Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Honda Civic 1997Change

20 reviews
4/5
Honda Civic
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2017
9 reviews
2005
69 reviews
1993
7 reviews
2016
7 reviews
2004
74 reviews
1992
5 reviews
2015
13 reviews
2003
79 reviews
1991
8 reviews
2014
7 reviews
2002
75 reviews
1990
6 reviews
2013
25 reviews
2001
80 reviews
1989
4 reviews
2012
124 reviews
2000
53 reviews
1988
1 review
2011
35 reviews
1999
33 reviews
1987
1 review
2010
84 reviews
1998
39 reviews
1984
1 review
2009
89 reviews
1997
20 reviews
1983
2 reviews
2008
119 reviews
1996
16 reviews
1980
1 review
2007
95 reviews
1995
21 reviews
1976
1 review
2006
109 reviews
1994
5 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews

1997 Honda Civic

Trim: LX
by civic4life on 04-30-2014
I miss having a manual transmission
This car was light, fast, and pretty great on gas mileage (37.5 mpg for the most part). I have a much bigger car now, but I miss driving with a manual transmission. I bought used and only had it for a few years, but even with 186k miles it was still going strong. So reliable, one of the best values out there on the market.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

Trim: CX
by chrisss on 07-29-2013
old reliable
good little car, great on gas, not a perfomance machine(like a lot of kids think) perfect to get from here to there!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

Trim: Hatchback
by Brooks87 on 04-30-2013
Real head turner
Lots of fun and a beautiful car al around. I have owned it for tge past 6 years and have babied it since. Won't be dissapointed!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

by Oknowimrdy on 03-26-2013
Could Honda Civics be the greatest Car ever built?
Owned my 97' Honda Civic Si for almost 6 years now and never had a problem with it. They are great on Gas, overall a great car that won't break the bank. I would recommend this car to anyone on a budget, looking for something that will get you from point A to point B in decent time.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

by ANAducks on 02-16-2013
A good car
the performance of this car excellent!!! I bought the car new in 1997 and had very little problems with the car. i don't care or the interior or exterior design of the car. i look at getting a car like this in the future !!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

by civic4549 on 01-20-2013
comfortable ride
well i got a very good suspension put it makes the ride smoother then before i got the job done heaters all work and i just bought all yeear round tiers new rims gal-wing doors ferrarri race type seats
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

by guest1111 on 01-08-2013
Reliable and cheap
Good car overall except for the common rust problem in the rear quarter panels. It's cheap on fuel and ,maintenace is quite affordable. Interior isn't very roomy.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

Trim: dx
by Joel on 12-25-2012
Good car
The car is great, but nothing too special or spectacular. It is reliable in the winter, starts with no problem and has great traction, but the car is old and the interior is starting to break down. Exterior rust is starting but not a problem. No leaks or breaks anywhere which is great.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

by SDSTEXAMTERMS on 12-24-2012
It's a pretty good car
I had a great experience with this car. First car ever, had a great experience with it. Rode very smoothly, was kind of like driving a go kart. Easy to navigate and was very reliable for me.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

by Jennmcphee on 12-16-2012
Reliable
I bought this car with 114,000 kms on it and its still running great. It takes 40$ gas every week and a half and it still only needed minor work, nothing major. They don't make cars like this anymore.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

by Civicnation on 12-04-2012
A great reliable Civic
The best in it's class for fuel, economy. This is 5 speed standard 2 door coupe. Black colour inside and out. Best made car for Honda!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

by honda9112 on 11-28-2012
great ride
These Cars are Excellent on gas and are very sporty looking a great first car for anyone !!! most have power windows and generaly cheap with insurance pricing to i give this car a four out of five because when i had one i loved it and could put $ 20 in the tank and drive for miles , also for being a smaller car it is pretty roomy in the front seats and for the most part in the back too. i payed 1000 $ for my 1997 honda civic if you can find one for that price or better ..... BUY IT !!!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

by oakanutinn on 11-03-2012
An excellent starter car!
The 1997 Honda Civic is a reliable, fun driving, and stylish car for young drivers who are just getting their first vehicle, or for someone who appreciates the Honda brand and would like to tune a car for cheap while keeping the performance and reliability.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

by Pin1979 on 11-02-2012
love it
i bought it 12 years ago and it still runs great its got 345786km on it the next car i buy will be the same thing but newer they are cheap on gas and give good performance
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

by Pin1979 on 11-02-2012
love it
really cheap on gas good performance love the car i bought it brand new 12 years ago and i still have and will keep it as long as i can the car is 345786km and still runs great
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

Trim: LX
by cars_review on 10-18-2012
Great Honda Civic
Have owned this car now for 5 years and it has been great. It is 15 years old but still runs like a dream. You can't go wrong with a honda civic. This car is quite and drives really smooth. Regular maintenance has kept this car running great. This car has 233,000 km's on it and i plan on driving it for another 5 years.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

by bluestone on 10-16-2012
My Civic
Like the Energizer bunny, it keeps going and going. Now at 310K and counting. One of the very few vehicles with mechanical reliability withstanding the toughest tests of time. Nothing is perfect. There are shortcomings typical and chronic of many Honda's. The greater susceptibility to rusting and corrosion, and fragility of the general CV shaft, boot, ball joint, etc. system. If you're willing to live with a bit of inconvenience, the vehicle saved you a bundle if kept for many years. Being such a popular car, it is easy and affordable to find replacement parts. Mileage is good but can be better.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

Trim: EXL
by FootballManager on 10-15-2012
Still on the road
This car was used and abused and it still held its own. We had it for 10 years and other than rust doing its part the engine and drive train kept going strong. It is better in the snow than the new Civics. It was good on gas. This car is still missed.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Honda Civic

Trim: Si
by Parkwood on 10-11-2012
My First Honda
This was the first Honda that I owned. The manual transmission was extremely reliable and I never had any problems with it. Exterior and interior styling was pretty standard for its time, but the gas mileage was exceptional. Having adults sit in the back was difficult as there wasn’t a whole lot of space. I’ve had several Hondas since this car.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email