Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Volkswagen 1957-2019Change

1,165 reviews
4.5/5
Volkswagen
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
2019
1 review
2001
74 reviews
1985
2 reviews
2017
8 reviews
2000
45 reviews
1984
1 review
2016
9 reviews
1999
22 reviews
1983
2 reviews
2015
15 reviews
1998
15 reviews
1982
1 review
2014
18 reviews
1997
9 reviews
1980
1 review
2013
40 reviews
1996
4 reviews
1978
3 reviews
2012
101 reviews
1995
8 reviews
1974
2 reviews
2011
82 reviews
1994
8 reviews
1973
1 review
2010
70 reviews
1993
5 reviews
1972
1 review
2009
84 reviews
1992
2 reviews
1971
3 reviews
2008
101 reviews
1991
3 reviews
1970
2 reviews
2007
109 reviews
1990
4 reviews
1969
1 review
2006
71 reviews
1989
1 review
1967
1 review
2005
45 reviews
1988
1 review
1965
1 review
2004
47 reviews
1987
2 reviews
1960
1 review
2003
87 reviews
1986
1 review
1957
1 review
2002
49 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 26-50 of 1165 reviews
< 1 2 345 >

2016 Volkswagen Jetta

by Marr7965 on 10-06-2017
Couldn't settle for anything else
After searching many other makes and models, I just wasn't able to find one that rivalled the Jetta's comfort, stability and styling. My number one reason for purchasing my jetta over anything else was the simple fact that the Jetta feels stable and sturdy underneath me. The look and features are a bonus as well.
Overall
4.5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Performance
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1992 Volkswagen Golf GTI

by Carowner69 on 10-05-2017
Excellent!
I've owned this car for quite a while, its great. Beautiful color and overall just great, really fast too, i recommend if your looking for one of these to go ahead and pick it up.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2017 Volkswagen Golf

by Rharper on 10-03-2017
First Car
I purchased my Volkswagen Golf from a dealership early this year. I was deciding between this car and a Mazda 3, I am glad I got a Golf! Lets talk about performance, the golf has a 1.8L turbo engine. This is a feature that each trim offers. That extra pick me up when getting onto the highway or passing someone on the road is very important to me to feel as though I have control over my vehicle. The interior design is perfect: simple and sleek.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Tiguan

by Imran4302 on 09-25-2017
It a Perfect ride
This car is amazing I always use this car to go to work and its never failed me. This car survived the harsh candian winter and summers. This car would be great for a new family. We have two car we mainly use the secound one cuz the amout of people in our family. This little car would be great for beginnersand small familys.
Overall
4.0
Reliability
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Performance
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2017 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: wolfsburg
by Mountain on 09-14-2017
volkswagen wolfsburg
I realy like my volkswagen jetta 2017 wolfsburgs edition, for the sunroof, sound system and every feature on the car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

by Popjiffey on 09-12-2017
Amazing ride
very good quality, never had to go to the garage for any problems. very good looking from he exterior design andd even from the interior design is very good looking. the colour white is perfect for it. the front bumper is good. 2.5L is amazing... hte 2L is not good because the jetta is a heavy car. very strong car. i would change the dashboard because it is too simple... maybe for something more advanced...
Overall
4.5
Reliability
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Performance
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2015 Volkswagen Jetta

by jettalover9117 on 09-10-2017
Great Car
Ive been driving Jetta's for 4 years, love the dependablility and great gas milage. It offers very comfortable seating, heated seats are awesome on cold days. Peppy little motor with a cute style.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2015 Volkswagen Golf Sportwagon(please delete)

Trim: 1.8TSI Highline
by Andreas7254 on 09-03-2017
Great car and very fuel eficient
I had this car for 2 years and 30 000km and it was very reliable, no issues at all. Manual transmission with around 6.5l on 100km as average. I just traded it in for a 2017 Golf Alltrack.
Overall
5.0
Reliability
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Performance
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volkswagen Rabbit

by ding7766 on 08-31-2017
reliable
I have had this car for 5 years and just finished paying off my financing. It is still in good condition and am not planning on getting rid of it anytime soon.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: New Jetta
by Gen91 on 08-31-2017
In love
I've always had volkswagen in the past and find it hard to beat, first off the confort the the car is the best i've ever had or sat in. second the handle of the car is amazign, when taking a curve i want to feel safe and thats what i have with a wolkswagen. In general the car is made to make you feel same and be comfy in.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2014 Volkswagen Beetle

by Beastly_car on 08-31-2017
Really good car
I had this car for 2 years and i can say its really good and there is no negative side to it because i love it so much
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2017 Volkswagen Passat

Trim: Comfortline
by Mark2875 on 08-26-2017
Refined and will age well!
People seem to think the Passat is a very bland car, but i think its simplicity will age well with time compared to its competition that looks like it took its inspiration from a guy's hair that is gelled back.
It has everything you'd expect in a German car. Precision, elegance & simplicity.
The car definitely was tailored towards the North American market with its large back seat, big trunk and a little looser suspension to give it an airy ride. It definitely feels like a German car except for the suspension and steering. There is a little to be desired by it.

Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2014 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: Black
by TROX on 08-24-2017
Perfect city SUV
This is the best SUV for city driving. It is easy to drive and park and very good on gas. Sophisticated and in a great price range.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volkswagen GTI

by HUGO2239 on 08-24-2017
great balance of performance and economy
Had this car for 9 years and can't part with it. My next car will definitely be the same!! Love GTI!
Overall
5.0
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen Touareg

by scubasteve3667 on 08-23-2017
It's a great Car
One of the best cars that you can rely on. Class and comfort! Fuel is supreme Gas which is a huge drawback on this car but aside from that it runs well, lots of power and gets you through anything! Very Happy
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volkswagen Beetle

by Mavesse on 08-23-2017
Just not reliable
Since I bought this car five years ago, so many things have gone wrong. I'm keeping on top of the repairs, but after having a Toyota I find this car a disappointment.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1990 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: 234
by savann32 on 08-12-2017
Its a good drive
Its reliable and gets me to where i need to go, havent had any problems with it and it is good on gas
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: CITY
by wannabehoonigan on 08-04-2017
There may be something to this “German Engineering” thing
2009 City Jetta purchased new and owned for 4 years, 92000KM.

Previous experience with the “more upscale” 2006 Jetta before going to the “City” version. Expectations were lowered, and overall, I’m impressed…As long as you remember that this was designed as a basic, spartan, runaround car that was to offer late 90’s German engineering at the lowest price point possible in the 2007-2010 timeframe.

Pros:
Ignore the specs - This is a zippy little car that is nimble and performs well above its reported HP/torque specs. Responsive handling, quick off the line, legitimately fun to drive – a great little city runaround car. At the time of ownership my other regular driver was a 2009 BMW 328i RWD – When driving them back to back, I wasn’t necessarily disappointed getting into the VW. Also, aftermarket support is widely available with many affordable options.

Cons:
This car was not designed for long drive comfort, nor was it trying to wow anyone with luxury or tech. Back seat and trunk are very small. I could not drive or sit comfortably as a passenger with a rear facing child seat installed in the back (I’m 5’8”). Seats not very comfortable after an hour. Fuel economy was below average - Even with a soft pedal this thing was mediocre at the pumps. Not sure if this was normal, but I found that this car burned off about 1L of oil every 6000km. Even without the fancy bells and whistles, the feared German quality reputation was evident: 2 different headlamps, 1 radio bulb requiring replacement and 1 unexpected coolant shortage light before 50000km. Long term high mileage owners may be best off finding a trustworthy German mechanic for the inevitable major breakdowns, and just accept and live with any minor optional malfunctions.

Bottom line: Great for a student or family 2nd car for short runarounds.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2015 Volkswagen GTI

by lmaoimgreathaha on 08-04-2017
CHECK ER OUT
ITs a real stylish car you know. I think that this car really has the ability to be a top tier car and it has really dope rims, 5 doors for all of your friends and stuff and it is really stylish in the city. It is from Germany therefore it is good quality. Also becase it is German it can go really fast because of the autobahn. Get this ca for a fun time. Good speakers so that the bass can be pumped to the maximum amount. I recommend this car to anyone who wants to go fast and look really good doing it, that's all really.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

by Claudio76 on 08-03-2017
Reliable car
I've been driving this car for the last year, and I tell that I can really rely in this car, as it has not given me a single problem, and it went to the mechanic only for tires and oil change.
Overall
4.0
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2015 Volkswagen Jetta

Trim: Highline
by Alectricalguy on 08-01-2017
Great car
The car is fantastic. Best fuel economy by far.
Dealing with VW on the other hand is the worst customer service I have ever seen.
I have a tdi and VW is horrible to deal with
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Volkswagen Golf

by willowdee on 07-31-2017
Favourite car I ever had
It may not have been a sport car but she was reliable, very easy to drive, and never let me down once. Plenty of highway and city driving completed without any problems, transporting my band's gear with the hatchback was extremely handy and it carried a lot more than many people suspected.
Overall
4.0
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2014 Volkswagen Golf

Trim: Blue
by P-cars on 07-30-2017
Reliable and efficient
It's a basic car, but it holds up to even some rigorous going trips. But generally, it works best for day to day stuff like groceries.
Overall
4.0
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon

by Covertmann on 07-27-2017
Not Perfect but okay.VW TDI wagon
I had a silver VW Jetta TDI wagon. You have to drive in the sweet spot of between 90-100 kilometres an hour to achieve this so-called 1000 km per fill-up. Car is easy to break into. only a screwdriver is needed to jam into the drivers side keyhole. Maintenance is expensive. e.g. Timing belt.oil changes, and other minor issues. You lose all of your mileage saving through fluctuating diesel prices(compared to gasoline) and expensive maintenance and service cost. My turbo went at the end of year 4 but luckily it was covered under the 4 year powertrain warranty. Nice car when everything works but I would not want to own one again off warranty.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen Golf

by andre1918 on 07-20-2017
Fair Enough
Pleasant drive, not much. Excellent in snow. German engineering does not show that much compared to other German brand... Resale value is better than Japanese equivalent.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
2/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
< 1 2 345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email