Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Volvo 240 1982-2008Change

10 reviews
4/5
Volvo 240
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2008
1 review
1989
2 reviews
1987
2 reviews
1993
1 review
1988
1 review
1982
1 review
1991
2 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

1987 Volvo 240

Trim: 240DL
by flex1481 on 06-06-2013
Workhorse! Goes forever
I've had three of these in my family, they are rock solid and go forever. One saved my neice's life, the medics said the same accident in any other car would have been fatal. The two I've had just go forever, very reliable cars. Change the oil, keep driving.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volvo 240

Trim: 240S
by tmsforever on 01-23-2013
great car
had my issues but nothing more then normal. enjoy the pick up and power of this car. heated seats are a great touch.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1982 Volvo 240

by goofy on 01-14-2013
Volvo...240...our best car!!
We bought this car brand new when we first got married and kept it for almost 20 years. It had a standard transmission, sun roof and leather interior...and we loved it!!

Hated to get rid of it!!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1993 Volvo 240

Trim: GLT 850
by Serge999 on 12-15-2012
Second Hand Car
For a second hand car, with a few years on it, it is excellent and reliable for it's year. Mechanically very tough, however the chassis is prone to rust.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1989 Volvo 240

by 18yogangsta on 11-30-2012
I trust it with my life
I don't drive very often and my Volvo still always starts even in minus 40 weather. It is not the nicest car or the most fuel efficient but it is very nice to know that it is going to get you where you are trying to go.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1991 Volvo 240

by TANKS_VOLVO on 11-21-2012
Can't kill it!
I've had this car for almost 8 years now. I've gone through a compact, an import, a jeep, and even 3 bicycles since I bought this beast. It's survived camp runs, long hauls, beach parties, you name it. Easy to work on when actually acting up, but honestly can't be beat. It's never let me down. Even at almost half a million on the meter, she still smiles and rolls over every single morning. Maybe not a sporty lady, by any means, but me and her have an understanding that works just fine for me. Gas mileage has never been spectacular, but still respectably in the zone.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1991 Volvo 240

Trim: 240DL
by Fern on 11-19-2012
reliable and stylish
A very stylish car. Awesome visibility, and it has never let me down.
The fuel consumption is 12 to 100 which is not bad considering that it is a 1991 car. The comfort in the back seat is average; it feel a bit like a Jeep because it has a hard suspension.
It get a lot of attention because of how stylish it looks.
I have owned it for 7 years and have loved it.

Volvos are great...this is my 3rd and you feel really safe.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1989 Volvo 240

Trim: 240DL
by williebox on 11-15-2012
Great reliability
I love this car, its my first car and shes still running good and strong. Tons of space, ive got seating for 7, trailer hitch, and roof rack, theres nothing that I cant take with me where ever I go. Yes it is quite slow with a 2.3L making 140ish hp in a 3000lb car, and fuel economy isnt amazing, but this car is just so reliable, youll be laughing as you drive past repair shops! i would deffenatly reccomend this car, and im currently in the process of turbo charging it, which some people can get it to make upwards of 400hp with the b230!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1988 Volvo 240

Trim: 240DL DL
by dhately on 10-11-2012
100,000 mile club
My Volvo is 24 years old and just nicely broken in. I've had it for the last 15 years. If all cars lasted like this, the auto industry would shrink drastically as would the volume of scrap we produce. Seating comfort is my first concern when choosing a car and the Volvo 240s are close to but not quite as good as the Volvo 122.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email