Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Mazda Mazda5 2009Change

11 reviews
4.5/5
Mazda Mazda5
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2014
4 reviews
2010
16 reviews
2007
18 reviews
2013
3 reviews
2009
11 reviews
2006
15 reviews
2012
14 reviews
2008
15 reviews
2002
1 review
2011
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews

2009 Mazda Mazda5

Trim: fully loaded
by Colin2807 on 11-02-2017
Amazing vehicle
420,000 kms now, and still drives like the day I picked it up. The interior has stood the test of time, although the background illuminator lights disappeared on the upper dash console (emergency four ways etc) and the heated seat buttons. Keep the oil changed and she will keep going.
Some rust spots above windshield from gravel hits over the miles, and needed several wheel alignments over time. Had to replace front bearings and struts last year.
For cargo carrying - great. Put board over middle seats and had a totally flat area for my samples.
Looks in as a great a shape as when I bought it.
Gotta run winter tires on it in Alberta.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Mazda Mazda5

Trim: GT
by LOMA on 10-11-2017
Love It
Love driving this car. Smooth, powerful and safe.
Great for families that don't need to have a bog minivan
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Mazda Mazda5

Trim: SPORT
by Family_minivan1516 on 01-23-2017
a Family minivan
-very low maintenance cost.
-very comfortable seats.
-Japanies cars can be driven easily over 250K
-provides six-passenger capacity along with the distinctive look and sporty
-fuel economy from the four-cylinder engine. A good family city car
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Mazda Mazda5

Trim: Sport
by Jack6914 on 07-15-2014
Like this car
We bought our Mazda5 new in 2009, and have driven it for the past 5 years. It has been a fun car to drive and very reliable.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Mazda Mazda5

by kevin4688 on 09-19-2013
Fantastic for new families
I'd recommend this car to anyone with one, or maybe two, young children. Once you start having to carry along all the kids' kit, ie. strollers, hockey equipment, etc. it can become very cramped for space. Otherwise this drives just like a Mazda 3. Great engine, reliable, and great fuel efficiency.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Mazda Mazda5

Trim: GT
by mazda3953 on 08-12-2013
Great on gas
It's comfortable, It has so many features without been a van.
I like the sliding doors and the Bluetooth.
kids can pass trough seats. The seats go down so everything fit perfect when I go shopping. It's easy to drive, great on gas.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Mazda Mazda5

Trim: Touring
by Harry242424 on 03-12-2013
It's an awesome car!
I love this car! It has a minivan feeling with the sliding rear doors and 3rd row seating but i just wished you could fit 3 in the second row. It's not a big car but just not enough power with the 153 hp. The ride is a little bit bumpy but it's OK. Mazda, ZOOM-ZOOM!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Mazda Mazda5

by MAZDA52363 on 03-11-2013
Great fuel economy for mini van
We enjoy the versatility of the MAZDA5 with extended cab. There is plenty of room for a family of 4 plus extra room for friends in the back. The seats are very comfortable with lots of leg room. The rear seats fold down flat for cargo room. My only complaint is the rear-most seats are difficult for adults to get into. The vehicle handles well and is great on gas. The sound system is nice with ipod / iphone capabilities. The sunroof is a bonus. We would buy this vehicle again.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Mazda Mazda5

by MazdaMel on 11-13-2012
Mazda 5
It is comfortable, even with 6 people in it. The only issue is the air balance when one window is opened, one on the opposite side has to be opened so that the sounds returns to a comfortable level.

Tires are a bit delicate and expensive, also. Hit a curb, blew the tire, and paid $250 to replace it.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Mazda Mazda5

by Bruski on 11-02-2012
2009 Mazda5
I would recommend this car as an in-town commuting family vehicle. We bought this car new and have had no repair problems, just kept up with the service schedule. Easy to drive, good visibility and manueverability. Good gas mileage if you don't have a lead foot. Lots of pep for a four cylinder but not a lot of power going up hills with the car loaded. Overall I am happy with the car.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Mazda Mazda5

Trim: Sport - Leather
by allenwales on 10-11-2012
This is an excellent mini minivan, can't beat the 6 seats
My wife loves this car, she was adamant she was not getting a minivan when we had our kids but she absolutely loves the Mazda5. I call it our mini minivan. The 6 seats are the amazing thing about this vehicle, so useful when we have grandparents or visitors staying over or friend's kids to take out. The performance is really perky and fast out of the gates if you need it. We have owned this car for 3 years so far and it came highly recommended from a friend. We can see why. Reliability is good so far in first 3 yrs, the interior is leather but some finishes feel a little cheap - its not really a luxury class car. Where it excels is for the kids. They can get in and out of the captains chairs and the sliding doors make a huge difference. I would like to upgrade to a Honda Pilot or BMW X5 but literally my wife wont let me, she just loves this car. I would recommend you consider the Mazda5 over say a Sienna or Odyssey, its cheaper, faster and has just as much interior space (maybe a little less legroom in 3rd row). Overall this has been a clear winner for the wife and kids, go test drive one and you will see why they like it so much.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email