Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Chevrolet Sonic 2012-2016Change

20 reviews
4.5/5
Chevrolet Sonic
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2016
1 review
2014
3 reviews
2012
9 reviews
2015
2 reviews
2013
5 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews

2014 Chevrolet Sonic

by coolmom on 07-10-2014
sporty and gas efficient
I love driving this car, the turbo gives me a boost to pull out in traffic. Love the color, style, features(backup camera, on star, side airbags),and I can fit 3 teens in the backseat. It's comfortable, reliable, great on gas milage.
I have had so many compliments since I got it. I definitely would recommend it to others.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Chevrolet Sonic

Trim: Standard
by Chantal1854 on 02-12-2014
great gas and dependable
This was only driven by Grandpa for a year before he became ill. He loved it, but can`t frive anymore so is selling. Super dependable, no issue, great tires and he loved the remote starter feature!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Chevrolet Sonic

by JM68 on 02-11-2014
Great car with great features!
Awesome car in design, function and fuel efficiency! Huge trunk and ample leg room in front and back. Driver bucket seat hugs your body for a comfortable drive. 2 glove box spaces are handy as is the driver armrest. Great dash display and handy steering wheel controls. Great visibility for driver with wide windshield and rear window. A nice ride, overall. And looks great too!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Chevrolet Sonic

Trim: LT Hatch
by neromanceres on 05-05-2013
Excellent Car you get what you pay for
The Sonic Hatchback is an interesting car. It's small on the outside but gives a surprising amount of space on the inside for a subcompact. I'm 6'1” and over 300lbs and I'm comfortable in the car. I can even fit well into the rear seats (unlike the Ford Fiesta where I can't even get into the back seat). The new for 2013 Mylink system with 7” touch screen is very nice and works well. The car is very quiet and the interior materials are good for a car in this price point. This car is a little more expensive than some of the other cars in this segment but you also get more for your money. The Sonic handles very well and the transmission is well calibrated and smooth. We have the Sonic with the 1.8L engine. It doesn't produce a lot of torque on the low end so performance isn't spectacular but it moves the car well. For people who value performance the 1.4L Turbo might be a good choice to try.

In short this car is a nice all around car with great usable space that rides and drives like a car that is more expensive than it is.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 Chevrolet Sonic

Trim: RS
by qqqqqqqqqqqqqqq on 02-02-2013
Sporty Hatch
I loved the styling of the sonic since it came out in 2012. At the end of 2012 GM introduced the RS trim. It immediately struck my attention. The RS styling is further enhanced with a ground effects package, rear spoiler, redesigned fog lights, and nice 17 inch titanium alloy wheels. Inside a leather interior with front seat suede inserts, a touch screen infotainment system. The RS rides a little bit lower and has a sportier suspension compared to the other Sonic models. Overall I love and enjoy my car's look and performance. The 1.4L turbo with a 6speed manual provides a fun and economical ride at the same time. Pricing is a little bit high but for around $2000 more than the LTZ trim, it adds many nice features. I believe that there is not many subcompact hatchbacks that can compare to the Sonic RS. I read reviews that it could use more power etc., but I believe that for the car's size and weight, it zooms around quite nicely. Sure one cannot compare this car to a VW GTI but then one can also not compare the two price tags.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2012 Chevrolet Sonic

by Derrty2k5 on 01-15-2013
it's a great car for a starting a family
Great car runs great, cheap to fill up even with todays gas prices and can get a good 600km from a tank of gas which isn't bad for 50 bucks
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Chevrolet Sonic

by Jerald on 12-27-2012
My Opinion of the Chevrolet Sonic
My experience with this vehicle thus far has been good. It gets me from point A to point B for an affordable price. It doesn't have the power you want when you go full throttle, but this vehicle wasn't meant for that. The people sitting in the back might feel a little crammed. This car would be good to own if you live in the city because you don't need to go too fast, and this vehicle has this eco-boost technology that will help save you some gas. In the end, I enjoy my Sonic because it's a fun little hatchback to cruise around town in.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Chevrolet Sonic

by 102Geoff on 12-18-2012
Well Worth It
My wife and I bought this car after selling our 2008 Aveo and the Chevrolet brand has once again come thru for us. The car is great on gas which is very important these days.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Chevrolet Sonic

by 102Geoff on 12-18-2012
Well Worth It
My wife and I got this car after trading in our 2008 Chevy Aveo and the quality Chevy products shows up again. I love how the car is very fuel efficient.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Chevrolet Sonic

by whitedeath8819 on 11-01-2012
sonic review
great small car and fuel is cheap. new vehicle is always best for experienced drivers if you can afford it. if not get somebody you can trust to help you find a good used car
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 Chevrolet Sonic

Trim: LTZ Turbo
by Esmond on 10-16-2012
fun new compact hatchback
- fun sporty styling
- fun handling in turns and curves
- easy to drive manual transmission
- ergonomic interior with good storage
- solid architecture/platform
- good on gas
- 1.4L turbo model recommended
- fun sporty looking dashboard
- a bit slow due to tall transmission gearing

Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email