Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Volvo XC90 2003-2011Change

32 reviews
4.5/5
Volvo XC90
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2011
1 review
2007
7 reviews
2004
3 reviews
2009
5 reviews
2006
5 reviews
2003
1 review
2008
5 reviews
2005
5 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 29 reviews
1 2 >

2011 Volvo XC90

by Brendabmp on 08-15-2015
Perfect New Ride
My new to me Volvo is a replacement for a 2009 model that was a total loss after a moose encounter.

We had a mini driving vacation (approximately 2000km) and the Volvo did not disappoint as a comfy luxurious ride.

I would recommend this vehicle to anyone who has an extra few dollars to spend on peace of mind.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volvo XC90

by Brendabmp on 08-15-2015
Great vehicle
I am sad to say that my Volvo encountered a moose & was a total loss however no one was injured to which I am very thankful. In my opinion this is one of the safest vehicles on the road and looking at the aftermath of the accident I am not sure another vehicle would have had the same results.

Everything about this vehicle screams luxury, interior, smooth ride, all the bells & whistles that are standard equipment. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone who enjoys driving as this is the ultimate experience.

I have replaced my Volvo with the same but newer model & look forward to many years of happy driving.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volvo XC90

by vincent413ph on 07-05-2015
very nice suv
I trade my 1st xc90 2006 2,5t to xc90 V8 ,I knew its Yamaha engine too, I droved this car from Calgary to palmdale, California to visit my dad and my brother, yeah ,,its fun to drive my 2009 R design V8 ,no problem with this SUV I love it very much...
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Volvo XC90

by Deborah9103 on 06-25-2015
Not worth the money
This is my 5th Volvo, 1st two were station wagons. Went to the xc90 as my family grew. Our 1st xc90 had to be traded in due to starting issues after approx. 1 year of use. In 2008 Xc90 #2 caught fire in the rear battery and destroyed the car. Volvo replaced the car for half price with new 2009. Xc90 #3 has had endless issues; 5 batteries due to issues that were alternator related, squealing rear left brakes 3 months after receiving car never been corrected properly, hatch repaired so many times lost count, alarm system going off constantly. Now the bonnet latch is problematic. This year alone spent over $ 4000 on repairs. The second these cars are no longer under warranty your in trouble. Volvo head office refused to help with the issues even thou the problems started 3 months after getting the car and continue to this day. Constantly in and out of the shop.
To all who want to buy a Volvo please read up on the issues with these cars before purchasing. The issues are numerous and the fixes are ridiculously pricey. It's all over the net. This not the same car Volvo use to build when I was a child. Back then they were exceptionally good quality. Volvo has lost focus on the needs of their customers and quality control.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2007 Volvo XC90

Trim: V8
by Skroughy on 05-25-2014
Fantastic Vehicle!
First Volvo owned and would not hesitate to get into another one! Safest vehicle on the road and super reliable. Has the power when you need it and performs consistently and reliably. The engineering that has gone into this vehicle is obvious every time you get behind the wheel. Rides fantastically and is super quiet inside and out with all of the bells and whistles you would ever need. Excellent with kids and the seven passenger option comes in handy. If this vehicle fits your lifestyle, don't hesitate to get into one!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Volvo XC90

Trim: 3.2L V6
by Ob1sonc on 05-16-2014
You get what you paid for
This was my first Volvo, and know, NOT my last! This is an excellent SUV, we had our for 2yrs and I had very little problems. Comfort and style are unique. I will miss my XC90 but can't wait to get another 1
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volvo XC90

by Gary0367 on 03-10-2014
Best Family Car! Complete Confidence in safety and reliability
Fantastic Family Car! Excellent for Family Vacations and Road Trips. Perfect Vehicle if travelling with family to sporting events. Lots of room for everyone and DVD Video System is fantastic for children. Wireless Headsets make the trip enjoyable to everyone!
Great Vehicle to head up to the mountains to go skiing!
We have travelled extensively with our 4 Children throughout Western Canada. Thule on the top makes this vehicle even better for travelling.
Smooth Handling & Ride! All Wheel Drive System and Winter Driving Package make this vehicle great in all kinds of winter driving conditions.
Can't say enough good things about this vehicle!
Also has been used on numerous Golf Trips with the Boys! Lots of room for 4 Adults, Golf Clubs & luggage!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volvo XC90

Trim: 3.2L AWD
by MrWeiland on 03-08-2014
Very Save vehicle
Love driving the XC90, its also an excellent family car with a built in booster seat in the center of the first row seats.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volvo XC90

Trim: 3.2 awd
by VolvoC70 on 02-10-2014
Excellent SUV - Only issue is L/100km
Excellent everything. Love this car. Only issue is the gasoline consumption. I get approx 11.5 litres per 100km on the highway and 16L/100km in the city. Combined at approx 13.5 l/100km.

It's about 3litres per 100km difference from my other Volvo or $22 per tank of gasoline. I now look at it as $90 a month to drive a very safe and comfortable vehicle.

One good thing is that it uses regular gas as opposed to premium. I've ran both premium and regular. Only performance diff is that the reg gas at full accelaration it doesn't pull as hard but no issues under normal conditions.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volvo XC90

Trim: T6
by ElissaO on 12-19-2013
I love this car!!!
This car is my baby and a favorite with my kids too. The stereo is the best I've ever heard stock! Love everything about it!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volvo XC90

Trim: T6 AWD
by robbie7979 on 10-08-2013
Great
Great for everyday commute and especially great for long trips many days spent driving to the cottage and to the US to visit family. Kids all comfy in the back while mom is toasty warm on her side and dad nice and cool on my side.
This vehicle is great and will purchase another when I need to.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Volvo XC90

Trim: T6
by SUVinYVR on 09-04-2013
Great family car. Very safe. Ideal for a family or a sportive person with gear and equipment to tran
Great family car. Very safe.
Room like a truck, but drives like a car. We have had our volvo since 2005 and it has performed very well. Occasional service as you would expect (brakes, oil, etc) but overall a very reliable care.

Very roomy and bright interior.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volvo XC90

by VolvoXC90 on 05-29-2013
Excellent reliability
No major repairs have been required in my 4 year ownership from Jul 2009 - Jun 2013. Extremely reliable. Excellent fuel economy from the 2.5L engine. Ample power from the turbocharged engine makes highway passing a breeze.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Volvo XC90

Trim: 2.5T
by Dave2345 on 04-24-2013
Great car lots of space good power
Great family car that has a ton of space for kids or equipment but wont break the bank at the pump. Same style as a 2012 XC 90!!! body has not changed!!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volvo XC90

by RonGiorgio on 03-14-2013
Most relaxing ride
After taking one for the weekend from a friend that owns a dealer. we relized that this was a great vehicle. Just the weekend before we drove to the same cottage 2 hrs away with our then current SUV. The comparison was night and day between the two. After driving to and from the cottage for just one day I was still awake and relaxed after driving the Volvo. The previous weekend in our previous SUV we did the same drive and I was exhausted and stiff. I'd say we are looking for another one but not till this one breaks down and I have a feeling it's gonna be a while.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Volvo XC90

by Tandy76 on 02-21-2013
Great for Comfort and Utility!
I purchased my 2008 Volvo XC90 in late 2009. It has been a wonderful, trouble-free experience. It is a very smooth machine, and it coddles the driver and passenger very well. It is not a fast vehicle by any means, but it is comfortable and versatile. It is at home carrying 7 passengers as it is hauling drywall and insulation, among other large, heavy items. It's styling is classic, not too flashy, but understated in its elegance. And most importantly, it has has stellar reliability, with no issues whatsoever. The only thing I have replaced is tires. The only thing I would note is that the leather seats tend to crack if they are not treated regularly with leather cleaner.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volvo XC90

by stanno on 02-13-2013
luxurious
with all the bells and whistles this car is wonderful to drive. i cant wait to get into it every day. unfortunately with such a large vehicle, the gas mileage is terrible in town. 17 l/100 km. highway is ok at 12.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volvo XC90

by FamilyGuy on 02-01-2013
Comfortable affordable 7-seat real SUV
Comfortable 3rd row, thanks to 40-20-40 independently adjustable 2nd row
Large trunk can fit 3 full size luggages + stroller and more.
High ground clearance
Responsive ABS and anti-slip
Audible backup sensor does not take your eyes away.
Blind-spot sensor gives peace in mind.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Volvo XC90

by Rusty_one on 01-23-2013
good all-round vehicle
One of the best rated cars in its class in this model year, and it is evident when you drive it. T6 trim package includes AWD and twin turbo, making for great highway performance. Comfortable with room for seven and split folding seats for good cargo options I would highly recommend this vehicle
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volvo XC90

Trim: V8 Sport
by Puffdaddy on 12-16-2012
V8 power, room, handling and classic design
Other than a bit hard on tires because of the weight and power, an excellent performer, tons of room, excellent build quality and Volvo's state of the art safety; can't really go wrong if you can find one !
limited production R design.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volvo XC90

by envy8605 on 12-05-2012
best suv ever
very reliable and very cimfortables...best suv ever... next one will be a volvo for sure...harsh winters are no problem for this suv.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volvo XC90

by Greatride10 on 12-03-2012
Great car for family
Very confortable car, the best I ever drove in snowy/icy weather.Everyone will be ultrasafe in this beautiful VolvoXC90!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Volvo XC90

by calvin_live on 11-10-2012
Great Car
This is a car that is very safe and confortable. It has a different type of class. It gives you tons of features and the car is strong. It's a good car and very reliable.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volvo XC90

Trim: Premium V8
by GOx on 11-01-2012
Great used car value
We purchased this as a three year old used vehicle and have not been disappointed. After adding 75,000km to the odometer we've managed to only need brakes and tires with regular oil changes at 8000km intervals. The V8 provides ample power and towing capability along with a year round average of 10.6l/100km. Not the best fuel economy on the market but for a vehcile with the comfort, heft, and safety features of this one, I'm pleased. My only complaint might be the over $300 cost to purchase a new bi-xenon bulb to replace one that burnt out. Decided to replace both at the same time and keep the old unspent bulb as a spare. However, the quality and brightness of the light they provide is another one of the many safety features I appreciate. Particularly given the booming deer population in our area.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Volvo XC90

Trim: T6
by rufeelnme on 10-30-2012
2003 XC90 with 200K
Great performance and reliability. As long as you have had the transmission issues and water pump replaced under warranty, plus taken care of regular maintenance, you will have solid performance in a safe reliable vehicle.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email