Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Mazda CX-5 2004-2016Change

33 reviews
4.5/5
Mazda CX-5
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2016
4 reviews
2013
16 reviews
2009
2 reviews
2015
2 reviews
2012
1 review
2004
1 review
2014
7 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews

2014 Mazda CX-5

by MKetivs on 08-15-2014
Good crossover
The CX-5 looks amazing from the outside, but that's really its biggest feature. The interior is nice, but not great. Performance with the 2.0L engine leaves a little to be desired, and because it's such an underpowered engine for the car, you end off using more gas to get it to accelerate how you want it to. The 2.4L version may be a better choice overall, or the 2.0L AWD.
Mazda has never been bad in terms of reliability, and the CX-5 is good. Little things break, bolts need to be tightened down once something starts banging around, but no issues otherwise. It is the first generation of the car, so little things will come up.
Inside, the car looks good, again, but there is practicality lacking. For one, you only get two cup holders in the front, with none in the back. You have the door pockets, but that's not a cup holder. The seats are good and supportive, but they are far from being the most comfortable. The rear window is really quite small, with the pillars dominating the majority of the rear, leaving you with massive blind spots.
Everything about the CX-5 is good, but little things such as the large blind spots, few cup holders, and the not-so-luxurious interior make this a real step down from other mid-size crossovers in the same price range... No denying that the CX-5 looks better than the rest combined, however!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
3 out of 3 found this review helpful.

2013 Mazda CX-5

by shamnav on 06-02-2014
worth buying. you will not regret after buying.you can say cx-5 is a smart choice.
good on gas obviously good on pocket too. Amazing mileage on highway i got 20km/l on highway. surprised me a lot. smooth and comfort ride.94 out of 100.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2014 Mazda CX-5

Trim: GT
by jasonmagee on 03-22-2014
best on gas for AWD
I own 2007 Mazda FWD to fill up my car its cost my $60.00avg for over 55 liter get 475 to 525 hiway driving I fill my CX-5 AWD $60.00 avg get 55 liter avg i get 550 to just over 600 km hiway driveing
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Mazda CX-5

Trim: GS
by CassieLB on 02-27-2014
Great Family Vehicle
Its great for a family starting out. Its a small SUV, but because of the sky active technology its better on gas than the other SUVs out there! I would recommend this vehicle to anyone
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2014 Mazda CX-5

Trim: GS
by lcann25 on 09-19-2013
Best of the "cute ute's"
I drove all the cute ute's, and I mean ALL of them and the CX-5 is literally in a league of its own. Blind spot monitoring, backup camera, rain sensing wipers, sunroof, and an honest 37mpg on the highway for $32,000. Try and match all those things with ANYONE else.. And to boot, This thing drives and handles like a sports car. The 6 speed automatic is absolutely fantastic! Crisp shifts, rev matching, automatic downshifting when going down steep hills.. awesome. The only gripe I have is I personally find the seat a little uncomfortable.. but that's just me. Don't hesitate on this vehicle!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Mazda CX-5

by Rolly on 05-23-2013
Better than I thought
After driving a Rav4 and getting the run around at Toyota in a trade for a 2013, I decided to research other makes and models. The CX-5 came in higher in customer satisfaction than Honda and Toyota. To get all the bells and whistles the Mazda have in the Honda & Toyota, you'd be paying close to $40,000 for the same thing...No regrets whatsoever...Bye-bye Toyota...
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Mazda CX-5

by CX5 on 03-25-2013
CX-5
Great, reliable car. Fantastic for going around town or on long distances. The engine is a little small, so going up hills isn't the best but it's well worth it for the fuel economy.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Mazda CX-5

by Jom on 03-08-2013
What a SUV Technology
This car is so fantastic i never thougth about using this kind of car, the design is so beutiful inside and out, all the technology on it are so useful, from bluetooth to gps that is awesome, very comfy and like my wife said i am driving in the cloud going to haven Lol. mostly fuel efficiency. seriuslly i definitely endorse this car to all of my friend and to all of you guys..
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Mazda CX-5

by Jenny1313 on 03-03-2013
I love this car
The ride is smooth. Has all the bells and whistles. I love the fact that you only have to push the button to start or turn off your car.

The GPS navigation system is very helpful as I need to travel for my job. The rear camera is amazing when having to park backwards or reversing. It saves a lot of time of having to get out of your car to see how close you are when parking.

Overall, I am very satisfied with my purchase of this vehicle.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Mazda CX-5

by Boggitty on 02-09-2013
Good car with a somewhat awkward dashboard
I really enjoy this car, it handles great, has decent pick up and go, looks good, with good fuel economy considering it is a crossover. The only issue I have with the car so far is how the dash is set up. For example, the clock is so low - underneath the radio/phone touchscreen - that you have to look for it. It isn't easy just to take a glance, so it might be too much of a distraction when driving. The touchscreen is fantastic, except that some of the controls are on the wrong side of the screen. I understand that this is probably more for the passengers of the vehicle to scroll through and whatnot, but I have to lean over to use some of them when driving. It would be nice to have something on the steering wheel instead...not that there really is much room.Also, the colour of the dsh is nice, but the red of the fan, temperature, clock, etc., is a very awkward contrast. All in all, though, a good car. Hopefully the next interior design will be more functional.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Mazda CX-5

by Bobbydadoggy on 01-21-2013
Maxda CX-5 Review
It is a nice car for its price, and I think it is worth it. It comes in several colors and is pretty reliable. So far I had a good experience, and I do not regret getting it. Thanks for reading.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2004 Mazda CX-5

by maz3580 on 01-19-2013
Mazda 2004
Handles really well on gravel roads really good on gas mileage. Starts very well in winter in very cold tempertures. Love the sun roof. Very comfortable driving on long distances.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2013 Mazda CX-5

by RadCar1 on 12-13-2012
Love this car!
Best new car around sporty looking. Great family car, lots of room. Super comfy and fast! Good on gas. Love sunroof and speakers.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Mazda CX-5

by CWW on 11-14-2012
Excellent
The Mazda CX-5 is a wonderful SUV delivering excellent fuel economy and awesome driving dynamics. I have had the vehicle for 2 months and love driving it everyday. It would be great if it has a little more HP, but for city driving it's really more than enough.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Mazda CX-5

by TruS on 11-12-2012
Great fuel savings
I was looking at crossover or smaller suv, like Nissan Rogue, but they were all big gas consumers. Then when i went on the Mazda website, i saw the Mazda 5 ad saying that it's the most economical in its class. After buying the car, i can say that the exterior was exactly what i was looking for and I've been saving a lot of money on gas. Great car!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Mazda CX-5

Trim: GS
by sodevi on 11-07-2012
Good so far!
I love the car. I've had it for 6 months now. The fuel economy is exagerated but it's still great. I've averaging 8.4L per 100km The only downside to this car so far is it's under powered. I guess if you want fuel economy you have to sacrifice something.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Mazda CX-5

by ChrisD on 10-28-2012
Mazda 5 - Great family vehicle
We have loved our Mazda 5. Drives great, pretty good on gas, nice interior features. The brakes are a bit noisy - that has been my only complaint. I definately recommend it for families.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Mazda CX-5

Trim: AWD GS
by Bloodmuse on 10-12-2012
Car of the year material, hands down.
Looks amazingly stylish, with great interior, reliability, best in class fuel economy. It is quite comfortable, with performance that belies its small engine. Mazda has really set the bar with SKYACTIV technology to provide a car that is fun to drive, yet great on gas. I bought this car with very little discounts / rebates and never regretted it (due to demand in Japan / US). Great value / features.

The CX-5 makes many of its competitors feel second rate. 100% highly recommended.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email