Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Toyota 4Runner 1987-2016Change

87 reviews
4.5/5
Toyota 4Runner
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2016
2 reviews
2005
5 reviews
1996
2 reviews
2015
1 review
2004
5 reviews
1995
4 reviews
2013
6 reviews
2003
5 reviews
1993
1 review
2012
5 reviews
2002
1 review
1992
1 review
2011
5 reviews
2001
1 review
1991
1 review
2010
6 reviews
2000
2 reviews
1990
2 reviews
2008
2 reviews
1999
6 reviews
1989
2 reviews
2007
5 reviews
1998
9 reviews
1987
2 reviews
2006
2 reviews
1997
4 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 73 reviews
1 23 >

1997 Toyota 4Runner

by tonacity on 07-27-2015
fun go anywhere vehicle
awesome I bought another one. very reliable , great on the hwy and off road. great for camping as there is lots of space for sleeping in it.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: SR5 V6
by ReliableTruck on 11-24-2014
Reliable 4Runner Priced to Sell!!!
This truck has been my all time fav. Sad to see it go, but need to make room as wife wants a newer car. It is extremely reliable and will last you another decade if taken care off.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: SR5
by 974runner on 11-09-2014
4runner, the Eveready bunny of vehicles, it keeps going, and going....
I've had this vehicle for over 12 years and it has NEVER let me down. Solid, dependable, peppy, comfortable, it's a true pleasure to drive.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: Limited
by mike4792 on 10-04-2014
Best vehicle I have ever owned
All weather all terrain! Timmins, Ontario in a Blizzard and -40. It started every time and was the only truck that was not plugged in to a heater. This has never let me down and still runs and drives great with 370k and 15 years old.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Toyota 4Runner

by 1234568854 on 09-02-2014
Love this truck! Great on the hwy and in the snow
I have always felt safe in this truck and bought it when I was starting my family. I have been able to rely on it for years with nothing going wrong with it. I will be sad to see it go, but it was time to downsize. You will be happy with how nice it rides on the highway, especially in the winter.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1996 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: SR5
by Mathieu-49 on 07-25-2014
un-killable
My parents bought the car when I was born, it never let us down. This car will run for another 100 000 km for sure. You can't go wrong with a 4runner.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: Limited
by luca5551 on 06-08-2014
better value than mercedes or range rover
We have owned SUV's made by Mercedes, Lexus, and were about to purchase a range rover when we decided to give the 4Runner a try.
Leased it for three years and it has been the best SUV we've owned.
The others were definitely more stylish but this has proven to be a better vehicle-way more room than the Mercedes/or Range rover
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: SR5
by chedoke on 05-27-2014
She's a beauty
What a wonderful truck that will take you anywhere! I have owned it for only a year and a half and it is amazing. 5spd manual with the SR5 package, sunroof etc. Perfect truck for any adventure you plan.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: Limited
by Shelby96 on 05-26-2014
Rare Find
This 4 Runner drives great on the highway and is a head turner in the city with its 20" custom American Racing Black rims with high performance Michelin tires.
This vehicle is extremely dependable and is rated as one of the best SUV in its class due to superior engineering and attention to detail the comes from a Japanese manufactured car.
This car was manufactured in Japan not North America.
Extremely comfortable when traveling, first class.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: Limited V6
by Happy4Runner on 04-27-2014
The most reliable, dependable vehicle I’ve ever owned
My 4Runner is as tight as the day I bought it. We take several long trips a year and I would not trust my family in a vehicle that was not safe and, reliable, economical and great to drive. With continued regular maintenance this SUV will reach 400,000km or more!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Toyota 4Runner

by Dave5899 on 04-17-2014
Fun to drive
This vehicle has curb appeal, beautiful design and dependability. Tons of power for towing toys with the power transmission. Easy to get out of weather conditions of all kinds, Never a headache for parts to locate at a reasonible price. My personal experience with this vehicle is that it has never broken down left me stranded just routine maintenance and upgrades that i wanted.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: SR5
by JensR on 04-09-2014
Reliable, dependable SUV
Our 4Runner has served us well on many long trips. Very comfortable. Tows utility trailer and boat trailer very well. Typical Toyota dependability.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1998 Toyota 4Runner

by Jaynorth on 03-23-2014
Bullet Proof
Owning such a reliable vehicle has save me tons of cash. I've owned mine for 12 years now and it has been nearly flawless. In any vehicle you would expect certain components to need changing, just less often in this extremely capable off-road vehicle. Not a smooth ride, not your family 4X4.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: Limited
by 4Runner2011 on 01-06-2014
2011 Toyota 4Runner Limited
Fantastic vehicle! No problems, 100% reliable, extremely comfortable, great on fuel, very safe, love it, can't say enough for Toyota quality, design, and performance. A true gem.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: SR5 4WD
by Lakerman24Kobe on 11-18-2013
Its a terrific ride!
Had this SUV for a long time very reliable, may not be the best car but is for sure a contender in my opinion.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: SR-5 Sport
by Aminzai on 10-29-2013
Powerful SUV
I have owned my 2004 4Runner for just over 2 years now and love getting behind wheel every single time I drive it. The V8 engine is surprisingly very good on gas, we also owned a 2008 Honda Pilot and there was just no comparison when it came to gas savings between the two as the 4Runner out performed it by a mile.

What I love about the 4Runner is the outstanding power, driver comfort, cargo capacity and fold down back seats, decent sound system and styling.

What I would probably think could have been done better is the radio and climate control buttons, but I am being picky here.

This truck truly is a rock, it's reliable and does exactly what it is designed to do and then some. You will fall in love with this truck if you buy one.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2007 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: SR5 V8
by niceride on 10-09-2013
Great handling with a lot of zip!
Love to drive this vehicle. Has the power behind the pedal with all the required performance for our canadian winters!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1993 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: SR5
by Kar on 05-27-2013
Great Vehicle
There is a reason you see a lot of 20+ year old 4Runners still on the road today, they last a long time. They may not be the fastest or have the best fuel economy but they will take you almost anywhere you want to go.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1995 Toyota 4Runner

by mikael111 on 03-25-2013
Loved my forerunner took me anywhere i wanted to go
a great off road vehicle not much of a street vehicle tho but if you want something to tear around the woods with the toyota 4runner is a great choice lock it into 4 wheel drive and it will take you anywhere u want it to i dont think i ever got stuck
Overall
3.5
Comfort
2/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2011 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: LIMITED
by Ryan007 on 03-13-2013
BEST SUV
I got my 2011 toyota 4 runner over 2 yrs now & it still has that new smell inside of it. I use the 4runner on very long road trips & its very comfortable, fun to drive especially when driving in Sports mode, it handles excellent on corning & has a 275 hps V6 engine combined with full time 4 wheel drive. Also it has 15 JVC speakers with a touch & voice activated navigation system with real time traffic update.....very impressive technology from toyota. Also the 4runner comes with 20 inch wheels standard. I love this truck. Its one of the best SUV I've ever driven.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Toyota 4Runner

by johnny5781 on 03-05-2013
Cool!
Cool, comfortable! relaxing
smooth drive, excellent response time, no technical problems, requires less service, upgraded models available with GPS, sun roof and roof rack. one of the best cars made by toyota
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: SR5
by Toyo4runn on 02-16-2013
Reliable, Excellent performing SUV in various conditions
Have had no issues with this vehicle other than routine maintenance and have owned it for 80,000 kms. It is now at 210,000 kms and going strong, only issue I've had with it is it is a big small inside (not very wide) and difficult with two small children.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1996 Toyota 4Runner

by Aria on 02-10-2013
Great Reliable Car
I've had this vehicle for ages and it continues to run like I just bought it and is always reliable. Get's me too and from wherever I need to go and it's very comfy and can take a lot of abuse from my two kids.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Trim: SR5
by JWF on 02-09-2013
Love my Runner!
I bought my 03 T4R four years ago with 69,000 miles on it. With the 4.7 V8 and full time four wheel drive, it's not great on fuel, but real-world numbers are actually on par with most other SUVs out there, even those with a V6 --I average about 15/18 city/hwy. With lots of room inside, excellent safety ratings, and mountain goat-like sure footedness in the snow, I can't see trading it in for many years.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1987 Toyota 4Runner

by hillbilly1985 on 02-09-2013
One of the best Toyota's out there
This is my first ride when i was 16! In my opinion this is the best truck for any teenage boy. It has the room to haul stuff and its great for cruzin around with the boys. Not to mention you car jump the bugger and be fine "well i was atleast"
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 23 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email