Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Subaru Legacy 1991-2013Change

82 reviews
4.5/5
Subaru Legacy
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2013
3 reviews
2006
9 reviews
1999
3 reviews
2012
2 reviews
2005
10 reviews
1998
6 reviews
2011
4 reviews
2004
1 review
1997
5 reviews
2010
1 review
2003
5 reviews
1996
1 review
2009
1 review
2002
5 reviews
1995
1 review
2008
7 reviews
2001
4 reviews
1994
2 reviews
2007
7 reviews
2000
4 reviews
1991
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 51-75 of 82 reviews
< 12 3 4 >

2000 Subaru Legacy

by Unbelievable on 12-27-2012
Super Ride
This has been my fiances car....awesome ride and control...also very zippy and unbelievable in snow....this car is a sure thing!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Subaru Legacy

Trim: 2.5I
by Wingnut on 12-24-2012
Great all around car
Great in winter ops, lots of room in the wagon for the dog and camping gear. A great engine noise when it's warmed up.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1994 Subaru Legacy

by Aethaeran on 12-24-2012
Best. Car. Ever
I love everything about this car. It has everything you need and more. Power windows, power steering, power sunroof, turbo, cruise control, retractable antennae. 2 Thumbs Up!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1994 Subaru Legacy

by Connie13 on 12-23-2012
My silver bullet
I bought this car when I lived and worked in the northern part of BC. It got me everywhere I wanted to go in all road and weather conditions.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Subaru Legacy

Trim: 2.5l SI turbo
by Bahamut666 on 12-15-2012
A very enjoyable ride for the 'Driver" in you.
Great performance for a sport little all wheel drive car that seems to have its beginnings in the sport rally genre. 13.4-13.8L/100KM fuel mileage and the requirement to use super or ultra fuel increases fuel costs. but nice fun driving car over all.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Subaru Legacy

Trim: LEGACY OUTBACK
by scmens on 12-12-2012
Excellent Outback
We have been very happy with our 03 Outback. It has been 100 % mechanically reliable. It is an excellent vehicle to drive in the winter time when the road conditions are less than ideal.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Subaru Legacy

by Subaru_Samarai on 12-08-2012
Like a Timex Watch!
My 97 Subaru Legacy wagon is awesome at 320k kilometres. Not so great on gas, even though it's a five speed. Loves the highway! All-wheel drive means snow and rain are no problem.

Recommended to everyone who expects reliability and function from their ride.

Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Subaru Legacy

by Legacy8140 on 12-07-2012
Love my subaru!
This is a fabulous vehicle, and the all wheel drive is so awesome. I have loved every minute of it, and it keeps going, even if you ignore that check engine light.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Subaru Legacy

Trim: 2.5i Limited
by 2006_subaru_LTD on 11-29-2012
My subaru
This car is very good. I lived in a winter area. AWD helps a lot. I Have some leaking oil problems at 130 000 km. Problems with head gasket. Also, too much stuff to protect the exhaust. With time, rush gets on the bolts and becomes slack. Some hiittng sound in the front.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2001 Subaru Legacy

Trim: L
by mikezbinden on 11-29-2012
2001 subaru legacy wagon L
I bought my 2001 subaru new . I just recently sold it with 330,00kms on it. Its a great vehicle and the guy who bought it is still driving around town with it. I always had all the regular services done at the dealership. The timing belt at 160,000 kms etc. The only issue i ever had with it, was once with the fuel system..i had bad gas in it and never knew. I sold my subaru after I bought a 2007 dodge ram 1500 pick up. Beenn having issues with it, and if they keep up , i may go back to subaru again. It's been the best car i've ever owned.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Subaru Legacy

by pearcy2670 on 11-27-2012
Very comfortable and is quiet.
Never has crashed and we use it a lot because we know it's pretty safe-the car is good quality even that it's old.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Subaru Legacy

Trim: LEGACY OUTBACK
by Attamisk on 11-22-2012
Comfortable and reliable
I've owned 2 of these now, a 97 and this 2000 model. both are very reliable and comfortable, with lots of space inside, and in the back. The Fuel economy isn't the greatest, its able the same as owning a new truck, and with a 60L tank, you have to fill up fairly often if you drive at all. I love the look of the old models of the outback, but the new ones are to large. one other thing to think about with these cars, they do take an odd size tire, and if you want to change anything with the center console you do need to take off a whole lot of paneling, not just around the console.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Subaru Legacy

Trim: GT
by BlossomPark on 11-22-2012
I love my old GT
I bought this car when it came off a 4 year lease. I've been driving it for 12 years now and am really sad that it's just about at its end of life. Don't get me wrong, she still starts every day and runs like a top, but the body is starting to go, as are some of the electrical things (antenna, etc.).

But I always loved the interior detailing, the sun/moonroof, and the body style still looks modern and styling. It's been a great run. :-)
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Subaru Legacy

Trim: GT
by Robp on 11-22-2012
Reliability and AWD - Cannot find a better match for Canada
This has been a funtastic car, great handling with 17 in rims, excellent performance when needed with turbo, same as the WRX. Styling is eye-appealling, and comforin the leeather heated seats in winter can't be beat.
My wife loves this car, the AWD for winter driving with Falken tires is awesome. The best part is the SUbaru reliability, rated #1 or 2 for many years. Check the stats, best value retention of ALL cars.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Subaru Legacy

by Jlhsiao on 11-22-2012
Practical and fun
AWD provides pretty stable cornering. Fuel economy is great considering the size and weight of the car, as well as the fact that it is AWD. Sound system is terrific for its class. Only major letdown is the acceleration, but that is to be expected for a 170hp engine on a heavy car.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2002 Subaru Legacy

by VinnySubi on 11-16-2012
VinnySubi
Good experience in general.
The AWD system is very effective during the winter but the fuel economy is not good. The window trim are a little problem because the wind make a lot of noise over 100 KPH.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Subaru Legacy

Trim: GT 5Spd
by Runner on 11-15-2012
Coolest sleeper ever made
The 2005-2009 was probably one of the most interesting cars ever made. After the underwhelming Legacy prior to it, Subaru set out to completely redesign the car and decided to shoehorn STI's engine into it. I had a 2007 with the 5Spd manual and even though everyone said it was "detuned" I wasn't losing to STIs by more than a tick.

The exterior was quietly aggressive and the interior was way more refined than you would expect for a Subaru. Right up until the day I sold it, it would surprise even the most knowledgeable car snob with its performance. The AWD was excellent and I couldn't have asked for a better car, I am lucky to have had owned a new one and had it for its best years.

Don't get tricked into buying a Spec.B for more than the regular GT, the engines are identical and their power output is identical. I was able to replicate the Spec.B's handling benefits with a rear swaybar. One warning is to GET A MANUAL if you want this car to perform, the stock automatic transmission killed this car's power because the shift points were all wrong.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Subaru Legacy

Trim: LEGACY BRIGHTON
by subaru2084 on 11-14-2012
reliability is #1 as I have young children
Love it! Great on gas, awesome winter car, very little maintenance. Most things very accesable from steering wheel.
Great cargo space in the rear. The only thing I do not like is the stiff seats, however, I only noticed this after being given a 1990 Chrysler. It was 30,000 dollars brand new! So I guess I have nothing to complain about. Buy a Subaru, get home safe!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Subaru Legacy

Trim: GT Limited
by Delphinos on 11-13-2012
Amazing and Powerful car
This car is a lot of fun to drive. The turbo makes a huge difference considering that I use to own an 2003 legacy naturally aspirated car. The interior is very nice given this is a limited edition (all leather including the very nice MOMO steering wheel). The audio system could be better, does not play MP3 cd and no aux input. Currently tuned stage 1 with a Cobb accessport, this mod is a must as it reduces turbo log and adds an extra 18 ponnies and additional 50lbs-foot of torque over stock. Great car and that detuned sti engine is a lot of fun
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Subaru Legacy

by vanessablaze on 11-10-2012
all wheel drive, great performane, japanese reliability
this is great car. ive never had any problems with it nor have i to replace any parts. just general maintainance. great handling with a smooth ride. japanese reliability. i wish more people would invest in subaru vehicles they are one of a kind.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Subaru Legacy

Trim: LEGACY OUTBACK Limited
by curriedg on 11-08-2012
Built to keep on going
We love this car. The AWD and low centre of gravity make this car handle like a dream in ice and snow, and even better with snow tires on. Room for 5 and plenty of cargo. Hauled 2 kids, 4 bikes and a car-top box full of camping gear from Ontario to the Maritimes with ease.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Subaru Legacy

Trim: Limited - GT
by Legacy on 11-05-2012
Subaru Legacy GT 2.5 Limited
What an awesome car. Great gas mileage for a turbo and super handling. Cornering and acceleration are superb, especially with Michelin Pilots on board. Love the Mono steering wheel.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1996 Subaru Legacy

Trim: LEGACY OUTBACK
by Subaru1996 on 11-03-2012
200 km and still going strong
my Subaru is all metal, none of these fiber glassed cars that get damaged so fast. My 96 Subaru Outback Legacy has many extra features that were eliminated in newer models. It is a wagon that goes the distance, gives extra room for passengers and for my dog.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Subaru Legacy

Trim: 3.0 R Limited
by SubieWab on 11-02-2012
Subaru Legacy 2008 - 3.0 R limited
Absolutely fabulous.
I bought this car while in warranty and I'm going to extend the warranty on power train for another three years (Subaru Warranty), I love everything about this vehicle, decently quipped considering it is a limited edition, while other limited are more equipped but for comfort and performance, this vehicle is unmatched neither in it's class or others. the car AWD symmetrical; served me during my long drives on iced Montana canyons, Lethbridge and many others. it is as I assume best engineered vehicle by the japs, the comfort is not less than Merc / Infiniti / Audi or others, but the only down side is the luxury toys in the driving cabin.
I will sure upgrade the cabin when the warranty is over as I plan to keep this vehicle for long time
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2005 Subaru Legacy

by liftedMind on 11-02-2012
Performace and Japanese Reliability
This is my second Legacy. First was the 2000 GT. The one I have now is even better minus the turbo. The performance and handling are off the charts. All-wheel drive. Gas consumption is the only complaint.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
< 12 3 4 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email