Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Nissan X-Trail 2002-2010Change

33 reviews
4.5/5
Nissan X-Trail
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2010
1 review
2007
1 review
2005
11 reviews
2008
2 reviews
2006
17 reviews
2002
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 33 reviews
1 2 >

2006 Nissan X-Trail

by darege on 06-09-2017
Great Ride
This vehicle more than matched my expectations. I purchased it used and got a few more years out of it. Finally traded it because it needed some maintenance that was going to cost a fair bit of money since the warranty had long expired. All in all, I really felt attached to my Nissan. But 11 years old and needed something newer for my work.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Nissan X-Trail

by VernonNava on 06-08-2017
2007 Nissan X-Trail Extreme
10 years later and this car still works quite well - after maintenance and huge repairs.

Fuel economy is average, nothing to stellar! I get around 8L/100KM on this on the road, I'm guessing around 6L/100KM on the highway.

The handling is quite decent for this as well! Turning is smooth, and the ride is good.

Engine is quite noisy when idle, and you can definitely feel all the bumps on the road.

Other than the gas problem we faced last year, it's still reliable and usable to this day! Definitely would recommend if you have don't really ride too much, and are looking to get around the city.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by campbell5774 on 03-12-2017
wont stop running
both mine new in 05, it now has 362000 kms. manual transmission means brakes last a lot longer, total change twice including callipers. worst part is wheel bearings in rear, had to change rear wheel bearing passenger side 5 times. not cheap to do. door handle fell off on a cold day when i went to open door. rust around back week wells around 150000km and now is pretty bad, getting rust on roof now and windshield leaks, clutch, entire exhaust system and engine are all original. only part time 4whhel drive with front wheel drive when not using 4 wheel drive a big plus, had to put in major money at 150000 and again at 300000, but although the engine and clutch seem fine the body is falling apart with rust, roads are terrible where i live and had to change most of steering around 250000. air conditioning went only two years ago, i have original radiator, . in my experience buy used around 80000 or better then again around 160000 - 240000. because as said about every 150000 you have to put major money into it
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: LE
by LOVE4073 on 03-07-2017
It is comfy, fun and looks great
I have enjoyed this small SUV, which is great on gas, heated seats in the winter, big sun roof in the summer. The back seats fold down for an even larger cargo than already there. It is an impressive vehicle and i am sure someone else will enjoy it just as much!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by Pluggr76 on 12-27-2016
X-Trail. practical, generally reliable and driveable
With 250K on this 2005 a little wear and tear is unavoidable. Solid on the highway, dependable on the gravel and practical around time this has been a great little truck. Replaced the rear wheel bearings twice, the emergency brake is pretty unusable, but this thing just keeps on going. Sure footed in both FWD and 4WD, I trust my kids with this vehicle. Parts are a little harder to come by by, but still I am looking at buying a lower milage version to do it all over again.....
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: LE
by Sevenup on 12-14-2016
Time to scrap it
I don't know what planet everyone is on saying all the good things about the xtrail, but as a long-time owner I can tell you it's a terrible car. The ride is horrendously hard and contributed to my lower back issues. The wheel bearings get fried constantly, the cam sensor goes every 30-50,000km (dies on the road), rusts badly around the wheels (check for bondo), front end parts fail constantly, and the engine burns gas like a V8. At 200000km, it now needs timing chain, 5th set of brakes, exhaust, and more front end work...i'm not putting the $5,000 into keeping it going. Terrible car! In contrast our second car, jeep wrangler, at 150000km just had its first real shop visit in 7yrs.
Overall
2.5
Comfort
1/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
1/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: SE
by Vegas on 03-13-2016
Happy Trails with my X-Trail
I have bought my Nissan X-Trail SE in 2006. It has been the best vehicle i have ever owned. Have no complaints, as i have had no issues. I have kept it up with its regular maintanence and it has rewarded me proudly. Very confortable, 4x4 is awesome,panoramic Sunroof is great! I could go on and on! Love it!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: Bona Vista
by icm on 11-22-2014
COMFORTABLE AND FUEL EFFICIENT
Having driven this SUV (its my mother's car) I find it to be comfortable on the highway and on city streets. Blind spots are few and the ride height is exceptional to view the road ahead and all around while driving. The front wheel drive is responsive and accurate and when the road becomes wet or slippery the AWD system kicks in seamlessly. The 2,5 four cylinder engine has plenty of power but also provides excellent gas mileage.
Overall a great driving vehicle.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
4 out of 4 found this review helpful.

2005 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: SE
by xtrail on 09-17-2014
Nissan X-trail - great economic small SUV
Very reliable, fuel efficient small SUV. I will definitely recommend this car to anybody. Mechanically very reliable, with great creature comforts (heated front seats, very efficient air condition). Switching effortlessly with dash mounted knob between 2 wheel drive and all wheel drive. Usable size cargo space, finished in plastic makes it easy to clean. Panoramic moon roof is a nice feature.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
5 out of 5 found this review helpful.

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: SE
by Practical8410 on 08-25-2014
It's a reliable and practical SUV/truck
Absolutely no mechanical issues; excellent visibility; great as a town car or for country driving. The interior is tough and easy to maintain. The engine is fuel efficient. The large moonroof is a great place to take wildlife photos.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
4 out of 4 found this review helpful.

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by X-Trailer on 08-24-2014
The best vehicle I ever had!
I bought an X-Trail brand new late 2004 as it was 1st coming out in Canada. In fact I had to wait for it. I will never regret it. I still have the vehicle today, after close to 10 years. The engine is still running as new, much more quiet than a 2 year-old Kia! The most reliable vehicle I ever owned, no close match - in comparison to Ford Escape, Jeep Cherooke, which I got rid of after a few years. Regular maintenance only.. The front seats are so comfortable. Perfect vehicle for a 2 kids family with back recliner seats, & lots of storage space. The vehicle drives extremely well in the snow, as other already mention. Fuel consumption is good for a SUV. Excellent visibility in comparison to today's SUV

Again, this is the best vehicle I ever had over 30 years of driving including many rentals. I intend to keep it for many more years...
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
4 out of 4 found this review helpful.

2006 Nissan X-Trail

by terrible on 07-29-2014
Punishing ride, terrible gas mileage
Bought this vehicle 3 winters ago. Have had to replace 3 wheel bearings spaced within about 6-9 months of each other at a cost of $400 each. Then the power steering pump went, luckily I found one a wreckers for $125, the Nissan dealership would have cost $800+. Gas mileage is horrible for a 4 cyl engine, in the winter especially at about 15L/100km or 18.8 mpg. Not enough power for highway, especially if facing a headwind. The ride is pushing even after replacing rear struts, like riding in a lumber wagon. I've also had to replace brake shoes all around. Poor cabin heat in Canadian winters. Very costly vehicle compared to the 1999 Mazda 626 that I drove into the ground without doing anything other than oil changes and a couple sets of tires.
Overall
2.0
Comfort
2/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
4 out of 6 found this review helpful.

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: SE
by Excellent1548 on 07-28-2014
Terrific traveling vehicle
The vehicle handles well in any weather conditions and provides a great amount of space for traveling or for families.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by Marie8581 on 03-26-2014
Made for canadian winters
4x4 is a wonderful plus when you live in Canada! It increases safety, stability and pleasure to drive on every kind of fields! The spacious room in the Nissan X-Trail is also a great matter to consider for those who likes outdoor sports! Well thought, there's even a place to carry your skis on! And... why not starting kayaking while you're there?
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: SE
by Stephen_Jo on 09-15-2013
Best choice for me and have immensely enjoyed owning this vehicle, Josie
I looked all over and could not get the panoramic sunroof coupled with great cargo area, stylish design and price point. It has proven to be the best purchase of a new vehicle since I bought my 1982 Honda Civic. I did pay a whole lot more for my Xtrail, but considering it was my second new vehicle purchase in over 30 years, it fulfilled all my expectations.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
3 out of 3 found this review helpful.

2010 Nissan X-Trail

by Princess on 03-25-2013
My first Car
Nissan is my first new car and my firs baby / family member. Not just a car but a baby that has been with me in all times of my needs. The best in Interiors, mileage and maintenance.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Nissan X-Trail

by KatieSu on 03-22-2013
love the ride
one of the most reliable cars i have been in yet...and finally something stylish that fits the whole family without having to look like soccer mom
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Nissan X-Trail

by KatieSu on 03-22-2013
nicest ride ive had yet
it is probably the most reliable car i have owned...very comfortable and actually fits the whole family
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: LE
by Cherryboomer on 03-13-2013
Love my car
I have had no problems with my car and love it's durability as well as the versatility of it's design.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: Bonavista
by Bonzoll on 02-19-2013
Bonzoll
I bought this vehicle in 2010 as a 48,000 kilometer used suv .
The body and interior were in good condition, as it was a one owner unit and was traded on another Nissan. I was lucky that it had some warranty left, as I had a problem with the transfer case on the transmission. The mechanic at the dealer said it was the first time he'd seen a problem with a trans on this type of car. Since then I have had no trouble whatsoever .
The car came equipped with the Bonavista package of pb, ps,pw, p.locks, remote entry. heated seats. Tilt wheel, Cruise. Panoramic power moon roof..Fog lights. Block heater. 17" Alloy wheels. Cooled and heated cup holders.Cd Stereo. Carbon fiber interior trim and Fiberglass front fenders and rear flooring. All in all a well equipped car. I'm glad I bought it and would again.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
4 out of 4 found this review helpful.

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: Bonavista
by Martin_G on 02-01-2013
Good solid comfortable practical small SUV
Bought this car a year and a half old, with only 18,000 kms. It's been all that one could ask for. We were looking for a slightly used, reliable small SUV that did NOT have the spare tire on the back, so that the tailgate could open up and not like a very wide door. That ruled out the top-rated CR-V and RAV4. We are very happy with it and have had no problems at all with it so far.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2002 Nissan X-Trail

by sunspun on 12-31-2012
Very practical car
Very happy for this car. It is good looking, reliable and can fit my kids and a bunch of sports equipment
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by domino5474 on 11-28-2012
great ride
it is really good in all weather evern i n 2 feet of water and snow i have had it up mountains in wales in the snow and no problems at all next thing is to get some big tyres

Primary Use: Sport/fun (spirited driving, track racing, off-roading, etc.)
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

by RMS313 on 11-27-2012
A great car
Bought used a couple of years ago to replace an X-terra. Quite economical for a suv. The CVT gearbox is a wonder, put your foot down to overtake and it takes off. Great driving position and instruments are easy to read. Interior is light and roomy and a reasonable amount of space with the rear seats folded. The front end panels are flexible and have been glad of that more than once when I haven't seen a low branch or rock - just reversed back and the dent bounced out.

Only downside is the a/c which doesn't work well after five years.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
3 out of 3 found this review helpful.

2006 Nissan X-Trail

by arrotsel on 11-24-2012
Awesome Four Wheel Drive
I really love the X-Trail. We have had it for 6 years now and no problems. I replaced the starter motor and brakes in the past 4 months, but never any engine problems or any major work. We do regular maintenance and oil changes(always synthetic oil). runs just as smooth as when it was brand new.
Handles amazing on the highway and also through the snow. I tried to get stuck one day, but couldn't.
i love it.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email