lots of power.
This is an very relibale and practical SUV, with V6 engine giveing me lot of power on the road. Great handling and very responsive.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Toyota RAV4

Trim: LX
by Wrldtravler on 04-21-2014
Road Ready and very Reliable
This car has been with us since 2002. It's never given us any problems and the engine is solid. We're maintained it regularly with quality oils and engine lubricants. It's always started in the coldest of winters and the AC has worked on the hottest summer days.
Can't say enough about the quality an durability of this car. It simply has not let us down EVER!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Toyota RAV4

Trim: ltd 4x4 v6
by RayFrendo on 04-10-2014
4 x 4 go cart
When I first bought this vehicle it felt like a go fast go cart. Now at 160,000 kliks it still runs strong. Only problems dealt with a whiny transmission which the dealer replaced under warranty and gave me a loaner. I had some difficult tuning in the Blue Tooth and it still is not nearly as good as my 2014 Corolla S. The dealer installed back up beeper sensor never worked well, so I had it disconnected. It was annoying and it went back to the dealer 3 times. YES ... I would buy another one. It's been strong and reliable. The Factory battery and tires wore out in 2 years and 35 k. Replacement battery & tires much better. Love It!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Toyota RAV4

by TheTruckGuy on 03-14-2014
TOYOTA RAV4 IS A GREAT RIDE
As the title says, great little commuter, with over 24mpg, solid buy, would never part with my 97.
The AWD system works great in the winter. Heat is quick and strong. Very reliable.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Toyota RAV4

Trim: Limited Edition
by Amazing_Vehicle on 03-03-2014
Just_Like_New
This car has been a dream. I love this vehicle and I'm very sad to let it go.

The fuel efficiency is unbelievable yet it has the ability to haul even small trailers . The comfort is awesome and the stereo is absolutely amazing. Tons of room for cargo and for up to 3 kids. Unfortunately often haul more than that now, hence having to sell.

I was not planning on selling it and all of the replacement parts I have added to this vehicle show this, but sometimes in life our circumstances change. This car is absolutely reliable and I always knew my kids and I were very safe and secure.

Best car I have ever owned!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Toyota RAV4

Trim: V6 AWD Limited
by Samwise04 on 02-17-2014
Riliabillity and power
Love the V6 power and the AWD makes winter driving a snap. Great handling and loads of extras. I love it
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Toyota RAV4

by Meghankroberts on 02-11-2014
Grown to Love Mine!
I have to admit that when I first got my Rav4 I wasn't keen on it's appearance, but it's grown on me. Lots of space inside, can easily fit 5 people, or ski gear, even put my mountain bike in it once. It's 17 years old without any rust at all and other than
maintenance and regular replacement of parts I've had no problems. Super reliable. Fuel economy could be a little better, especially at highway speeds of over 80km/hr. Also lack of power can be a bit of a drag, especially going up hills. All around great car that's up for any adventure!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email