Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Honda Civic 1998Change

39 reviews
4/5
Honda Civic
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2017
9 reviews
2005
69 reviews
1993
7 reviews
2016
7 reviews
2004
74 reviews
1992
5 reviews
2015
13 reviews
2003
79 reviews
1991
8 reviews
2014
7 reviews
2002
75 reviews
1990
6 reviews
2013
25 reviews
2001
80 reviews
1989
4 reviews
2012
124 reviews
2000
53 reviews
1988
1 review
2011
35 reviews
1999
33 reviews
1987
1 review
2010
84 reviews
1998
39 reviews
1984
1 review
2009
89 reviews
1997
20 reviews
1983
2 reviews
2008
119 reviews
1996
16 reviews
1980
1 review
2007
95 reviews
1995
21 reviews
1976
1 review
2006
109 reviews
1994
5 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 38 reviews
1 2 >

1998 Honda Civic

Trim: Si
by Smitty632 on 08-18-2015
Affordable Tuner
This is my dad's car. Really fun car to drive and super reliable and really good on gas. It hasn't been driven in the winter and has been kept in great condition. Great tuner car considering the year. the motor only has 40K on it and was built brand new and hasn't been driven by anybody else besides myself and my father.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

Trim: LX
by TheChris on 11-22-2014
Reliable. Practical.
I drive this Civic daily and it has not let me down. Really don't want to give it up but replaced it with a larger family vehicle. Cheap on gas and fun to drive!
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

Trim: LX-G
by Shreyash on 09-26-2014
Perfect ride and value for money
Well, its the best we can have. A perfect ride and value for money. Buy it or sell it, it retains its value, drives great and requires very less maintenance. Safety wise also, quite reliable though being an old horse.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by maazkhan on 05-14-2014
Economical
Economical. Never went for any kind of repair , except, oil change, brakes and 2 times for mufler repair.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

Trim: DX
by CIVIC98 on 10-28-2013
Great car all year round
This car was purchased ten years ago. It was my first ride and I have taken care of it since the day the previous owner handed over the keys. It has not let me down ever since. It is a very reliable car at all extreme temperatures. Rides smoothly in winter conditions. I have taken good care of the vehicle and therefore it has been well maintained. Presently there is little maintenance required (according to buyer preference). With a little TLC this care is more than capable of running at least another 4-5 years problem free or maintenance free. Won't disappoint you!
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

Trim: LX
by hotcar96 on 10-13-2013
Amazing
My dad has owned this car for 15+ years now and it hasn't given him a single problem. He just went over 325000 km last month. He loves the car, he has a new car but he just loves driving his civic. He took good care of it and it took good care of him. There is rust now, the back seat is ripping, the roof paint is chipping etc but the engine and the transmission are still going strong.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

Trim: 1.6 DX Automatic
by Mohsen76 on 08-31-2013
will never let you down .
very reliable and low on gas . you will not be disappointed by an Honda Civic specially when the owner has taken care of the care and maintain it for years .
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

Trim: Si
by reelvtec on 08-09-2013
1998 Honda Civic Si (Amazing Front Wheel Drive sports car!)
Ive been driving a 1998 Civic Si for the past year now and I think ive lived with the car long enough to give a review of it. In short the 1998 Honda Civic Si is a FANTASTIC FWD sports car. Honda was the first company to start this trend of Front Wheel Drive, econmical and affordable sports cars and it all started with this model.

The exterior is really nice and still has a nice look to it today (they obviously tried to copy the style of the BMW M3 and thats 100% okay). The car has a FANTASTIC 4 cylinder engine that produces 130 hp and makes the 2600 pound car move very quickley thanks to its awesome VTEC techonolgy. Top Gear even said once that Honda's 4 cylinder VTEC engines are the best 4 cylinder engines ever built.

Because of its racing tuned suspension the civic si is SUPER STIFF. It feels beautiful on new roads and is AMAZING in the corners and the grip is beyond incredible, but as soon as you hit one tiny bump you feel how stiff it is. Hitting pot holes and speed bumps in this car will break all your bones.

The interior is really nice and super easy. Its got EVERYTHING that you could possibly need (before 2000) and even a sunroof. My si came with all the options and was fully loaded.

Gas mileage is not too good on this car though only getting about 300-350 kilometers on a full tank of gas but because of its small tank it only costs $40 to fill up and thats good!

Overall the 1998 Honda Civic Si is a great car for someones first car or for someone who wants a sporty, reliable front wheel drive sports car with a trunk that can actually be used! (trunk space is actually really good)! Its stiff and fast and has a really nice sound to it espically when the VTEC kicks in at around 4,000 RPM! The 4 speed automatic transmission is also good but gear changes are very rough and noticable.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

Trim: lx
by ____1998 on 05-05-2013
mint condition ! Come and see
This is an amazing car to get you to point A to point B very fuel efficient you will be very surprised I saved so much money with this car everything is stock I never tampered with the motor very good car to start off driving the price is right as well u don't need to fix anything the car is running everyday
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by jksoccer4life on 03-26-2013
Great ride!
This Civic rides with nice feeling. Being comfortable and yet being able to drive a good car. Very fuel efficient and can run on fumes. I dont know what im saying but people will still read this and be like this is an amazing car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by paulthepenguin on 03-19-2013
A wonderful long-term ride
I drove this car for a long time, on a long job. I bought it used. It rarely gave me trouble, and was fantastic, from start to finish. I've pushed it past 200,000km, and plan to drive it until it dies, which I don't suspect will happen for another 5 or 10 years at least!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by Schmaner on 03-14-2013
Not flashy, but great vehicle
We bought this car used. Even being a few years old and with more than a few KM on it, our Honda is still fantastic. Not a ton of room inside, but great fuel economy and great reliability. Would definitely recommend this car, especially as a first car
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by Cockadookie on 03-11-2013
Decent
I really don't know, now that I think about it. I found a nice one-owner with 124K. After two years it has 175K and the only thing that has not been routine maintenance has been some rust thru the exhaust system. That's it. Brakes/tires, fluids, filters, and spark plugs. That's all I've had to touch. Everything works. I've owned a lot of high mileage cars b/c I prefer them for various reasons but this one acts half it's age. It also beasted thru the Appalachian mountains loaded with myself and about 250lbs of military gear, so don't underestimate the power under the hood. And I average 35 mpg.
Overall
2.5
Comfort
2/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
1/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by dw4000 on 03-08-2013
old faithful
i bought this car a year and a half ago, its a rebuild. it runs smoothly, and isnt too bad on gas. best car ive ever owned although its only my fourth. been burglarized once, and i recall the civic being top spot in thefts in a report years ago in the province newspaper so im not sure if owning a civic makes you a target for this. the other day i got hit by a cement truck and my civic still gets me to work! so sad its got a big dent in the front passenger side fender now.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by julytillaugust on 03-07-2013
A so-so ride
Bought it old. Had minor problems, but it still runs fine. I didn't have high expectations. For the price I bought it at, it is pretty good. I like the exterior design; very simple and dainty.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

Trim: DX
by gburkell on 02-11-2013
I'd keep this car if My Wife Would Let me ;-)
My wife wants a kid, that means this work horse has to go. Awesome ride, Fuel economy that rivals others and is more than reliable.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

Trim: EX
by kathyd on 02-11-2013
Civics Last Forever
I am a stay at home mom with two small kids and didn't think the cvic would be able to meet my needs (I owned it before becoming a mom). It fits our family of four with no trouble at all. I live in Edmonton, AB where the snow gets crazy sometimes and the cold is unbearable. My civic never failed me once. It has been a fantastic car and it's definitely bittersweet to get something new.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

Trim: Black
by GrumblestheCube on 01-25-2013
Immortal
It might not be fancy, or expensive but they'll last forever if you take good care of them. Fuel economy is comparable to brand new cars and it's just as comfortable as any. You can even get most modern power options.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

Trim: Silver
by IOB on 01-20-2013
Amazing Relaxation
This is an incredible car with very well thought out interior designs. Although the exterior styling does not look futuristic, it has a sleek touch, emphasizing that the car is in no way outdated. The suspensions work pretty well, making rides a lot smoother.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by Myputtputt on 01-15-2013
Love my car
So dependable. I love my Honda civic and wouldn't want to drive anything else ever!!! Have never had any major problems with my little putt putt (my nickname for her), great on gas and she looks pretty to. Had her coloured my favourite colour, Purple!!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by stacyd on 01-13-2013
Best Car Ever
I so loved this car.....it was fun to drive, easy on gas, and was great on the highway! I traveled all over New Brunswick in mine
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by wackload on 01-11-2013
it's a terrific ride
dark navy blue in color, lightly used, no scratches, the engine runs fine. There are a few scratches on the paint, nothing too noticeable.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
1/5
Exterior Styling
1/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by ______6420 on 01-08-2013
Good yet bad.
I've have many good moments and some bad with in and with this car. I love the memories but it's time get a new car in the future. It's kind of old school and I need an up date. A 25 year old car like this one needs some work and it's just as easy as buying a new one.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by emmazing9 on 12-24-2012
decent
It is alright
Looks okay, is generally reliable, good on gas

Doesnt handle the greatest in winter

overall i am satisfied. i think it is a good car for those travelling olong distances on mainly highways

and not spedning alot of time in the snow
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Honda Civic

by carol_wyli on 12-21-2012
It's okay as a beginner car
As the years went on there seems to be more and more problems with it from the ac not working to various issues with the engine. Start up with this car is slow and takes a while for it to pick up speed.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email