Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Volkswagen GTI 1994-2017Change

72 reviews
4.5/5
Volkswagen GTI
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2017
1 review
2007
13 reviews
2001
8 reviews
2015
3 reviews
2006
1 review
2000
3 reviews
2012
11 reviews
2004
1 review
1999
1 review
2011
6 reviews
2003
2 reviews
1995
2 reviews
2010
7 reviews
2002
2 reviews
1994
1 review
2008
10 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 63 reviews
1 23 >

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: 4-door DSG
by Hoser1 on 06-25-2015
We love this car.
As empty-nesters, in 2012 we decided it was time to trade in the Gr. Caravan, & get something smaller. However, my wife said that whatever we got had to have "zip" (hooray). I quickly boiled the list down to a Mazdaspeed3 & a GTI. We had a bad experience with a Protege, so my wife didn't want another Mazda. Unlike other hatchbacks, the GTI's roof didn't slope down at the back & reduce the height of the back window (& interior space); my wife liked that. Also, I'm 6' - 2"; the GTI has lots of headroom, even with the sunroof.
Our GTI is black with the DSG tranny & all av. factory options; I would've preferred grey with plaid seats, but we couldn't find a grey one, leather seats came as part of one of the options package (which has since been corrected) and the price of this one was just too good to pass up.
German engineering really is not to be discounted, & the interior fit & finish is faultless. This car also has the best steering wheel this side of an Audi R8 (if it were only heated, it'd be perfect). The seats look great, and feel better than that. One other seemingly small thing that I really like is the digital display of the cruise setting.
About 6 months before we got the GTI, the lease ended on our '08 BMW 535i; in my view, the GTI has similar interior room, almost the same hp/pound rating of the Bimmer, and is far more fun to drive; the fun/gallon figure is pretty impressive. The Bimmer was arguably a mistake, but it did introduce me to the wonders of German engineering, it did scratch a long-suffering itch, and what's a mid-life crisis without a mid-life crisis car? We might be a bit unique, though, in that a GTI is not exactly what a retired couple are usually seen driving, but it sure is a hoot to drive, and is a lot more practical than a Mustang convertible .... or a Camry. The only gripe is that it is a bit noisy at speed, but sometimes you gotta make allowances. I can easily see us keeping this car for quite a few more years.

Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2015 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: 3 door
by gti3524 on 12-10-2014
amazing drive
i got it a week ago i love it many improvement from previous
model 3 door with auto sport package amazing drive lot
of power amazing view on the road when you're behind
the wheel comfortable ride incredible fuel economy when driving
100-110 km/h handles very well on corners best sport car
under 30000.
VW did good job
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2015 Volkswagen GTI

by gti3524 on 12-10-2014
amazing drive
i got it a week ago amazing drive many improvement from previous model love it 3 door with auto dsg sport package
a lot power smooth drive incredible vision of the road when you're behind the wheel comfortable outstanding fuel economy
when driving on the highway 100-110 km/h
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen GTI

by r2gti on 10-03-2014
My first Toy!


Very fun and sporty, even to this day seems to always bring out your inner child! Really feel and hear the 2L turbo with the Unitronic chip flash and intake! FWD can be a bit of a pain in the winter but it is bearable if you drive carefully.

Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: ABT
by ericdisepolo on 09-13-2014
fav car I've ever owned
this car has been amazing. but i need a truck for work and i have a family of 2 little ones. i will truly miss it.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen GTI

by roger1 on 09-10-2014
GTi is great car
Just a great car - super performance, power, handling, super cool look, ad great utility and practical. Vdub great brand.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2010 Volkswagen GTI

by Schoenzyy on 09-05-2014
Amazing car.
I've wanted a VW GTI for as long as I can remember. When I finally got one, a 2010 3dr white w/ 54k kms, fully loaded, off autotrader for a great price, I was ecstatic. The car has been rock solid so far. It's definitely a pricey car if you're buying brand new, but getting it a few years used it's the smartest buy you can make if you're into cars. With the mk5 and above GTIs, you're really getting a little performance machine. The thing handles phenomenally, and has more than enough power to put a smile on your face. As compared to other hot hatches, nothing comes close once you sit inside. The interior is gorgeous, especially if you're lucky enough to get the leather. The materials used and dash layout convey quality and consideration for the driver. I could go on, but you should probably go try one out yourself!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2003 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: 20th AE
by 2003-GTI-20AE on 09-03-2014
Hot Hatch
Great sporty machine, way ahead of its time, so many extras that weren't included in many cars until years after this one was made.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Volkswagen GTI

by aambivalence on 08-23-2014
Reliable, fun car
No engine problems after 2 years of ownership. Reliable, fun to drive... and the VW community made being a VW owner fun.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen GTI

by GermanCarz on 07-17-2014
Amazing german sports car
When you think of a hot hatch, only one car comes to mind. The VW GTI! Holy cow does this thing rip rubber, and handle like a true sports car. I have had mine for nearly 5 years and it is running like it is still brand new! Tons of fun, and takes off like a bullet. Amazing starter car!

Fuel economy is quite good for this 2.0 Turbo monster! A few mods and you are pushing 280hp!!! Unreal!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: GLS
by Elmasry on 07-05-2014
Very reliable and fuel efficient German car !
one of the best cars I've ever driven. very stable and reliable car. doesn't look old for its age at all from the inside and outside. fuel efficient as the motor size is only 1.8, but very powerful due to its turbo. saves gas and accelerate pretty fast.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volkswagen GTI

by Afifi on 06-09-2014
Excellent car
The car is an amazing performer, whether you drive to work to take it for a thrill drive. 200 Bhp on such a small frame gives an amazing response as well as excellent fuel efficiency
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Volkswagen GTI

by funkyelephant on 05-30-2014
Very good performance and style
GTI is worth every penny, It has very good performance, 6.4 seconds from 0 to 100 Km. Although this car is automatic, but driver still can choose manual shift on the steering wheel. Not like some sport car has the rear wheel drive, this car is front wheel drive. In the winter, it still run good.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: 24V VR6
by Sturdy on 04-30-2014
Pretty well held together car
I've driven this car for quite a while and compared it to other "hot hatches" out there. For example I drive one of the ladies I work with's Mini John Cooper S Works that is a 2010 instead of my 03 vr6 to lunch and the ergonomics, sturdiness and performance are way, way lower.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: 5 door sunroof and heated seats
by GTI3539 on 04-22-2014
Great high performance car.
This car was great on gas. Drove well in all seasons. Nice comfortable ride. It is a very dependable car. Has a nice sporty look.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: 3DR
by RobW86 on 03-16-2014
Best car I have ever owned
By far the best car I have ever owned. Excellent build quality, excellent handling and amazing power and performance. I truly think this is one of the best value vehicles on the road today.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: 1.8T
by Johns9 on 02-06-2014
Fun car to drive
I've owned my GTI for 7 years and have loved driving it. The car has a good interior volume and packs a lot for a 3 door sports car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen GTI

by RoxyRoller on 01-25-2014
My baby
When I first saw this vehicle, it just spoke to me, so I made it a personal mission to own a GTI. From the day I test drove it, to the day I decided to sell it, I have been in love with everything about this vehicle. From the way it looks, to the way it feels, to the way I can assert my will through the gas pedal at any given moment.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: GTI
by InVancouver on 12-30-2013
Power and handling meet economy
The VW GTI has always been a great combination of performance and economy. The 2001 GTI combines a plush comfort package (including 8 speaker stereo, heated seats, great ventilation, power everything, etc) with a stiff frame and powerful yet efficient 1.8 litre 20 Valve Turbocharged engine. Great year round vehicle.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: Premium
by Jdub1982 on 12-28-2013
Very fast and fun car to drive, and it has amazing fuel economy
I love every minute I spend in this car: from the sound system, to the way the exhaust sounds, to the wonderful handling, it really is an absolutely pleasure to drive. I have nothing bad to say about it...wait, no, the fuel door is on the passenger side of the car...I always forget when pulling into a gas station and it drives me crazy. It has decently stiff sporty suspension, which helps it handle amazingly well in corners. It can fly if you want it to, i've never been able to really open it up so I can't say what it's top speed is but...its up there. never had a mechanical problem at all. german engineered and built. You'll love it!!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: GTI Leather Sunroof 6spd Manual
by Luke1141 on 12-02-2013
Buckets of fun and practical too!
I gave this car a perfect 5/5 for a very good reason. I can't find anything wrong with it!

Its spacious, drives like it was meant to be on the Autobahn, barely sips from the fuel tank, all while being absolutely beautiful. One of my favourite features of this car is the KESSY system. (keyless entry) I don't even have to take the key out of my pocket to unlock the car, its the little things like this that VW pays attention to that make driving a GTI such a joy!

I haven't had any complaints with it since I purchased it, no strange noises, nothing to be repaired, it just runs smooth. I really took my time to break in the engine too, I treated it with respect and purchased the 5 year extended warranty because I fully intended on driving it for the next 5-10 years. Its really going to make me sad to see this car go. If I didn't get a new job that required a pickup truck I definitely would not be selling it!

The hatch back is unbelievably practical, it goes from being a 4 door 5 seater to a cargo space that rivals most SUV's on the market. I can't say enough great things about this VW. Even the interior quality is on par with Audi. If you sit in the GTI and compare it to an Audi A6 sedan, the dash fit and finish rivals its bigger brother.

If you're looking for a car that will do it all, this is the car for you. Its quick and nimble, comfortable and stylish, fuel savvy and functional! Volkswagen has been making the GTI for 6 generations, it is an icon of German engineering, and has shaped the way we look at hatchbacks today.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: b
by KrisBulawa on 09-14-2013
Awesome car!!
This is a nice car, unfortunately I have to sell it. It is a very smooth ride, good on gas and fully loaded!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1995 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: GTI VR6
by GolfVR6 on 09-08-2013
Best hatchback of this year....
Small car and a 2.8L VR6 engine........definitely a fun ride with this powerful and reliable engine. Tons of potential.

Runs smooth and quite for a car with this Km's.......

Comfort rated lower because of the coil over springs installed, they lowered the car but with a stiff ride....

Definitely worth the asking price....
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: VR6
by Afshin on 09-02-2013
Excellent car for fun and city driving
Really fast and easy to control, small look (good for small parking spot) but big enough interior and also big trunk.
good vision and it has all necessary option.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Volkswagen GTI

Trim: GTI
by MichaelLitt on 08-03-2013
Incredible Car
I've loved my 2010 VW GTI. It's great on gas and has a tonne of space for both people and Ikea furniture :P.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.
1 23 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email