Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

BMW 5 Series 2001Change

8 reviews
4.5/5
BMW 5 Series
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2016
1 review
2007
10 reviews
1999
4 reviews
2014
1 review
2006
13 reviews
1998
6 reviews
2013
5 reviews
2005
3 reviews
1997
6 reviews
2012
9 reviews
2004
8 reviews
1995
1 review
2011
18 reviews
2003
7 reviews
1994
1 review
2010
7 reviews
2002
6 reviews
1992
2 reviews
2009
3 reviews
2001
8 reviews
1989
1 review
2008
17 reviews
2000
7 reviews
1986
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

2001 BMW 5 Series

Trim: 530I
by LaloZeBe on 08-14-2014
Smooth Drive
When you own a BMW you won't be able to enjoy driving anything else, it's all about the experience of driving one.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 BMW 5 Series

Trim: 540I
by srh on 07-21-2014
The Ultimate Driving Machine / Freude am Fahren / Le plaisir de conduire
Best looking BMW of all time, timeless, classic elegance. And no Bangle butt! The best thing about this car is the power - you just need to think and the power is there, no asking, no ßitching, no complaining. She's as happy at 10 km/h as she is at 100 km/h (if not more).

Fuel economy - not the best but what do you expect from a V8?

Interior Design: this is a driver's car, plain and simple. From the subtle angle of the dashboard and the centre console towards the driver, to the ideal distance between the gas, brake and clutch pedal, to just how the gear shifter falls to hand effortlessly, or the lack of iDrive, or the satisfying, bank-vault-like "thud" when you close the door, this model style (E39) is the last of an era.

Exterior styling: 3 words: No Bangle Butt.

Reliability: An overall reliable car, but when she breaks, she breaks big-time!

Overall: they don't make 'em like this anymore!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 BMW 5 Series

Trim: 530I Silver
by albi on 06-19-2014
Great drive
Reliable, comfortable, powerful, heavy on corners with but still tight. Very responsive, great engine, body a little heavy. beautiful interior

Parts are expensive, installing them is expensive, if you do not have a reliable mechanic. Be careful with the transmission, no shifting from D to R if stuck in snow, very sensitive. Synthetic oil, 91 gas
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 BMW 5 Series

by BEEMER7280 on 06-06-2014
This vehicle is in great shape and everything works.
This car impresses the more you look at it. The rims and tires make the car. The stereo system is sick. Clean music at any volume.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 BMW 5 Series

Trim: 525I
by 525I on 07-05-2013
bmw 525I
I have really enjoyed this car a lot , since its purchase in 2005. It appears inside out like a solid build with excellent handling on the road, feels often like its been glued to the pavement, with reasonable acceleration and fuel economy for this engine size. I have bought this vehicle with 61000K on it, and ever since there was no major issues, I can think of. In winter time, you may have to switch to winter tires, as it significantly improves handling on the slippery or snowy surfaces. When driven in normal conditions, fuel consumption is about 8.5-9L on the HWY and 11.5 L in city driving, which for V6 engine of this size, seems really competitive. My second vehicle is CLK350, and despite the better external look on Mercedes, BMW has delivered more solid, and pleasant driving experience, not mentioning better fuel economy. When sold, it would definitely be missed for its qualities, as we need a SUV for our family now.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 BMW 5 Series

Trim: 530I
by snow on 01-19-2013
true beauty
I bought my 2001 bmw 530i used around twelve months ago and I'm in love with this car. Its a really sporty full size sedan that's great on gas, I really like the style of these older models bmw's compared to the newer models.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 BMW 5 Series

Trim: 525iA
by Love2Drive on 10-26-2012
Worth the Extra Money
There is a difference in quality in higher end cars. 2001 BMW has the little things like a heated steering wheel and three heat settings for the leather seats I don't like to wear gloves when I drive so the heated steering wheel is a must in Canada. This is a heavy car and built like a rock. The hwy fuel consumption is great, but the city mileage is poor. The 525 has more than enough power for entering the hwy and passing. The car seems to be floating on air and 140k on the hwy seems like 60k in my Malibu. The only thing that bugs me is the cup holders. The four wheel disk brakes are great and you can stop on a dime. I will go over 300k before the end of the year and newer BMW 5 is top of my shopping list.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 BMW 5 Series

Trim: 540I
by Porsche911 on 10-10-2012
Great performance car at good price.
I really love the bmw 540i. Performance is great but you pay with the economy of the vehicle. Exhaust sound is average and really wish they had put in a slip diff like the M5. This car is made for the highway with tons of talk. Long journeys are a breeze and the fuel economy is great if you keep the car in the low rpm range.

The car has been reliable for me but I have had to replace parts on it. I have seen the check engine light a couple of times and have had to buy a new maf and clutch fan.

Overall I am very happy with the car and have no idea what I would replace it with if I had too. For the price you get great performance and luxury.

Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email