Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Toyota Echo 1978-2016Change

126 reviews
4.5/5
Toyota Echo
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2016
1 review
2006
2 reviews
2001
17 reviews
2015
1 review
2005
34 reviews
2000
13 reviews
2013
1 review
2004
23 reviews
1996
1 review
2010
1 review
2003
11 reviews
1995
1 review
2009
1 review
2002
18 reviews
1978
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 109 reviews
1 2345 >

2001 Toyota Echo

by Greatcar1132 on 08-14-2015
Great runabout vehicle
Bought with approx 140k and am overall happy with the vehicle. We did brakes and tie rod replacement since owning it but nothing major. I think it will serve us well for years to come.

I recommend it.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Toyota Echo

by Maury on 06-19-2015
Perhaps we got the lemon?
My wife's Echo has not been the greatest car. I give it lots of leeway because it's a low-end model and I don't really expect too much. So it's a bit noisy, but certainly not too noisy. It's a bit light handling, but not too light. Etc.

The problem for us is that the car has been unreliable. Over the last five years we've had to replace a transmission, two driver's side side mirrors, a muffler ($500!), and front wheel bearings. This is after only 250,000 km, less than the national average of 25k per year. More minor issues are the truck no longer opens, the seat belts won't self-retract, and general bits and pieces getting old.

And then there's the rust. The entire frame of the car is rotted out. No, it was not undercoated, and that's a lesson learned the hard way. But I didn't undercoat any of my other cars either, and haven't had these sorts of problems since the 80's. At 250k it's already beyond salvaging, and as soon as the next thing goes it's off to the wrecker... I wish I knew this BEFORE putting on the new muffler!

For comparison, my 2006 Civic Hybid is mostly working. It has only a few less kms on it, but everything still works fine and it has had exactly zero maintenance issues - I'm even on the original break pads!

I wouldn't say the Echo is a bad car, especially for the price, but I don't think I would recommend buying one.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Toyota Echo

Trim: Manual
by ElginSkipper on 06-02-2015
You get what you pay for
After putting over 200K on this car I'd have to say that I am very pleased with it. At over 6' tall I can still go for long trips in comfort. The only things I've had to repair/replace are the brakes, tires, battery, front exhaust seal, front wheel bearings and the fuel filler tube.
It now has over 300K on it and I wouldn't hesitate to take it on a long trip, IE either coast. Excellent for a 'cheap' ride. The fuel savings alone made all the car payments.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Toyota Echo

by Mohamed3136 on 11-17-2014
Very Economic with the Fuel, in Very Good State.
I used for approximately 5 months without any problems,and it is Very Economic with the Fuel, in Very Good State.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

Trim: LE Hatchback
by MKetivs on 08-15-2014
Never lets you down
Toyota has always been known for reliability, and the Echo really does carry on the history. If something breaks (as in, it didn't just wear out but actually broke) it was PROBABLY the driver's fault.
Interior comfort is also really good. It's not a Lexus, so you don't get much in the way of luxury features, but the seats are nice and supportive, everything is in a good place, the buttons have been thought out, and nothing ever 'gets in the way' as you reach for this or that.
The engine, while producing only a bit above 100hp, is more than enough for the light weight of the car. The automatic transmission shifts at lower RPM levels to conserve fuel, but will let you push the revolutions up to red-line if you really mash the pedal. Sadly, final gearing will have you doing 3,000RPM on any major highways, which is far from the near-idle that would be preferred for long trips.
In the hatchback, you have a huge amount of cargo capacity once you flop the seats down, and since its wheelbase is so short, you can manuver it around the city with ease. Parking is a dream as well.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2005 Toyota Echo

by Rosalind on 08-11-2014
Excellent condition
Clean and well cared for. It's a 1.5L I4 engine and found out that the fuel economy is 33/39 mpg. Also it has a multi-point fuel injection system. Trunk is a good size with a 60/40 rear bench split. I was surprised by the good leg room for both front and rear seating. The only thing about the Echo is that it is low economy car that has a little rough ride to it. Otherwise it is a durable and very low deprecation value.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Toyota Echo

Trim: Sedan
by RicharddaGreat on 08-02-2014
Great Car
I got it used when it was about 110,000 km. It is now over 240,000 Km and still going strong. It needs oil changes every 8,000 Km but I change the oil every 6000 to 7000 Km. Not any repairs except replaced on a rotter for less than $150 CND, 2 pairs of 14" tires for about the same price, brake for less than $120.
Super easy to park ... I always pity the SUVs trying to enter narrow parking spots, not a problem for me!!

Easy to get in and out, my 87 years old mother loves the door swing open wide and high back seat with leg room to spare (of course, i put the passenger side forward a lot but still makes most my front side passenger happy with her at the back).
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Toyota Echo

by srn on 08-01-2014
Great commuter car, and great on gas!
I have to commute about 30-45 minutes to work every day and this car has been very reliable. It is also great on gas. I drive a lot and only need to fill it up once a week and it costs about $50 to fill up from empty.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2004 Toyota Echo

Trim: Sedan
by jimkruse27 on 06-01-2014
Great on fuel and reliability.
A comfortable 4 door sedan which drives great and comfortably carries 4 adults.One of Toyota's most reliable vehicles.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

by Marcin on 05-18-2014
Best car for Montreal
Very reliable and functional, even for the entire family. Foldable back chairs provide extra space whenever needed, economical in gas consumption. Easy parking, fits into small spaces. Amazing for the city.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

Trim: RS
by 20056885 on 05-17-2014
Cute car, fun to drive. 2 + 2 for fun, perfomance and economy as well.
Car never broke down. Very low cost of maintenance. Quality of car - superior.

Nothing gets me more excited than a comparison involving another - apple to apple - test drive. The cars are Fiat 500, Mini Morris, Ford Fiesta, Honda Fit. The Echo RS is a winner.

Unfortunately Toyota change in 2006 Echo for Yaris and get the end with fun to drive in compact car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Toyota Echo

by diholl on 05-12-2014
Most convenient car I've ever owned!
Easy drive, basic vehicle. Extreme reliability. Every convenience one could ask for. Colour makes it highly visible on road and in parking lot! Easy clean. Is fairly tall so most don't have to bend to enter. Windows are large for great visibility.
Spacious! My 6' 2" hubby, 250lbs. loved driving this vehicle.

Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

by Echo2005Fan on 03-01-2014
2005 Toyota Echo
I had this car in 2 door hatchback version for 4 years and barely had to do any repairs on it. It handles really well, they were raced in Quebec in 2005 as an official Echo Cup series and now a few enthusiasts still race them in other classes. The size is very convenient and you can find parking more often. Fuel efficiency is excellent. 600km on one tank of gas at about $50. I had it in manual and I will continue to have manual because its a pleasure to drive, even in the city. I am now switching to 4 door version of that car because I had a baby and need the use of the back seat.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Toyota Echo

by Michal on 11-26-2013
Very reliable and economic car
I had this car for more than 2 years and never had a single problem with it. 50 bucks worth of fuel gives you 700 km, so
if you want a car which is very reliable, cheap on fuel and maintenance, this is great choice.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Toyota Echo

Trim: Sport
by justacanuck on 11-18-2013
Terrific car
We have owned our Toyota Echo for almost 10 years now... we bought it used and it has been every bit as good as every other Toyota i have owned in the past.

Top ratings for gas mileage but we have also had fantastic reliability and low cost of ownership. Change the oil regularly and it will last almost forever. Replace brake pads and tires as required.

Additional required work beyond basic maintenance has been nil.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Toyota Echo

Trim: Hatchback
by RobR on 11-10-2013
Reliable and economic
I have had my Echo for over 6 years. Bought is with 3+ years of use. Never broke. Never failed to start. In 6 years it's only been in a repair shop once to replace the brake pads that were worn out after 97,000 Km. Despite it's small size, I have used to transport everithing, even a bed, because with ithe back seats down it is surprisingly roomy. The engine is quite powerful for its size and wih a manual transmission it can give a hard time in a 0-100 start to most automatics with a much bigger engine.
Fuel economy .... Only hybrids can beat it.
My only complain about it is the design of the back seats that, despite having enough space for 3, can only accomodate 2 people due to a cup tray in the middle of the seats.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

Trim: CE
by chawkruning on 09-17-2013
Wont find anything better on gas!!
The car is quick and very fuel efficient. An amazing car for a single person or couple; however, not the best for a family. The car is only rated for 600lbs carrying capacity and that is extremely easy to reach when you fill the 4 seats.

The car has 60/40 split seats in the back which allow for a whole lot of room when they are put down.(in a hatchback)

Not the most stylish looking car on the inside but its not bad looking on the outside. I think they look like a jelly bean especially the blue ones!

Surprisingly lots of head and leg room I have a friend who is over 6foot and he fits and can drive the car comfortably.

It always starts even in the dead of winter without a block heater this thing goes. Make sure you have good winter tires the car is very light.

If you are looking for a reliable, affordable and something great on gas without the need to carry much weight this is an awesome car.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

by patsmith on 09-08-2013
A good basic car
We have been very happy with the Echo but due to health problems it is no longer suitable for our needs. It is a very dependable vehicle, good gas mileage, lots of trunk space. The rear seats fold down so it can handle longer items. Nothing fancy. No power windows or power doors. Just a basic good dependable vehicle. This vehicle has never let us down. We had it serviced at the dealer on a regular basis. On trips we got over 40 mpg and in town over 30. Goes from oil change to oil change without the need to top it up.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Toyota Echo

by John2683 on 09-05-2013
Great on gas
Very reliable little car, great on gas, saved me a ton of money. also great car for a beginner or if somebody wanted to learn manual.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Toyota Echo

Trim: RS
by Obiwan6669 on 08-29-2013
Fun and dependable
I love this car for what it is. It's no truck or sports car but for a compact car it's amazing. It incredible on gas and has never burnt a single drop of oil, never mind actual repairs of which there were none. Plus, it's zippy and fun.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Toyota Echo

by Krash005 on 08-09-2013
Always reliable!
This has been the best car i've ever owned! I will not own anything other than a toyota again! Even when it needs a part, they usually aren't that expensive and they are easy fixes. The gas mileage is amazing. It's a small economic car, and the comfort isn't that bad either for being so economical. These little cars seem to last forever!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Toyota Echo

by echo-driver on 06-17-2013
Excellent, reliable commuter car.
Fuel economy makes this peppy little ride worth driving despite the lack of styling. Handling is crummy but this isn't admired for its agility but rather its reliability and thriftiness.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

by Sunsetmonkey on 03-27-2013
Standard Toyota Echo
This car has great fuel mileage, is very dependable and easy to drive. My only complaint is that the rear view mirror is in a bad location for a tall person who sits upright in the vehicle. The mirror blocks the view of the front windshield, have to duck down to see beyobd it when looking to the right. I have taken this car on some major road trips, drives well, very comfortable for long distance driving.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota Echo

by JANatrader on 03-26-2013
Toyoto Echo great for parking.
The Toyota Echo Hatchback is a compact size car so it should save on some gas. It is easier to find a spot for parking versus most of the other cars because of its shorter length. For novel drivers I think this is a good car to start out with because of it's smaller size it makes it less intimidating to maneuver around. The steering wheel is not too tight nor too loose which makes it just right for comfort and steering the car. I suggest purchasing the four door version versus only the two door option. Reason being if you tend to have passengers, with the two door option you do have to fold back the front seat(s) everytime someone needs to access the back. With the four door if you have large equipments then you might not even have to open the trunk everytime. But there is one inconvenience is that the trunk is only accessible with manually using the key. But overall I do recommend this car. I think the Echo Hatchback is an easy car to drive that probably save you on some gas money too.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Toyota Echo

Trim: Sedan
by Great-Car7042 on 03-26-2013
Very Reliable Car
This car gets great gas mileage and a very reliable little car. Mine has over 300k on it and is still running strong. Not the most comfortable car but it gets the job done. Would highly recommend as a daiy commuter.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email