Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Honda Civic 2009Change

89 reviews
4.5/5
Honda Civic
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2017
9 reviews
2005
69 reviews
1993
7 reviews
2016
7 reviews
2004
74 reviews
1992
5 reviews
2015
13 reviews
2003
79 reviews
1991
8 reviews
2014
7 reviews
2002
75 reviews
1990
6 reviews
2013
25 reviews
2001
80 reviews
1989
4 reviews
2012
124 reviews
2000
53 reviews
1988
1 review
2011
35 reviews
1999
33 reviews
1987
1 review
2010
84 reviews
1998
39 reviews
1984
1 review
2009
89 reviews
1997
20 reviews
1983
2 reviews
2008
119 reviews
1996
16 reviews
1980
1 review
2007
95 reviews
1995
21 reviews
1976
1 review
2006
109 reviews
1994
5 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 85 reviews
1 234 >

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: DX-G
by Saqib on 08-20-2015
Practical ride for a sales person without office
I am a sales person who has to go from one office to next throughout the day for meetings. Very gas efficient, drives & handles really well. Best part about Honda is that interior is solid built. Yes it may not have all the technology & options but whatever is available works!! Honda Quality.

I would definitely buy another Honda!!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: DX-G
by Rhonda1140 on 06-16-2015
Excellent Fuel Economy, Style, and performance
I absolutely loved my Civic Coupe. Excellent on gas, reliable, and sporty. Not one negative experience with this car!!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: CIVIC HYBRID
by gtm on 12-13-2014
It`s a great car!!
Excellent on gas! It tells me when it needs an oil change. Nice ride. I`ve never had a problem with her!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: DX-G
by wdjp on 11-02-2014
I will miss this car!
the car in my time has been 100% reliable and offers really decent fuel mileage in both town and on highway. The ride is a little firm and chopy over bad pavement. Seats are comfortable even on a long trip but back seat access is a little difficult. Exterior styling I think is both contemporary and timeless, a great looking car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: LX
by 2009Civic on 10-22-2014
Fun to drive
A wonderful, fuel efficient vehicle. Very reliable and safe. Well kept. Comfortable and great for long road trips, or just driving around town. Handles very well on the road and the winter tires make driving in the winter a breeze. The sun roof if fantastic to have. Both back seats fold down conveniently for fitting larger items into the trunk. I love the digital speedometer, which can be switched from km/h to miles per hour, which is great for traveling to the U.S.A. The USB port works really well with the i-pod and everything can be controlled on the consol.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: Sport
by Grahame on 08-29-2014
Best compact 4 door sedan made in Canada
Bought used in 2013, consistently getting 8 km/100 liters with mostly short trips. Great handling, good ride, braking is good but ABS is a little slow. Love the short turning circle, great for city driving. Very stable at speed. This is the fourth Honda I've owned and probably the best.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: Si
by RonaldR on 08-27-2014
Loads of fun from a 4-cylinder engine
The most reliable vehicle on the road today. Well maintained and serviced by the best independently owned service centre in Canada. The k20 motor screams beautifully from 6100-8200 rpm. The fit and finish of the interior is purely functional.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: DXG
by Honda_fanatic on 08-19-2014
Best Sedan in my opinion.
Great performance of city and engine is silky smooth. I like the ride experience and ride quality. It is very easy to drive, even in city traffic conditions. It is a very good sedan, with a quite powerful engine which comes with great performance and a good braking efficiency. Although, it is expensive compared to other cars in this segment, but you can recover that cost by saving on fuel due to its fuel economy.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: EXL
by TDOWN53 on 05-27-2014
The best there is at this price!
Very reliable, comfortable and fuel efficient. Rated safest of small cars. With all the features it feels like a luxury ride.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Honda Civic

by AhmedZ on 04-21-2014
Economic & reliable
Economic sedan with reliable engine and low maintenance cost....perfect family car. Never serviced outside Honda
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: Sport
by TaylorLynn on 03-13-2014
LOVE My Civic
I have owned this car for 5 years and absolutely love it. The gas mileage. I can fill up the tank for under $60.00 and it will last me an average of 2 weeks or more.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: lx
by MarkBrum32 on 03-07-2014
2009 civic lx
This is a excellent driving car that is great on gas and drives next to perfect. it currently has snow tires that are like new. it has cruise control and has a nice black cloth interior and factory usb connection in the center console so you can play your music from your phone or ipod.

This car is priced right and ready to go where ever you want to!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: DX-G
by Reliability6220 on 10-17-2013
A very reliable low mileage vehicle. and a must to see.
Very reliable vehicle, I have had absolutely no problems with this car, excellent with regards to fuel consumption and a pleasure to drive.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: DX-G
by Reliability6220 on 10-09-2013
A very reliable low mileage vehicle.
I find the Honda Civic DX-G to be a very reliable vehicle, with several very functional options such as the full fold down rear seating allowing more space for luggage when traveling, excellent gas mileage and very comfortable on long road trips.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: DX-A
by DOG9999 on 09-22-2013
AWESOME CAR
Very good performance ,save in gas, very reliable car, with all modification, is a beast !!!! Don't want to let it go but with a new addition , we need a bigger car instead ;(
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

by Guita on 08-27-2013
Great car and very econamic
Very nice to drive, we really enjoy having it. Excellent on gas, very efficient, although it looks small sadden but it has lots of space in the trunk, comfortable for 3 passengers on back seat.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

by Kush_G on 08-12-2013
Honda Civic 2009 Automatic
Great reliable car, no maintenance required, full car proof certified used car... low on kms: only 43000,
superb on mileage: both in city as well as on highway
can't miss this....
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: Si
by Oldnag on 07-23-2013
Amazing Car
I have had 2 2009 Civics and both have been fantastic. I would recommend this car to any of my friends.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: DX-G
by LMak on 07-17-2013
Great, reliable, fun car
We have enjoyed this car tremendously, and hate to sell it, but we need a 4WD vehicle at this point in our lives.

The ride is great. It is very economical.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

by bhonda on 05-24-2013
A fully equipped vehicle
An amazing car to own, top ratings for saftey protection, and reliable in all weather conditions. Style of the car along with the traction control results in a fantastic smooth ride.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: EXL
by 1ownersenior on 05-07-2013
1 owner/senior driven 100% dealer serviced very reliable
1 owner/senior driven 100% dealer serviced very reliable. Mostly highway driving on our couple trips. Very comfortable and well driven and taken care of.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: White
by Honda6013 on 04-21-2013
I couldnt ask for a better car!
I got this car less than 2 years ago because I lived in Burnaby and went to school in Vancouver. I moved into the city in September and have only used it less than 2x a week since then. I have no complaints about this car, it is perfect! I just dont use it enough therefor I have decided to sell it. I have kept it in great condition and just had it fully serviced. I bought it used from the Richmond auto mall and only one female owned it before me. This car has been in no accidents. Please ask if you have further questions! Thank you!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

Trim: DXG
by whatever on 04-06-2013
Meh. Liked my Ford Focus better
This car has been reliable, except for the tires that came with it - defective rubber, it was crumbling and cracked before 30k. Dealer laughed at me and told me to read my warranty, tires weren't covered. So I had to buy new tires at least a year or two before I was expecting to.

Because of the large, raked-back windshield, I could never keep it clear of ice and fog in cold weather- the heater just couldn't keep up. In fact, the idle speed is so slow that warming it up for 20 minutes with the heater blowing full on would not clear the windshield of overnight ice. Not a good winter car. Same in the summer - air conditioner cannot keep up with the heat generated by the windshield if you are facing the sun. Windshield looks cool but is not practical! Its hard to get a wiper blade that fits. And the long post on the driver's side impedes clear vision, particularly when you are making a left turn.

I have had an intermittent, extremely annoying rattle that seems to come from the hand grip on the head liner on the driver's side, which means its right by my ear. Drives me absolutely batty, I have to turn up the tunes to drown it out. Doesn't do it all the time, but often enough....

Another seriously annoying item: the gas tank release on the floor on the drivers side is a high heel shoe trap.

The front seats are hard to operate in terms of getting into the back seat area - finicky and no memory of previous settings. The passenger side seat has to be all the way forward, or else it slides back and forth while you are driving. The rear seats don't have 60/40 split, its all or nothing and the opening between the trunk and cabin is minuscule and oddly shaped.

I have enjoyed very good gas mileage with this car - 600-650 km per tank, depending on the type of driving and weather. But I have surely sacrificed some performance, you have to rev the engine quite high to get any acceleration. It's not fun to drive, but it handles well.

Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

by Aut on 03-25-2013
Reliable Practical Car
This is the second Honda Civic I have owned simply because I have total trust and excellent experience with it. The interior/exterior designs are superb. The drive and ride are great .It's good on gas and cheap to maintain. On top of all these, the resale value is great. Will definitely recommend this car to anybody.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Honda Civic

by VladislavPl on 03-25-2013
A new car,but something happened every time.
I bought this car a new,was only 21 km.For today I've passed 28000km.What kind of problems I had?In one year was leaks in steering.I don't know where exactly it was,each week I filled about 100 ml.Honda fixed.In 13 months I put the car in Honda for replace oil,somebody hitted back.Honda fixed.In 16 months was electrical fire when I came back from job at 11 night.Wasn't any light in car.Honda fixed.In 26 months replaced oil,it was in November,quality oil is terrible.Why I now.Instead of 10000km I will be able to pass only 5000km.Computer in Honda shows too fast changing persentage condition of the oil.Another important thing the problem with starting up below -30.I told all problems with oil in Honda they changed the battery.Anyway it doesn't help.In 30 months appeared problems with right front shock absorber.Honda fixed.One week ago appeared the same problem with shock absorbers.I need apply again for fixing.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 234 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email