Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

GMC Safari 1994-2007Change

25 reviews
4/5
GMC Safari
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2007
1 review
2002
1 review
1998
5 reviews
2005
1 review
2001
2 reviews
1997
2 reviews
2004
1 review
2000
5 reviews
1996
2 reviews
2003
2 reviews
1999
2 reviews
1994
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-24 of 24 reviews

1998 GMC Safari

Trim: Safari Passenger
by GMC2316 on 06-20-2015
It's bigger than a Honda
This is an excellent highway vehicle it has been oil sprayed to help keep the rust down to a minimum
Parts have been replaced when needed
This vehicle has been reliable since I purchased it in 06.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 GMC Safari

Trim: Safari Passenger gray
by Ajamontreal on 08-22-2013
great reliable passenger van
Drove across country from Vancouver, great for road trips, lots of room! Heavy duty vehicle, can haul a lot of weight. Handles really well in Montreal winters.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1998 GMC Safari

Trim: SLT
by sebasadam on 08-17-2013
Good Van very strong
This is a great van if you have kids or you need the towing capacity or you just want the roomy vehicle as you need to fit plywood sheets in your vehicle regularly although the bad point would be the fuel economy. It's definitely not the greatest if you don't need that much room and you just want to save on fuel. I really enjoyed it it drives very smooth, it's very comfortable and luxurious for the year. Great family vehicle.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1994 GMC Safari

by markandmona on 05-21-2013
Reliable transportation
Reliable and great for hauling passengers and cargo. Over the years only minor work done such as brakes, alternator etc.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 GMC Safari

by GMC7762 on 03-14-2013
it is ok from a-b
it was good till it broke down. had it for at least ten years before it did break down though. it was able to help me do y groceries and take y son to and from day care. i was also able to travel to and from work and school in that van.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 GMC Safari

Trim: Safari Passenger
by dabull61 on 03-12-2013
Great Passenger and Work Van
This van has worked great for me in not just moving passengers around but also tour carry my tools and some materials around for work. Has never let me down. AWD is awesome for them winter months when you need to get somewhere and don't have to worry about getting stuck in the snow.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 GMC Safari

Trim: Safari Passenger SLT
by BigRed9129 on 03-06-2013
Largest Minivan ever made
It has been a great people and cargo mover. You can put 7 people and all their luggage in the van or 4 guys, golf clubs and luggage for a week and there is still room left over. No effort at all to tow my 18' I/O boat and you hardly feel you are towing anything. Has been very reliable for 9 years and we were never stranded anywhere. You only have to take out the back seat to transort a stove or fridge which we have done a few times. Have put a queen size bed on the roof rack and driven across the 401 at highway speeds and it was easy to forget the bed was even there. It has been a great vehicle for us but it is time to move on and it will be missed.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1997 GMC Safari

by steamer164 on 02-27-2013
its a great car
been threw many incidents with this car, and have had my pleasure of times with this car as well. i have lots of fun with this and it is a good people mover and a good wood mover as well
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 GMC Safari

Trim: Safari Cargo
by waynetty on 02-08-2013
A Real Work Horse!!
This is the cargo van. It holds a lot of stuff and is really good on gas. Even pulling a trailer it rides great. There have been no motor problems at all. It starts great and hauls every thing I need it to. The body has a bit of rust but otherwise it is very good too.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 GMC Safari

Trim: Safari Passenger
by racingbum on 02-02-2013
Driving in Luxury
I have Owned 3 GMC Safari the comfort level is great fuel ecconmy depends on the person driving the faster you drive the more gas you will consume. overall if Gm still made the Safari i would buy another one in a heart beat
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2000 GMC Safari

by Cujosuzie on 01-15-2013
Affordable and Efficient
This car is great for many things but it also has many issues. First of all it is great for storage as it has a ton of space. It is also great if you have a lot of passengers, with 8 seats you can take a huge group of people. It is also great for towing trailers, with the proper hitch set you can tow most things with ease. This van combines the power of a truck with the space of a van. The one main downfall is its excessive fuel consumption. The GMC Safari uses a lot of fuel especially when you are towing and the costs starts to add up. Overall it is a very good van.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2000 GMC Safari

by Cujosuzie on 01-15-2013
Great Storage, Great Towing
If you are looking for a van with lots of storage area, towing power this is the van for you! Although the van is slightly top heavy which you can notice on windy days it is great for towing trailers, travelling with lots of friends or family and great for storage. Overall a very good van!
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1999 GMC Safari

Trim: Safari Passenger
by nighthawkess on 01-11-2013
Very Reliable and dependable. Starts always
This is my third safari van. Wouldn't drive anything else. It's great in gas for the size of the van. Can be used like a truck with the seats taken out. Has full size as a truck does when empty. (Without seats) Sometimes they seem to be known for the alternator to go in them, but for the most part that's the only complaint I have.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 GMC Safari

Trim: Safari Passenger
by NORM on 01-01-2013
it's a must own
I have had 2 astros, and the present safari, all consecutively.and have run all three for a minimum of 10 years.
overall, a great machine, reliable, dependable. lots of good storage for a family on the go. All three have given me more than 260,000 k's, before starting to use oil. the passenger seat up front is lacking a little in leg room and the driver's side has no heater vent. at - 30C the rest of the vehicle must be warm for the driver to be comfortable.overall maintenance costs have been very low / mile. the best winter tires I have found for this vehicle is the goodyear Blizzack . with quick response steering, it is good to have good rubber. Parking lot manueverability is superb with the low radius turning . if another model would have been still available, I would have bought in an instant. well done, engineers.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2000 GMC Safari

by nembatha on 12-15-2012
great van
goes forever never a problem I have one for sale if anyone wants one
lots of room good vortec engine and tranny
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1996 GMC Safari

by Theo on 11-30-2012
Sturdy and Reliable
Not the flashiest vehicle, but useful for active parents or anyone who needs a lot of space. Keep up with oil changes and maintenance, the car can last for a long time. Our model lasted well over 500,000 KMs.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 GMC Safari

Trim: Safari Passenger SLE AWD
by chris1643 on 11-29-2012
This vehicle has served us very well
We have owned this van for 10 years and it has served our needs very well. We used to pull a 10 foot fold down trailer for camping with gkids, and before that when we camped alone we took out the two rows of bench seats, put s sleeping pad on the floor and had lots of room. We are getting 26 mpg which is just as good as the new Subaru that we purchased. The reason for selling is we no longer haul gkids around and don't need that large a vehicle anymore. The AWD has served us well, since we live on an acreage and can get snowed in once in while
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2000 GMC Safari

Trim: SAFARI COMMERCIAL VAN black
by foggy699 on 11-26-2012
very nice clean reliable family van with all power windows,seats,digital advisor tells you fuel km
i couldnt ask for a better vehicle especially with 5 kids its ideal for getting everyone around safe and sound and never run out of gas because nit tells you and winter time gotta love seat warmers its never let me down well taken care of just want to downgrade since most kids are gone its to big for single guy now
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 GMC Safari

Trim: Safari Passenger Trailer Package
by AZRoadRunner on 11-09-2012
Great for traveling
I wish that GM was still build these because I love mine. I have 205,100 KM and this thing runs light a top. I travel a lot and I wouldn't be afraid to take my van anywhere. This vehicle has required virtually no maintenance other than oil changes and tires, batteries etc. did put in new shocks and plug wired about 50,000 KM ago. The leg room could be better but because you are riding a seat that is higher and is more like sitting in a chair so there is not much need for leg room. I have pulled a 25' holiday trailer at highway speeds in California which at times was more than 800 miles/hour. I love the dutch doors in the back, a really useful design. Like I say I would drive this forever but my wife is starting to want a new vehicle badly so I expect I will be selling my beloved van late next year.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1999 GMC Safari

by kathy3147 on 11-08-2012
it is an awesome winter vehical
it never let us down we feel safe in the winter i would suggest this vehicle to any family.lot's of room not the best on gas but other thing's make up for that.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 GMC Safari

Trim: Safari Passenger
by Olivia on 11-04-2012
Treated us well...
It is a gas guzzler, and it has needed a lot of small repairs.. but it has treated us really well since we got it new in 1998!
Overall
3.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 GMC Safari

Trim: Safari Passenger
by murball on 11-02-2012
its big
the primary reason we bought the safari was 8 passenger capacity ... with a large family the typical 7 passenger mini vans available in 2001 were not big enough.
I had owned a 1995 Safari - but this was the 1st brand new vehicle I ever purchased.
In hind sight it was not a bad decision ... we're still driving the van 10 years and 200KKm later .... however I will never purchase a GM product again - in the last 10 years I've had a few Hondas and a VW ... I think my next purchase will be a Honda SUV
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 GMC Safari

by Cevyn_55 on 10-20-2012
Great AWD unit
We opted for an awd version of the Safari van and were very happy with it's overall and general performance and it's appearance. Our's came with the 3 door rear system, the top glass area lifted up and there were 2 lower doors that opened like a regular car door, making it easy to place things further into the back instead of leaning over a drop gate or the problems of having that huge rear lift gate that was very restricted in tight parking spaces. The tranny was smooth and fuel economy was not too bad for an awd van.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1996 GMC Safari

Trim: LS
by mikeautos on 10-13-2012
Good Hauler
This truck was bought new by my family and remained there until we sold it at 295,000 km. In our time with the vehicle, we had to do a few repairs like new oil cooler lines, a new transmission and a new rear door.

The vehicle could carry almost anything and was great for towing our boat.

The ride was truck like, which made sense since this vehicle was a cousin to the Chevrolet S-10 pick-up. It basically is a work truck with 8 seats. However, unlike most minivans, it could carry 8 people and all of their luggage.

Torque from the 4.3 L V6 was great, but fuel efficiency was not.

We would drive the vehicle all year around and even though it was rear-wheel drive, it could handle the snow without much issue.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email