Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Saturn Astra 2006-2009Change

28 reviews
4.5/5
Saturn Astra
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2009
12 reviews
2008
15 reviews
2006
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 28 reviews
1 2 >

2008 Saturn Astra

Trim: XE
by Kalmakoff on 04-03-2015
Good, reliable vehicle
I enjoyed my Saturn Astra very much. It is a decent car, not much power but that's not the reason for buying an Astra. Very spacious for cargo, especially with rear seats folded down. Disappointed with lack of an AUX input, and fuel economy was not quite as promised, but still a well-designed compact hatchback.
Overall, its a really good car, drives well in the winter and is very reliable.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Saturn Astra

Trim: XE
by zed2095 on 10-26-2014
German quality
Very well made car and it will last for a long time.This cars are well known in Europe as a well build and reliable cars. Many potential Canadian buyers worry about parts supply in Canada for this model and staying away from buying the car.I did call GM Canada-US and they will supply parts an also your local GM dealer minimum for the 10 years or until year 2020 and even after that .This car is well wort the money when you compare what else you can buy in that price range of $ 8000-$9500 and let me tell you nothing comes close to this car.All other brands in this price range cars are high km or older , accidents,ex rental etc .
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Saturn Astra

Trim: XR
by Allan8787 on 10-06-2014
Best car I've owned
I bought the car new and I wouldn't be selling it if I had room to keep it. It's easy on fuel, cheap to maintain and it's a lot of fun to drive. I've done a lot of long highway drives through very rural areas and it's never let me down. I feel confident taking this car anywhere.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Saturn Astra

Trim: XE
by zed2095 on 09-29-2014
2009 SATURN ASTRA XE
This is one of the best European build car for many years , to bad the GM is not importing this car anymore .New Astra looks even better than before , maybe GM should thing again and start importing this car again.I have owned for 5 years and only good things I can say about this car .
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

Trim: XR
by Tshirt on 08-14-2014
Great vehicle with a few minor flaws
I loved my Saturn Astra even though I recently traded it in. I had the 2dr XR and it handled great, 225 Hankook tires on a small hatchback you felt on rails. The hatch was very large and with the seat folded down you could fit a lot of stuff. However, don't let that stuff weigh a lot because the 1.8L does not have a lot of power and felt very sluggish when loaded. I had the 5spd manual and I could smell the clutch when going up hills with a 400-500lbs of weight.

I owned my car for 2 years (50,000km) and it was extremely reliable. I had was the exhaust flex pipe broke which is common on these cars. I had a shop weld a new one in for $100. The front interior room is cramped if your taller than 5,8 and the German designed stereo is confusing but it sounded great. Compared to a yaris or accent it was a little quicker but it also returned slightly less mpg, I averaged 30mpg 70% highway or 34-35mpg all highway however engine noise is in abundance for long trips. Another important note is these cars are re badged European cars and replacement parts are expensive. They also use a timing belt which is rather expensive to replace at 120,000km

I enjoyed my time with my Astra but I would not buy another and would not recommend others buy one unless you can get a very good deal. I feel for the same money you can probably better a better all around vehicle that's quieter, cheaper parts, better fuel economy and can handle more weight considering all the room you have.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

Trim: XR
by JPendergast on 07-07-2014
Fun Sporty Car
Reliable fun sporty car that is great on gas and headache free. Looks small but back seats fold down for extra trunk space for golf clubs or sporting equipment.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

Trim: XE
by tgroyca on 06-10-2014
Awesome car for a second vehicle
This car has been reliable from day 1.

Affordable, well designed, well made, sophisticated, fun-to-drive SMALL car, tight handling.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

Trim: XR
by Deanherg on 01-14-2014
Great Overall Car
Other than a few minor details such as built in bluetooth or AUX and power seats the car is great. It has a great ride and handling makes it very fun to drive. All the other available options are great like a panoramic sunroof and heated seats. The car is perfect for city driving as you can fit in many small parking spots and with great handling it is not hard to handle in the tight spaces. The car is OK on the highway it revs a little high but that makes passing easier. The car is also very practical as it is a hatchback and the rear seats fold down you can get many items in the trunk! I would recommend this car for most people.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Saturn Astra

Trim: standard
by Katharine on 08-08-2013
Excellent car in immaculate condition
I have been the only owner and driver of this car. This car is fun to drive and handles very well. I have maintained this car very well and I am only selling because I need more family room in my vehicle.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

Trim: XE
by C_jai4 on 07-15-2013
A zippy economical car
This little car is awesome!!!
The reason I am selling this car is because I am a student now and transit is my main source of transportation.
This car is easy to park and handle.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

Trim: XR
by danika on 07-03-2013
Reliable car!
This car is a great car and very reliable. With gas prices these days, it is important to have a car that is great on gas. The Saturn Astra is just that! You can't go wrong with this car. It has been great to us.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

Trim: XR
by danika on 06-17-2013
Great on gas!
This Saturn Astra is a great hatchback. It is small in size but lots of room inside. With the price of gas these days, it is important to save on gas. This car is great on gas and is a great commuter car. The Saturn Astra is a very reliable car and we have had no issues with it. The only reason we are selling is because I now have a company vehicle and have no room in my drive way for three vehicles.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Saturn Astra

Trim: XR
by James87 on 06-05-2013
Great Little car!!
This has been one of the best cars I have owned!! For a hatchback there is a lot of room, and once the seats fold down its surprising how much you can fit in the back! The handling is great. No issues or reairs have needed to be done outside of regular maintenance.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

Trim: 3DR XR Hatch 5 Spd Leather
by Alloys on 03-30-2013
Under the RADAR!!
Pity this car is no longer offered new in N.America, the last year was 2009 when GM killed Saturn. This car is highly underrated, and under the RADAR as far as most car purchasers are concerned. Check it out; it was 2008 MotoringTV Car of the Year. At the time of writing, Astras are still available new and exceptionally popular in Europe where they know economy cars and by virtue of this fact ensures, like the MINI, that parts will be available for many years to come. I bought my Astra XR new and have only needed to give it gas, routine service and occasional washing to keep it happy, very reliable. Exceptional European styling that rivals that found in higher end offerings! Mine came with perforated leather interior, stitched leather steering wheel and stick shift, plus all kinds of included features not seen on higher end cars, not even as pricey options. I shorted the interior design by one star because I found the entertainment system controls overly complicated, but techies may love it. The drivetrain shifts quickly and precisely so it’s not exactly an underpowered 5 spd, but for such a sporty car with such wonderful sport suspension included in the XR package, at just 138 hp, it longs for only a few more horses to reach full potential, but then I suppose it’s good gas economy would suffer, you can't have everything. Sharp exterior lines along with multi spoke 17" alloys make it look like it is moving even when parked. I will definitely be hard pressed to replace this one when the time comes. Low mileage used XR and XE versions can both be easily found at bargain basement prices, simply because they are so under appreciated.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Saturn Astra

by shadownala on 03-26-2013
It a terrific ride!
The car handles really smooth. On Star options. Great bang for your buck when it comes to gas! The hatch back fits all your shopping needs! Plenty of leg room, front and back. I would get this car again, when I looking for an automobile!!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

Trim: XR
by Dantu on 03-01-2013
Fuel economy plus
no problems what-so-ever all it has ever required is normal oil changes, is Krown rust proofed yearly
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

by PEISLANDER on 02-28-2013
Only for 2 Years
What a shame that Saturn ceased. This car is a gem. Very fun to drive, responsive and I have not spent one cent other than regular maintenance for close to 5 years. If I could find a way to get a new Opel Astra import, I would not hesitate to get this car again.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Saturn Astra

Trim: XE
by The_Pomp on 02-02-2013
Good example of European engineering
Beautifully built, reliable and handsome but could use more power than its rated 138 hp, even with the 5-speed manual. Just one cupholder and a combination radio/car information system that is anything but intuitive. High quality paint, fit and finish. Averaging 8.7 L/100 km during the winter in mostly city driving. It was a good purchase and we enjoy driving it. Suspension provides a good combination of comfort and agility.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Saturn Astra

Trim: XR
by lyndalou on 01-31-2013
Saturn is almost "out of this world"
I've had my Saturn for a month now after I lost my Ford Focus due to an accident. The Saturn is slightly smaller than the Ford Focus Hatchback for both cargo space and passenger room but it meets my needs. It's fuel economy is good and it has a smooth ride and is comfortable to ride in. I'm happy with my decision to buy a Saturn and I hope to have the car for many years.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

Trim: XE 4 door hatchback
by Astra on 01-31-2013
European build and ride .
This car is European fun rolled into a compact, useful package. It handles well and has intuitive design. The engine could use more power, but is fine in most situations. The controls and features are well designed and laid out. There is enough room for a family of four and the dog. Luggage room is sufficient but the hatch opening could be bigger. Overall is does everything we want well and without complaint. To bad the car has been discontinued because I would definitely buy another.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Saturn Astra

by GodlyMonoMon on 12-30-2012
A great car
The Astra is a nice car. It's reliable and decently comfortable. The styling on the outside is good for it's price. Inside could be better but still is decent.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Saturn Astra

Trim: XR
by SJB on 12-28-2012
Fun, reliable little car
Bought new and have had no problems. Love the styling and design overall with only 2 concerns. One, the gas mileage could be better. It's not bad but for the size of car thought it would be better. Two, the stereo sounds great but it's limiting because there are no audio aux inputs. Overall am very happy with this sporty ride.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

by Emma7065 on 12-23-2012
Great Car for the Money
I like this car a lot. I bought it new and it's been great. One thing I would change about this car is adding a sixth gear. I would recommend this car to a friend.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Saturn Astra

Trim: 2Dr XR
by Quebacadie on 11-27-2012
A bargain
Very nice handling, stiff suspension, excellent interior quality of finish and material use. It's not perfect but it's so far vey reliable. Have it service at an ex-Saturn dealership using mechanics that knows Opel cars.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Saturn Astra

Trim: XE 4 door hatchback
by Astra on 11-17-2012
European build
My Astra provides a family orientated vehicle with sporty handling and looks. It has European style controls and interior.
The engine provides adequate power for most driving styles. The dash has conventional push button/knob controls that are easy to use . Joy of joys, it has no distracting touch screen that , unfortunately, is becoming the norm in today vehicles. Interior space is good with adequate legroom in the rear for taller people . Although the rear hatch has a somewhat small opening, it is suitable for normal everyday use. All in all , this is a well built , functional and pleasing vehicle.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email