Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Ford Expedition 1997-2013Change

38 reviews
4.5/5
Ford Expedition
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2013
2 reviews
2007
3 reviews
2002
1 review
2012
2 reviews
2006
3 reviews
2001
1 review
2011
2 reviews
2005
1 review
2000
4 reviews
2010
1 review
2004
4 reviews
1998
1 review
2008
8 reviews
2003
4 reviews
1997
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 38 reviews
1 2 >

2008 Ford Expedition

by BillyJames on 10-03-2017
Wonderful vehicle for a family
The Expedition doesn't ride like a truck, it is smooth and has a very sporty feel to it. Loaded with every feature imaginable, you will never wonder why it didn't come with any particular option.

Extremely reliable SUV throughout Canadian winters. I personally never bothered to plug my heater plug in and never had any issues with an immediate smooth start.

No shortage of power, pull and pure strength while providing every possible need for the entire family.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Ford Expedition

by lovely_peaches on 08-24-2017
Excellent ride, very reliable lots of rooms excellent on gas. Never had a problem with it since.....
Great Family SUV car. Very reliable and very spacious. Very roomy and runs great. Always a pleasure when we go on long drive. Runs smoothly, sound system is nice, all accessories inside are perfect.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Expedition

Trim: Eddie Bauer
by Expedition2003 on 06-30-2017
Ford Expedition (Eddie Bauer) 2003
Smooth Ride. Bad on fuel but great for long distance travel. I have tried to get rid of this car but te family always begs me to keep it. The entertainment package with the DVD player and 6 CD changer makes all the difference when traveling. The cargo area could be deeper and better delineated. The engine runs well.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Expedition

Trim: xlt
by ExcellentSUV on 02-13-2017
Perfect people and gear hauler
A fabulous vehicle. We owned ours for 6 years and it has performed flawlessly. Very comfortable ride, very safe, tons of room to do just about anything. It will very comfortably sleep two people with enough space left over for all your gear. I know because we have camped in ours many times. You can't go wrong with this truck.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Ford Expedition

Trim: Beige
by C4RSELF on 12-06-2015
Must see and drive
Excellent in all matters except paint corrosion in a couple of spots. Exceeded all needs and pleasures a family could ever expect from a vehicle.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Expedition

Trim: XLT
by Keepontruckin on 10-29-2015
Till Death do us part. Ford got it right inside, must have been a Woman design it.
Till death due us part. Love the interior cavernous space! MUCH more leg room than GMC Yukon XL or Suburban, we had both. Rear air and heat a must have ! This seats 8 adults very comfortable on even long trips with extra outlets and cup holders in the back too. Get the leather too, lasts MUCH longer and easy to clean (have 3 kids and dogs) The only thing that ever cost me money was the 4x4, we never used it and I think thats cost me the gas milage. Bought it to tow a monster trailer and you didn't know it was there. We had a 2 wheel drive Yukon XL and it got AWESOME gas milage. Would love to have had the Ford body on a GMC Yukon bottom in a perfect world.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Expedition

Trim: Eddie Bauer
by 2003_Expedition on 08-26-2015
Spacious & Comfortable
Love this vehicle, easy to drive and park for something large.
Smooth with good visibility like driving a (Lincoln) car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Ford Expedition

Trim: black
by Expo6408 on 08-11-2015
safe ride
This truck performs in all levels , never had a problem. All weather truck , reliable in all conditions .
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Ford Expedition

Trim: Expedition Max Eddie Bauer
by Bagelbrat on 05-23-2015
Great SUV but Bad Paint
This is an excellent full sized SUV which is perfect for sports families and travelling. Very comfy ride but the mechanical and body side of it is not very good. The paint is peeling and chipping away on the aluminum hatch and hood. Looks absolutely horrible and Ford will not do anything for you. The aluminum is contaminated and the paint applied is too thin as verified by the Zestar Corp. Just check out a Facebook page called Ford/Mercury Peeling Paint Complaints. Also the window motors keep breaking down and the sunroof leaks with heavy rainfall due to inadequate design of the drain tubes.

I do love this Expedition but would recommend getting a Tahoe Denali instead.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
1/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Ford Expedition

by FordAllTheWay on 07-31-2014
Great vehicle
This is a great riding & looking Suv. It's very comfortable with all the bells and whistles at your fingertips. A great travelling vehicle for the whole family-rides like a dream. Nothing can stop it in the winter! For the size of it and power the fuel consumption isn't so bad.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Ford Expedition

Trim: Eddie Bauer
by Expo on 06-01-2014
2004 Expedition failures
As Kirk B. said in his review......you learn to expect the upcoming breakdowns, and they are expensive to fix. Same problems over and over again........electrical, heater / air not working 5 times in 8 years. Blew two spark plugs out of the 5.4 engine due to poor design, and not enough "meat" or metal to contain the compression, so the plug blew out and you run on 7 lazy, noisy cylinders. Back up sensors broken down 3 times and don't work now. Cruise control and radio and heater setting on steering wheel don,t work at all. Several hundred to fix.
Despite all the negative things, I do like to drive the Expedition, but constant break downs regularly.
I will talk to owners of newer Expeditions 2012 or newer to see if they have similar problems. Only if I hear 100% satisfaction, would I consider another one.
Realistically the Infiniti Q56 has the luxury, power, comfort, and goood reputation to get the job done as well or better than the Ford.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Ford Expedition

by JAYO on 11-24-2013
VERY RELIABLE
GREAT Features inside with very comfortable interior. Heated and cooled seats are great. Being able to fold down all seats opens up loads of room for cargo hauling.
Very dependable with low cost of maintenance and repairs. Four wheel drive has been great in winter and handles very nice. All round I have been very impressed with the Expedition and would buy one again and recommend it!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Ford Expedition

Trim: Eddie Bauer
by Luke48 on 09-18-2013
One tough luxury machine
Very minimal maintenance with this vehicle. If it had better gas mileage it would b an all-round great performer. This vehicle was truly used as a utility vehicle. It has driven up 6000' mountain trails; pulled 6,800 lbs trailers up the Jasper Park Icefield parkway; forged thru and rescued vehicles in mud and snow; all with the space for four 6' plus adults and a couple of dogs!
281,000 km and still hauling.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Ford Expedition

Trim: Eddie Bauer
by Cadillac1988 on 08-19-2013
Clean Comfortable Classy
A pleasure to drive, great on the highway sit back enjoy the ride and take in a movie. Lots of cargo space easy to access with the push of a button.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Ford Expedition

Trim: EXPEDITION MAX limited
by mommaford on 04-11-2013
Great Family Vehicle
lots of room for kids and groceries etc.
fuel is horrible, but expected with such a large heavy vehicle.
would recommend
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2007 Ford Expedition

by 007 on 03-30-2013
Highly recommended
I have owned this vehicle and have Never had any serious problem with it. For a big SUV the gas mileage is very good. The 3 rows of seating is ideal for a family but the stough and go seats are very handy if you have large items to transport. I highly recommend this vehicle.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Ford Expedition

by Emariede on 03-16-2013
No regrets!
Bought it second hand, fully loaded with chrome add ons.. have had to replace a few small items but it runs like a dream, handles well and has moved this minivan Mom into a new category! :)
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Ford Expedition

by quikwitted1 on 03-10-2013
My ride
This vehicle rides nice and looks good to. Its been reliable and has lots of interior space for utility use. It however guzzles down the gas.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Ford Expedition

by sudyglennie on 03-08-2013
great automobile
this is such a great automobile i would love to own one of these one of the most comfortablest ride i have had great for traveling long distance in
Overall
3.0
Reliability
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Performance
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Ford Expedition

Trim: Eddie Bauer
by hockeymom on 02-17-2013
It's my third one... I LOVE the Expedition
This is my third Expedition and I absolutely love it. It is such a nice vehicle to drive. Comfortable, spacious, handles like a dream...did I mention comfortable? I have put many, many miles on my 3 Expy's as I have 3 very busy hockey playing boys. In fact, 4 of my friends purchased Expeditions shortly after riding in mine. Coincidence? I don't think so. For a big vehicle, I find it handles like a luxury car. Fuel economy? Well, it's not a VW. But i get almost 800 highway km out of a tank of gas. My latest edition is 5 years old with 185,000km on it and I still get compliments on it. Only minor repairs to date with regular maintenance. All in all, I highly recommend this vehicle.
Overall
5.0
Interior Design
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Performance
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Ford Expedition

by sid4185 on 02-06-2013
it's a teriffic ride
The Expedition comes in two configurations: a regular-length model and an extended-wheelbase Expedition EL offering 14.8 inches of additional overall length and 130.8 cubic feet of cargo space--including 24 cubic feet more behind the third-row seat than the standard Expedition. The Expedition EL rides on a 131-inch wheelbase, 12 inches longer than the standard Expedition.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2004 Ford Expedition

by MikeC2323 on 02-02-2013
A great family SUV
i have 160,000kms on our Expedition and it has never let us down. the kids love the car so much its nicknamed ( The Cool Car) Living up north we have alot of winter and i have never driven a vehicle that gets around as good as my Expedition. With 4 good studded snow tires my wife can go anywhere with the kids and feel safe.
the only negative is the fuel mileage but i still Love to drive our Expedition.
Overall
4.0
Reliability
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Performance
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Ford Expedition

by sarah4-4 on 01-25-2013
good friend to have
Never failed me!!! Great car, DVD and GPS works great.
4H, 4L, 2 and awd wonderful especially for the weather gets bad. Very comfortable and accessable. It's a car that would serve well for a special family that values safefy and it's there when you need it.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Ford Expedition

by DocHendry on 01-25-2013
Dependable Beast
From canadian Mountains to mexican deserts a dependable and durable truck able to handle everything from long highways to rough outback.
Overall
4.0
Reliability
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Performance
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2010 Ford Expedition

Trim: EXPEDITION MAX Limited
by Kirk_B on 01-21-2013
Great at first
The first couple of years were great with no issues. Lately the heater has failed with 5 return visits to the dealer, glad to have warranty. I don't recommend the air ride suspension as last winter it failed twice and is acting up again...expecting another failure soon.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email