Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Kia Sorento 2002-2016Change

83 reviews
4.5/5
Kia Sorento
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2016
7 reviews
2011
24 reviews
2005
6 reviews
2015
3 reviews
2010
2 reviews
2004
6 reviews
2014
2 reviews
2008
2 reviews
2003
4 reviews
2013
7 reviews
2007
3 reviews
2002
1 review
2012
11 reviews
2006
5 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 60 reviews
1 23 >

2011 Kia Sorento

Trim: EX
by Ramona on 08-20-2015
Suprisingly Luxurious
Have had this car for a week now and am delightfully surprised at how comfortable, powerful and smooth driving this vehicle is.

The arm rest is a bit on the low side as I am short and have the seat raised up, this is very low on my concern level though.

Fuel mileage is really good on the highway, could be a bit better in the city.

So far so good! Not looking forward for winter but excited at driving this vehicle in the snow.

Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Kia Sorento

Trim: LX-V6
by nfssmith on 08-12-2015
Great initially, concerns about long-term durability
I owned a 2012 Sorento LX-V6 in spicy red. It was beautiful inside & out and the initial performance was excellent. There definitely is a lot of cheaper plastic in the interior but some nicer materials also. The V6 engine provided ample power but on my FWD-only model any slippery conditions were sketchy. I HATED the handling of this vehicle in an early season snowfall but once I'd installed good winter tires, the handling became generally adequate.

Over the three years I owned it, I had to have the front strut bushings replaced twice and the passenger seat heater, wiring harness & control switch replaced over 5 separate dealership visits. While this was all handled under the excellent warranty, they gave me major concerns about the long term durability of this vehicle once the warranty runs out.

I also found the brakes required more frequent service than I prefer and as usual the dealership wanted to perform more maintenance more frequently than the manufacturer recommends.

The push button start would occasionally fail to start the vehicle and would need to be stopped and re-tried after several seconds of cranking the engine without success.

The so-called "Smart Key" is a terrible design where the important part (with the buttons & the proximity sensors) can easily become detached from the keyring and lost.

Fuel economy was better than expected, ranging from 8.7 to 11l/100km depending on conditions & driving styles.

In the first year of ownership I was very happy with this vehicle (as was my wife who was the primary driver of this vehicle during that time) but over the 2nd and 3rd years as we approached the maximum warranty mileage, more frequent issues cast strong doubt over the long term price of ownership.

After 3 years I've happily traded this vehicle on a lower mileage Subaru Forester of the same age.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Kia Sorento

by John2653 on 06-25-2015
Great car while it lasted
I love my Sorento , I was so disappointed when the crank shaft pulley went ,the interior and exterior of the car was in great shape after 11 years the crank pulley went with 144000 kilometers the cost of repair was higher than its value, solid it for parts, broke my heart to see it go.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2016 Kia Sorento

Trim: SX 2.0T
by Hoser1 on 06-25-2015
No regrets so far
Only had it for 3 months, but it is proving to be a great purchase so far. Its competition was a Santa Fe and an RDX. I happen to like the styling of this new Sorento; from the side it reminds me of an MDX, which I would've really preferred, but I could not justify the additional $$$. Lots of features in the Sorento for the price. My wife and I are also very impressed with how quiet it is at steady-state highway cruise speed. The 2.0T engine has got lots of jump for prompt passing when necessary. We tried the V-6, and it was about the same passing performance, but we really didn't need the 3rd row (which also didn't help the MDX's case). The car magazine reviews are correct; the Sorento's 3rd row seat is only good for very small children, or people you don't like. The 5-seat SX also yields under-floor storage areas back there that the 7-seater does not have. Our other vehicle is a 2012 Golf GTI, and it's a tough decision sometimes as to which one leaves the garage first. One small gripe; after I drive the GTI, I realize that the Sorento's steering is a cut or 2 below that of the GTI. I get it; they are different vehicles, but once you seen Paris.......
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Kia Sorento

by Hussain_A on 10-29-2014
Its amazing in highways
this car is wonderful i like in the highways and its really comfortable to drive their is no worries that you can carry with you while you are driving
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2015 Kia Sorento

Trim: EX V6
by Springbok on 09-14-2014
Cannot fault anything
After looking at Mercedes, Toyota, Nissan, VW and Ford, Someone told me to take a look at the Kia Sorento. I did, and it put the rest to shame. For what I paid and for what I received, it makes you wonder how Kia do it - or perhaps the other brands are just ripping us off??? I honestly cannot fault anything. It's a $40,000 car that has all the extras and finishes of a $65K + vehicle. From the paint work, to the solidness of the doors, the leather heated steering wheel, panoramic sunroof, voice activated multimedia package, etc. I've always bought Mercedes, but I really could not justify an extra $30K just to have the Mercedes name. The service I have received also out shines that I get at Mercedes - which really surprised me. Perhaps the bigger names have become complacent??? Before buying your usual brand, I urge you just to have a look at what Kia has to offer. You'll kick yourself for not looking sooner.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Kia Sorento

by ReliableRide on 09-04-2014
It's a faithful ride winter or summer!
Quick start in winter temperatures. Didn't plug in until -30. Rides high over snow so rarely used the 4x4. Very peppy ride, it won't leave you in the dust.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Kia Sorento

Trim: LX
by VIC15223 on 08-06-2014
A powerful vehicle offering excellent value
The LX is a great midsize SUV with lots of power to pull large trailers or other toys. We used as a family vehicle until we needed 7 seats. Very happy with it, just need more space.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Kia Sorento

by gaddi-go-vroom on 08-01-2014
Best Affordable S.U.V.
- really spacious
- very smooth ride
- very cheap on gas
- very sleek looking exterior
- amazing interior design and trim
- minimal problems with engine/battery
- all rear seats drop for extra trunk space
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Kia Sorento

Trim: LX
by Kia9721 on 07-11-2014
2004 KIA SORENTO
This vehicle has been one good vehicle, it runs well, easy to maintain, and is actually better on gas than what the book determines. I have given this vehicle a 4+ rating because I would not hesitate to buy another one, in spite of some of the - reviews made by others.
I am to the belief that if you look after your vehicle and maintain same, it will look after you.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Kia Sorento

Trim: LX V-6
by GoBlue on 06-28-2014
watch out for falling sunroof
Overall experience with the vehicle is so so. The engine has decent power and the overall ride is not bad. I find the leather seats to be a little stiff and after a couple hours of driving they become uncomfortable.

At 18000 km the front half of the panoramic sunroof shattered and collapsed onto the interior cover while my wife was driving. They would not cover under warranty claiming they found a stone chip which is difficult to believe with the window being in a thousand tiny pieces. A little research led us to discover that the US government is investigating several similar complaints in the states and possible action against the company could be pending

There have been several recalls and service bulletins that are beginning to become annoying. We have since moved to an area that does not have a certified dealer and as such will not be purchasing another KIA when it comes to time to move on and probably wouldn't anyways
Overall
2.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2012 Kia Sorento

Trim: LX
by CarBuff1972 on 06-07-2014
Best Value for SUV
Sorento gives you more for Less. Very good road manners and does not handle like a big car. The 2.4L 4cyl engine has adequate pick off the line but you may opt for the V6 for quicker highway passing of Towing. Fuel economy is not bad for this size of a vehicle. avg 10.4L/100K combined driving. Happy that it takes regular fuel. Inerior is very roomy and comfortable.Lots of Standard features like Bluetooth and XM radio, Heated front seats, LED turn signals in the mirrors, heated mirrors, Reverse Sonar warning system, Hight adjustable Drivers seat etc. Some worry about the Kia Brand
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Kia Sorento

Trim: LX
by Moshy on 06-02-2014
Excellent all season vehicle
Great for all climates..especially useful in bad weather conditions (AWD).
Great touring our utility vehicle
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Kia Sorento

Trim: LX
by HAPCHAP on 01-29-2014
WHAT A FANTASTIC SUV, I love it !!!!
Such a smooth comfortable ride... handles like a dream, SO MUCH FUN TO DRIVE.... I feel like I can zip around as if driving a small car, but with all the benefits of all the larger SUVs or trucks I have had in the past ! Seats all 5 psngrs very comfortably ! loads of room for storage, shopping trips , moves.... has great pick up, and the GAS MILEAGE IS AWESOME !
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Kia Sorento

Trim: LX
by kia7901 on 01-28-2014
It is a Fantastic Vehicle !
This is one of my all time favorite vehicles..... Smooth Comfortable ride, with excellent gas mileage ! Loads of room for everyone... handles perfectly, all weather ! Solid and Powerful !
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Kia Sorento

Trim: EX
by ma5777 on 01-26-2014
KIA Sorento 2004
It is a Reliable car with Excellent Driving Condition. Bought it from a dealership and maintained it very well.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Kia Sorento

Trim: 4DRSW
by 410 on 10-19-2013
Great vehicle! Pleasure to drive.
Very responsive SUV. Also own an Equinox and I find the Kia easier to handle. Good on gas, quiet ride, easily seats five adults plus has capacity to hold seven adults.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Kia Sorento

Trim: LX
by Kia5435 on 09-01-2013
Big and spacious Kia Sorento really confortable.
I feel serene when I drive it.
Very comfortable when I drive on long distance.
When I make shopping, I find space for every things.
I love it.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2014 Kia Sorento

Trim: SX
by Lloydace on 09-01-2013
A Fabulous car!
For the price of a Ford Escape Titanium, you get a mid sized SUV optioned equivalent to a $60,000 Lexus/Acura. The V6 is smooth and quiet contributing to the ambience of luxury. An extremely good value, with two more years warranty than most (American) cars.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Kia Sorento

Trim: SX V6
by Riccpassat on 08-28-2013
Awesome handling
This KIA SORENTO has been awesome. Smooth, powerful and all the luxuries possible.
Kia is a reliable car manufacturer with great engineering.
Test drive it today and see for yourself.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Kia Sorento

Trim: LX
by kia7901 on 08-25-2013
Its a terrific ride
Always handles wonderfully , fantasic SUV....so comfortable, Best I have had ! now kids have grown and moved out, and we are just downsizing...
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Kia Sorento

Trim: LS
by Stefanii on 08-22-2013
Kia Sorento - Excellent condition, ready to go!
I was shocked how well this car drove. Really smooth and enjoyble ride. I had this car only for 3 months. Bought it from my father in law to travel during winter. Turns out I bought a newer vehicule, therefore this one has to go. Safetied and e-tested in May.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Kia Sorento

by Rusty on 07-29-2013
The Worst Car I Ever Owned
I have been driving for forty years and by far this is the worst car I ever owned. I had noises coming from the front end from day one. The paint started to pit in the front end. I contacted Kia about my problems and they totally ignored me. If you buy a Kia you are totally on your own. They seem to try and sell cheap cars but if you have a problem, it is your tough luck. IF YOU BUY A KIA .....YOU WILL BE SORRY
Overall
2.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2006 Kia Sorento

Trim: EX AWD 3.5L V6
by Audi_GWW on 07-29-2013
Dependable
My 2006 Kia Sorento EX got me through some rough road conditions safely and comfortably, time and time again. This car isn't the best on gas, but it certainly is a comfortable ride, high performance, and just a great SUV in general.
Take your friends to the beach in it, go on long road trips, throw several sets of golf clubs in the back, take it off-roading! I would recommend this car to anyone.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Kia Sorento

Trim: EX
by Kia4255 on 07-27-2013
Very impressed with this SUV.
I've owned 4 Mercedes, a BMW and a number of other luxury cand sports cars...this vehicle is as good as them all. I LOVE it!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 23 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email