Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Land Rover LR3 2005-2009Change

17 reviews
4.5/5
Land Rover LR3
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2009
1 review
2007
3 reviews
2005
5 reviews
2008
2 reviews
2006
6 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews

2006 Land Rover LR3

Trim: SE V8 4.4L
by ROVERLR3 on 05-22-2015
Reliable Rover
This car has extremely high performance on off road condition, no matter what's the weather, and I could feel it accelerate power from its V8 engine, incredible capacity of people and cargo, pretty enjoy its three sunroofs in the sunny season. First and second row heated seat make us really comfortable in the freezing temperature. I could easily move my baby's car-seat, as well as pregnancy and elder from selected lower level. It's worth to add #91 although empty so quick, it's my reliable Rover!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Land Rover LR3

Trim: HSE
by Volantorman on 04-08-2015
Lives up to its name
Roving the land is what this vehicle is meant to do. The electronics can be gnarly sometimes but the best thing to do with that is to have the LYNX diagnostics interface for your Windows Laptop to "talk" to the Rover and manage the error codes that appear occasionally. Nothing else out there beats the ride and comfort thanks to the pneumatic suspension which you can raise and lower on the fly while traversing the forest. Buying used and having some fun in the woods is the best way to go. If you want to go really deep into the woods then I recommend a built-in winch kit with a good bush bar.
You can lay down flat in the back when all the seats are down and enjoy a good night's sleep. The Nav system was ahead of its time and so is still very useful even without a map upgrade.
This is a specialty SUV for special travel so do your homework and take one for a test and you'll see what I mean.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Land Rover LR3

Trim: SE
by CVPI on 07-22-2014
Monster Machine
This car is great for normal city driving as well as outdoor offroad treks. I would say this car is suited more for younger people because the performance and handling is almost race car like, but if you're a fan of jeeps or big rides then this is definitely for you. This thing is so big you could fill it up with 9 bikes and still have room for the driver not to mention the racks on the roof. Did I mention a V8 engine? This machine can beat any Honda civic you see on the freeway. The quality of the interior is perfect for a night out with your girlfriend as well as escorting a VIP (like in those James Bond movies with the Range Rovers). Even if you're a little interested I encourage you to come check it out because if you go to the dealers it'll probably cost $20000 more than this. Honestly, I've got nothing else to hide other than what I've already said. Cheers
Overall
4.5
Reliability
5/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Performance
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Land Rover LR3

Trim: HSE
by Volantorman on 06-16-2014
My LR3
Did my homework to find there would be problems with the electronics in a 2005 LR3. So I bought a LYNX diagnostics interface and it has solved a lot of issues to the point where the vehicle is running great.
Overall
4.5
Reliability
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Performance
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Land Rover LR3

Trim: SE
by LR36508 on 05-26-2014
Fabulous SUV
I have had this Land Rover for 3 years and its been a great all purpose family vehicle. The 3rd seating certainly come in handy when needed.
Overall
4.5
Reliability
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Performance
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Land Rover LR3

Trim: SE
by Trail-blazer on 10-07-2013
A definite dream ride
Experience all wheel drive luxury at it's best. The ability to go places other drivers only dream about and do it in style
Overall
5.0
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Performance
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Land Rover LR3

by jack007 on 08-27-2013
perfect winnter suv
this is a really good car with good condition and low kilo. Alloy Wheels
Anti-Lock Brakes (ABS)
Anti-Theft
Dual Airbag
Keyless Entry
Power Brakes
Power Mirrors
Power Seat
Power Steering
Power Windows
Sunroof
Heated Mirrors
Heated Seats
Leather Interior
Auto Dimming Mirrors
Dual Climate Controls
Xenon Headlights
Panoramic Sunroof
Premium Audio
Bose Sound System
Power-Assist Disc Brakes
Privacy Glass
Wood Trim Interior
All Wheel Drive
Power Door Locks
Traction Control System
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Land Rover LR3

Trim: SE V6
by Great_comfort on 05-21-2013
Vancouver Driven
Very reliable in all weather conditions, great family vehicle space for up to 7 both rear and middle rows seats can go up and down for various seating arrangements,
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Land Rover LR3

Trim: SEV6
by LandRover555 on 02-02-2013
BEST 4X4Xfar
A wonderful car. Owned for 5 years now and have no complaints with putting nearly 130,000km on it. Dealer service is alright but quality of service does vary from dealership to dealership. I service mine in oakville. Don't believe everything you read in consumer reports. Read club forums and speak with mechanics that work on the car your interested in to get a good understanding of what to expect.
Some details:

Annual maintenance - $1500 over 5 years

Safe
drives like a car
adequately powered but if you like speed buy the V8 (no difference in fuel efficency between the engines)
13 litres per 100km
7 seater - at 6'4" i can sit in the third row comfortably
excellent visibility nothing competes
newer version LR4 is more luxurious
wish the steering wheel was heated
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Land Rover LR3

by LR36419 on 01-01-2013
Solid Vehicle
I have owned this vehicle for 4 years now and love it. Many of my acquaintances can't believe it is over 6 years old - they think it is almost new. The stability and ride is great and the interior very well laid out. Of course with the size and weight of this truck, and the engine (V8 300hp), the gas mileage is not great - but that is a trade-off I don't mind making. I am currently looking at upgrading to a newer Land Rover - I just can't decide which model to go after.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Land Rover LR3

Trim: HSE
by Knuk7 on 12-31-2012
Everything you could want in a all season luxury suv!
Handles the bad weather like it's not even there. Cruise in comfort and style while the rest of the world is slipping and sliding in the snow and ice. It's a combination of riding in the cockpit of an airplane in the comfort of your living room. Only Land Rover delivers this combination of luxury and all-season performance.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Land Rover LR3

Trim: SE
by LR32007SE_owner on 11-27-2012
What I learned by owning a LR3 2007 SE
I own 2007 LR3 SE v6 4.0L w/ 85k kms. Things I wouldn't expect to go wrong on a vehicle that is touted, as a commanding tough vehicle were very surprising. Did you know if you own one of these you can expect to replace your: Wheel bearing every, Tie rods, and Lower drive shalt every 40K. Something else that surprised me, if you spill a coffee or any type of liquid on your centre console that you will have to replace your Terrain response. This is supposed to be a tough off-road capable vehicle but don't get the interior controls or wiring wet.

Last gotta that Land Rover provided is that via TOPIX I can view and find all Land Rover services bulletins but to get Land Rover to take responsible for these is cumbersome. I don't blame the official dealer networks, which throughout my experience have been wonderful. I blame Land Rover that it labels too many of these discretionary instead of factory recall items. Again, I've never been disappointed with an official Land Rover dealer, and the service it provided, I'm just tired with wrestling with issues that LR should have resolved itself, instead of leveraging my pocket book.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Land Rover LR3

Trim: HSE
by Deej on 11-23-2012
Built to get through any weather and conditions!
Nothing but good times in this truck. Never worry about what the weather is like, how much snow we may have etc. Just get in it and go. Has a comfortable ride while still giving you a truck feel.
Overall
4.0
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Land Rover LR3

Trim: SE
by LR3 on 11-06-2012
A car for all seasons
Having moved from the UK in 2005 my wife & I were not used to Canadian winters but the standard LR3 features included a switch that changes the setup for different road conditions which includes snow & ice, this allows us to venture out on days when most other vehicles can't . We suspected that the 4 year warranty would not be enough to overcome all the issues that the car seemed to gather but after a time the problems became less & less; for peace of mind we extended the warranty for another 2 years. Tires have been expensive; initial set gave average wear, next were GoodYear but they didn't last long & were soon replaced by Pirelli which have been excellent so far. With the cars 7,500lb towing capacity we are easily able to tow a 21' boat. The towing capacity came in handy when our sons Mitsubishi Rally Art ended up in a ditch one winter, the LR3 had no problems pulling it out. My wife & I had a fantastic trip in the car with 2 friends visiting 4 states in America; the car excelled travelling long distances but we were never fatigued, a blessing compared to some cars where the seats are so uncomfortable your backside is numb & you need a back massage before being able to walk 10 paces. The LR3 is one of those cars that you will smile about when you have a choice of cars to drive. With its quiet soft ride you feel you are a star being driven from one venue to another and the 3 sun roofs means that 7 travelers get a view of the stars at night. One cool standard feature is the car can be lowered for passengers to load or unload, normal driving height comes on automatically or the vehicle can be raised to go over rocks etc at slow speeds but in reality is only used to show off or when parking next to another vehicle to stop their door denting your door. The LR3 is indeed a car for all seasons & if you were only ever going to own 1 vehicle than this could indeed be the vehicle for you. We intend to keep our LR3, this car just seems to get better and better each year.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Land Rover LR3

Trim: V8 HSE
by sshaider on 10-29-2012
LR3 King of Luxury
I have owned this truck for more then two years now, and absolutely love it, I have three kids so third row seating really helps a lot, especially on long trips, interior is roomy and very comfortable.... it is the safest suv that i have owned.... exterior look is iconic of what Land Rover is fanous for, Elegant and Rugged...... Other then Fuel Economy i dont have any negative about this truck, I would buy this truck again, any time.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Land Rover LR3

Trim: HSE
by Nathan90 on 10-29-2012
It'a an awesome ride
Nothing be great reliability and the ability to go anywhere I want when I want, As long as you can find premium gas...
Other than that love it and I am looking forward to lots more miles of fun ahead
Overall
4.0
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Land Rover LR3

Trim: HSE V8
by canuckroverman on 10-21-2012
Great all around vehicle
Had our LR3 almost since new and it has been a great truck. Huge inside and genuinely works well in all weather and road conditions. Very secure and stable handling on rough roads. Traction in worst weather and slipper roads. Does need real snow tires in winter though. Surprisingly fuel efficient on the highway, but does gulp it back in the city. Reliability has been excellent.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email