Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Chrysler Neon 1998-2011Change

40 reviews
4/5
Chrysler Neon
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2011
1 review
2003
1 review
2000
15 reviews
2005
1 review
2002
10 reviews
1998
1 review
2004
2 reviews
2001
9 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 39 reviews
1 2 >

2002 Chrysler Neon

Trim: LE
by Rod7977 on 04-14-2014
Great fuel economy.
The car was driven by one person and was serviced on a regular basis. The mileage was mainly highway between Delta and the Pacific Highway border, approx 40km round trip.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Chrysler Neon

Trim: LE
by Neon070 on 10-29-2013
it's really a great car...
Never had problem with it.
good on gas.
brand new tires.
nice for winter.
block heater works good
over all excellent car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Chrysler Neon

by Beauty9285 on 10-22-2013
My Car = "Beauty"
I bought my car last year it had 110 000 kms on it, now it has 210 000 kms and it still runs great,
Love the fact that it's fuel efficient/family car,
great for traveling,
this is my first starter car & I never been happier
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Chrysler Neon

Trim: LE
by jaye on 06-08-2013
Chrysler Neon 2002 LE version
is it a Dodge or a Chrysler, hahaha,

I wanted to correct somone's posting on there car and to confirm the following

The car has it is now old nearly 11 years old is not going to be fantastic and mine has been into the garage a few times but would not say its "a nighmare" its simply an old car! It has not had good comments and most mechanics refer to it as junk. It's always started in winter mornings, only once had to change the battery which is probably ok seeing as I'm in Canada. Its best to get (if not fitted a battery blanket).

There are a few tweaks that need doing, so you best to get onto a forum and check which TSB's need to be done, recently changed the input output speed sensors, again a cheap DIY job.

The lower suspension arm bushes went , that wasnt cheap, but when fixed made the car handle great.

The LE model is a higher end range, but if your looking for a higher spec you probably want a SRT.

It DOES have central locking and an alarm, but annoying that it does not have power windows or the passenger mirror can only be adjusted from the outside... now thats a bit crazy!. Electrically operated trunk is standard on the LE.

Good car to tinker with, slighly under powered so you need to push it, but the 2.0ltr is extremly economical, getting 450kms on a tank.

I used to drive a Porsche, so this is a big come down, if your buying check it out, make sure you get all the paperwork, check for MORE than surface rust and if your going to buy one, get onto a DODGE NEON web forum, the guys will help you,

If you get a 2000 model around $2k (CAN) thats about right

Headlights are expensive so make sure they are nice and clear or the guy gets them polished (around $50 or so)
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

1998 Chrysler Neon

Trim: like new
by NEO on 03-18-2013
A good ride
Its a really good ride

doesnt gobble up alot of gas
good driving over potholes..looll
good suspension ride

Now that the car is fixed..new brake lines
new brakes in front and back
like all cars..if you pay to get them fixed they will last longer..lol

Very few rust spots...
no rust at all on rocker panels.

Body looks almost new.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Chrysler Neon

Trim: LE
by Saleem on 03-16-2013
Useless peice of Junk
This car is a nightmare for any car owner. I never own a worse car in my life. It let me down so many time - actually everytime I depended on it. LE model is junk in particular as it comes with very very basic package. It doesn't even have a central lock system - you have to manually unlock each door. It doesn't have anything to open the trunk, you have to have a key to open the trunk. The day I sold it was the best day of my life.
Overall
2.0
Comfort
2/5
Performance
1/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
1/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Chrysler Neon

by quinn94 on 03-14-2013
really good car
my car needed a tuneup in 2012 and the oil needs to be top up very frequently but other than that is is a very well running car and i have had no other problems with it
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Chrysler Neon

Trim: RT
by Leeser on 03-07-2013
Its a fun reliable car
I love this car and if I could afford to keep both cars I would. I bought the SRT4 model a bit newer version. The SRT is my 5th neon.
I bought the car almost 3 years ago and it has never let me down
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Chrysler Neon

by Katie3151 on 03-05-2013
I love my Neon!
The purchase of my 2000 Chrysler Neon was one of the best decisions I have made in my life! I've owned it for almost 5 years now and had to put MAYBE $500 into it altogether(of course, not counting gas and insurance!)

I definitely recommend this car.. It's very comfy- I'm a 5'7" female and I have tons of leg and head room. The trunk is huge for a small car too! It's really fun to drive!

The fuel economy is so-so.. It's quite good for city driving, but once you get out on highways with higher speeds, you're definitely going through gas a lot faster!

All in all, I definitely recommend a 2000 Chrysler Neon :)
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Chrysler Neon

by akema13 on 03-04-2013
alright ride
it is an alright car for it being my first i paid 1000 but had to pay over 2000 in repairs.... which wasnt fun... first chance i get im getting a new vehicle...
Overall
3.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Chrysler Neon

by mememe1188 on 03-03-2013
cute little car
it was great on gas, easy to drive and clean, not the most attractive car, but it was great on a budget, and it did the job, it was not a sporty car, and didn;t have a lot of get an=up and go, but like i said a great budget car
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Chrysler Neon

by danny5968 on 03-02-2013
i loved it
its amazing it has lots of power and great on gas its perfect for a starter car its also comfortable lots of trunk space acceptable interior space and pretty good interior design great car for subs as well even better with a turbo :) and some mods
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Chrysler Neon

by dannymanny on 02-14-2013
Amazing Car
My very first car and I loved it! I got into a car accident and had to trash my car! if I had the money I would have definitely fixed her up but unfortunately it was time to move on :( I will miss that car! She was so comfortable is a great ride I would speed around town in her and feel amazing!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Chrysler Neon

by Truly on 02-10-2013
Neon
The Neon is very basic car with lots of quirks. It's inexpensive on gas, but can have a fair number of repairs. Overall it doesn't feel like it's built well either. I'd suggest having a mechanic check it out prior to buying one.
Overall
2.5
Comfort
2/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Chrysler Neon

by PaulMeatspin on 02-08-2013
Cheap ride
That a cheap car, nothing more to say, You pay for what u get. No big maintenance cost. Cheap to run and low on gaz. Cheap interior without rear power windows
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Chrysler Neon

Trim: Black
by Anne8038 on 01-30-2013
The start of sedans
This car is a great example of manufacturing working together. Made for highway trips and cruising, it does lack in the department of rough roads and icy weather. Economical and well thought out.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Chrysler Neon

by Neon_beauty on 01-22-2013
Reliable Car
Our car has been excellent. We have had it for 12 years, very few issues with the car. She has almost 300,000 km and still runs well. Still has the original clutch.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Chrysler Neon

by GingeyFlor on 01-22-2013
Not bad for a small car
It's has a pretty comfy interior and runs pretty well for an old model. It is pretty reliable too. It would be better if it had a better fuel economy. It is good for a first car.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 Chrysler Neon

by irkhanbasc on 01-20-2013
This was my first car and it was a good one
I bought this car new from a Chrysler dealership in Mississauga in January 2002. I decided that I would be satisfied if I got ten years out of the car and, as it turns out, I have gotten eleven. Part of the reason that my experience was good was that it has received regular maintenance from the service department of the dealership almost every 5000 km. As well, I have had no unexpected breakdowns except for one time when the radiator burst and a couple of punctured tires.
Many of the parts have been replaced over the years (new radiator, new battery, new K-frame) and the vehicle has received regular maintenance for engine, transmission, brakes, steering, alignment, etc. The body is still in great shape; must be the rustproofing. Overall, the car still runs much as it did when I drove it off the lot all those years ago.
In any case, I need to sell the car now because I have a new car and I won't have enough space for two cars come February. It's time for this car to find a new home. It's not a great car but it's a good one, and it's generally been quite reliable. If the new owner is just looking for a car to last for a few years or just needs a second car, and if they maintain it reasonably well, he/she should be quite satisfied.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Chrysler Neon

by lutraphobia6 on 01-19-2013
Neon
Did the job. I got this car to borrow for almost a year. For a first car it was good enough, It leaked and always smelled in the back when it rained. There were actually puddles in the wells in the back seats. But it had good steering which was better than the sonoma I also drove. Sometimes i had to do 3 point turns to park that truck. But with the power steering I could park in any spot no problem. It was reliable enough and for its age it wasn't in too bad of a condition. the speakers were really bad in the back but i think that was because of the water damage. The speakers werent very good to start.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Chrysler Neon

by mjbridges on 01-18-2013
Good Starter Car
They're great on gas and cheap to insure. I think an added bonus is that if you're a do it yourself-er, there are many of them around so it is easy to find replacement parts. This is a decent starter vehicle for young people learning to drive.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 Chrysler Neon

Trim: LX
by WesternFive on 01-14-2013
Not bad
Decent winter driver, pretty good on gas, and has been fairly reliable. This was my first car and treated me well. Not the best looking car you'll ever lay your eyes on, but for how cheap they come, worth every penny.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Chrysler Neon

by Monster1988 on 01-02-2013
its a good ride
ive had this car for about 10 years its been good to me but the only bad thing is the transmission in 10 years ive had 7 different ones i no what your thinking ( bad driver) but its auto so ya you might want to think about it but everything else is great i drive everywhere everyday and i maybe put in 75 bucks every 2 weeks so i think its great on fuel the style to this car is pretty basic its not one of those cars where it turns heads but it is a car for a long term all and all i love those car
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Chrysler Neon

by gulo24 on 12-19-2012
reliable car
bought it about two years ago. already changed the timing belt and water pump at 120,000 kilometers. change the spark plu, gas pump sensor a year ago. but all in all the car is pretty much reliable. hasnt given me any headaches at all. haven't used the car that much this days since my work is near my home right now but all is well.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Chrysler Neon

by will1 on 12-15-2012
poor
It rides like a wheel barrow without a wheel. Too much road noise because of insufficent jnsulation.
Overall
2.0
Comfort
1/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email