Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Toyota Yaris 1990-2017Change

145 reviews
4.5/5
Toyota Yaris
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2017
1 review
2011
5 reviews
2006
10 reviews
2016
3 reviews
2010
11 reviews
2005
1 review
2014
2 reviews
2009
28 reviews
2004
1 review
2013
4 reviews
2008
35 reviews
1990
1 review
2012
5 reviews
2007
38 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 127 reviews
1 2345 >

2008 Toyota Yaris

by Arthure217 on 12-17-2014
It's was great ridding this car!
Hello,

This car is great for fuel economy, has low Km and is good for ridding in town or travelling.
Since bought from Toyota Canada I never had problem with it. All the maintenance is done regularly, and the car is ready to do.
The remote start system is great during winter to heat the car before you get in, it is also equipped with air conditioning and heat, plus a securuty alarm system.

I had a very good experience ridding this car!

Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Toyota Yaris

Trim: RE
by MEL8637 on 12-04-2014
Great little car
I've had this car for 5 years. It's been very reliable and so great on gas. I often can't remember when I last filled it up. Very zippy and responsive ride (I had a manual). It did great for its size through the pelting rain and slushy snow we have on the coast. It has been such a hassle-less vehicle. I had to redo the brakes and that's it! Compared to my Jeep vehicle before the Yaris, it's amazing. The fold down seats in the back allowed me to fit a lot more than I expected into the vehicle. I would highly recommend this vehicle.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Toyota Yaris

by Ephraim on 11-16-2014
Reliable car
It is the best car I ever owned, it is incomparable.
I just have to move up north, and I need a truck for the work.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Toyota Yaris

by KingAman on 11-06-2014
Best Little Car from 2008
I like my Cars and this one is really one of the best little cars you can get hands down its quick its nimble great on the high way and doesn't eat up your hard earned money although the interior is only ok its still comfortable. We also had a very rough winter last year as this car was able to make it without needed to be pulled out of the snow yet big trucks all around us where getting stuck it shows you how good the drivetrain is. so i do like it but i also think it could look better it looks like a little turtle.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Toyota Yaris

by YARIS2009 on 10-31-2014
toyota !
I love this car !
I find it have a sexy little body shape.
It's practical, turn on a 10 cents, the best space I ever saw in a small car with many spaces to put stuff away.
This Yaris is the best experience I had with a car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2014 Toyota Yaris

by Carwithatitude on 10-21-2014
the car with atitude
This model of the Toyota is genuinely a great little car-The performance even in very windy & wet conditions has proved to be stable on the road. The hatch back is very convenient to transport large sized pets or luggage when the seats are folded down.
A small car that has all the comfort of a sedan, and great per litre mileage-a family of 5 can have a very comfortable long distance or city ride
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Toyota Yaris

by Petey49 on 10-20-2014
2007 Yaris
This is a really good car with low maintenance. Excellant gas milage and i used for a daily runner up and down the malahat
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Toyota Yaris

Trim: LE
by JohnA7 on 09-30-2014
cute, fun-to-drive, economical
Your writer's owned three Yarises since 2006. The 2010 has been by far the sharpest-handling and safest of the three. Together with standard equipment safety features, I equipped my '10 with TRD suspension and really good tires.

Couple inherent chassis firmness with the foregoing and you have a grippy, fun, safe road car; all four seasons. And did I mention? The car is cute, especially in Absolutely Red; gets excellent mileage, and has shown Maytag repairman reliability throughout 7 years Yaris ownership?
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Toyota Yaris

by Economical8085 on 09-02-2014
excellent mileage/commuter car
driven to and from work (500km/week). Excellent mileage, reliability, good in winter conditions. Economical
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Toyota Yaris

by Mike213 on 08-13-2014
Car is OK
Car is OK, just the weather is bad.
Bought it in summer then regret in winter. Personally doesn't feel safe driving in bad weather. Rain storm, snow, ice, high way, even surface water, you name it, can cause greater impact to driving condition. Save some in gas but may spend more in repair. A little overpriced, comparing with similar models. Very delicate car so try to avoid it if it has rental or damage history.
Service is good. Feel respect and convenience as a customer, then come with cost. Will give 4 stars if there is an option to rate the customer service.
Overall
2.0
Comfort
1/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
1/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Toyota Yaris

by JamesVoideka on 08-12-2014
This is not a good choice in winter
The car is too small that it is quite unsafe to drive it in winter time. The tire is very easy to get stuck in the snow. Using winter tire help a little but still not safer than a Corola or Civic. Bought this car because I don't use highway, but apparently it will become worse when in the winter. My street is always covered more snow and ice than highway, and so it is worse. I will switch to a larger car (Matrix maybe) sooner or later before winter comes.
Overall
2.0
Comfort
2/5
Performance
1/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 3 found this review helpful.

2013 Toyota Yaris

by Jason_M on 08-11-2014
a so so car for its price
it is a car for people who doesn't want to spend too much on monthly fuel, nothing more.
But if you do want to save money on fuel but don't have too much to buy this car, Nissan Micra is a good choice. Additionally Ford Fiesta has more horse power and with lower MSRP too. Kia Rio has better interior design and features, with same price.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2010 Toyota Yaris

by DanilA on 08-10-2014
avoid this car if you need performance and space
Gas consumption is OK. You can get almost same gas consumption on plenty other models but less expensive: Kia Rio, Ford Fiesta, Nissan Micra, Honda Fit, Echo. The gas is the only selling point on this car as per my experience.
Other than gas, I can't give more point. Space is small, comparing with other same class model. I am an average height guy with 172cm. When my kid sit at the back, I feel like being squeezed in.
The bad design of gauge meter. They are in the middle of the dash board. When you are driving, it does will draw your attention from front to the right, in order to get the gauge reading.
Lack of horse power, comparing with other same class model. If you need to merge to high way, this may cause some risk if you can't accelerate fast enough. Especially when you have other passengers in your car. I have to push the gas very hard to get to the safe speed and merge to high way lane. A couple of times, I was almost got stuck when trying to get on Highway Gardiner Express, because it has a uphill road to merge to high. And that is why you don't see this car a lot on high way.
cannot disagree that the engine reliability, transmission, steering are OK . But there are quite a few accessory problems. May be just my bad luck: EP warning light came on for no reason, they can't find what is wrong! Cooling system is not very efficient as I can feel the engine heating is very high when running idle. Not enough air bag or some other safety reason, no wonder my car insurance higher than my Rio or Fiesta. Seat belt worn out way to fast. It is a 2010 car, so I can't expect too much. AC controller layout is kind of inconvenience. Obviously they have noticed this and the layout is re-designed in the next year model.
In conclusion, if you just want to save gas, save parking space, this car is quiet a competitor to Rio, Micra, Fiesta or Fit. But for if you concern more about safety, or if you are not single, or if you need to access high way daily, avoid this car
Overall
2.0
Comfort
2/5
Performance
1/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
1/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 3 found this review helpful.

2009 Toyota Yaris

Trim: Base
by PGF on 07-30-2014
2009 Yaris Sedan base model
One of the best most reliable cars we have ever owner. The fuel efficiency is incredible for the vehicle, and you have the added toyota reliability. These cars go forever!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Toyota Yaris

Trim: Base
by PGF on 07-30-2014
2009 Yaris Sedan base model
One of the best most reliable cars we have ever owner. The fuel efficiency is incredible for the vehicle, and you have the added toyota reliability. These cars go forever!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Toyota Yaris

by Yaris5453 on 06-12-2014
From A to B on less fuel than your lawnmower
Super reliable even in our insane cold winters! Never had a problem starting it once. The most fuel efficient vehicle and easy to park!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Toyota Yaris

Trim: CE
by YariWorld on 06-01-2014
fun to drive at little cost
fun to drive awesome on gas ...cheap to maintain nothing like Toyota quality good for many long yrs of driving .
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Toyota Yaris

by MuskokaRed on 05-25-2014
AWESOME FAMILY CAR!!!
We've done 2 major (30 hour) road trips with 2 adults and 2 preteens in our 5 years of owning our Yaris. LOADS of trunk space for suitcase+ and EXCEPTIONALLY comfortable seats for long trips. NEVER had a problem with it.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2007 Toyota Yaris

Trim: RS
by JimmyD on 05-22-2014
Fun inner city car.
No issues with the vehicle typical Toyota quality.

Handles like a go-cart making inner city driving easy.

Peppy engine provides more than enough power.

Great economy for long drives.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2010 Toyota Yaris

Trim: standard
by APryor on 04-03-2014
terrific economy car
Great all around car. Very easy to drive and park. Cheap on gas which Is great. Lots of room inside and has handy child proof back doors and windows.
services and replacement parts are also very affordable.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2008 Toyota Yaris

by mollie on 03-01-2014
My Baby!
I love this car! Has everything I want but not excessive. Amazing fuel economy, sexy, incredible reliability!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Toyota Yaris

by Zulfiqar on 02-16-2014
very economical
This small beautiful car is very economical, reliable and very useful in city. it came with A/c, electric windows and door locks. It has remote starter, which is very handy in winter and very convenient in summer also. Overall it is very useful car for a small budget.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2007 Toyota Yaris

by Eldonwhalen on 12-13-2013
So good on gas and costs next to nothing to maintain! Best car I've ever owner, by far.
So good on gas and costs next to nothing to maintain! Best car I've ever owner, by far. 7 years old and pretty well problem free. Only part it ever needed was a water pump for about $100. Highly recommend this car to anyone.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Toyota Yaris

Trim: LE
by Andrew_deLange on 12-05-2013
Great little car for getting around
We bought our 2008 Toyota Yaris hatchback from Toyota dealership. We choose it over the Nissan Versa because the breaking system was superior, and there was a $1000 Government rebate at the time for it as it is a low emission vehicle. We have driven it up to Orillia Ontario many times, and tested it's breaking in some very bad winter conditions. Not only does it stop on a dime, it is also able to make a turn while the breaks are on. Compared to my sister's Honda Pilot, the Yaris drove better in the winter.

We have had no issues with this vehicle, and because we bought at a Toyota dealership, we get oil changes free for as long as we own the car and take it to the dealership for service. When we bought the Yaris, we did not have any children, but now that we have two children, we have found the Yaris to be good in that car seats install easily, and the doors are large enough that you can easily pick your children up and out of the car, or put them in. The trunk is large enough for my hockey equipment, and with all the seats folded down, and the front seats as far forward as they could go, we fit our entertainment centre from IKEA into it. Unbelievable! This car is also amazing in the city as you can park it in tiny spaces, and as was said before, you can stop on a dime.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2007 Toyota Yaris

by dahayden21 on 11-28-2013
Very reliable and economical
The Toyota Yaris is a very reliable car. We have had no issues with it, no mechanical problems. This car is one of the most economical cars on the planet! The gas mileage is outstanding and the price of the vehicle is very reasonable. Toyota has a reputation for its cars holding their value and for being historically reliable. We have found both of these things to be true! I highly recommend this vehicle.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email