Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Pontiac Torrent 2008Change

9 reviews
4.5/5
Pontiac Torrent
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2009
3 reviews
2007
10 reviews
2006
14 reviews
2008
9 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

2008 Pontiac Torrent

by Dave_G on 10-29-2013
Pontiac Torrent
THIS HAS BEEN A FANTASTIC RELIABLE VEHICLE! There have been no issues with this vehicle and we have been extreamly pleased with it, We would purchase another one without even giving it a second thought.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Pontiac Torrent

Trim: Podium Edition 1SB
by Championdeal on 09-10-2013
This one is calling your name!
This vehicle looks impressive in shape and style, drives exceptionally well and is very safe. I change vehicles every 5 years and have no concern whatsoever about its future performance! I Just returned from a trip up and down through the mountains, loaded up with 5 passengers and their luggage and yet it was a breeze. This Car/SUV was designed for the Olympics 2008 in Vancouver to transfer VIP's in comfort and with piles of luggage from the Airport to their various destinations. Should you be tempted, the 3.4 l motor would pull whatever you have (trailer/camper) without killing the fairly good gasoline economy.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
4 out of 4 found this review helpful.

2008 Pontiac Torrent

by cch on 03-26-2013
2008 Torrent
Love being able to move the backseat fowards and back. Allows me to increase the space in the cargo area or move the kids back far enough that they can't kick my seat. The Firestone tires we terrible, absolutely no traction in snow and hydroplanning in the rain. Best thing I ever did was to buy snow tires. Better mileage in my mini van and the seats are more comfortable in the van. Should have saved a few bucks and bought a better model of the Equinox.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2008 Pontiac Torrent

by DDonner on 02-28-2013
Great family car
My Torrent has provided us with 5 years of great rides and reliability.

there have not been any major repair issues with it and other than the loud road noise that we have gotten used to we love it and will be keeping it for another 5 years.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
3 out of 3 found this review helpful.

2008 Pontiac Torrent

Trim: Podium Edition
by nmbok on 02-08-2013
It has been great for us!
This small SUV has been great for our family of four. It has never given us any major problems. It's comfortable and has everything we needed. It also looks great with it's chrome rims! Drives great in all weather, especially in the snow. We recommend this vehicle!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Pontiac Torrent

by torrent on 11-10-2012
2008 Pontiac Torrent
We have3 owned our torrent for 2 years and so far are very pleased with the overall performance and comfort. We are on the road alot and are pleased with the v6's fuel economy for an suv and we use it to tow with no issues at all.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Pontiac Torrent

by Parker9445 on 11-03-2012
Good commuter SUV
Had no issues with our torrent, it's great on fuel and roomy for people to sit in. Would recommend it to anyone.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Pontiac Torrent

Trim: GXP
by SUVAsh on 10-30-2012
Fun to drive!
I've had this vehicle for approximately 4 months now. After reading numerous reviews and testing a few different SUV models I settled on the Torrant GXP. I purchased it used with about 105,000 kms on it. This version of the Torrant seems to be a bit difficult to come by however the base model appears to be popular. I found the price/value was excellent with all the bells and whistles I could ask for within an affordable price range. There are a few awkward features on this vehicle (window buttons, cup holders) but the pros and offerings of the vehicle made them easy to overlook.

Pros:
Excellent crash test rating though hope I never have to test that claim.
This vehicle is a beast on the road and can easily pick up speed and pick up speed and pass other vehicles as if it was a car.
I find this vehicle extremely comfortable and with all of the adjustments on the driver seat, long trips seem to be a breeze.
The fule efficiency is pretty decent. I average about 10L/100km for combination of city and highway driving.
The certified used warranty is excellent at 160,000 for power train.
The ability to move the rear seats forward/backwards by 8 inches to allow extra cargo room or leg room is an excellent feature and one we use regularly.
Fits 4 adults comfortabley for extended trips.

Cons:
I believe the Torrant is listed as a mid size SUV, however the rear cargo seems a bit on the small size.
As with other reviews I agree with those stating the cup holders are really poorly designed and a little fusterating at times.
I would have liked to have seen a USB charging port or at least another power port in the front. There is only 1 in the front and one in the rear.
My partner is a big guy and says he wished there was a little more leg room width wise but otherwise has ample leg room.

All in all, I've ownsed a Santa Fe and a Pacifica in the past and would have to say the Tortant GXP takes the cake.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Pontiac Torrent

by Boozie on 10-27-2012
2008 Pontiac Torrent
The Pontiac Torrent is a very reliable and fuel effecient crossover that I have had very little service (aside from the regular scheduled oil change) to get done. Off a full tank of gas, I was able to travel from Eastern Ontario to Pensylvannia. I would say that the body is very well built and the supension system makes it seem as if you were riding on a cloud.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email