Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Hyundai Elantra 1996-2017Change

251 reviews
4.5/5
Hyundai Elantra
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2017
4 reviews
2010
20 reviews
2004
10 reviews
2016
3 reviews
2009
30 reviews
2003
15 reviews
2015
4 reviews
2008
14 reviews
2002
12 reviews
2014
2 reviews
2007
13 reviews
2001
5 reviews
2013
43 reviews
2006
16 reviews
2000
3 reviews
2012
35 reviews
2005
6 reviews
1996
1 review
2011
15 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 208 reviews
1 2345 >

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GL
by DrRoss on 05-09-2015
Nice to drive, comfort and convenience
Pretty roomy car with great technological advantages.

When I was looking for a new car a few years ago, my friend recommended Hyundai and I've been pretty happy with this car ever since. I'm a salesman so I especially like that I can talk on my mobile using the bluetooth and not worry about getting a ticket. The heated seats are great in the winter and having a place for my sunglasses is awesome. All in all a great car at low price.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2007 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GL
by Greg_2003 on 01-25-2015
Great driving-fuel efficient
This is the car for you!
Great driving car. Fuel efficient, yet good power on highway driving. Great city car, easy to park.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GT GL
by Autophile on 12-07-2014
Drives beautifully, hassle free
Handles very smoothly, feels safe and sold on road, yet has a sporty feel. Very good fuel consumption. Outstanding value. RELIABLE.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2000 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: Wagon
by HondaGeek72 on 11-23-2014
Fantastic No-Frills Car
We bought this car new in 2000. After 14 years, the engine is still in excellent condition. Fuel economy is much better than reported on-line. Plenty of power (135 HP) when the entire family is inside. We've gone to the east coast with this car and vacation in it every summer. Thank goodness for roof racks! Heat, A/C, cruise control, and power everything still work fine. Had some issues with rust - we did not rust proof it every year like we should have. Now we have a lot of rust spots. The suspension is now shot too, but after 14 years, that is expected. Very inexpensive to fix & maintain this car. I never want to get rid of it but now the catalytic converter is finally gone. After 14 years of beating this car like a rented mule, it might be time to finally put it out to pasture. I'm sure the engine still has another 100,000km in it. It is now at 230,000km.
Ratings: interior and exterior styling are boring. The wagon is SO handy. No need for a mini-van. The performance is better than most American cars in the same class (ie Chevy Cavalier), but not as good as a Honda Civic.
Overall: Very practical, reliable, inexpensive to operate and maintain.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: Limited
by 2013_Elantra on 10-30-2014
Best selling car for a reason!!!
Great vehicle, very smooth ride and really fuel efficient. Drives like a luxury sedan! Definitely worth test driving.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2010 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: Sport
by LuvHyundai on 10-07-2014
Love this car
This car is great, looks nice, cheap to operate, very reliable and comfortable. Fun car to drive. Handles well.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GT GL
by cdnlad75 on 09-14-2014
Great looks....Horrible to Drive.
I am rather shocked by the rather 'good' reviews I am reading about this car after having one for 1 1/2 years and couldn't WAIT to get rid of it.

Lets start with the worst offender of all on this car.... the suspension, although specifically the rear suspension. I have never driven a car that had a suspension that would crash and take bumps so poorly. The issue mainly is the rear torison beam suspension that is terribly calibrated and skips and jumps whenever one side of the car hits a pothole or bump that the other side of the car does not. There were many times where I felt I was loosing control of the car because the whole rear end would 'shake' upon one side of the car hitting a pothole while the other one didn't. Invest in many bags of cat litter or sand to weigh down the rear suspension.

Now, although the rear suspension is horrible, the front is only somewhat better. The front end had issues of bouncing and sensations of the front end becoming 'disconnected' from the road.

Next is the lifeless steering. If you want a car that transmits nothing through the steering wheel as to what the front wheels are doing, then this is the car for you. The turning circle is wide for this class and you need to take wide swings to get into tight parking spots.

Lastly, the front seats. I had horrible time and spend weeks trying to find a somewhat comfortable driving position because I just couldn't get the correct back seat angle, seat distance from the wheel and steering wheel reach.

The positives with this car, the 5 year warranty, the voice recognition is good, and it was reliable for the 1 1/2 years I owned this car.



Overall
3.0
Comfort
1/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GT - GLS
by CPF on 09-12-2014
Excellent sporty car
The elantra GT is a very versatile car, sporty, fun to drive, yet economic in gas. The hatch back configuration gives plenty of options for cargo, passengers, or a combination. The power adjustable driver seat is extremely comfortable. The selectable steering mode allows you to drive the car in comfort, normal, or sporty mode. It looks good, behaves good, drives, excellent and is very economic.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Hyundai Elantra

by MexicoDee on 08-28-2014
Best Car we ever owned
We like this vehicle so much we have two of them - bought our first one in 2007 and our second one in 2010. Would not hesitate to buy another nor to recommend it to family.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: SE
by Miran4655 on 08-26-2014
Hyundai Reliability!
Purchased a used 1994 Hyundai Elantra before this one and it was a great compact car! That is why I decided to purchase this 2006 Elantra brand new. It has served me well over the years but now I need something larger.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GL comfort
by ShaiSmai on 08-13-2014
Best car I've owned so far
I got a good deal on this car 5 years ago. The car has been great. Once it's out of warranty don't take it to the dealer. They'll try to sell you expensive replacement parts that you can do without. Other than that I have no issues. I'd recommend it to anyone that needs a compact car on a budget.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GT
by Qualin on 08-02-2014
A great commuter car
This car is perfect in every sense of the word. It has sporty suspension, sporty steering and is very comfortable to drive.

My only beef with this vehicle is that I wish they had included the 2.7 Litre Hyundai Tiburon engine as an option for this car. It would have given it more pep and made it more lively on the highway.

Average fuel economy was around 11L/100km in the city and about 7L/100km on the highway, slightly worse than advertised.

Another weak point was the radio reception, which once replaced with a conventional DIN unit, made up the shortfall. The speakers are very good with an aftermarket unit.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GT
by Central-Alberta on 07-09-2014
Super Economical Hatchback
With the leather heated seats and being mistaken for a Saab this car definitely feels like a step up for an economy car. Easy & fun to drive, incredible mileage, room to haul stuff and inexpensive to maintain. Would recommend to anyone wanting an economical and reliable vehicle that's not too small.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: L
by SBibbey on 07-03-2014
Have Loved Every Moment!
This is the first brand new vehicle I've ever driven, I treated her like gold! It is with a sad heart that I have to let her go, but life happens. She's been such a reliable car and hope we can find her a great home soon! :)
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GT SE Technology Package
by Nicolas-N on 06-29-2014
Elantra GT 2013
This car has been great since I purchased brand new last year from the dealer.
Never had an issue with it.
I love the 6 speed automatic transmission, is very useful now that you can change it to "manual" whenever your feel like it and enjoy the feeling of the shifts.
The heated seats are awesome in the winter time and the Bluetooth hands free is also great for when you're on the road.
The power panoramic roof is my the best feature of the car so far. It gives the car a very stylish look from the inside when you have company.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GL
by Car8562 on 06-06-2014
Beautiful Vehicle For Sale!!!
This is a very nice vehicle to drive, very smooth driving and a good size for any family. This vehicle has been undercoated, the Diamond Kote shine put on the vehicle and seats scotchguarded and mats and carpet sprayed as well. Accessories have been added to the hood, and all four windows of the vehicle to prevent rocks from chipping and to make the vehicle sporty looking. A great car for a family to drive!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: L
by NKAT88 on 04-29-2014
Very Reliable, Fuel efficient, Safe, and Well built for everyday driving
Perfect car for daily driving. Very reliable vehicle with 100% proven track record.

If you're looking for a fuel efficient car with a reliable track record to add - then this is the car for you.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Hyundai Elantra

by Best_Value_car on 04-17-2014
Best Value
Great for a student or someone looking for a basic car.
Amazing on gas and the heated seats are a bonus!
You will really enjoy driving this car , in great condition with no rust and comfortable seating.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GLS
by jdaniel on 04-13-2014
Great family car
Having only one child this car was more that we bargain for.
Reliable, great stability, secure and fuel efficient.
It looks sharp and feels well made (nothing to envy to a Volkswagen Golf material) a lot of soft touch material unlike Toyota's plastic interior.

The capacity of its trunk surpasses Mazda 3 or Fords Focus (Those brands were our first choice)

Incredible amount of basic features like driver power seat,

It;'s not a 5 doors version of the Elantra Sedan (the only similar is the name). its another chasis altogether based on the European i30 hatchback.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: Limited
by CrowchildBob on 04-05-2014
Great Value, Nice looks
Ultra Reliable vehicle, Great Gas Mileage. I get under 6.5/L 100Km combined. Was Consumer's Car of the year for 2012, and I can see why. Car is peppy but your not going to win many races except to see who goes the furthest on a tank of gas. I bought a 2014 Santa Fe, This is our 4th Hyundai. I will not go back to Mercedes or Toyota again.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GLS
by SOORAJ on 03-30-2014
Great car for small family
This car is very economic.Stylish interior and exterior.A very good car for small family.The quality of interior looks good. soft plastics used for dash board.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2007 Hyundai Elantra

by heatw on 03-08-2014
Excellent Car
Drove this car all the way to British Columbia and back to the East coast! Bought this car in February 2012! And the only things I had to replace were 4 tires; 2 lightbulbs ; oil changes; and 2 wipers! Earlier, I owned a Ford Escort (rust bucket); a Saturn Ion and found that this Elantra is the best of the 3!!! When I drove back in the winter time from BC, had to drive very treacherous roads in Ontario. About 200 kms of snow/ice covered roads. The car handled very good on icy down hill roads. For now on, if I have to get a new car, Im going to get an Elantra!!!!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GL
by 525 on 01-28-2014
Luxury for Reasonable Price
This car is a joy to drive, rides smoothly and is very economical (eco button). I love having the car starter and the heated seats have been very much appreciated this winter. I have had no mechanical problems. Having 24 hour roadside assistance gives me peace of mind even though I have had no need for it. The extended warranty is up to 120 km or 80 months.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Hyundai Elantra

by Eric1807 on 01-26-2014
Great car
I have driven many Hyndai since 1995 and the small compagny came a long way since the stellar excell i would by another Hyndai for my future car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Trim: GLS
by Pat9009 on 01-16-2014
Awesome car!
A great car for both city and highway driving. Fun and responsive yet great on gas. Drive it and fall in love!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email