Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Nissan X-Trail 2002-2010Change

33 reviews
4.5/5
Nissan X-Trail
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2010
1 review
2007
1 review
2005
11 reviews
2008
2 reviews
2006
17 reviews
2002
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 26 reviews
1 2 >

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: Bona Vista
by X-Trail on 11-22-2014
COMFORTABLE AND FUEL EFFICIENT
Having driven this SUV (its my mother's car) I find it to be comfortable on the highway and on city streets. Blind spots are few and the ride height is exceptional to view the road ahead and all around while driving. The front wheel drive is responsive and accurate and when the road becomes wet or slippery the AWD system kicks in seamlessly. The 2,5 four cylinder engine has plenty of power but also provides excellent gas mileage.
Overall a great driving vehicle.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: SE
by xtrail on 09-17-2014
Nissan X-trail - great economic small SUV
Very reliable, fuel efficient small SUV. I will definitely recommend this car to anybody. Mechanically very reliable, with great creature comforts (heated front seats, very efficient air condition). Switching effortlessly with dash mounted knob between 2 wheel drive and all wheel drive. Usable size cargo space, finished in plastic makes it easy to clean. Panoramic moon roof is a nice feature.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: SE
by Practical8410 on 08-25-2014
It's a reliable and practical SUV/truck
Absolutely no mechanical issues; excellent visibility; great as a town car or for country driving. The interior is tough and easy to maintain. The engine is fuel efficient. The large moonroof is a great place to take wildlife photos.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by X-Trailer on 08-24-2014
The best vehicle I ever had!
I bought an X-Trail brand new late 2004 as it was 1st coming out in Canada. In fact I had to wait for it. I will never regret it. I still have the vehicle today, after close to 10 years. The engine is still running as new, much more quiet than a 2 year-old Kia! The most reliable vehicle I ever owned, no close match - in comparison to Ford Escape, Jeep Cherooke, which I got rid of after a few years. Regular maintenance only.. The front seats are so comfortable. Perfect vehicle for a 2 kids family with back recliner seats, & lots of storage space. The vehicle drives extremely well in the snow, as other already mention. Fuel consumption is good for a SUV. Excellent visibility in comparison to today's SUV

Again, this is the best vehicle I ever had over 30 years of driving including many rentals. I intend to keep it for many more years...
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2006 Nissan X-Trail

by terrible on 07-29-2014
Punishing ride, terrible gas mileage
Bought this vehicle 3 winters ago. Have had to replace 3 wheel bearings spaced within about 6-9 months of each other at a cost of $400 each. Then the power steering pump went, luckily I found one a wreckers for $125, the Nissan dealership would have cost $800+. Gas mileage is horrible for a 4 cyl engine, in the winter especially at about 15L/100km or 18.8 mpg. Not enough power for highway, especially if facing a headwind. The ride is pushing even after replacing rear struts, like riding in a lumber wagon. I've also had to replace brake shoes all around. Poor cabin heat in Canadian winters. Very costly vehicle compared to the 1999 Mazda 626 that I drove into the ground without doing anything other than oil changes and a couple sets of tires.
Overall
2.0
Comfort
2/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 3 found this review helpful.

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: SE
by Excellent1548 on 07-28-2014
Terrific traveling vehicle
The vehicle handles well in any weather conditions and provides a great amount of space for traveling or for families.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by Marie8581 on 03-26-2014
Made for canadian winters
4x4 is a wonderful plus when you live in Canada! It increases safety, stability and pleasure to drive on every kind of fields! The spacious room in the Nissan X-Trail is also a great matter to consider for those who likes outdoor sports! Well thought, there's even a place to carry your skis on! And... why not starting kayaking while you're there?
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: SE
by Stephen_Jo on 09-15-2013
Best choice for me and have immensely enjoyed owning this vehicle, Josie
I looked all over and could not get the panoramic sunroof coupled with great cargo area, stylish design and price point. It has proven to be the best purchase of a new vehicle since I bought my 1982 Honda Civic. I did pay a whole lot more for my Xtrail, but considering it was my second new vehicle purchase in over 30 years, it fulfilled all my expectations.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Nissan X-Trail

by Princess on 03-25-2013
My first Car
Nissan is my first new car and my firs baby / family member. Not just a car but a baby that has been with me in all times of my needs. The best in Interiors, mileage and maintenance.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Nissan X-Trail

by KatieSu on 03-22-2013
love the ride
one of the most reliable cars i have been in yet...and finally something stylish that fits the whole family without having to look like soccer mom
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Nissan X-Trail

by KatieSu on 03-22-2013
nicest ride ive had yet
it is probably the most reliable car i have owned...very comfortable and actually fits the whole family
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: LE
by Cherryboomer on 03-13-2013
Love my car
I have had no problems with my car and love it's durability as well as the versatility of it's design.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: Bonavista
by Bonzoll on 02-19-2013
Bonzoll
I bought this vehicle in 2010 as a 48,000 kilometer used suv .
The body and interior were in good condition, as it was a one owner unit and was traded on another Nissan. I was lucky that it had some warranty left, as I had a problem with the transfer case on the transmission. The mechanic at the dealer said it was the first time he'd seen a problem with a trans on this type of car. Since then I have had no trouble whatsoever .
The car came equipped with the Bonavista package of pb, ps,pw, p.locks, remote entry. heated seats. Tilt wheel, Cruise. Panoramic power moon roof..Fog lights. Block heater. 17" Alloy wheels. Cooled and heated cup holders.Cd Stereo. Carbon fiber interior trim and Fiberglass front fenders and rear flooring. All in all a well equipped car. I'm glad I bought it and would again.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: Bonavista
by Martin_G on 02-01-2013
Good solid comfortable practical small SUV
Bought this car a year and a half old, with only 18,000 kms. It's been all that one could ask for. We were looking for a slightly used, reliable small SUV that did NOT have the spare tire on the back, so that the tailgate could open up and not like a very wide door. That ruled out the top-rated CR-V and RAV4. We are very happy with it and have had no problems at all with it so far.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Nissan X-Trail

by sunspun on 12-31-2012
Very practical car
Very happy for this car. It is good looking, reliable and can fit my kids and a bunch of sports equipment
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by domino5474 on 11-28-2012
great ride
it is really good in all weather evern i n 2 feet of water and snow i have had it up mountains in wales in the snow and no problems at all next thing is to get some big tyres

Primary Use: Sport/fun (spirited driving, track racing, off-roading, etc.)
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

by RMS313 on 11-27-2012
A great car
Bought used a couple of years ago to replace an X-terra. Quite economical for a suv. The CVT gearbox is a wonder, put your foot down to overtake and it takes off. Great driving position and instruments are easy to read. Interior is light and roomy and a reasonable amount of space with the rear seats folded. The front end panels are flexible and have been glad of that more than once when I haven't seen a low branch or rock - just reversed back and the dent bounced out.

Only downside is the a/c which doesn't work well after five years.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2006 Nissan X-Trail

by arrotsel on 11-24-2012
Awesome Four Wheel Drive
I really love the X-Trail. We have had it for 6 years now and no problems. I replaced the starter motor and brakes in the past 4 months, but never any engine problems or any major work. We do regular maintenance and oil changes(always synthetic oil). runs just as smooth as when it was brand new.
Handles amazing on the highway and also through the snow. I tried to get stuck one day, but couldn't.
i love it.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by MelChang on 11-17-2012
nice and compact suv
Reliable, compact and smooth to drive. I like the leather and heated seats. Good for those cold winter driving. Open up the large sunroof to get a good breeze during the summer drive or admire the stars during those clear nights.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

by killerspike on 11-16-2012
My best ride ever
Wanted to buy a 4x4 and a family car. Just make it perfectly. Little door freezing problem in winter though.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: LE
by cofh on 11-13-2012
Decent vehicle with issues
I bought this car used in 2009. I liked the interior space, handling and the somewhat unique styling of the vehicle, but found several reliability issues with the car and some odd design decisions. The wheel bearings are very poorly designed and have had to be replaced twice at $1000 a pop. There are ongoing issues with the handbrake failing to engage properly. The back hatch lacks it's own manual lock, so if the electronic locks fail you are out of luck opening the hatch until that is fixed. The hatch handle is also prone to sticking so if you are not careful you hatch may pop open unless you manually push the handle back into the closed position. The back door locks are prone to freezing in cold weather and cannot be opened, or will not close until the car has warmed up. Engine performance is quite good for a 4 cylinder, but fuel efficiency is middling at best. Car has a tendency to fog up much more easily than any other vehicle I have ever owned. Some of the controls (lights and side mirror adjustments) are impossible to use while driving because they are so poorly placed. Not a bad car, but is marred by odd design issues and poor reliability of some parts which are expensive to replace.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: SE
by MrGreyRainbows on 11-13-2012
Unique and Practical
We picked out a Nissan X-trail about a year ago to replace our family's well-aged Ford Windstar. With one child living six hours away, and the mother of the house now commuting to a different city for work, we thought it was time to downsize and find something with 4WD. We love the odd mix of accessories and options that this car comes with.

The X-Trail is filled with some really innovative and creative accessories. The cup holders, for instance, are heated or cooled depending on temperature settings. The same goes for one of the four storage compartments located on the dash. Having centre-mounted gauges took me a while to get used to, but now it's completely natural and I actually have come to prefer it. Cloth heated seats and a very large sunroof, along with the 4WD system were the top selling points for us. Others included: flat load floor, fuel economy, overhead 'bush lights', decent sound system (six-disc, six-speaker), hard-finish cargo area, ride height, comfort, and general utilitarian-yet-asthetically-pleasing looks.

The one downside with this vehicle is towing capacity. The fuel economy has been fantastic, but the 2.5L four-cylinder isn't qualified to pull anything over 1000 pounds. This has been an issue for us as our summers generally involve a tent trailer (just under the 1000 pound mark, but with luggage, five people, and two dogs, there's not a chance).

Overall, we love this vehicle, and all four of the drivers in the family would recommend it strongly.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by XTR on 11-12-2012
X-Trail Lover
Owned the car for a while, and I love it. Its a smaller SUV which is easier for everyone (including me when I'm trying to park). Durable too...managed to get it over a curb when I was blocked in and get back on the road in no time.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: Bona Vista
by TAV on 11-07-2012
Nissan X-Trail
Really like the vehicle except for a few minor inconveniences. The seatbelts are too short so any time you need to reach further than the steering wheel, you can't. The cup holders on top of the dash sound like a great idea but a lot of cups won't fit ... too wide, or too tall. Don't like the fact that the back windows only open to a certain point. I know, child safety. If your kid is in a seatbelt like they're supposed to be, they're not likely to fall out.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by Jaynac66 on 11-01-2012
Great utility vehicle!
Solid reliable vehicle. More capable than the rav 4 or CRV. Great size and cargo room. Very durable and fantastic in heavy snow. Absolutely love this vehicle.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email