Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Ford Windstar 1993-2012Change

94 reviews
4/5
Ford Windstar
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2012
1 review
2004
2 reviews
1999
6 reviews
2009
1 review
2003
22 reviews
1998
13 reviews
2007
1 review
2002
16 reviews
1996
2 reviews
2006
2 reviews
2001
9 reviews
1995
3 reviews
2005
1 review
2000
14 reviews
1993
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 90 reviews
1 234 >

2003 Ford Windstar

Trim: Sport
by DCB5903 on 08-08-2015
Very comfortable ride
Absolutly NO RUST and tires like new , great engine , transmission new wipers front and rear...trustworthy , very comfortable ride
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Ford Windstar

Trim: SEL
by hey8614 on 06-08-2015
This has been a great family vehicle.
We have owned this car for ten years and have been very pleased with its reliability and comfortable ride for everyday driving and on long trips.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Ford Windstar

Trim: Northwoods
by Jerry5493 on 10-08-2014
Bought new and served us well
Great family vehicle (seats 7) for holidays camping and skiing. Towing the trailer is no problem. No oil leaks. Always been reliable for us.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Windstar

by loriman on 09-02-2014
Smooth ride, great for family or even everyday use. Great on fuel
Bought this car, thinking it was in good shape. However, lots to fix up. Lots of electrical problems. I have trouble shot this veh, and fixed everything. It now is like brand new. The fuel economy is excellent. It could use a change of suspension later down the road (around 4 years) but It rides smooth. Lots of life left and would be great for a family, or even commercial use - take out chairs.
Haven't had this for long, but now that it's running immaculate, and sound, it's a very nice ride. Low enough for someone with limited movement or disability.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Ford Windstar

by conniej on 07-28-2014
Great minivan with lots of room
I bought this car second hand from a senior couple who had been the sole owners. It has proven to be very reliable both in town and on highway trips from Ontario to Saskatchewan. Lots of room for 7 passengers plus a great storage area in the back. Exterior has barely any rust and interior is like new.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1998 Ford Windstar

by Alhenry on 05-02-2014
Reliable and Economical -great vehicle for a family of 4 to 7
I have had the car for 12 years and had my son not given me his vehicle I would have continued to drive the van for another 12 years. At this point in its life, I'm sure it will go for another 100,000 miles plus, with just ordinary maintenance.
I usually have three oil changes per year and switch the tires between summer and winter.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Ford Windstar

Trim: SEL
by familyman170 on 04-25-2014
Its a very reliable van with features ahead of its time!
We bought the vehicle when our first child was 4. We now have four boys and this van has been very user friendly with the power sliding doors, reverse sensors (lets you know if anyone is behind you) and the power adjustable height pedals come in handy for my wife who has shorter legs. Its been very reliable and has only required normal maintenance like fluid changes, brakes and an alternator and battery. Great vehicle all around!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1998 Ford Windstar

by Alhenry on 04-25-2014
Robust, Reliable and low cost maintenance
I bought the van used in 2003 for $8,000 and am still driving it eleven years later so what does that tell you. Even if I use zero as the present day value, the van has cost me just $700+ per year. There has been no major issues -just the normal maintenance and repairs - brakes, tires etc,
I had the axle fixed when Ford did their recall and last year I replaced the rear springs and shocks to get a better ride and had some rust around a wheel well repaired.
I will be very sad when I have to let her go.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Windstar

by GrayMinivan on 01-29-2014
Works great - is that asking too much?
It's a 2003 Ford Minivan - but it does what is expected of it.

Now - by 2003 standards - a VHS?? Really? And the seats didn't fold into the floor. So - Ford was not able to keep up with the times.

But - I had no issues with the vehicle. So in that sense - I wish Ford was still making their minivans.

Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Ford Windstar

by Dena on 01-16-2014
Never buying a Ford again.
My husband loves Ford and when I needed to buy another vehicle he talked me into buying this one. We bought it used and never got it inspected (big mistake I know), the insurance company needed a more recent inspection report (it came with one that wasn't very old). I took it in for an inspection and was told it was not road worthy and it would take a minimum of $700 to fix. I paid that and got it fixed and not long after that started having issues with the doors not unlocking. Now the electronic sliding doors will not open at all. I was told it would cost more to fix then to buy a different vehicle. With 2 kids and one on the way it is a real pain to crawl through the front seats to buckle my daughter into her car seat!! Going used car shopping tomorrow and will definitely not be looking at Ford!!!
Overall
2.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Windstar

by LaFs on 11-05-2013
Excellent Vehicle
I have owned this vehicle for 4 years and have never had a single problem with it.
It is great on the highway as well as in town.
Quick to respond and handles well.
Low mileage and great on gas.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Windstar

Trim: Sport
by AndrewB on 10-09-2013
beautiful ride
Have had Ford vehicles since I started driving, hands down the windstar was the best and most reliable vehicle.
I now drive a Ford Freestar and miss driving the Windstar.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Ford Windstar

Trim: sel
by vanman1178 on 09-04-2013
very reliable
iI have had this van for 3 years and only had to fix a few minor issues.It has never not started or left me stuck even when the alt light came on and off it still started every day untill I fixed it.I have had all three Caravan,Venture and this Winstar has been easily the best of the three.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1995 Ford Windstar

by Cosem on 08-30-2013
Nice comfortable van
As second owners it has been very reliable for us. We had to move into a truck and will miss this vehicle.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Ford Windstar

Trim: SEL
by Colfy on 05-24-2013
great for families
Great space for the whole family. Reliable. Low Kilometers. Easy seat removal to haul large loads. nice highway driving. 2nd owner bought at 65000 km in 2004. No longer have a large family. I enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone with a family. Love the door features for quick drop off at school Kiss and go areas.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Ford Windstar

by Satisfied1180 on 03-28-2013
Windstar is Awesome
I love our windstar. It's roomy and very comfortable. When we eventually need another one. We will definately buy another one. Which will be even more awesome than the one we have now.

Very satisfied customer :o)
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Ford Windstar

by Dar on 03-26-2013
Happy
I have had this car for 11 years and this van has been reliable and has done alot of traveling for our vacation , has been good for if we need to we can use it as a camper so we have a place to sleep. Has been good on gas. My family can use it when they need to travel and go for holidays too. It has been a very dependable car, and when i do go to get another car it will be very simular to the same. It also has been a smooth running vechile with a few repairs.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Ford Windstar

by Agorapro on 03-26-2013
Windstar Reliability
We have had the mini van since it was new. We have traveled all across the States and most of Canada. It is decent on gas mileage but we have been so fortunate not to ever have any major repairs needed.

I would buy another on a heart beat
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Windstar

by comfivan on 03-26-2013
its a comfortable van
Its a comfortable van for a family of 6. In terms of performance its very good. It don't give us any major problem.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 Ford Windstar

by tpeters1975 on 03-25-2013
Still going
This van has been very reliable. I have owned it for 8 years and it still sounds and feels as good as the day I got it.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Ford Windstar

Trim: SEL
by RickZ on 03-25-2013
Dependable Family Vehicle - Low maintenance costs so far
We purchased this 2002 SEL Windstar brand new. we have approx 110,000 miles on the original engine with only the cam synchro replaced once with a used part to boot! not bad, this van has only cost me tires, brakes, one alternator, and wiper blades. the battery is still original, never changed a spark plug, and i have switched to full synthetic oil, which seems to burn a bit more than the regular stuff, no big worry. the check engine lite will come on, but disconnecting the battery seems to take care of the problem for now. power steering gets whinny from time to time, and driver power window doesnt work, but those things are to be expected for a van that is 11 years old. Third row seat is very heavy and does not easily remove from the floor if you need the space. CD player only worked for about 1 year and then ate CD's but we don't use CD's anymore anyways. Headlights could be brighter for those dark, difficult nighttime drives. highbeams are very dull even after replacing the lenses. Traction and drivabilty in winter/snow weather is second to none. Feel completely safe passing on almost any kind of winter roads, and the power is nice too.. Acceleration is a bit slow, but once it kicks into gear, it rockets past with the V-6. Other than the odd headache from time to time, this windstar has basically cost me nothing more than the purchase price.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1996 Ford Windstar

by T2X on 03-23-2013
I would think twice
I purchased my Ford Windstar in 1998, and I just got rid of it last year. Personally, I would never purchase another one again, and I would probably think twice before buying a Ford vehicle again. First of all, this vehicle averaged about $1000.00 per year in repairs - these repairs were often due to the plastic parts cracking or breaking. Second, so things that would normally be easy to fix with the engine were very difficult, as the whole engine needed to come out of the car to get to one small part. This was unnecessary, and cost me a lot of money. Third, the fuel expenses are too high, and would deter me from purchasing a car like this again. I think there are so many other options for good fuel efficient, and well built vehicles out there, and in my experience the Ford Windstar is not one of them.
Overall
2.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
1/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1999 Ford Windstar

by hnatiwa on 03-15-2013
I love my van
I had some engine problems that were difficult, but once they were fixed I fell in love with my van all over again. I love the extra luxury features I have, especially my auto sliding door as I am a busy mom with 3 young kids.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Ford Windstar

by Chloe4443 on 03-12-2013
It's a terrific Van
It is excellent, I didn't have problems when i was riding.
Comfortable, nice.
I drive a silver 2002 Ford Windstar Van since 2004, it is completely practical for me, perfect size.
I traveled with my gorgeous Van few times from Toronto to Otawa, Montreal, Niagara Falls a few times too, it was excellent, I have no problems, everything was okay, I am happy with my Van.
Amazing trips I went to others places too, with my whole family, a few of them from Spain to visit us, so we can go different places with them with my gorgeous Van. I love my Van, always good.
My car have a lot of meaning for me, My Van never give me problems, I put new shoes (tires 4) because of snow, and rain so on, needs to be good.
Despite the years that my Van has still giving me good service.
I hope when I have to change for other one be like this Van.
Inside is pretty, silver too, no broke, clean.
Thank you
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Ford Windstar

Trim: sport
by glascon on 03-11-2013
Don't waste your money on a new van!
This van has been in our family since 2002 and I haven't regretted buying it. Sporty styling combined with a spacious and comfortable interior will have you drooling while driving. We have hauled 4 x 8 sheets of drywall(with rear seats removed) without a problem. Average gas mileage(I get 25 mpg highway)but given that newer vans get 30+ mpg this van is a deal. We currently have 360,000 km and it still runs like a top and does not burn or leak oil. This van had its issues about 4 years ago when the torque converter needed to be replaced....then the tranny went about 500 miles after that.....dealer fixed tranny........tranny went after 2000 miles.......dealer replaced at no charge with a new factory tranny and we haven't had any problem since. It has a couple of quirks.....check engine light will go on and off(dealer checked....no problems), sometimes power lock on drivers door will not work so you need a key to open the door. The front and rear heater/ac keep us toasty warm in the winter and cool on the hottest days. I would buy another Windstar before wasting my money on a new van!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 234 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email