Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Hyundai Elantra Touring 2009Change

12 reviews
5/5
Hyundai Elantra Touring
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2017
1 review
2012
8 reviews
2010
13 reviews
2013
1 review
2011
10 reviews
2009
12 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by Paul_K_Kho on 08-20-2015
Great Car
The Elantra Touring is by far one of the best cars I had ever owned. Great gas mileage. Comfortable. Fuel economy had increased from 8.9 to 9.8 L/100 KM. Very quiet and reliable. The Touring had come a long way since the Pony. It is on JP Powers' list of best cars in the world for five years. This is my second Elantra. My next car will be an Elantra as well. It is truly the best car in the world.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by PLC on 09-20-2014
Great get around car!
Had one of these cars 3 years ago. Should have never gotten rid of the car.
Car ran perfect with basic maint required.

Roomy, good on gas and Insurance was low also.

Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: Touring Station Wagon
by ElantraTouring on 11-08-2013
great drive
comfortable, powerful, good on gaz, great music and sound system, spacious.. it's great... gives you a sporty feeling, comes with the sunroof, 17" Rims, ABS and all safety system. Nice ride, great for a family with Children and Pets.. for bicycles..
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: GLS
by moirasings on 06-11-2013
Economical and roomy
Lots of cargo space, very versatile as rear seats can be folded down. Very economical on gas. The heated seats are a great luxury. Convenient to have an MP3 port so you can listen to your Ipod while driving.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Trim: Base
by HassMan81 on 06-05-2013
If it's on your 'Maybe' list - move it to your 'Must' list
I traded down from a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited in order to get something easier on gas. I wanted something fuel efficient, but that still had lots of space.

The Elantra Touring gave me both space and fuel economy in spades. The trunk is large, and with the rear seats folded down, it's absolutely cavernous. There's also plenty of head and leg room for passengers. I had the car loaded with 4 people, 2 over 6 foot, and everyone exclaimed about how the Elantra was roomier than my old Subaru Legacy.

I'm getting good fuel economy (especially considering how hard I push it). 6.1L/100km at 100-110km/h. 6.4L/100km at 120-130km/h. Around town I'm getting about 7.6, and again, I drive it like I stole it. I'm averaging 7.0L/100km right now.

Speaking of driving it like I stole it; the one thing that really surprised me was how much fun the car is to drive. To be fair mine is a 5 speed, but it handles like a champ and the brake has a really good feel so you can get the brake effect you're aiming for. It's not a super powerful car, but I can keep the tires smoking all the way into 3rd gear, and with a quick downshift I've never been wanting for torque on the highway.

Some people might find the styling boring, but I have grown to like it. The car has a simple handsomeness to it that most cars miss by trying to go too fancy. After a while, you can really see that the car was designed with European sensibilities in mind.

I've only had the car for 2 months, but haven't had anything even resembling a problem; it really feels like a very well built vehicle.

The only thing I have found to complain about so far is the size of the fuel tank. With a 40L tank I only get a little over 500km before the fuel light comes on. But, that is a very small thing in the grand scheme of owning the vehicle. All in all, I'd highly, highly, highly recommend it an Elantra Touring.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by Dave1059 on 11-28-2012
Bang for your Buck
Nice ride GREAT pricing just a little hairy in slippery conditions.. Overall we enjoy ours and have done for 2 1/2 years. rear space is plentiful and with the seats folded down its even better. The engine runs and drives smooth though I would suggest to anyone to give it a tire upgrade as soon as you drive it off the lot
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by Brendeno on 11-18-2012
It Delivers!
After buying this car new, I have never been disappointed! With great fuel economy and a sporty exterior, the Elantra Touring delivers!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by MRS on 11-12-2012
Very practical car
My wife and I bought this car new in 2009. We essentially have the base model with automatic transmission and the "convenience" package which includes A/C and heated seats.

This car won't win any races. In fact, I thought Hyundai should have put in a slightly more powerful engine in this car instead of the same one that was in the (at the time) current Elantra sedan. This car is bigger and heavier! But it gets you around and is an excellent city vehicle.

The biggest thing with this car is it's practicality. Absolutely enormous cargo space. Fold the back seats down and we fit a newly purchased dining room set (still in boxes, obviously!) in the back and got the hatch closed!! Did the same a few months later when I bought a new L-shaped desk from Costco. The boxes were huge and heavy but I fit them in!

I'm about 6'0" tall and I have plenty of space in the driver seat, or in the passenger or rear seats. Lots of legroom.
The dash is incredibly simple but well-designed and looks nice. I don't like that there is so much hard plastic, but the overall look is clean and neat, and not tacky at all.

It has been incredibly reliable as well. We've owned it for over 3 years (and it's paid off, which speaks to it's affordability), and not a single issue so far. Fuel efficiency is simply OKAY, not fantastic.

It's been on a few trips and does okay on the highway, but passing is an effort as acceleration is certainly weak, and at times the transmission doesn't want to downshift to get that power for passing.

Overall this was an excellent choice for an inexpensive and very practical/functional family vehicle. It needs more power but that is the biggest complaint. It's not the fanciest looking car around, but it has been nothing but reliable and good to us.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by barb on 11-04-2012
Great vehicle so far
I just traded in my old car 2007 Hyundai Accent which I loved for this newer Hyundai Elantra Touring which so far love the ride, roomy, great look and love the heated seats. So far so good
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

by barb on 11-04-2012
Great vehicle so far
Just purchased this car last week and though havent driven that many kilometres yet so far its been great....
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email