Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

GMC Terrain 2010-2017Change

52 reviews
5/5
GMC Terrain
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2017
3 reviews
2013
3 reviews
2011
11 reviews
2016
1 review
2012
16 reviews
2010
13 reviews
2014
5 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 37 reviews
1 2 >

2011 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLE-2
by gherna1 on 08-01-2015
So good as to leading me to get a 2015 Denali.
Very reliable. Only pet peeves are:
Infrequent 'Engine' light warnings that turned out to be false alarms. About six times in four years.
Front roof pillars are too THICK/wide and take up too much from viewing area to the sides of driver, especially during turns.
Power locks/windows button depressions/cavities on driver side door arm rest are too small for a man's fingers, and ESPECIALLY so during winter time, when most of us wear gloves.
Other than that, I'm really pleased with the vehicle's performance, handling, and fuel economy.
Areas of improvement: Better road noise reduction. Outer side rear view mirrors should have smaller, convex, mirrors for a better viewing of surrounding traffic.
It would be nice to have blinker lights on exterior of same mirrors, for the benefit of other drivers.
Overall satisfaction: I'm very pleased with this car.
I just bought a 2015 Denali AWD with a 2.4L engine.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLE 2 AWD
by RicW on 02-13-2015
Great Car
Great comfort for long drives, conveniences for all passengers, reliability. Great appearance, stable driving, corners well. Will buy again
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLT
by lovely_car_ever on 10-18-2014
best car
It's perfect when you driving out. Great view, comfort seat.
If you like, the car could be filled by diesel. Is that great for this economy?
There is a lot of space in car and the back seat can be move around 10cm, to bring the back more space.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 GMC Terrain

by elizabeth6722 on 10-06-2014
Great on Gas
Can't believe this cars fuel economy plus how much space it has. Very reliable never had a problem with it. Love this vehicle!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLT-1
by Richard-Terrain on 03-24-2014
one of best i ever owned
The only problem I had with the Terrain was with the tires it came with. I have replaced them now ...much better
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLT1
by Isabelle1983 on 01-05-2014
AMAZING RIDE!!!
This is by far the best vehicle I've ever driven. It took awhile to accept that I should sell it. It handles amazing, felt very safe driving it, the interior is very durable yet comfortable and classy. The fuel mileage I got with it was nothing short of amazing. I'm sure you'll enjoy it as much as I did! :)
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 GMC Terrain

by kdmb3 on 11-15-2013
Lemon!
I bought it used in April and something new breaks practically every month! First a front bearing, then the rear wiper, rust on the bottom of each front door, driver seat lumbar, rear tail light, left turn signal shorts out, stabilitrac light goes on and off, now the engine light is on, runs rough and runs on after you take the key out. Called the dealer regarding the letter I got for the issue with the chrome layer on the balance chain pins and the fuel pump plunger shaft seal & the technician said it didn't sound bad enough yet, it is a big job to fix so wait until it gets worse!!!! Worst purchase ever!
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2011 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLE1
by noreen on 11-11-2013
AMAZING FAMILY CAR
I had a very nice experience with this car nice ride fuel efficient most of that its a nice family car. I love it.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLE
by Frankie on 08-14-2013
GMC Terrain
Excellent versatility, and performance from this little SUV. I was suprised with the power output for the 4 cyl. Direct Injection makes this possible, along with greater fuel efficiency. Great job GM!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLT 2
by Eddiehenaine on 05-31-2013
It's a fantastic car
Slik look, feels like a German car with American engine. Very reliable and excellent on fuel consumption especially on high way.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 GMC Terrain

Trim: Denali V6
by Terrainowner17 on 04-03-2013
Love it!
My husband and I just bought a new 2013 V6 GMC Terrain Denali with all the extras (except the rear dvd players) and we're so pleased. We love the "truck" look and style of the exterior and can't say enough positive things about the amazing denali interior. We also love the navigation and On-Star. Handling is great, and the ride is super smooth. The V6 engine allows us to tow comfortably and give us enough power to zoom up steep hills. If I could suggest one area for improvement it would be the gas mileage. It's not bad, and granted we are still breaking in the vehicle, but it costs about $85CAN to fill the tank and only lasts for about 450 kms with city driving. We're hoping once it breaks in it will be a bit better. I highly recommend the Terrain, but if you commute, you may want to go for the 4 cylinder. I don't regret my V6 purchase at all, but if I had to commute it might get a bit expensive.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2010 GMC Terrain

by Anti on 03-27-2013
Impressed!
This was my first BIG purchase...and I couldn't be happier with my choice! Spacious, great mileage, comfy, and looks fabulous!

My favourite part of the whole vehicle would have to be the rear-view camera - it makes reverse parking a breeze! (And ANY help is appreciated!)
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 GMC Terrain

by leyleyley on 03-16-2013
Not good on saving fuel
The car itself is very nice and detailed. but because it uses so much fuel, i have to spend more than what i should be spending. Some trips have to use a full tank even though some might only use 3/4 of theirs. This is why i do not recommend it to others
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLE
by akki_sky on 02-28-2013
Very nice for its class
The car gives very good fuel economy for its class. It is quite spacious from inside. Very comfortable during long drive. Just have some issues with the quality I think like I got a internal crack on the passenger window due to the car parked outside and it was winter. Not good..
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 GMC Terrain

by Karthi on 02-09-2013
Excellent Drive, stability and spacious
This is one SUV for all your needs, it has a good interior space, loads of features and good stability. Would suggest it to anyone who would be driving long distances. Its very comfortable and has a decent fuel economy.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLE
by Terrainguy on 02-09-2013
Excellent Value, Sporty Feel and a Head-Turner!
I bought my 2012 Terrain AWD 4 Cyl. 2 weeks ago, brand new. I have already put over 4000 kms. on it, as my job requires me to travel all over the province of Ontario. Yesterday I completed my first major trip- from Toronto to Windsor (and everywhere in-between) and then back to Toronto, in the midst of the biggest snowstorm of the season. This vehicle is FANTASTIC in the snow. While plenty of other vehicles were getting stuck, the AWD with sensi-trak pulled through and never made me second guess the ability to get through, and fuel economy- WOW! There is still half a tank of gas in it- after driving 400 kms! This thing has exceeded my expectations, and as for fuel economy on the highway it is exceptional. City driving, it pigs a bit more than I expected, however its a big vehicle for a 4 cyl. However after owning the sports car with the V8, having an SUV with a V6, oddly I do not find this truck uder-powered at all- it has far more get-up-and-go then my Ford Explorer 2 door with the V6 and uses half the fuel! Perfect car for an on the road salesperson! Lots of space, amazing ride, super quiet interior when barreling down the highway at 120 and the bluetooth handsfree phone is clear as a bell for the driver and the person on the other end. Its boxy chunky exterior and beautiful blinged out chrome accents really turn a lot of heads and get a lot of compliments- even when you're sitting at red lights! For Toronto's unpredictable weather and unpredictable traffic.... this truck is a treat! I just love this vehicle!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2010 GMC Terrain

by LTonellato on 02-02-2013
I love my terrain
I love the ride in my terrain and I love the styling of the front end design....it feels like I am driving a truck with the comfort of a car.

The only drawbacks I have found are a couple of blind spots including where the windshield meets the side windows the framework is too big and sometimes when you come to an intersection and you are stopping and the opposing traffic isn't, if they are in the right spot you almost proceed and then catch yourself and same at the back sides.

I am used to driving an extended van so sometimes I wish I had a little more back end space.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 GMC Terrain

Trim: silver
by zacharious on 01-24-2013
its a great suv to drive
it is an amazing suv to own the handling is great the fuel is awesome. all my friends love it. and so do my children. i love the design. i just love everything about it.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 GMC Terrain

by gmcterrain on 01-21-2013
Very good fuel economy!
I was surprised to see my Terrain needing gas twice in a 9 hour trip from N.-B. to Montreal! Good part is that the ride was also smooth and I was sitting in a nice comfortable seat. And with my heating seat, going to Montreal became something I wouldn't bother to do in winter.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLT2
by The_Chirkuts on 01-16-2013
Our Terrain
Absolutely Love This Vehicle!! It has an abundance of features for style, performance & safety! The lane departure & front-end collsion warning systems and amazing!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLE-2
by PlatinumMatt on 01-15-2013
Love our GMC Terrain
We switched from a 2010 Santa Fe (that Hyundai had to buy back through the CAMVAP program because it was a lemon) to a 2012 GMC Terrain and we LOVE it.

It's super quiet, smooth ride, tons of features, awesome stereo (got the Pinoeer upgrade) and it's great on gas. We haven't had a single issue with it so far.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLE
by Sau on 01-14-2013
Concerns about oil and rust on my Terrain
I took my Terrain to a garage to get the oil changed to find out it had very little oil, which did not even register on the dipstick. I have heard there were others having problems with oil burning with these vehicles. I just want to know if there is anyone else experienceIng these problems? I had my vehicle in last year as the lift gate handle had rust coming from it, the colour is silver and you can see it very well. I am going to take it back to the garage because the rust is back, I know we live in Canada where they sald the roads like there is no tomorrow, but I don't think a 2 year old vehicle should have rust coming from it.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2014 GMC Terrain

by beverliemaloney on 01-10-2013
looks good
very comfortable--looks so elegant--good on gas and has a camera in the back that shows up in the rear view mirror whenever you are backing up--very useful.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 GMC Terrain

by TerrainMama1 on 01-01-2013
Love my Terrain!
I love my Terrain. Size, styling, reliability...it has it all! A perfect family vehicle. Fuel economy is good for the size of the vehicle. Love the driver seat adjustment and the flexibility of access to room in the back. When we were looking for a new vehicle my husband wanted to get a truck, because we were doing lots of renos. With the flexibility of room in the back we have no problems getting things home from the hardware store. Love it!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 GMC Terrain

Trim: SLE
by terrain on 12-31-2012
Its an awesome car.
I have owed this car for almost a year and it never let me down, its great on gas, great interiour and it looks good from th outside.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email