Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Volkswagen Tiguan 2009-2016Change

35 reviews
4.5/5
Volkswagen Tiguan
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2016
2 reviews
2012
5 reviews
2010
8 reviews
2014
2 reviews
2011
8 reviews
2009
6 reviews
2013
4 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-24 of 24 reviews

2014 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: Highline
by buyingconstant7 on 10-24-2014
Awesome SUV with some quirks
We got the top of the line, Highline trim, with the R-Line sport package. Without it, the ride would be a lot smoother but on most bumps, it's rough. It does pay off in the twisty corners but on normal road surfaces with some bumps, it gets on your nerves after a bad day at work. The 2.0 TSI engine proves it can be reliable, good sounding, quick and efficient under the right conditions. In the city, fuel mileage is terrible. It's comparable to a V8 pickup in the city. However on the highway in warm conditions, it will surpass a smaller 4 cylinder hatchback. I do would sacrifice some power for better efficiency since I do a bit of city, but in my mixed driving I get about 8.5l/100lkm. The dealer has been very kind and helpful, not trying to con me into a special service(yet). Overall, I would buy this SUV again without the sports package(I will miss those fantastic Bi-Xenon healdlights) and through the same dealer.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: Highline Sport with Extended Warranty
by ArRowe on 05-06-2014
Best Vehicle Ever!
Superb handling in all types of weather and road conditions. Fun to drive, reliable; amazing features and options not to mention, one of the safest SUV's on the road. Best vehicle ever!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: Highline
by ShonR1 on 03-08-2014
Sporty and Solid Ride
First time we drove the Tiguan we were impressed. Very responsive with the 2.0T and handing is very tight. One of the only smaller SUVs we've sat in that has leg room in the back (feet easily slide under the front seats) and has thigh support for longer rides. Expect a little higher maintenance costs if you have it serviced at VW, but worth it for peace of mind.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Volkswagen Tiguan

by Tiguan on 10-27-2013
Love this ride!
My experience with this car has been fantastic! The majority of the KM's on it are from highway driving. It handles very well. I especially love it in the winter. Solid car with lots of room. The beauty of this sale is that I purchased 7 year extended warranty - so it is good for 84 months or 140,000km.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: Highline
by TerryFlynn on 08-05-2013
A great sporty, luxury ride.
If you want a small car feel with a luxury ride, the Tiguan should be your next purchase. This CUV has the feel of a German sports car with the durability of a 4x4 truck.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: Comfortline
by kw1971 on 05-22-2013
Best car I ever owned
Great styling. Beautiful ride. Gorgeous sunroof. Pretty good on gas. Super comfortable. Really quick.
Everything my friends said about it.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

by ali888 on 05-15-2013
Fun car :0)
love this car,roomy,drives smooth , easy maintenance :0)
primary safty
The car feels so much faster
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Volkswagen Tiguan

by Bonbon5695 on 03-27-2013
Best ride
If you are looking for a SUV that is both functional and reliable this is the one for you. It drives so smooth and makes turns very well. I highly recommend this car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

by sharkin on 02-15-2013
EXPLODING SUNROOF
We love this car....all round satisfaction till last week when the permanent part of the glass roof exploded whilst driving down the highway at 115kph..outside temp of 0.05....scattering glass all over the occupants in the back of the car..VW is now balking responsibility for coverage, and not being very nice about it either...HUGE change of attitude from when we bought the car...to now..when we need help..
.Red Deer, Alberta....
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

by sharkin on 02-15-2013
exploding sunroof
Love this car...until the sunroof exploded traveling down the road at 115 kph..outside temp..0.5 This was extremely scary....there was a loud exploding sound and down came the glass all over the occupants of the back seat...thankfully no one was cut.....we have since learned VW did a service job on the sunroof BEFORE we bought it.at 59,000 km ...it is presently at 69,000 km....which could be the cause of the exploding sunroof......now.they are balking at taking responsibility for replacing it....even though it it still under warrenty...not happy with VW ,A huge change of attitude when they are called to take responsibility as from the time when they sold us the car....
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: highline
by Payam on 02-15-2013
just perfect
4 motion and i put dvds in the head rest. 2.0 turbo is very fast and fuel efficient. the steering wheel is very smooth to turn and responsive. enough room in the back to fit a double chariot stroller. I love the speed sensitive volume control and how clear the bluetooth sounds when using the phone.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: Highline
by Hartia on 01-18-2013
Amazing handling, but spotty transmission.
We in a way impulse bought the car due to a recent accident with the old car and constraints on time but have no regrets on the purchase. For a crossover SUV, 200hp engine making it 30hp more than the rest in the same class, gives it more than enough power to drive. The interior is very nice and comfortable, and 8 way motion adjustment for the seat is an appreciated addition. Although it would be nice to have the feature for both the driver and front passenger as well.

We also added in the technology package which increase the touch screen monitor with GPS and XM, which is definitely something the envy's guests, but the performance of the system, and the UI of the GPS seems so dated that it can be frustrating at times to even bother to use.

Finally, the car feels great on the road, the sport suspensions take some time to get used to but not so bad that I would complain. One thing that makes the car so enjoyable is the handling. Steering on turns feel very calm and natural you do not have to struggle with the wheel and can be more relaxed when driving. The biggest issue is the timing of the transmission going from 1st to 2nd gear feels to be off. The gear shift point is a little longer than I'd like and it sometime that annoys me when I hear it. And another unusual note is occasionally when the car comes to a stop, the engine chokes a little and we will have to get the dealership to look over the matter.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: white
by GINDOG on 01-11-2013
A Great Grandma Car
I sold my Audi TT to buy a grandma car for my nine month old grandaughter. I love the Tiguan SUV. It drives smoothly, is great on gas, has a very serviceable interior yet has a look like the Audi..and I am thrilled with it.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Tiguan

by satchi on 12-26-2012
Great family car
We bought this car knowing that we were going to have kids soon so we wanted something safe and reliable. It's great, even in Canada's cold winter.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Volkswagen Tiguan

by texano on 12-17-2012
great one
easy to drive, fuel economy could be better than that, all family members, freinds and relatives like it
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: comfortline
by SPECTACULAR on 12-04-2012
comfort rider
this is the most comfortable ride ever! I've had numerous vehicles and this by far is the best. Definately recommend!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Tiguan

by Manda on 11-30-2012
it has a great comfortable ride needs more trunk space
I enjoy it can get in and out of about any situation. very reliable . I wish it had more trunk space as we have 2 small children and to go on a trip it fills the car. My girls like the panoramic sun roof as they can look at the stars and sun. it also has a great retractable sun shade that we can use to cut the heat off of them. It is the most comfortable vehicle that i've ever taken long rides in. and since the cold has arrived the heated seats are a blessing.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: Comfortline
by jojoro on 11-25-2012
Tiguan's Rock
This has been the best car I've ever owned. Of the 4 other SUV's that's I've had the Tiguan tops out the list. Comfortable, stylish, fuel efficient, and fun to drive.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: Highline
by Hartia on 11-14-2012
Great handling.
The highline was not the model we wanted to purchase as most of the features were not part of our needs. However this was the last model in Toronto and we were tight on time. The purchase of the car was a decision we never looked back at, the extra features proved to be a nice added touch. The performance of the car is the biggest area that I most enjoyed. The handling and steering of the car made it really easy to drive the first time, and the stability of the car makes me enjoy city driving more than highway driving!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2011 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: comfort line
by rayoes on 11-04-2012
Good car for this class
I recently received this vehicle as a company car. I work is sales and am in the car a lot. I'm not an SUV guy but I must say this car drives quite nice. The 2.0 liter turbo has great passing power yet the fuel economy is good for this size car. It is not the 4 motion so I will see how it performs in snow, FWD should be acceptable enough. For the price of a car like this it only comes with a cheap plastic steering wheel, I would have expected leather. As in most cars today, the sound system is crisp and clear. Handling is very good considering it is an SUV. The only negative I would say is that the automatic transmission shifts a little rough. Overall thought he car is comfortable enough even on a road trip.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: Comfort line
by Booo on 11-01-2012
Nice car
I recently acquired Volkswagen Tiguan and extremely satistied with it. I used to drive Honda, but now I tend to think I simply wasted my time with it. The level of comfort provided by my present vehicle is much higher than I could possibly anticipate, though I have always been aware of the quality characteristics of German cars, especially Volkswagen
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

by Stickhandle on 10-18-2012
Top end of the low end
The base model is affordable if you can find one used. It has won Top Safety Pick, and the base model has lots of great standard features. I like the design and it's a pleasure to drive. It handles well and has some pep. One downside is you have to use premium gas, which today means about a 15% premium every week or about $600 a year in cost although the gas mileage is better and you have less repairs to worry about. A very good utility vehicle.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: 2.0T
by J123456 on 10-17-2012
Absolutely love this car
Ever since I purchased this vehicle I have had nothing but amazing things to say about it. From it's fantastic fuel economy (well over 600kms/tank), to it's incredible horsepower... it's a totally reliable well-taken care of vehicle. I am going to be incredibly picky as to who purchases it from me, because I absolutely love this car, but when I finally do sell it, I will be incredibly sad to see it go. It's been such a joy driving.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Volkswagen Tiguan

Trim: Highline
by LuxuryBroker on 10-15-2012
Great SUV for All Types of Roads and Any Driver
Ive been a pround VW owner for the past 5 years, the style and driving of the german engineering is very hard to compete against. My previous 2005 VW Passat TDI however although older, was a much better built and better fuel efficient.

The Pros:
The 2010 Tiguan 4Motion features amazing Interior Design and Comfort. The full size Panoramic Moon-Roof is simply put WOW. The Tiguan is a small but stylish SUV with plenty of interior room and comfy sits 4-5 adults. Everything in the car is software controlled, from windows, to hand parking.

The Drive: if you havent driven a german car yet, than you must do so, the cars are build to last, it feels like you are driving a tank and not a car.

The Cons:
Although it averages 10.9L/100 km in the City and 9L/100 km on the Hwy (which isnt too bad for a 4x4 SUV) , it does take Premium Fuel, giving the car less than desirable overall fuel economy :( .. Pricey Syntetic Oil Changes.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email