Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Subaru Legacy 2006Change

9 reviews
4/5
Subaru Legacy
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2013
3 reviews
2006
9 reviews
1999
3 reviews
2012
2 reviews
2005
10 reviews
1998
6 reviews
2011
4 reviews
2004
1 review
1997
5 reviews
2010
1 review
2003
5 reviews
1996
1 review
2009
1 review
2002
5 reviews
1995
1 review
2008
7 reviews
2001
4 reviews
1994
2 reviews
2007
7 reviews
2000
4 reviews
1991
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

2006 Subaru Legacy

by hatechampions1 on 07-04-2017
A Subaru that lasted me and my family a long time.
My Dad bought the car all the way back in 2006 after he got a bonus. Then in 2013 he "gave" it to me. (had to share with my siblings meh!)

For the first 3 years of have my first ride, the car was amazing. The engine sounded great, the AWD was perfect for Winter and the fuel economy was even better than my mother's new Tiguan.

But now, its an 11 year old car. The problems are starting to show up regularly and I'm already $ 5k in repairs this year.

I think it is time to let it go, but I'm not going to abandon the Subaru brand just yet.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Subaru Legacy

Trim: 2.5i
by Mojojosback on 11-10-2016
Lots to like, but quirky in some areas.
Great car for the following reasons:

AWD is fantastic. This is real AWD using same TORSEN technology as Quattro, 4Matic and X-Drive. NOT THE SAME AS 4MOTION - much better! Great Winter car.

Heated front seats. Again, great Winter car.

Seats and cockpit layout is ergonomic and seats are hard and conform well. Good quality interior look-and-feel.

Really good headlights.

With suspension upgrade by way of Bilstein dampers and a Spec.B component, as well as good HP tires this car handles like its on rails and is relaxing and fun to drive Otherwise ho-hum.

Lots of good aftermarket parts and components to make this car yours.

Overall reliability is really good except for engine head-gasket issues (see below), which brings my rating down.

This car has some challenges in the following areas:

Standard suspension is not quite right - bit too soft and therefore porpoises, dives and squats due to short wheelbase. Can be easily remedied using some Spec. B components.

Gas economy is just OK - but to be expected with older engine design and AWDs weight and components. Needs a 6th speed and DOHC as standard.

This engine has well documented head-gasket issues at approx. 100K miles, and is prevalent on all Subaru models with this particular engine type. Can lead to engine failure at worst, and head-gasket replacement at best. This is no longer an issue with latest Impreza and Legacy models, and Foresters post-2010.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Subaru Legacy

Trim: GT Limited
by Love2Drive1 on 10-09-2014
Great Value for luxury performance AWD vehicle
Bought a 2006 Subaru Legacy GT Limited used when it was 1.5 years old back in 2007 with only 9000 miles on it and continuing to love its spirited performance and comfortable ride 8 years and 70K miles later. A great reliable vehicle that has one of the best AWD systems available. Wicked traction in all winter conditions with snows mounted - have a hard time breaking traction on snow even while accelerating with all of the 250 hp available. Low cost of maintenance ownership except that it likes to drink premium fuel but worthy of having such a fabulous performing vehicle.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2006 Subaru Legacy

Trim: Limited GT
by iBulldog on 09-03-2014
Great car UNTIL......ENGINE PROBLEMS!!!
Bought this brand new (first brand new car btw) and have loved it up until last year (2013) when I had the Check Engine light come on. Took it into get it looked at and it was determined that 2 of the cylinders were misfiring. My mechanic had to recore the cylinders and the injectors which really meant a complete gut job of the engine. Ended up being about a $5K repair which has left a bad taste in my mouth about Subaru's reliability (hence the 2 stars). Other than that the only things I've had to replace due to normal wear and tear are the spark plugs and clutch.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2006 Subaru Legacy

Trim: Special Edition Wagon
by A13 on 02-01-2013
2006 Subaru Legacy Wagon
Got this brand new and started to have transmission issue after just over a year. Transmission jerks when car is cold in winter. It deteriorates to even happen in the summer. Dealer never got it fixed. Started to rust from inside door sill. Header gasket started to leak about a year ago and got bad. Finally got ride of it.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2006 Subaru Legacy

Trim: 2.5i Limited
by 2006_subaru_LTD on 11-29-2012
My subaru
This car is very good. I lived in a winter area. AWD helps a lot. I Have some leaking oil problems at 130 000 km. Problems with head gasket. Also, too much stuff to protect the exhaust. With time, rush gets on the bolts and becomes slack. Some hiittng sound in the front.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2006 Subaru Legacy

Trim: GT
by Robp on 11-22-2012
Reliability and AWD - Cannot find a better match for Canada
This has been a funtastic car, great handling with 17 in rims, excellent performance when needed with turbo, same as the WRX. Styling is eye-appealling, and comforin the leeather heated seats in winter can't be beat.
My wife loves this car, the AWD for winter driving with Falken tires is awesome. The best part is the SUbaru reliability, rated #1 or 2 for many years. Check the stats, best value retention of ALL cars.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Subaru Legacy

Trim: GT Limited
by Delphinos on 11-13-2012
Amazing and Powerful car
This car is a lot of fun to drive. The turbo makes a huge difference considering that I use to own an 2003 legacy naturally aspirated car. The interior is very nice given this is a limited edition (all leather including the very nice MOMO steering wheel). The audio system could be better, does not play MP3 cd and no aux input. Currently tuned stage 1 with a Cobb accessport, this mod is a must as it reduces turbo log and adds an extra 18 ponnies and additional 50lbs-foot of torque over stock. Great car and that detuned sti engine is a lot of fun
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Subaru Legacy

Trim: GT
by mfarmer on 10-11-2012
No frills AWD
This was my second Legacy GT. The revised styling since my 90's vintage was a significant improvement in my view compared to the previous version. Even today when I see them on the highway I prefer this body design to the current Legacy's. The interior was comfortable but definitely no frills. Very smooth engine and permanent AWD made this a great Canadian winter car. The price also was hard to beat for the total package. I found it to be a very reliable car that had very good mileage on the highway and decent handling.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email