Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Volkswagen Touareg 2004-2014Change

29 reviews
5/5
Volkswagen Touareg
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2014
1 review
2010
1 review
2006
5 reviews
2012
3 reviews
2008
3 reviews
2005
3 reviews
2011
5 reviews
2007
3 reviews
2004
5 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 27 reviews
1 2 >

2014 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: TDI V6 TURBO DISEL Execline
by jayhaan on 12-01-2014
I purchsed Rear Car !
I purchased the 2014 VW Touareg TDI V6 Turbo diesel execline on November.2014, and is my first time to own a VW Touareg . Despite some criticisms about its price and lack of prestige I am very impresed :

* Cornering: When i drive through a series of winding mountain roads (Duffey lake road), and the this car has a very stable feel with enough power to stay at the desired speed.
* Handling: Has a very solid feel, as if I'm driving a race car (although I've never driven one before)
* Break: Excellent and reliable.
* Tech : When I start the car, I don't need a key to open the door- simply grab and open the door and press a button to start. When I'm done driving, I just close the door and touch with my finger to lock the car. My wife and I feel that it was worth upgrading our car due to that improvements in technology.
* Towing capacity: I love the heavy towing power.
* Cold start: Starting the car below 19 degrees celcius some nights without any problems.
* Cluster: Looks a bit old fashioned, which I like.
* Sun roof: The size of the sun roof is amazing; I hope theres no water leaks years after
* Outer design: I like the simple look- it isnt too gaudy or fancy. One thing I really like about this car is that it doesn't bring too much attention from other people.
* Features: Made very easy to choose, just pick up a fixed model and i can have everything there in the model. I really enjoy the infortation, factory installed towing hatch, large sun roof, climate package, and the inflable spare tire with air pump is amazing idea.
* Price: Of course I would prefer the price to be lower but I believe the quality of the Touareg remains at its price for many reasons.

Overall : Everything is perfect, it feels like a custom car made just for my life style, no complaints so far.

I have previously owned the RANGE ROVER 2006 hse and have had no accidents in the 26 years.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: execuline
by perfection8751 on 11-19-2014
first impressions the perfect ride
415 lbs of torque provide immediate and strong get up and go with minimal fuel. fuel economy avg city/hwy is an amazing 28 mpg. from an suv! quiet and comfort wit hig fuel economy and lower priced Diesel fuel.

intuitive Nav system is easy to use. steering access makes hands free driving confident enspiring.

its a real joy to drive, safe, comfortable, reliable, and economical.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: Comfortline
by stefano1005 on 11-02-2014
Great Vehicle
I have owned this vehicle for 5 years and the diesel engine is amazing. Great realability and Great ride, very recommended
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: v10 tdi
by Chev666 on 10-25-2014
dealer cash cow
I you have a lot $ by that I'm saying a lot of money$$$$ and you want to make your VW shop or dealer get rich, I mean very wealthy this is the ride to buy!!! 36 months of ownership with $34,000 of bill of repair...
But don't go off-road to often as the weight of the beast will make sink in the mud...It also love to drink fuel...
Maintenance free when parked in heated garage!!!
Overall
3.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: Premium Plus pkg
by Jeff_Hanemaayer on 05-21-2014
A technologically advanced SUV from VW!
VW really went all out to design a 5 passenger SUV with absolutely everything, even advanced off road capability comparable to a Land Rover (although most will never use it, it's nice to know you have it if you need it). Although it's not good on gas, it is a great performer otherwise.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Volkswagen Touareg

by Winter1837asla on 03-30-2014
It's a winter machine
It's a great SUV especially for winter and really nice for summer, comfort inside out , leather heated seat front and rear pa dangers and also steering wheel heat great sound system it's just a perfect SUV it has all u need
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: TDI Execline
by Tripper on 11-16-2013
Warranty Headaches with VW
Vehicle was in and out of two dealerships. Vibration on steering wheel,. New tires, balance everything...mechanic at Orillia VW said normal. $65K vehicle supposed to vibrate.
Warranty obfuscation. Sold vehicle - headache gone. Too bad beautiful vehicle - but it's all not just looks!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2007 Volkswagen Touareg

by CHARLIE7977 on 11-15-2013
Volkswagen Touareg, 2007 V6
For 2007, the Volkswagen Touareg receives more power. The 3.2-litre V6 of 2006 has been replaced with a 3.6-litre V6, that makes 280 hp to the previous 240 hp.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: TDI V6
by TouaregTDi2012 on 10-03-2013
Perfect for pulling trailer
Love the car, love everything about it!! I really like the touch screed where all the controllers are and the GPS as well. it's performance is great and drive beautifully!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: V10 TDI NAVI AIR LIFT
by smrtalec on 10-02-2013
Power and true lusury
VW spared no expense when they built this car. It's absolutely jam packed with technology. For example, it has two large batteries to ensure you don't get stranded anywhere, it's got power everything, and even has a "keep hte cabin warm" feature where it will keep the heat on while you run into the store for 15 minutes on a cold winter day. I mean, who really really needs that? But i can tell you used it last winter.
It has air suspension, so you can adjust the height and the ride comfort ... but since it has air, it also has a tank and hose so you can inflate your tires in case you are running a little low .... or have let the air out of the tires to go off-road.
It has a rear back up camera, and self tinting mirrors, yes the side ones too. Plus they are heated and folding.
It has a CD player, but can also hold 6 more CDs in the trunk.
It can pull 5500lb but with the over sized brakes and the even more over sized engine, odds are you will need to keep an eye on the mirrors because you will hardly know the payload is behind you.
Every aspect of this car is over the top ... and why not? You work hard and why not enjoy it, feel the fruits of your labor.

Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
3 out of 3 found this review helpful.

2008 Volkswagen Touareg

by GJL on 09-18-2013
Very comfortable with a terrific ride. Very reliable
Its been a great vehicle and has performed well. Very utilitarian with lots of cargo space yet it looks classy and very comfortable inside. With snow tires, the Touareg is an exceptional performer in deep snow and icy conditions. You feel very safe.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: TDI
by Camo on 09-11-2013
Very enjoyable vehicle
It mostly has highway miles and runs very well. It is a great car and has been enjoyable to have. The transmission is great, it handles well, and is a great utility vehicle.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: TDI
by Camo on 09-11-2013
This is a really great car
I have a had a great experience with this car. It drives exceptionally well, it has a great transmission, and feels very comfortable. It mostly has highway miles on it.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: Premium
by TDI_V10 on 07-30-2013
Best SUV performance ever
This is the best SUV bulit on and off road. One needs to drive it to believe it. This car has always performed according to spec. In Canada with temperatures from +40 to -40 Celsius this car has always started. Provided this car is well maintained it will easily surpass 1,000,000 kilometers.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2011 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: Premium
by nancy9942 on 07-27-2013
Volkswagon Toureg
This SUV has been unbelievable to own and drive. The best and most reliable vehicle by far that I have owned. The mileage is outstanding and I am getting over 1000 KM to a tank of Diesel. The options are decadent!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: Sport Utility
by GreatrideV8 on 05-30-2013
Super sporty ride.
I have had no trouble with my touareg I LOVE IT!! Super sporty & you feel totally in control when you drive it also very safe! I have never been stranded! JUST KEEP UP WITH OIL CHANGES & REGULAR MAINTENANCE and trust me you'll be fine!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: V8
by volkswagendude on 05-25-2013
Ride In Ultimate Safety and Comfort!
The SAFEST, and most comfortable automobile that I have ever owned period! It has been very reliable, never stranded me once.

The adjustable air suspension with sport/auto/comfort settings provides a choice of plush, cushion feel over bumps, or dial it in to drive stiffer like a sports car. Auto adjustable height suspension works very well with towing, and the only way to tow as far as I'm concerned!

Very comfortable automobile, even for my 6 foot 4 frame. FULL Nappa leather interior smells and feels top notch. Come and see for yourself!





Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Touareg

by texano on 12-30-2012
Touareg
I rented this to go from montreal to new york a few days ago and let me say that it s a great car, easy to drive, very confortable and all the family liket it
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Volkswagen Touareg

by Sat on 12-23-2012
TPMS
The Vehicle is good all around except for fuel mileage which is poor due to the V8 engine. The Tire Pressure Monitors have quit working and cost too much to replace so the Tire Pressure warning light stays on.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: Premium
by sjheng on 11-26-2012
Amazing Vehicle
I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone who is looking at purchasing an SUV. Many advanced features in design, appearance, safety, and overall comfort.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: Comfortline
by AmerB on 11-20-2012
Amazing Vehicle ... Not Just Because It's Mine !!!
I've really enjoyed driving this vehicle and hate to let it go but I am undertaking a new career abroad. I would never buy anything but a TDi in the future after having driven this vehicle. It is great on consumption, amazing torque and comfort.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2004 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: V10 TDI
by Dog on 11-02-2012
2004 VW Touareg V10 TDI
Once you drive one you'll never want anything else. It's a great balance of power, size and economy. It has a 7700 lb tow capacity, room for 5 adults, real AWD , low range transfer case, adjustable air suspension, HID lights, the list goes on. The 6 speed automatic shifts seamlessly and offers two automatic modes (normal and sport) and a semi manual mode. The adjustable air suspension offers sport, auto and comfort modes, with the sport setting moving to a lower ride height and stiffening up the dampening. The other 4 setting are loading height (speed limited) Comfort, Off road, and Xtra height (speed limited), totaling about 6" in height adjustment. Although the differences between Comfort and Sport settings are small, it is noticeable and on the highway switching over to Comfort smooths out the bumps and floats you to your destination. Really one word describes the available power (or more accurately the torque) Intoxicating! It can be as mild mannered as a Civic, but you press the peddle and the big diesel comes to life, you hear the two turbos spool up and almost 2.5 tons of VW pulls away leaving most other cars behind. Rolling on to the throttle at 100 KM/h will push you well into 'loosing you license' range in seconds, all without leaving top gear. Fuel economy is certainly good for a vehicle of the Touareg's size and weight averaging (for me) 8.8 L/100km highway and about 11.2 l/100km city. The only down side to the big V10 is cost of ownership and potential maintenance. Things like oil changes are going to cost a little more than average as well as things like regular fuel filter changes can get somewhat costly. The potential for very expensive repairs is also possible, many of the engine components, should one fail, require the whole engine to be removed (lowered out the bottom) to be replaced. All those convenience features also means a lot of sensors and related electronics which are possible points of failure.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2004 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: V8
by thecliff on 10-30-2012
Touareg V8 - Fahrvergnugen
I have always preferred to drive VW (with a slight stray to a Mazda and a Honda). I have upgraded to my Touareg from a Passat V6 AWD and must say I enjoy the space, handling and performance. The wide wheel base and the handling is true to Volkswagen and I enjoy the extra height. The vehicle feels bigger when on the inside relative to the size outside.

The V8 has enough power and then some. With recent snow, it handles wonderfully and instills driving confidence in adverse conditions.

Cargo space and cabin accessories have been enjoyable including the heated seats, steering wheel and power retractible mirrors. Gas mileage is admittedly higher than the Passat, but worth the trade off in fuel economy for the added features. Driving thus far is limited to in town driving for the most part. All in all - an excellent vehicle that is fun to drive and still true to a VW experience. I would recommend purchasing this vehicle provided it was well maintained, in good condition and with reasonable mileage.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: Execline. TDI Clean Diesel
by Tripper on 10-26-2012
Great Vehicle
Great Vehicle. Sport suspension huges the road and corners. Clean Diesel get great fuel mileage. This is an awesome vehicle to drive.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Volkswagen Touareg

Trim: V10 TDI Diesel AWD
by Amazing on 10-24-2012
Power and economy combined
Incredible power throughout the rpm range. Scary fast high
speed passes. The diesel is more quiet than gas and turns
a lot of heads. Height adjustable air suspension plus electronic
dampening adjustment allow for a wide range of choices.
The 2006 model is loaded with many features including zenon lights, 4-zone climate control, front and rear heated leather, sunroof, multi-disc cd etc.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email