Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

GMC Jimmy 1987-2008Change

36 reviews
4/5
GMC Jimmy
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2008
1 review
2002
2 reviews
1997
1 review
2006
1 review
2001
2 reviews
1996
1 review
2005
4 reviews
2000
6 reviews
1995
1 review
2004
5 reviews
1999
3 reviews
1994
1 review
2003
2 reviews
1998
5 reviews
1987
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 35 reviews
1 2 >

2001 GMC Jimmy

Trim: SLT 4x4
by 93Harley on 09-24-2014
2001 GMC Jimmy SLT
I bought this SUV used. This is a great vehicle for in town and on the highway, has great gas mileage compared to other SUVs. It is great in the snow and easy to switch into 4x4.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 GMC Jimmy

by Viz on 06-22-2014
No problems with this car
I have used this car for more than 2.5 years and never had a break down. Minimal maintenance required. Good for city and long drives. Recently started rusting a bit. Overall very satisfied
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 GMC Jimmy

by wilsonma on 05-29-2014
Great family mover
lots of room front and back great comfort during long drives. 4x4 saved me a few times. As with any older suv's gas milage could be better i drove manly in town.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 GMC Jimmy

Trim: SLS
by JEff5802 on 01-07-2014
Great 4X4
Great 4x4 that can drive through anything. Great Reliability, parts are cheap, and repairs are easy.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1996 GMC Jimmy

by GMC6319 on 09-24-2013
Great shape
Has always been reliable. Comfortable ride. Great mileage on the highway . Carries A large loads. Has tinted windows. Has had a lot of recent work do on the Jimmy.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 GMC Jimmy

Trim: SLT
by Jently2013 on 08-15-2013
Excellent Condition
A great little SUV for any driving ability. Perfect for road trips, off roading, camping, and just day to day driving.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 GMC Jimmy

Trim: slt
by GRM on 04-17-2013
Solid Truck
Bought the Jimmy new - alot of truck with alot of function - the 4.3l v6 is one of the best v6's I have ever owned - strong, reasonably efficient, and smooth.

Very reliable - in 15 years nothing but fluids, tuneups, brakes, shocks and tires..

They dont build them like that anymore
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 GMC Jimmy

by tager74 on 03-27-2013
An enjoyable suv
It gives a comfortable ride for a 4x4. Lots of kick when you need it. Has comfortable seating in the front and rear. Rear seats fold down creating lots of cargo space. Not very feul friendly.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1987 GMC Jimmy

by VassagoOmega on 03-17-2013
It's a TANK!!
I bought mine with 150k KM on it and doubled the mileage in two years. The powertrain was extremely durable and reliable, regardless of what I drove through. I never got stuck, even in the worst snow. I even pulled plow trucks out with this little beast.
I had heard that the 4.3L was a gas pig, so I had opted to stick with the 2.8L. Don't let the size of the engine fool you, that little engine could pull more than it's weight. The only major work I had to do, was clean out the EGR passage through the intake manifold. But once I had done that, it passed the e-test, without even having a catalytic converter on the system.
Only problem I had, was rust in the rear quarters. Other than that, this was the little truck that could!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 GMC Jimmy

by edfry on 03-09-2013
97 jimmy
97 jimmy has minor electrical problems. wipers stop anywhere, replace alternader a few times. very poor on gas
Overall
2.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 GMC Jimmy

by Oralee on 02-05-2013
I have always loved driving my Jimmy ZR2!
Since I was 17 I have always owned a GMC Jimmy. My first was a 1985 Jimmy and now have to part with my 2005 limited edition GMC Jimmy ZR2 GFX. If I didn't have two little kids to try and squeeze into the back seats I would keep it for as long as it ran. It has been reliable and I just simply love the look of it! It has been my baby and I hope the next owner enjoys driving it as much as I have.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1998 GMC Jimmy

by Wise on 01-15-2013
Good Car
Most reliable car i own. I certify that this review is accurate and is based on my personal experience with the vehicle. Great for all weather jeep.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
2/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 GMC Jimmy

by Truly on 01-14-2013
Jimmy
For a 4x4 the Jimmy is not bad, however, it does not corner well at all. Any mid to high winds are easily affecting you in motion. You need to remove the back tire to see out the back window. Gas is average usage and it tows well. Fair reliability.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 GMC Jimmy

Trim: SLS
by Jimmy03 on 01-13-2013
Got lots of power good engine 4.3L vortec
Good wait SUV: not to big not to small good ground clearance. Got my Jimmy in 2006 cant kill this engine had it used with 55,000 km now at 220193.7 still going strong no holes in body only a little bit of surface rust a little sanding and paint good as new and a oil spray every year good to go! Had my oil changes every 5000 km odd ball joint and your odd brake job to bad GM & Chevy stop making Jimmy's & Blazer's actually had a 1998 Blazer also last time I seen my Blazer it was up to 365000.07 km and still running : Why is it when got something good going Gm cancels the model might try a Tahoe next rather have a Jimmy or Blazer.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 GMC Jimmy

by anghell on 01-11-2013
it is a terrific ride
this suv has been great... it handles good and has lasted a long time ... the driving experience has been over all satisfactory and is a great small truck to learn how to drive with . it is just right for a small family with room for storage in the rear.. i would recomend this small sports utilitty veachile for begginers drivers ...
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 GMC Jimmy

by suvandat on 01-10-2013
Someone please drive it over a cliff!
Our GMC Jimmy has all the bells and whistles; but, it is still the worst vehicle I have owned. Electronically, it constantly breaks down: for example the 4x4 doesn't always work, or the clicking from a signal light keeps clicking even though the signal light isn't on. Major functions like the entire engine, the water pump and fuel pump need complete replacement right after a huge job on the rear brakes. The door hinges loosen and the entire door hangs lop-sided - meaning you have to lift the door as you close it. Inside panels fall off. Seat heater won't shut off. As soon as we repair one thing, the next thing goes. It has caused us so much expense we can not save to buy a better vehicle. It has put us into a catch-22 of have-to-fix-it-to-get-to-work-to-make-the-money-to-pay-for-repair.
Overall
2.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1995 GMC Jimmy

by colbyhillier on 01-10-2013
Great little truck!
This car was great and served me the purposes that I needed it for. Great on gas and runs awesome for an old truck!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1994 GMC Jimmy

by huckie905 on 01-09-2013
JIMMYS AMAZING
Ive gone offroading i have hauled many boats and various sized trailers it is a very powerful and extremely reliable v6
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 GMC Jimmy

Trim: slt
by 98-jimmy on 12-31-2012
mid-size suv
good handling but top heavy and alot of body roll good acceleration smooth on the highway brakes are great and strong engine and if well maintained the gas mileage is not that bad over all for late 90's mid-size suv I love it
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 GMC Jimmy

by phillynomenon on 12-20-2012
the J I M M Y
great ride . very dependable, moved myself with it a few times.
had a sunroof installed professionally as well as a Kenwood deck with Monster speakers and subs
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 GMC Jimmy

by Reliable7048 on 12-13-2012
Reliable
A great car and has been for years. It has never broken down or given me any issues. The next owner will have a great set of wheels to cruise around in!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 GMC Jimmy

by Cassidy on 12-01-2012
Very dependable but very expensive.
Great vehicle for dependability, a safe 4 wheel drive for winter. Have had for 10 years and have not had to do much at all to keep it in good shape. Very expensive to fill up the tank-
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 GMC Jimmy

by CrazzzzySky on 11-28-2012
What a nitemare!
It costs so much to drive this thing! It is 4 wheel drive and always something going wrong with the thing! Unreliable! I would not suggest this vehicle unless you are able to soak a ton of $$ into it for gas and repairs!
Overall
2.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 GMC Jimmy

by suiteypies on 11-28-2012
it's reliable
I've owned several and I wouldn't buy anything else. The four wheel is a necessity to get in and out of my driveway since it has a steep incline and gets covered in ice in the winter because of surrounding trees. It has never failed to get me out.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 GMC Jimmy

by feelgood71 on 11-27-2012
strong for it's size
I have owned this vechile for 4 years and put very little money into it for maintenance. it's been a very reliable and steady truck in the winter, 4x4 is a big plus with the 4.3 liter vortec it's strong.
I still haven't been stuck anywhere.

the only Con for the truck is gas mileage it get's 20 mpg highway and 16 mpg city . and with rising gas prices this wouldn't be my first choice now.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email