Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Toyota Echo 1978-2016Change

126 reviews
4.5/5
Toyota Echo
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2016
1 review
2006
2 reviews
2001
17 reviews
2015
1 review
2005
34 reviews
2000
13 reviews
2013
1 review
2004
23 reviews
1996
1 review
2010
1 review
2003
11 reviews
1995
1 review
2009
1 review
2002
18 reviews
1978
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 126 reviews
1 2345 >

2000 Toyota Echo

by Malus on 12-05-2017
it's a good ride
ithis car is amazing , it have a good fuel economy , the comfort is excellent , the price for the part are really cheap.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Toyota Echo

by UnknownCaUser98 on 11-24-2017
Still going strong
I have had this car for many year, With over 400K on it currently, Still going strong not much breaks on them. and if it does break its easy to fix. Great little car that you cant kill.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Toyota Echo

Trim: Rem
by hanna5210 on 11-09-2017
Little family car
Excellent feel and style. This was my mom's car I would drive occasionally during high school and it ran like a dream. Great car to learn how to drive and it seemed to be good on fuel efficiency compared to my brother's clunky Honda Civic. Not too small and compact that it looks out of place, or that it didn't have enough space; it was the perfect size. Roomy trunk space for hiding the bodies, I mean putting the groceries. The car has comfortable seating, both for driver and passengers, and handles well. Overall, there is nothing I would say against the 2003 Toyota Echo. It was my favorite to drive.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

by Echothis on 10-12-2017
Terrific Gas Mileage
Love this car , fuel economy is great. Love to get in this car and go, Fold down seats are great for extra room fro road trips, peppy little motor .Great commuter car, easy to maintain. Highly recommend this car.Way to go Toyota you have a fan
Overall
4.0
Comfort
2/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2015 Toyota Echo

by good8855 on 10-12-2017
GOOD CAR
Love the car!! Not because of price,but for exellent mpg,confort,use of space and fun to drive.Someone told me it looked like a spaceship!I said cool! Tired of the same old styles,i like it,kinda grows on you.Rides nice and quiet and has more than enough power for country and city driving.Toyota did a great job useing what interior space could be provided with its small size.Seems to have as much space or more than some bigger cars ive owned.Great view in the drivers seat! sits higher than most small cars.Dont be afriaid to try something different!! you may really like it,like i did.PS this is the first non american car i ever owned. Great Car.

Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2016 Toyota Echo

by good8855 on 10-12-2017
GOOD CAR
Love the car!! Not because of price,but for exellent mpg,confort,use of space and fun to drive.Someone told me it looked like a spaceship!I said cool! Tired of the same old styles,i like it,kinda grows on you.Rides nice and quiet and has more than enough power for country and city driving.Toyota did a great job useing what interior space could be provided with its small size.Seems to have as much space or more than some bigger cars ive owned.Great view in the drivers seat! sits higher than most small cars.Dont be afriaid to try something different!! you may really like it,like i did.PS this is the first non american car i ever owned. Great Car.

Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

by Monkeybeak15 on 07-26-2017
So fun to drive and easy to park!
We bought a 2005 Echo with 90,000 kms on it. It's a bit bumped and bruised, but it's the perfect car for commuting and our son to learn to drive on. He is 6'4" and couldn't fit into many of the other small cars comfortably. This one has head room to spare. It is a basic car with good visibility, it goes well on the highway and is fun to drive. Ours is a basic model with few amenities. The fuel economy is fantastic! For the last few years I have been driving a Dodge Grand Caravan so I've had fun nipping around in this little car. We are super happy with our purchase, we got such a good deal on this little gem!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

by JANatrader on 06-20-2017
Saves on gas, good for parking.
It's a small sized car so it's definitely easier to fit into smaller spots. If I remember correctly I don't think I even needed a battery change until 10 years later. Getting the 5 door version (including the trunk) is probably better than the 3 door version. That is for ease of passengers getting in and out of the backseats.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Toyota Echo

by Kaylie on 06-17-2017
Reliable Vehicle
I have owned my Toyota Echo for over 10 years and have never had a single issue with it. It runs great in the city and on the highway. It is very fuel efficient - even more so than my Dad's new hybrid vehicle! The style is a bit outdated but overall the car is very reliable for those who want a good vehicle to go from A to B.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Toyota Echo

Trim: Hatchback
by Alice8041 on 05-27-2017
Economic and Dependable
HAd this car for many years and it's only just now being surpassed on fuel economy by Hybrids. It's also roomy on the inside I'm 6'1" and no issues. Hatch is convenient

Also the maintenance costs have been much lower than all my other cars, very dependable

One of the best sub-compacts around
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Toyota Echo

Trim: CE
by Robert4Toyota on 10-19-2016
Reliable and Economical Car
I've had this vehicle for five years and had no problems. It is my 5th Toyota vehicle. The Echo is known for it's high reviews and reliability. They have been known to turn past 500,000 km. This vehicle is very well-maintained and has all it's Service Records. I've been very happy with this vehicle and added deflectors, tint, etc. I'm only selling it because I bought a new Toyota.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Toyota Echo

by Joel888 on 07-12-2016
Very practical car
Got automatic-version 2nd hand last year for cheap because it had a side dent which I straightened out using a toilet plunger. Had 211k. Previous owners never cleaned it. And I don't know how they maintained it. But I cleaned everything (incl engine) and replaced anything that I could with my limited mechanical skills. Regularly replaced with high-mileage 5w-30 engine oil. Very reliable. Good on fuel consumption but I don't get the 600-700 kms per tank that others claim they get. I would probably get about 450-500 per tank. I am very happy with it.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2004 Toyota Echo

Trim: Hatchback
by Rob1058 on 05-02-2016
Toyota Echo - The Everready bunny of small cars
This car is very reliable and handles well in city driving. Excellent gas mileage. Comfortable on the hwy but noisy. Surprisingly big inside. Can handle carrying lumber that larger cars cannot. Folding back seats provide considerable extra room. Taller people can actually sit comfortably. Centre console not a problem and you adjust very quickly to it. Air conditioning and heating works quickly and efficiently. For those looking for a small commuter car or something to carry groceries around town in, this is a great, economical vehicle. As toyota mechanic says, its just keeps on going.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Toyota Echo

by Darin6959 on 12-29-2015
great on fuel and reliable
Great little car, high 660 to 700 km per 38 liter tank. Very reliable always kept it well maintained. Comfortable seating positions for long trips. Trunk is larger then you might expect.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

Trim: sedan
by travis6854 on 09-29-2015
Great Car!
I received this car at 190000km. I have drove roughly 15000km in 1 year. fixed both front bearings. Other than that it had been great. Truly a reliable car if taken car of. No arm rest drives me insane. first world problems :0 100% suggest for and economical car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Toyota Echo

by 02Echo on 09-18-2015
nice basic car
very reliable for sure, bought used at 60k, put another 90k and never had a mechanic problem. the acceleration is actually good even the engine only 1.5L.
Cheap interior materials, funny dashboard layout, a lots of storage - more than my new corolla!

And it starts at -30 degree below without plug in...

I will recommend Echo.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Toyota Echo

by Toyotaecho2002 on 08-23-2015
It is a very good car for commute
This car is a gas savor and performed very good on the rode. I use it to commute on high way almost every day. If you would like to go places while saving buckets of gases, this car is an ideal choice. With comparatively low mileage, believe it will benefit you for your mid or long term plan on your house hold expanse.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2001 Toyota Echo

by Greatcar1132 on 08-14-2015
Great runabout vehicle
Bought with approx 140k and am overall happy with the vehicle. We did brakes and tie rod replacement since owning it but nothing major. I think it will serve us well for years to come.

I recommend it.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Toyota Echo

by Maury on 06-19-2015
Perhaps we got the lemon?
My wife's Echo has not been the greatest car. I give it lots of leeway because it's a low-end model and I don't really expect too much. So it's a bit noisy, but certainly not too noisy. It's a bit light handling, but not too light. Etc.

The problem for us is that the car has been unreliable. Over the last five years we've had to replace a transmission, two driver's side side mirrors, a muffler ($500!), and front wheel bearings. This is after only 250,000 km, less than the national average of 25k per year. More minor issues are the truck no longer opens, the seat belts won't self-retract, and general bits and pieces getting old.

And then there's the rust. The entire frame of the car is rotted out. No, it was not undercoated, and that's a lesson learned the hard way. But I didn't undercoat any of my other cars either, and haven't had these sorts of problems since the 80's. At 250k it's already beyond salvaging, and as soon as the next thing goes it's off to the wrecker... I wish I knew this BEFORE putting on the new muffler!

For comparison, my 2006 Civic Hybid is mostly working. It has only a few less kms on it, but everything still works fine and it has had exactly zero maintenance issues - I'm even on the original break pads!

I wouldn't say the Echo is a bad car, especially for the price, but I don't think I would recommend buying one.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Toyota Echo

Trim: Manual
by ElginSkipper on 06-02-2015
You get what you pay for
After putting over 200K on this car I'd have to say that I am very pleased with it. At over 6' tall I can still go for long trips in comfort. The only things I've had to repair/replace are the brakes, tires, battery, front exhaust seal, front wheel bearings and the fuel filler tube.
It now has over 300K on it and I wouldn't hesitate to take it on a long trip, IE either coast. Excellent for a 'cheap' ride. The fuel savings alone made all the car payments.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Toyota Echo

by Mohamed3136 on 11-17-2014
Very Economic with the Fuel, in Very Good State.
I used for approximately 5 months without any problems,and it is Very Economic with the Fuel, in Very Good State.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

Trim: LE Hatchback
by MKetivs on 08-15-2014
Never lets you down
Toyota has always been known for reliability, and the Echo really does carry on the history. If something breaks (as in, it didn't just wear out but actually broke) it was PROBABLY the driver's fault.
Interior comfort is also really good. It's not a Lexus, so you don't get much in the way of luxury features, but the seats are nice and supportive, everything is in a good place, the buttons have been thought out, and nothing ever 'gets in the way' as you reach for this or that.
The engine, while producing only a bit above 100hp, is more than enough for the light weight of the car. The automatic transmission shifts at lower RPM levels to conserve fuel, but will let you push the revolutions up to red-line if you really mash the pedal. Sadly, final gearing will have you doing 3,000RPM on any major highways, which is far from the near-idle that would be preferred for long trips.
In the hatchback, you have a huge amount of cargo capacity once you flop the seats down, and since its wheelbase is so short, you can manuver it around the city with ease. Parking is a dream as well.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
6 out of 6 found this review helpful.

2005 Toyota Echo

by Rosalind on 08-11-2014
Excellent condition
Clean and well cared for. It's a 1.5L I4 engine and found out that the fuel economy is 33/39 mpg. Also it has a multi-point fuel injection system. Trunk is a good size with a 60/40 rear bench split. I was surprised by the good leg room for both front and rear seating. The only thing about the Echo is that it is low economy car that has a little rough ride to it. Otherwise it is a durable and very low deprecation value.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2002 Toyota Echo

Trim: Sedan
by RicharddaGreat on 08-02-2014
Great Car
I got it used when it was about 110,000 km. It is now over 240,000 Km and still going strong. It needs oil changes every 8,000 Km but I change the oil every 6000 to 7000 Km. Not any repairs except replaced on a rotter for less than $150 CND, 2 pairs of 14" tires for about the same price, brake for less than $120.
Super easy to park ... I always pity the SUVs trying to enter narrow parking spots, not a problem for me!!

Easy to get in and out, my 87 years old mother loves the door swing open wide and high back seat with leg room to spare (of course, i put the passenger side forward a lot but still makes most my front side passenger happy with her at the back).
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Toyota Echo

by srn on 08-01-2014
Great commuter car, and great on gas!
I have to commute about 30-45 minutes to work every day and this car has been very reliable. It is also great on gas. I drive a lot and only need to fill it up once a week and it costs about $50 to fill up from empty.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email