Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Volkswagen Beetle 1957-2014Change

103 reviews
4.5/5
Volkswagen Beetle
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2014
2 reviews
2004
5 reviews
1978
2 reviews
2013
2 reviews
2003
9 reviews
1974
2 reviews
2012
2 reviews
2002
4 reviews
1973
1 review
2011
1 review
2001
5 reviews
1971
3 reviews
2010
4 reviews
2000
12 reviews
1970
2 reviews
2009
4 reviews
1999
7 reviews
1967
1 review
2008
9 reviews
1998
7 reviews
1965
1 review
2007
4 reviews
1991
1 review
1960
1 review
2006
3 reviews
1990
1 review
1957
1 review
2005
6 reviews
1985
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 67 reviews
1 23 >

2014 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: R-Line
by SMP on 07-28-2015
I love my Bug!
The evolution of the VW Beetle. 2014 R-Line is an amazing Car. My father and I own one! It is way better Car than any other( including my air-cooleds) I have ever owned. By far my favorite automobile.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: GLS
by REVIEW5489 on 10-18-2014
economical transportation
it has been a very reliable and fun car to own.i am purchasing another one as we speak..the car has been well worth the money .if you break down the cost over 14 years of ownership its been cheap to run and operate.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

by Beetle4967 on 09-01-2014
Great first car to have teen learning to drive a manual. Safe and reliable, very good in the snow.
Great first car, learned to drive a stick while completing University with this car. Very good in all weather conditions. Very good on gas. Very reliable German engineering.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: Turbo S
by whuang7038 on 08-24-2014
Iconic symbol is a blast to drive
Having owned the Turbo S version it is a sweet ride. It is not a slow poke. It shifts gears tightly and launches off the line.
I have beaten a BMW 335i off the line quite easily.
Not really good for hauling 2x4 from home depot though you could put 2 kids in the back. The power to weight ratio is excellent. However after 10 years things will require more care.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: turbo
by Rooster1339 on 07-30-2014
Nice Beetle!
I have been a VW certified tech for over 25 years and have a lot of experience with these cars - this is a really nice one based on having worked on hundreds of them over the years
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: turbo
by Rooster1339 on 07-28-2014
Nice Beetle!
I have been a VW certified tech for over 25 years and have a lot of experience with these cars - this is a really nice one based on having worked on hundreds of them over the years
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

by Beetle on 07-20-2014
Fun, safe, practical
Very easy to drive, excellent unobstructed view from any seat in this car. Great get up and go, reliable and easily seen by any other car, so very visible. Wonderful first car, or reliable second car, either way, it is a fun car to get around in.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

by BUG9999 on 07-19-2014
Little bug with huge potential
Little "bug" is very reliable, easy to operate, easy to park and great in winter!!! if you need to carry bulky items this little beauty can be your best friend. The space inside is comparable to big SUV and is way larger than regular sedan. Big doors let you see around the vehicle and blind spots easily. Lots of room for a tall person, both driver and passenger. This is a great car!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volkswagen Beetle

by Beetle2008 on 06-18-2014
Excellent Ride
This car has been nothing but excellent all the years I have had it, has never failed me. It's in great condition and is very comfortable to drive in and to be a passenger in it. I could always depend on this car whenever I needed to go anywhere.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

by Beetlemania on 03-16-2014
Fun, Economical and a Pleasurable Drive
This car is absolute delight to drive. I turn heads everywhere I go as there is no other car like it in Victoria, or wherever I go on the island. People always want to talk about my beetle, how great the colour is and too many people want to borrow it on sunny days! You rarely have to fill it with gas and shifting through the five speeds is a great driving experience.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: Blush Edition
by GreggVH on 03-12-2014
Great Summer ride and great in the snow too
Always ran great, never in an accident, comes with a set of snowies as well, Super fun with the top down and plows through snow in the winter. Purchased the extended 5 star warranty package so it has coverage up to 100,000 mms or 2019
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: yellow
by Beetle on 02-10-2014
Comfortable, 360 degree unobstructed view, very safe
Fun, cute car, reliable and very comfortable. Excellent for seeing everything around you due to the incredible styling of the Beetle.

JD Power and Accoc. rated this car the Most Appealing Compact Car of 2000.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: Premier Plus
by See_to_believe on 01-03-2014
A pleasure to drive
My red Beetle rides like a charm, especially on the highway where it feels quite stable against the crosswinds. The field of vision is excellent; no blind spots. Longer and wider than the 2011 model and earlier. Doesn't feel cramped. A rock solid Beetle. The rear fold-down seats and removable truck cover accommodate longer items. A pleasure to drive.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1974 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: standard
by Schmuckie on 07-04-2013
Love our Restored '74 Beetle
We have taken our Bug over Hill and Dale, and enjoyed this fun little car. Through desert sand, on new freeways, and through country roads, windows open as we smell the fresh air, and see the sights of Canada, The States, and Mexico.
Lots of room in the back and lots of power under the hood.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: Red
by jrzach on 07-02-2013
Driving a Beetle is a great experience. It is unique!!
My wife and I have had a great time driving this little car. It has a firm "sports car" kind of ride and handling. It has proven to be very reliable and economical. We are on the "older" time in our life and with the car being very low it is harder for us to get in and out of. We bought this car several years ago and loved it and enjoyed it ever since.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

by CarCrazyDude on 06-28-2013
Funtastic Car
This car is so nice to drive and has alot of head room so you won't feel uncomfortable like some small cars. Great for cruising with a friend or just a casual drive.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volkswagen Beetle

by KATIE3461 on 05-16-2013
10 YEARS DRIVING VW BEETLES
This is my second Beetle. These great little cars are so economical, and reliable besides the neat design. This is my second Beetle, still have my 1998 Diesel Beetle with 523,000 km on the clock! My son drives it to work every day. Sorry to part with the 2008 model but we need a family car!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1978 Volkswagen Beetle

by keetykat on 04-12-2013
Classic Lovebug
This was one of the first cars I drove. It has that distinct Volkwagen engine sound as most old models do. I have taken it to long trips and also trips to the mountains. My car lasted me 15 years until I sold it, it was still quite a good car to ride back then.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: Standard
by EMPTYPOCKETS on 04-07-2013
Empty Pockets
First introduced to Beetles in 1962 , in Germany . Great little car for getting around . Good on fuel , but that has been it . Check engine light , has been off and on continuos since 2003. Light bulbs , sensors , window mechanism , over heating, with only 170,000 km this is unreal . Lucky i am a MR fixit . To date i have spent about $4000.00 , now it is overheating , needs a water pump and timing belt , and parts are very expensive . I would have to say it is the worst car i have ever owned .
PS ! "A FOOL AND THEIR MONEY ARE SOON PARTED"
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

by I_hate_VW on 03-27-2013
Horrible!
worst car i have ever owned!
50K warranty.... transmission blew at 51K.... VW told me sorry about your luck!! had to spend $4200 to replace it~

parts and service are very expensive.

i am lucky to get 400 km to a tank of gas~

Overall
2.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
1/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Volkswagen Beetle

by a-smooth-ride on 03-26-2013
It's a good ride
It's was a good ride. Very smooth and not bumpy. Handles very will. I like the look of this car too.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Volkswagen Beetle

by Haocakes on 03-23-2013
It's a beautiful car!
It's a great, I love it, and I bought it from AutoTrade.ca, they're very reliable, it was affordable, $3350, I love this, and my father does to. I remember when I was a kid, my father would always send me to the store for an Autotrader book.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Volkswagen Beetle

Trim: Sportline 2.0T Turbo DSG TIiptronic 4cyl
by Safadi on 03-21-2013
Awesome!!!
Fun To Drive... Wider Body, Really cool! Love this car...
Herbie on Steroids.....
Check off the Turbo boxes, and now, we're talking. This is the punchy Bug, with VW's omnipresent, heavy-breathing four-cylinder flipping out 0-60 mph runs under 7.5 seconds while it doles out some not-unpleasant whining and growling. VW's dual-clutch transmission passes the winding-road test with flying colors, even if it bogs a little from a dead stop. A touch of body roll here, a quick crank of electric steering there, and the composed Beetle Turbo feels like it has much more potential than its B+ average indicates.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

by Louise439 on 03-19-2013
Great Car
My husband tried for a couple of years to get me to look at buying a VW Beetle. Until I sat in one I could never get why he thought it would be a good car for me.
I finally got in one and couldn't believe the space. I've always had SUV type vehicles. Most small cars are great for the people in the front seat, VW has made it easy to get in and out of the rear with out much of a struggle. I think it would be great for someone that has a small children in car seats because of the assess.
With the VW having the hatchback and fold down seat I can move just about anything I want. We have a place up north, I'm always taking something up...furniture, lumber, luggage, you name it I move it :)
The car has been very reliable, I have had no problems other than the usual suspects, brakes, oil changes, tune-ups...mine has 250, km on it and is still going strong.
I would highly recommend a VW Beetle. There a great safe vehicle.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 Volkswagen Beetle

by jdalg on 03-19-2013
Terrific yet not reliable
i have had many problems with my car.. expensive to fix, not overly great on gas, mine is automatic.. doesnt change gears very well. cute colour though.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 23 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email