Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Hyundai Veloster 2011-2014Change

21 reviews
4.5/5
Hyundai Veloster
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2014
3 reviews
2012
9 reviews
2011
1 review
2013
8 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews

2013 Hyundai Veloster

Trim: Tech Package
by Madzia on 06-10-2014
Comfort and Style in One
This car is a maximum comfort car that allows for you to save on gas and drive in style. Whether you enjoy the comfort of a family car or a sports car, this is the car for you,
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Hyundai Veloster

Trim: Tech
by VelosterRaptor on 12-21-2013
velosterRaptor
This car has been awesome, only reason for selling is related to work demands. Unbelievable on gas and fun to drive. Anyone who wants a sporty look without the expensive price of fuel this is the car for you.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Hyundai Veloster

Trim: Tech
by review3260 on 07-24-2013
Looks Cool and Great on Fuel
We wanted a fuel efficient car with style !

The Veloster , is both with some awesome features..
Panoramic Sun roof, lots of new technology and a Great looking interior.
Fun to drive , not a race machine but it looks fast standing still
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Hyundai Veloster

Trim: Turbo
by Glen_Becker on 04-22-2013
Fun & Sporty
This car is fun to drive. It has a lot of pep and gets off the line quickly due to it's low curb weight and 200 horsepower. It also has tremendous brakes and stops very well. The tech package is great, with a rear backup camera, USB port, audio port, bluetooth connectivity, satellite radio, GPS, traction and stability control, and ABS. I bought the automatic, and it has a "sport" mode that keeps the engine in the sweet spot. You can also shift with the steering wheel paddle shifters. The keyless entry and start is very convenient and allows you to keep your key in your pocket (or purse). I really enjoy driving this car and look forward to every commute. It's my third new Hyundai and so far it has proved to be as reliable and well-built as my previous cars, a Sonata and an Elantra.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Hyundai Veloster

Trim: Tech Package
by Veloster on 03-30-2013
Beautiful Car that gets great gas milage
Most people that see this car think that it is a German or Italian exotic. Lots of compliments on the appearance.

Car gets great gas milage.

So far extremely reliable.

My daughter used this car for commuting to University. I felt very comfortable that she was safe in this car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Hyundai Veloster

by Rebbekka on 03-26-2013
8 month owner - not the Turbo model
Took ownership in July 2012 and purchased new. Have had ECO mode on since then. Fuel economy is nowhere near what was rated - 2009 Elantra was better. Have rec'd $26 in compensation for 6K km through Hyundai's program to date.
After 5K km there is a short metalic tinging noise from transmission during stops and starts. Hyundai says this is normal.
Tires are horrid. Ensure you change to snow tires before he first drop otherwise car will not do well. Traction control however does work well to compensate.
Salesman claimed that underbody clearance is same as Accent but I feel that is untrue. Car got stuck on top of a snowbank that a neighbour's Accent cleared.
Takes long for heater to kick in - and then it is super hot! They need a setting between 0 and 1 or to regulate the temperature better.
Look is great. Standard extras are great. Pick-up is slow with ECO and not Turbo but decent. Drove well for a long drive +200km that I took on day of delivery.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
3 out of 4 found this review helpful.

2013 Hyundai Veloster

by tazzzz on 03-07-2013
Awsem car have problem with suspension very tight suspension
i love the size but the suspension is too tight to give a sporty feeling but not good when go somewhere with bad road.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Hyundai Veloster

Trim: Turbo
by Glen_Becker on 02-17-2013
Fun, Sporty & Sexy
I have had a lot of fun driving the Turbo Veloster. At a claimed 200 HP, this light, little car launches impressively and easily from a stop, and accelerates nicely on the highway when the turbo kicks in. The car handles well, although the ride is a bit stiff and not built for comfort. I am only 5'8" and I have to fold myself in to the car a bit, so it's not made for tall people. The tech model I have has all the goodies, including built in GPS navigation, USB ports, A/C outlet, satellite radio, heated seats and mirrors, 1500 W stereo with MP3 and bluetooth so it can play the music off my phone wirelessly, as well as allow me to make calls with a touch of a button on the steering wheel. The rear cam is essential for safe backing, as the car has a few blind spots due to its design. I bought the automatic, and it is nice to drive, but you can slip it in to "Sport" mode and use the paddle shifters for a more satisfying romp through the twisties. It brakes impressively well, and the car comes with ABS, electronic stability control, and traction control. You can turn the traction control off if you prefer, but it will come back on the next time you start the car. In all, I like the car. This is my third new Hyundai, and I am still impressed by their value and quality.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
4 out of 4 found this review helpful.

2013 Hyundai Veloster

by Car4241 on 01-21-2013
A really nice car.
A really great car from the outside and inside. Looks great all around, and drives great. A bit short in the back seats, but maybe it's just my height. Otherwise it's a great car.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2012 Hyundai Veloster

by lilpixielaura on 01-15-2013
Unique and fuel efficient
The Veloster is a great little car, ideal for short commutes and city driving. The base model is fully loaded with a rear back up camera, rims, key-less ignition, Bluetooth, cruise control, AC, power locks and windows. The only noticeably missing feature is automatic lights. My Veloster doesn't even beep if you leave the lights on once the car is off. Strange but I've tried to be vigilant.

As for performance, the engine is very small and there isn't a whole lot of power. There is an eco drive feature that saves on gas but sacrifices pick up. I assume that would come in handy on a long drive but it is tough to accelerate quickly in traffic.

Overall, I like my Veloster and it was well worth purchasing it compared to similar models in the same price range.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Hyundai Veloster

Trim: Turbo
by Alex1969 on 12-05-2012
It is an excellent upgrade to the Hyundai Lin up
Great vehicle, deceivingly roomy, great interior. The suspension needs to be improve in order to maximize the handling capabilities. The 5 speed transmit ion is the way to go, the turbos lag is less noticeable and pickup is excellent. In 6 gear in the hwy the car's moves.
$55 approximate to fill the tank up with premium although unnecessary it doesn't break the bank and you get 580 km.
Overall great car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
3 out of 3 found this review helpful.

2012 Hyundai Veloster

Trim: Base
by Bones5813 on 11-22-2012
My Veloster
I really enjoy the handleing. Tight around corners, quick and responsive. Happy that it comes with heated cloth seats and push button start. I wish it was a little more peppy but they fixed that when they came out with the turbo. I have a standard trans and the gearbox is very smooth but it still lets you now your in the gear. Over all I couldn't be happier.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Hyundai Veloster

Trim: Turbo
by Esmond on 11-14-2012
Solid feature-laden car lacking character
PROS:
- comfortable, sporty, and supportive seats
- lots of features for the money
- interesting styling
- decent power and driveability
- solid feeling structure; confident in its reliability
- good shifter and clutch action; easy to drive manual tranny

CONS:
- lacks character for a vehicle with such distinctive styling
- interesting styling
- does not feel as sporty as it looks - by far
- handling is only average/mediocre; not sporty

Summary:
- a better over-all car than the Fiat 500 Abarth, but needs a heavy does of character and sport
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Hyundai Veloster

by auraura9 on 11-13-2012
Great for city and highway
I have had this car since June 2012 and love it! Great fuel economy on the highway and in the city. Love the backup camera and fuel range. Lots of storage in the deep hatchback and the third door is very handy! Having a centre cupholder in the backseat is also great for the passengers.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Hyundai Veloster

Trim: black
by goaty on 11-12-2012
fun to drive
it was good on gas and very fun to drive...i love the design and all the little bells and whistles that comes with even the lowest model...for the price its really a good deal
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Hyundai Veloster

Trim: 15
by iddi on 11-09-2012
Nice car
Very nice car for the ladies, convenient, comfortable, easy to drive, small enough for fuel consumption and big enough for the family. I really like it. Nice design and good security features.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Hyundai Veloster

Trim: Tech Package and Paddle Shifters
by Luna141 on 10-26-2012
Looks And Personality
I've had my Veloster for just over a year. Other owners smile and wave, people on the street turn and look. Its spirited, yet great on gas. The Tech Package, paddle shifters and Sirius/XM Radio make even a slow drive, fun! I fell in love with the pre-production model at a car show and feel the same way every time 'we' go out. Truly one of the best cars I've driven!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email