Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Pontiac G5 1998-2010Change

88 reviews
4.5/5
Pontiac G5
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2010
6 reviews
2007
27 reviews
2005
2 reviews
2009
13 reviews
2006
6 reviews
1998
1 review
2008
33 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 74 reviews
1 23 >

2009 Pontiac G5

Trim: Grey
by PG5 on 11-22-2014
Great Car!
This car is very fun to drive, handles well, and gets great gas mileage. It doesn't have the greatest horsepower, but will get and go.I would recommend this car for a teenager/college student or just anyone who loves a small reliable car!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2009 Pontiac G5

Trim: Olympic Edition
by TrevorL67 on 11-13-2014
2009 Pontiac G5 Olympic Editon
Has been an excellent and dependable first new car for my spouse. Despite the ignition switch recall we have had zero issues with this vehicle and are satisfied with the quality and value.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Pontiac G5

Trim: SE
by 2009PontiacG5 on 09-10-2014
Beautiful Car - Love It!
Its been a wonderful and truly special car. Can recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a solid, dependable car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Pontiac G5

Trim: SE
by 2009PontiacG5 on 09-10-2014
Beautiful Car - Love It!
Its been a wonderful and truly special car. Can recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a solid, dependable car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Pontiac G5

Trim: SE
by tony1958 on 08-24-2014
Very Economical
This car is fun to drive, comfortable , lots of trunk space, and very dependable. I would recommend this vehicle to anybody that is looking for a small sedan that will give you dependability.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Pontiac G5

Trim: Standard
by Kirklandism on 08-04-2014
Comfortable and reliable
I have found this car to be a comfortable and reliable vehicle. Interior is roomy. Exterior styling is good for a Pontiac.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Pontiac G5

by CRice on 07-21-2014
Well built reliable car
Quick, great on gas, comfortable and spacious for a coupe. Very reliable. Stylish, and sleek. Black cloth interior and black paint. Handles good, picks up quickly. Ecotec motor. Alloy rims. Amazing Pioneer stereo system and sub woofer. Large trunk
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Pontiac G5

Trim: podium edition
by Stacey7421 on 06-18-2014
Fun and reliable
This is a great car! There are no issues and I'm only selling because we need something bigger for our growing family.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Pontiac G5

Trim: SE
by Luis1882 on 05-13-2014
Cool ride
I have a 2005 Pontiac G5, its all black and I tinted the windows too. The car looks awesome!.
Rides very comfortably and has never given me any problem at all.
I do its oil changes every 5000Km and that seems to keep the car running smoothly.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Pontiac G5

Trim: SE
by stonG93 on 03-15-2014
Better than average
This car is reliable, never had problems starting it winter as it is well maintained. Any repairs that needed to be done were done so through my warranty (only changed ball joint and control arms through both owners). Styling, even though it's from a Chevrolet Cobalt, looks better than other cars in its category which is one of the reasons I bought it.

Ride is good, doesn't feel too high or low in the seat proportionate to the road (compared to a Camry,Corolla,Civic or Mazda 3) and visibility in the cabin is great. Performance is better than most cars in category and doesn't consume much more gas than competitors. I got 7.6L/100km on highway and 8.9L/100km city.

There is a lot of trunk space due to the fact that it is a coupe.Rear seat space is limited but can provide sufficient room.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Pontiac G5

Trim: SE
by RickTaylor on 03-01-2014
Fantastic ride and reliable.
The Pontiac G5 has been a very reliable second car for the family. It has primarily been used for City driving but has no problems handling on the highway.
In 2013 I added new brakes and suspension...which was really the first significant repair work since 2008 (warranty and non warranty).
If you are looking for a starter car for tour kids or you just need a second vehicle to help meet the needs of the family this is a great car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Pontiac G5

by sb9300 on 12-09-2013
Great city car & very reliable
Being a 21 year old (at the time of purchase) woman on her own this was my first NEW vehicle purchase and it was perfect for me.
Great for living in a city.
Great gas mileage, smooth ride, huge trunk for all those shopping trips!
This car has taken me all over the west coast of Canada & US without a problem.
Now living in Northern BC, I sadly have to part ways as it's not the best vehicle for this area - 4x4 is a must during the 9 months of winter.
If you are looking for a reliable, great gas mileage, easy to maintain city vehicle - I highly recommend!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Pontiac G5

by carman4613 on 11-26-2013
Great economy car
This is a great car and fuel and has been very relialble. This car has been repair free. It is quite roomy and has a large and deep trunk for its size.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Pontiac G5

Trim: se
by Ali666666 on 09-29-2013
Excellent Condition
great gas mileage, reliable, accident free clean interior and exterior, tyres in good condition, low mileage, very quite.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2006 Pontiac G5

Trim: Pursuit
by gms on 09-26-2013
Great Car!
In the time I owned the G5, I didn't have any major problems! I fixed a few little things that were wrong when I purchased the car (used) including a burnt head light, clogged key hole and dead key battery. I love the way this car drives, its perfect for a student or someone looking for a cute, safe, affordable car. I should also add that the speaker system that comes base with the car performed WAY beyond my expectations!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Pontiac G5

by 8G5 on 09-06-2013
Excellent / Reliable mid size car
Never left us stranded in the winter, or any other time. Good on gas, perfectly maintained, kept very clean, rides nice, back seats spacious enough for three children. Up graded to a van or otherwise would have no reason to sell this car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Pontiac G5

by goodfellow on 08-24-2013
Gas-saving and smooth drive
The car has been working with me for a while, it is obedient and easy-going. I really loves it. Sufficient space for a new starting family with spacious trunk. I treat it as my best friend on the way to work and to have fun.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Pontiac G5

Trim: SE 1SB
by Silver_Bullet on 08-09-2013
Great city and highway drive!
All in all this has been a great car and I have no complaints. The first time I took it on a highway trip I was amazed at the passing power - when I tromped it, it flew. The fuel economy seems pretty good (I never check but this info is available on the "info" button on the steering wheel; tells you when to get your oil changed too!). This car is roomy and a pleasure to drive, not too big and not too small, front and back seats are comfy. I really like how the sound system goes up and down as you speed up and slow down. The intermittent wiper mode does this as well. Why am I selling? I miss my little standard hatchback bomber and have bought another.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Pontiac G5

by Kris1282 on 04-10-2013
most reliable car i have owned
I bought this car at a dealership in Leduc when it was about a year and bit old. It was a leased vehicle and came with all service records and a history report.
I have purchased all season tires for this car and recently bought brand new winter tires that I only used half the year.
This vehicle is extremely clean and has never been smoked in.
It has never been in an accident, and I have purchased a Service history report online as well.
I have never had any problems with this vehicle, very easy to maintain and very reliable.
Fantastic on Fuel
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Pontiac G5

by FigureBlue on 04-03-2013
It's the whole package
I love this car and it will be sad to see it go. This car has a lot of pep under the hood and the tunes sound awesome on the sound system. I even love the red color which is not the 'typical" bright red. I've been really happy with what this car has to offer, I'm only selling it because it's time for me to get a truck.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Pontiac G5

by drealiciouse on 03-28-2013
great on gas
I have had my 08 for 4 years, its been reliable except the battery has died due to cold weather and sitting without the engine running listening to music. It holds great to the road and with fresh winter tires this car is amazing, it very good for room, the trunk and back seat are very spacious. One thing i do not like about this car is the way the seats are shaped. The sides of the interior upholstery on the seats that stick out on the sides of the back where a person would rest their shoulders. This makes for a bit of a hunch, as the car seat does not have a flat back, it somewhat forms a hunch posture on its driver and passenger. This can be fixed with a pillow. I really like the info option on the steering wheel, which shows how full each tire is, how many kms until the gas tank is empty, the outside temperature and trip details, as well as other options. The gas milage is great, ive gone 400kms on half a tank which is aprx 30 dollars at the moment.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Pontiac G5

Trim: gt
by yippppyyy on 03-26-2013
5 years with no issues
had this car for almost 5 years with not one issue :) the only servicing i had to bring it in for was for the recall which never really affected me in the first place
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Pontiac G5

by kkkang93 on 03-16-2013
It's a great ride!
I've absolutely loved having this car as my first car and it's perfect for any young person that's got a thing for cars. The green touches add a whole lot of personality to it. I'm going to miss this one!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Pontiac G5

by bozotheclown on 03-13-2013
Point a to point b
My G5 had been relatively reliable for the the first three years and then the usual Gm issues reared their ugly heads. I went to another dealership that was closer to my workplace instead of my regular one by my home. When a service call reaches you during a busy period on the job you have a tendency to agree to reasonable repairs so you can get home after work. However, when you pick up your vehicle and they tell you they had break a housing to get to get to an engine component, there is an inherent flaw in the design. Fortunately, customer care cover the repair! Two recalls and a spoiler that snapped off in the cold and I'm starting to rethink my loyalty to GM!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Pontiac G5

by drc2013 on 03-07-2013
awesome ride
Recently purchased a used 2007 G5 GT, after specifically uttering the words; "..I don't want like a g5 or anything.." But I now take it back. I love this car. The 2.4L Ecotec effortlessly propels this car through the gears to quite a speed.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 23 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email