Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Toyota Matrix 1999-2013Change

198 reviews
4.5/5
Toyota Matrix
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2013
7 reviews
2009
32 reviews
2005
30 reviews
2012
5 reviews
2008
12 reviews
2004
11 reviews
2011
12 reviews
2007
28 reviews
2003
12 reviews
2010
31 reviews
2006
17 reviews
1999
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 171 reviews
1 2345 >

2010 Toyota Matrix

by Katerina5555 on 07-01-2015
Favourite Car
I bought my Matrix used (2yrs old) with 65 000kms on it. It is the All Wheel Drive model which has been amazing for our harsh Ontario winters, and also has the Touring package which includes the 17" Alloy Wheels, Foglights, Sunroof, Rear Spoiler and in addition also came with the Roof Rack and the Navigation System.
I have been incredibly happy with this car - the cargo space is awesome, it is practically designed in every way. All I have had to replace was the front and rear brakes this spring which for a 5 year old car is no surprise.
The suspension is a bit harder as this is a sport model and there is a bit of wind/road noise at higher speeds but that is easily remedied with some music...overall a great and extremely practical car with good fuel economy.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2006 Toyota Matrix

Trim: XR
by matrix1438 on 12-10-2014
great car for winter
Overall its a very good vehicle, just the engine could be a bit more powerful but the fuel economy covers the lack of power. I like the features of the car regarding the space composition and the ability of folding the chairs in different positions.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Toyota Matrix

by Sparkie8813 on 12-08-2014
Problem free
I have had only 1 problem with this great little car and that was the battery going in the first year and the dealer replaced it, no charge. It is a most reliable vehicle but it never even came close to the 45 mpg the advertising said it could do and I am a careful safe and normal driver. Overall a very good vehicle that should last for many more years.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Toyota Matrix

Trim: xrs
by XRS on 11-20-2014
Great every day car with a little bit of extra!
Very versatile vehicle, great in thewinter and even more fun in the summer. Plenty of room inside, great visibility and handling and very reliable performance all around.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Toyota Matrix

by Hogie on 10-22-2014
Very economical
For a small car, you can fit a huge amount of stuff into this car (camping, moving, traveling etc). Gets consistently good mileage (still got 34 mpg with two boats on the roof) no mater the load. Great active lifestyle car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Toyota Matrix

Trim: XR
by ECAPPER on 09-29-2014
What a great car.
A terrific car to drive whether in the city or on the highway. Comfortable, affordable and practical. The hatchback allows for easy storage and transport of a wide variety of items.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Toyota Matrix

by Pete5389 on 07-25-2014
Great little car, very reliable and excellent on gas.
I have enjoyed this car very much, no problems ,smooth ride and cheap on gas. Great car for a young person starting out or for a family second car. I love it and just hate to sell.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Toyota Matrix

Trim: XR
by Comfort-safety on 07-24-2014
Comfort-safety
It's not a huge car but I found it to be very safe for my child and very economical with gas. Very reliable especially in the winter due to the All Wheel Drive. The insurance of this car was lower than other cars in the market as I did my research. Better than Mazda, Chevy, Honda, ford and many others.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Matrix

by Pete5389 on 07-23-2014
Just a great little reliable car,economical and comfortable to drive.
Nice problem free car, I have enjoyed owning it and I have taken meticulous care of this car since the day I bought it.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Toyota Matrix

Trim: XR
by PeggyK on 07-16-2014
Awesome car
This car is very economical. It is great for cargo space. Lots of leg room for all passengers. Easy to park. Very pleased that we put all the extras on the car. The command start is the best option we put on along with the protection. The car always looks like it is brand new. Love it.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Toyota Matrix

Trim: XR
by John9510 on 06-14-2014
Great spacious & nervous "little" car & low fuel consumption
The 2007 Toyota Matrix XR has been so reliable I have never had such piece of mind driving than with this car. Powerful when it needs to be it's 17" wheels hug the road. Roomy interior it is great for zipping around town or heading out for extended road trips
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Matrix

Trim: XR
by fletchlives on 05-27-2014
Great 'little' car with tons of storage space
The 2005 Toyota Matrix XR has been so reliable I have never had such piece of mind driving than with this car. Powerful when it needs to be it's 17" wheels hug the road. Roomy interior it is great for zipping around town or heading out for extended road trips
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Toyota Matrix

Trim: Black
by Reliability2007 on 05-24-2014
Very Reliable and long life
Sporty and and very roomy. Hatch is great addition for bringing bikes and other larger items along on your travel.
We recently bought a 2014 Matrix because we enjoy this vehicle make.
If you review consumer reports you will see this is one of the best dependable vehicles on the road.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Toyota Matrix

by Truthbetold on 05-22-2014
Highly reliable and fuel economic
Summer or winter, all I have needed to do is start and go. This car has been extremely reliable and very fuel economic. It has also been beautifully compact yet roomy enough to cargo huge furniture when necessary.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Toyota Matrix

by Justforfun on 05-17-2014
The most reliable car so far
I have the car for more than 2 years and driving every day more than 100km mostly highway. Impressive reliability record-not even a single little problem from 100000 to 150000km.Decent roomy interior with basic audio. The engine is small and underpowered for highway driving. High road noise even with the best Michelin tires. Very good car for short city driving.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Toyota Matrix

Trim: XR
by Landon on 05-01-2014
Good gas mileage, quiet and comfortable
Nice little car, suits the needs of a young family. All we ever had to do to it was regular oil change and switch the tires from winter to summer.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2004 Toyota Matrix

Trim: Standard
by jozhighonlife on 05-01-2014
Reliable Car
I couldn't of asked for a better first car! Great on gas, spacious, and easy maintenance. Highly recommend.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Toyota Matrix

by matrix5406 on 03-31-2014
Great capacity
I love the fold down flat back seat and storage capacity features that do not disappoint with a low hump in centre back.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Toyota Matrix

Trim: XR AWD
by eliu36 on 02-26-2014
Good looking, reliable, but a bit loud @ > 100km/h
I bought a used 2010 AWD Matrix for our winter roads for $16000 with only 50,000km's on it. Great deal, it drives great in an around the city, and occassionally jumping on the highway to get her and there. But on a long distance highway trip, it would be so comfortable, and it would be because of the noise. Maybe it's the tires (mine had the 17" 215/50 all seasons that came with it), but it's roars with wind and road noise. Fuel economy isn't the best. I think I get like 8.5 L/100km on the highway, not reasonable for a car this size and performance. I almost wouldn't recommend it because you can get a bigger car for the same amount (i.e. a Ford Escape) with about the same fuel econ. Not the happiest, but it'll do for now. I'm banking on the reliability, because that's what's Toyota is know for!
Overall
3.5
Comfort
2/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Toyota Matrix

Trim: Touring Edition
by Pmath11 on 02-16-2014
Versatile and Economic
I really love this car. It has been a great purchase and has given me no problems at all.
On the last oil change, I took it into the shop and the guy said the oil looked brand new like it didn't need to be changed, and this was after 5,000km in the winter! He told me to hang onto this 'engine' as it's going to last a long time.
I wish I could, but this car is a little too small for my needs these days and I need a 4x4 SUV, with more room for gear.

Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Toyota Matrix

Trim: XR
by adistillio on 02-03-2014
Excellent ride
Great pickup speed, reliable, super comfy. Seat height can be adjusted manually. Automatic headlights so you never forget to turn them on/off.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Toyota Matrix

by Marysh on 12-06-2013
Gorgeous Matrix In perfect condition
Love to ride with it, Economy Car with Gorgeous look and very low in gas used. Very comfortable. Very safe with Airbags in side and front . Drive and Enjoy !!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2007 Toyota Matrix

Trim: 2007 Toyota Matrix XR
by Zembo on 11-19-2013
Awesome vehicle for someone who needs just a bit more cargo space
Such a big fan of Toyota Matrix, we own two! Great service history, completely reliable, drives really well, great on gas, and lots of cargo space.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Toyota Matrix

by newtothis91 on 11-01-2013
Great value in this vehicle
We've taken this vehicle on many trips to the east coast and have never had issues. It's a great drive with lots of storage and fuel efficient.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2010 Toyota Matrix

by newtothis91 on 10-26-2013
Great value for a great car!
This is the 2nd Matrix that we own. Are downsizing "the fleet" to one vehicle. Very comfortable to drive and I love the convenience of the hatchback.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email