Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Hyundai Elantra Touring 2009-2017Change

45 reviews
4.5/5
Hyundai Elantra Touring
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2017
1 review
2012
8 reviews
2010
13 reviews
2013
1 review
2011
10 reviews
2009
12 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 45 reviews
1 2 >

2012 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by crispee111 on 11-25-2017
a pleasure to drive
this is my 5th Hyundai and one that I would definitely buy again. Not great gas mileage but a great ride. Lots of storage and room for cargo and pets. Friends find it a bit low to get in and out of but I have never found this to be the case. All electronics are great especially easy to use and access.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by happyone2 on 06-25-2017
WOW
I have thoroughly enjoying my car. I haven't had any problems with it yet just the usual oil change etc. it has never left me in the lurch at anytime even in the hard winter. I would not hesitate to purchase another. I would recommend this car to anyone whether single, have children or retired.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2017 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by fred3346 on 06-17-2017
it is a very good car
On the road, the Elantra is an easy car to drive drive. Acceleration is adequate, but far from exhilarating.
The ride quality is much improved and Hyundai’s engineers have made great headway in reducing noise in the cabin.
This all adds up to a solid family sedan that is high in content and solid in value.
At $23,999, our tester had leather seating, heated both front and rear, and a host of the tech features mentioned above plus dual zone climate control, heated steering wheel and a seven-inch colour touch screen with rearview camera.
Well worth a long hard look if shopping in the compact car class.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by Jeff5747 on 06-11-2017
A great car!
It is a great little car. Very reliable and very little issues with it through the years. I would definitely buy this car again.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by Thomas_Hormaza on 05-11-2017
After 7 years still a great car
Before switching to this car I owned a Ford, Acura and a Nissan. This car is a gem value/cost. I can't help but think that the only reason the Touring is no longer on the market... is simply that almost nothing goes wrong with this car! Even after 7 years I see no problem with major parts. The only thing I had to change was the pump for the window washer fluid 150$. Seriously Hyundai, you manufacture another Touring and I'll buy the model again in a heartbeat!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: GL
by d00dy on 11-01-2016
BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK
Let me start by saying my wife and are are very impressed with this little gem. We also own a 2012 Toyota Camry XLE with a V-6. Now, we can't compare the Elantra Touring to the Camry, as they are 2 totally different beasts. We needed an economical car to run errands in town, and the Elantra Touring was exactly what the Doctor ordered. We call our Elantra Touring "Gofer" as in, go for this, go for that. The cargo area is nice and low, and holds a wallop of stuff, and if we put the rear seats down, you can fit anything from lumber to wheel barrows in it...truly incredible cargo area. Fuel economy is very descent with this car, and we are getting 32.5 mpg when driving in town. I haven't calculated gas mileage yet for straight highway driving, but I know it's respectful. GOOD JOB HYUNDAI.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by Joe3271 on 10-01-2016
Unexpected!
We've driven to the east coast/maritime, Cape Briton and back with no issues whatsoever. It was a real joy able to cruise at 120-130 kmph most of the way during our two week trip. Two years later we drove across the Trans Canada Highway to Victoria B.C. with stop overs after 600 to 800km each day. Along the way we've visited each city and stayed over night including Banff and Jasper. We changed oil outside Edmonton and encounter no problems. We continued through to Whistler, Vancouver and Victoria for a few days. On the way back home we averaged 800km per day with fewer layovers. The original equipment tires were changed after 70,000km back home. What more can we say, great car, low maintenance cost and good mileage! Today, October 2016, car speedometer reads 78,000km. Absolutely satisfy the car with no regrets and really unexpected.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: GLS
by birdonthewire on 05-01-2016
LOVE my Elantra Touring
Bought this car new in December 2009, and am still driving it (and loving it) in April 2016. It's energetic and responsive, and is lots of fun to drive. Heated front seats are wonderful in the winter, and came standard with this car. Driver's seat is height adjustable as well. A roomy back seat and tons of room in the hatchback cargo area complete the picture. Well-designed dashboard with space-age blue lighting. My one complaint is the 15" wheels, which make the ride a little rough and also make it difficult to get out of snow banks in the winter. But otherwise this is my favourite car that I have owned so far. I would buy it again except that the Touring model was discontinued in 2012. Very disappointed by that, as the new Elantra hatchback doesn't nearly as much interior room.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by Joanne8048 on 03-28-2016
Most Reliable Car I've Ever Owned
The Elantra Touring is by far one of the best cars I had ever owned. Great gas mileage. Comfortable. Very reliable. This is my first Elantra. My next car purchase will be an Elantra as well. It is truly the best car in the world
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: gl
by Maarty on 09-06-2015
Great Value
Fun to drive. Love how it handles.
Heated seats are great. Cooled glove box is a plus.
Good gas mileage.
Lots of room more than the Tucson.
Comfortable.
No problems.
Most affordable car its class.

Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by Paul_K_Kho on 08-20-2015
Great Car
The Elantra Touring is by far one of the best cars I had ever owned. Great gas mileage. Comfortable. Fuel economy had increased from 8.9 to 9.8 L/100 KM. Very quiet and reliable. The Touring had come a long way since the Pony. It is on JP Powers' list of best cars in the world for five years. This is my second Elantra. My next car will be an Elantra as well. It is truly the best car in the world.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: gls
by frasers9769 on 05-28-2015
fantastic car top to bottom
I don't know why so -called "auto experts" claim the elantra touring is a bland vehicle was/ only its roomy interior a plus. This car gets more than decent mpg, EXTREMELY spacious interior, great looks and very reliable. I just don't understand why hyundai my only allowed production of this mid sized wagon 3 years!!! Shame on you hyundai!! You had a GREAT product and you cancelled production way too early!! This is a VERY GOOD vehicle to own ,especially with insurance. I was a tally paying more on my 2004 dodge stratus!! Hyundai, you really need to listen to your customers about the elantra touring. All you need to do is read all your buyers review on ownership and that will tell you something about satisfaction!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: GL
by Tekmoe on 11-14-2014
A faithful companion
I had planned to get another car in the same make and model that I had driven for many years. But it did not have the safety feature I was looking for--curtain airbags. Then I found a treasure in the Hyundai Elantra Touring, which has these, in my price range, and so much more. I had not been looking for a hatchback specifically, just these features. But it has proven to be of tremendous asset, in fact a motivation, in helping me move huge amounts of materials out of my house in preparation for a move--there was always room for one more bulky item. Also, it has more useful compartments for things you need at hand than other car had. All this and my surprise that it had cost so little to maintain in the 4 years--much less than "the old car". Hyundai Service is terrific and any problem at all was quickly fixed under warranty. I loved the zippy ride and the power in the snow getting up the steep hill on which I live. Hate to see this gutsy little beauty go.


Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by Hyundai2011 on 10-19-2014
More than you would expect!
Silver with Tinted windows gives a sporty sleek look. Interior is roomy, comfortable and offers transportation versatility. Reliable, economical yet gutsy car. Very safe. Great car, sorry to see it go!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2010 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: l
by Jhagen on 09-24-2014
more than you would expect
After 4.5 years driving this car I am very pleased with it. too bad 2012 was the last year. Would buy again.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by PLC on 09-20-2014
Great get around car!
Had one of these cars 3 years ago. Should have never gotten rid of the car.
Car ran perfect with basic maint required.

Roomy, good on gas and Insurance was low also.

Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2010 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: GLS
by finesseman on 06-29-2014
great trsnsportation
We had this car for 4 years and its never created any problems for us. The ESC function is real handy in the winter time and what can you say about heated seats when its cold outside that isn't self explanatory.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by Excellent2010 on 06-17-2014
Spacious and comfortable
I have owned this car for a year and it has been fast and responsive on the highway as well as easy for city driving. Lots of cargo room with the seats down if you have to haul things, comfortable and I love the heated seats when it is cold.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by emiliemlebel on 05-08-2014
Roomie and awesome
I have had nothing but good experiences with this car. It is so roomy that you can even sleep in it if you want to go camping! Or you can fit your skis in, you can fit large items in it! I even used my car to move from one apartment to another!

It has taken me on many worry-free road trips and when I did have a problem with it, Hyundai fixed it under warranty without any hassle!

Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: Touring Station Wagon
by ElantraTouring on 11-08-2013
great drive
comfortable, powerful, good on gaz, great music and sound system, spacious.. it's great... gives you a sporty feeling, comes with the sunroof, 17" Rims, ABS and all safety system. Nice ride, great for a family with Children and Pets.. for bicycles..
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by steinie73 on 10-06-2013
Sad to see it go!
This has been a great, reliable car. Due to life changes, I have to give it up. Fuel economy is fantastic (Jasper and back on one tank of gas). The doors open wider than most cars, which makes it easier to load kids and stuff.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: GLS
by moirasings on 06-11-2013
Economical and roomy
Lots of cargo space, very versatile as rear seats can be folded down. Very economical on gas. The heated seats are a great luxury. Convenient to have an MP3 port so you can listen to your Ipod while driving.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: Base
by HassMan81 on 06-05-2013
If it's on your 'Maybe' list - move it to your 'Must' list
I traded down from a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited in order to get something easier on gas. I wanted something fuel efficient, but that still had lots of space.

The Elantra Touring gave me both space and fuel economy in spades. The trunk is large, and with the rear seats folded down, it's absolutely cavernous. There's also plenty of head and leg room for passengers. I had the car loaded with 4 people, 2 over 6 foot, and everyone exclaimed about how the Elantra was roomier than my old Subaru Legacy.

I'm getting good fuel economy (especially considering how hard I push it). 6.1L/100km at 100-110km/h. 6.4L/100km at 120-130km/h. Around town I'm getting about 7.6, and again, I drive it like I stole it. I'm averaging 7.0L/100km right now.

Speaking of driving it like I stole it; the one thing that really surprised me was how much fun the car is to drive. To be fair mine is a 5 speed, but it handles like a champ and the brake has a really good feel so you can get the brake effect you're aiming for. It's not a super powerful car, but I can keep the tires smoking all the way into 3rd gear, and with a quick downshift I've never been wanting for torque on the highway.

Some people might find the styling boring, but I have grown to like it. The car has a simple handsomeness to it that most cars miss by trying to go too fancy. After a while, you can really see that the car was designed with European sensibilities in mind.

I've only had the car for 2 months, but haven't had anything even resembling a problem; it really feels like a very well built vehicle.

The only thing I have found to complain about so far is the size of the fuel tank. With a 40L tank I only get a little over 500km before the fuel light comes on. But, that is a very small thing in the grand scheme of owning the vehicle. All in all, I'd highly, highly, highly recommend it an Elantra Touring.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2012 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: GL
by HappyOwner88 on 05-01-2013
Reliable Car
Own the car for 10 months now. Best bang for your buck. The interior cabin is very generous. Has more space compared to the Tuscan. I am 6 feet tall and sitting in the back seat on the driver's side I have more than enough leg room and my knees does not hit the back of the driver's seat even when the seat is pushed all the way back. Fuel economy could be better. Regular city driving I am getting about 520 KM per tank. This car can use more horse power as it gets noisy going up hill. With the back seats folded down it can fit a 60" flat panel tv with no problems. Heated front seats is a bonus during the winter. Driving in the winter could be better though as the brakes needs improvement. Overall this is good car for all your basic utility needs.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by 2930 on 03-28-2013
practical
overall, a positive experience. Car has been everything I've needed it to be. Hyundai has a great car here, other than what I consider poor fuel economy. Was hoping for mid 30's. lucky to achieve high 20's. Handles well, brakes well and everything works as advertised. Only real complaint is it's "squirrley" road manners in slippery conditions compared with other cars I've owned. Even premium winter tires couldn't tale the cars penchant for wandering and sliding around in winter weather. Not a problem to me, as I just adjust accordingly. Wife, on the other hand, far prefers our old "beater" '02 Intrepid when the weather takes a turn for the worse.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email