Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Hyundai Sonata 1999-2016Change

154 reviews
4.5/5
Hyundai Sonata
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2016
1 review
2010
10 reviews
2004
7 reviews
2015
6 reviews
2009
11 reviews
2003
2 reviews
2014
2 reviews
2008
9 reviews
2002
5 reviews
2013
12 reviews
2007
13 reviews
2001
2 reviews
2012
27 reviews
2006
10 reviews
2000
1 review
2011
26 reviews
2005
9 reviews
1999
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 127 reviews
1 2345 >

2007 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: GLS
by DL3558 on 08-10-2015
One of the best cars we have ever owned
We have owned this car for over 8 years & has been extremely dependable. Never stranded. Great fuel economy & good power for a 4 cyl engine with all power options & a/c. Would buy this model again without batting an eye if it fit our current lifestyle.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: GLS
by EDH on 05-21-2015
2013 Hyundai Sonata GLS
I have now owned 3 New Hyundai Sonata’s in a row (2008 GLS, 2010 Sport, and now 2013 GLS) and each one has been an improvement from the previous model. Hyundai produces great products for the money which are extremely reliable. I still have the 2008 GLS and it has over 140,000KM on it with one minor issue to date. Way more reliable then my Honda Accord ever was. The 2013 is more than powerful with 198hp, which makes this car a blast to pass with on the highway. It gets great mileage for a vehicle of its size (sometimes I get 6.8L/100 HWY!!). Not only do you get a fantastic 5year/ 100,000 KM warranty with these vehicles, but they are loaded with features when compared to their rivals. Heated front and rear seats, Bluetooth, steering wheel controls, sunroof, just to name a few. Also the styling is very unique; you have to get close to really appreciate the Sonata’s body lines. My 2013 Sonata now has 30,000Km on it and has been flawless. In a couple of years I will definitely be trading it in for another Sonata.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: SE
by Ezzo on 10-12-2014
Exceptional Driving
Beautiful car, Sport edition further adds to its already extraordinary design. Very smooth ride, once you are behind the wheel and on the highway you will feel how exceptional driving this car is. I really enjoy the way it drives.

gas consumption is amazing! definitely far better than any other car its size. In summer, I get 7.5 - 8 L/ 100 km on mixed city/ highway driving.

Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: Limited
by Roman321 on 08-23-2014
Love at first drive!!
This is by far the best car I have ever owned. It is a joy to get into it each day. I also love pre-warming it, by the click of a button, every morning in the winter, without leaving my house. In the summer the tan leather stays cool and it feels great to open the sunroof up and just drive. This car is as classy as it gets and drives like a magic carpet.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: GLS - With Leather
by Carlos20 on 08-08-2014
Excellent Fuel Economy and comfort interior
always rented this vehicle while traveling for business. Very roomy and comfortable. Lot's of space for 2 car seats in the back and great for family vehicle.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: Limited Edition
by Lianna67 on 08-04-2014
Reliable and Great on Gas
This vehicle has a lot of life left in it. Looks great and requires minimal maintenance. Hyundai has come a long way and the quality is reflected in their vehicles. Style and reliability all rolled into one car!!!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: limited plus nav
by Sonataltd2011 on 07-25-2014
A great ride
A very reliable and comfortable car, only selling cause we need a larger ride. Owned for 3 yrs and never had a problem,
Car handles like a sports car but has the roominess and cargo space one needs with a family.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: Standard
by Check on 07-17-2014
Feel very safe driving this car, solid.
My Aunt bought this car new, then I bought the car and have driven mostly in Vancouver and to Edmonton, great for road trips!
Loads of power. It's a great car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: GL
by carchap on 07-11-2014
RUST, RUST, RUST
My parents both bought 2013 Hyundai Sonatas last summer. They do look great, they are ok on fuel and they have enough power too BUT now, summer 2014 RUST one had rust on the trunk lid (just above the Sonata badge and a rust spot on the other side of the trunk lid too) The other one had rust on the inside of the trunk lid (visible rust spots when you open the trunk) all of this after just 1 winter. Plus both cars have been treated with anti rust (or whatever its called). Now with some arguing, Hyundai has accepted to remove the rust on certain areas for free but there still is rust and get this! On the chromed front plastic grille! And they say its not under warranty... Plus on one of the cars the front center armrest rattles when you hit bumps ( fixed it by tightening the screws) and on the other one the rear curtain airbag cover (i think) is vibrating on motorway speeds... I am being very very picky with this review tho... its still a great car for the money but it has little faults, mainly rust...
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: Limited
by car3617 on 06-27-2014
Great Gas Mileage
Best luxury car in it's class and drives smooth on the hwy. Great gas mileage and fantastic features!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: GL
by Hyu3507 on 05-05-2014
Great value for a used car.
The Hyundai line of cars are well built , reliable , economical to drive, excellent commuter car in a mid-size design, huge trunk space for a mid-size. They will easily give you years and years of driving service, as long as you keep up with regular maintenance service, I drove a 2006 Hyundai over a quarter million kilometers with only regular service costs involved no mechanical repairs ever needed. This is an excellent used car buy.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: GLS with Touring Package
by Hyundai_Sonata on 04-24-2014
Super Comfortable Ride
The Sonata delivers class-leading safety features, decent fuel economy, good handling and an incredibly spacious interior, if you're in the market for an affordable midsize car, you should consider the Hyundai Sonata
The 2007 Hyundai Sonata offers adequate power and handling, generous cabin space, many standard safety features and a warranty that is generally seen as leading its class. The 2007 Hyundai Sonata is "Recommended" by Consumer Guide. The Sonata is a great value. IntelliChoice gives the 2007 Sonata GLS a rating of "Excellent" for its predicted five-year total cost of ownership, compared to other vehicles in its class.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: GL
by percy on 03-24-2014
solid,stylish and economical
Its a beautiful family ride.mine one has around 90k on it and never had any problem just the regular maintenance .drives like a electric no noises at all.smooth n very comfortable.fuel economy is awesome m get around 9 liters/100kms in city and 6.9 liters/100km on highway
4 cyl engine 2.4 liters have lots of power
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Hyundai Sonata

by Sandy0418 on 03-08-2014
very comfortable and spacious
very spacious and comfortable. many successful long drives/journeys undertaken. power steering, windows and lock. music output very good.

selling coz of increase in family size.. need a bigger vehicle.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Hyundai Sonata

by howard5561 on 02-06-2014
Smooth Ride
Smooth riding car, hugs the road nicely,with many power options, and abilitly for add-ons (eg satellite radio,bluetooth)
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: GL V6
by MIFWPC on 01-29-2014
Great commuter car
I've owned this car 5 months and so far I love it. I commute 2.5 hours round trip on rural Ontario highways. This car is in its element. The V6 is not sporty but smooth and gets you up to speed with no drama in little time. The suspension is also not sporty and while a little floaty it is comfortable for the long drive. Its a great commuter car with great storage spaces all within easy reach, heated seats, and an iPod connection that is very simple to use and can be controlled from the stereo and steering wheel (the radio has good sound as well). I'm 6'7" and this car is made for my height. The steering wheel is mounted nice and high so my legs don't bang into it and with the V6 GL there is an 8 way electronically adjustable seat without a sunroof (that's hard to find). This is a great car for winter driving. It starts well even in the cold without being plugged in, the seats are nice and toasty, it tracks well and is confident with snow tires even on snow packed roads over 80 KM/hr, and the ESC works wonderfully (worth going to the V6 for or going to the 2010). Fuel economy is a rough transition for me (I was driving a manual 05 echo hatchback before) but it seems pretty close to many other V6 cars this size and its a trade off. I don't know about reliability yet but if you are looking at the V6 make sure to budget for the spark plug change if it is coming due (they are in an awkward place and cost a lot to get changed). I needed an affordable (under $10 000), comfortable, safe, commuter car that could handle the snow belt and I have found it. Test drive it and you'll know pretty soon if its comfortable or not sporty enough for you.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: Limited V6
by Don-Ottawa on 01-20-2014
Amazing Performance
I have only 45,000 km on this car but so far no major issues. It seems a little hard on brakes but maybe that because it flies. The performance of the V6 coupled with the auto/manual transmission leaves everybody behind (it's a sleeper). It passes on the highway with no effort or drama. It is very comfortable. It would have been perfect if they has included hinged mirrors but regardless I love this car!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2002 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: GLS
by KellieR on 01-08-2014
Very Reliable Car!
Very reliable. Never worried about it not starting, even in the cold. Sleek, jaguar-ish look. Nice ride and did a number of BC road trips in it. Nice big trunk. Love the V6 in a car, you can feel the power! Pretty good on fuel.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: GL 2.4L
by MikefromOak on 01-05-2014
Very reliable car
I've had the 2008 Sonata for 5 years and 130,000 km. No repairs to powertrain needed in this time, besides scheduled maintenance.

The rear brakes wore out in about 30,000 km and I was told this is a somewhat common occurrence. I changed the pads and disks myself for about $120.

The car is comfortable and quiet. The build quality appears high. Its a "solid" feeling car.

Handling is OK; its not a sports car by any stretch but for a mid-size family car I feel confident on the highway.

I would buy a Hyundai again. Overall excellent value.



Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: SE
by DemoDerbyGuy on 12-31-2013
Best Bang for Your $$$
Great family sedan. Only issue is the wonky steering. I had to take it to the dealer to have them reprogram the electronic steering to make it stiffer for better hwy driving. Overall I'm pretty satisfied with my purchase.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: glx
by speedy9153 on 12-16-2013
surprisingly different
i got the v6 version of the 2003 hyundai sonata. i brought used the price was reason so i took it. it had 21700km at the time. to my surprise the V6 was not only powerful but was very good on gas. there were no rattles going over bumps and believe it or not this car was awesome drivng in snow handles like a honda civic but more powerful. i love the style looks like a baby jaguar xjs. overall it was a great car good job hyundai
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Hyundai Sonata

by dio on 11-18-2013
Amazing car
I am selling this car because I am moving out of Canada or I would have never sold it!
Because it is flawless.
It is very fuel economic. Only $79 for 1000 KM
It gives us a comfortable ride and drives smoothly. Very reliable and there is nothing to say unless you would test it!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: Premium GLS
by ABcarowner on 09-28-2013
Still enjoying this vehicle
Purchased new, now 7 years old with 180,000km on the V6. Comfortable to drive, peppy and handles 4 adult sized people well. Safe with airbags, ABS and Enhanced Stability Control. I get 7.5 - 8.0 l/100km on the highway and 10.5 - 11.0 l/100km around Calgary (40km daily commute round trip). However in a smaller city with numerous 5-6km trips mileage was only 13.5 - 15.0 l/100km. 4 cylinder would be better in smaller communities. Regular maintenance with only a couple surprises (ABS controller and exhaust manifold) post warranty. Rear central brake light bulb is very expensive to replace.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: GLX
by car2357 on 09-19-2013
a very good car
Good car the only problem is rust. No major problems with it. Very smooth drive and lots of space GLX has a nice feature set.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Hyundai Sonata

Trim: GLS
by Sri75 on 09-17-2013
Very smooth drive like new car
Regular car maintenance, New tires(changed in May), New Battery.
Interior Features
Air Conditioning, CD Player(Plays mp3 also), Cruise Control, Power Mirrors, Power Steering, Power Windows, Rear Defroster, Tilt Steering, Bucket Seats, Power Locks. Alloy Wheels,
Safety Features
Anti-Lock Brakes, Traction Control, Driver Air Bag, Passenger Air Bag, Security Alarm
Total Miles put on Car 62,220 (100133.38 KM).
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email