Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Chevrolet Lumina 1978-2017Change

24 reviews
4/5
Chevrolet Lumina
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2017
1 review
1997
6 reviews
1993
2 reviews
2003
1 review
1996
4 reviews
1992
1 review
1999
2 reviews
1995
1 review
1991
1 review
1998
3 reviews
1994
1 review
1978
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-21 of 21 reviews

1998 Chevrolet Lumina

Trim: BASE
by Davesauto1 on 04-26-2014
CHEVY LUMINA BY DAVE
Well if anybody knows thee vehicles they are the very best on gas i can say this 110% positively i have owned 2 of them and still do
look them up they have a 5 star rating for safety which is fact from what i have read online and from experience i can say this vehicle rides quite nice the only thing you have to make sure you clean and (only) with proper electrical cleaner (canadian tire) and clean the mass air sensor once in awhile.

dont let a garage say it is shot until you try this first because i have known this from experience. stalled cleaned the mass sensor and ran like a new car.

P.S. NOT SPEAKING FOR CHEVY BUT TO ME THIS IS BY FAR ONE OF THE BEST VEHICLES THEY HAVE EVER MADE IN THIS FAMILY OF CARS PERIOD.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1996 Chevrolet Lumina

by --------_ on 01-26-2014
Low Low km
This car has been great and reliable and drives like a charm. whoever gets this vehicle will be happy with the result and i hope they make it last because it is still young!!!
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1998 Chevrolet Lumina

Trim: lx
by Davesauto1 on 10-25-2013
the lumina awesome vehicles
these cars are the very best yes they need work but you will not find a better running car around when they are running good you will (never have to worry about it not running for you even in the coldest times have had these cars for 5 years now and yes things go but ths is due to crap others just leave and leave it for others to fix and give you the crap story that yes its okay and has a mvi for another year this means crap folks take a guy who knows about these cars and they will spot these things right away look at (all( the rear end and the front end for the control arms (a must) if you see any veins in these RUN AWAY DONT WALK other then this have a good look under the cars for the rockers these are bad for these as they wear out but if i wasnt sick and tired of working on these cars i would forsure keep these for another 10 years best chev they ever made and owners will also tell you this for a fact unless they leave it without working on it for 12 years and when it goes they say and complain well this car is junk well hello you didnt fix anything when it was needed this is the only reason these cars go on you .
Only problem was with a 1997 the control arm was about to rip off.
thanks
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Chevrolet Lumina

Trim: Standard
by PeterBevan on 09-07-2013
Owner's review
I've had the car since 2000, and it's one of the best cars I've ever owned. It's very reliable and looks good too. It also has tremendous power, and will get you where you need to go.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1999 Chevrolet Lumina

by John9729 on 08-29-2013
Sharp looking, comfortable ride.
I love the remote entry and trunk opener, it makes life so much
easier. It is a pleasure to drive in town and on the freeway.
I find the car roomy and comfortable.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1991 Chevrolet Lumina

Trim: z34
by keith1234 on 05-27-2013
nice ride
good running car handles good, mint exterior needs some interior work. Never a problem with starting comes with after market stereo. New struts on rear. Rides very nice. No accidents
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1996 Chevrolet Lumina

by xoxostephy on 03-26-2013
Good old reliable car
This car has stood the test of time. Still runs great and looks good. Could be better on gas.. but what do you expect out of a 96?
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1999 Chevrolet Lumina

by Chevy_Lumina_99 on 03-12-2013
first car
Pretty decent car, runs well for it's age. Gas is good. Pretty long car, but it has great seat space and trunk space.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1996 Chevrolet Lumina

by Leslie6143 on 01-24-2013
12 years and still going!!
I love my car I bought it 12 years ago and put regular maintenance into it. I have never worried if it will get me where I need to go. It has over 300K kms on it and still my friends ask me if its sactually run as it runs so quiet. Only in the last year or so has it started to have a small oil leak but until then the engine always stayed clean. I love my car!!!!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1997 Chevrolet Lumina

by osiada on 01-19-2013
Reliable and comfertable ride
Owning this car for 15+ years with no major repairs needed since taking it home from the dealership. I can say confidently that it is a reliable vehicle. The interior is nice as well I am a larger person and have trouble finding a car that has a wide seat that I found comfertable but this car has nice wide seats.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Chevrolet Lumina

by robitZA on 01-10-2013
Nice Ride
Nice working car. loved the heated seats especially on those cold Canadian winter mornings.
Nice size with plenty of room for entire family.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1997 Chevrolet Lumina

by IceTrillium on 12-19-2012
Great car
This car runs beautifully. My favourite vehicle thus far. Very comfortable, stylish and roomy. When getting up to speed this baby purrs. On a less positive note It is hard on gas and the paint job didn't last as long as it should have.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1978 Chevrolet Lumina

by scorchie on 11-27-2012
good car
Really puts on the km well and long lasting. Reliable easy maintenance cheap on the parts. Owned this car for 8 months now bought it for 600 dollars and put about 500 dollars into it for a safety. ever since the care has really amazed me in how well it still performs even after 360 000 km on it.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Chevrolet Lumina

Trim: LS
by 97chev on 11-23-2012
Comfy Cruiser
This is a comfortable family sedan. I have the 6 Passenger version, with front six-way power drivers seat, dual zone climate control and CD Player. Engine is very adequate, shifts are slow but easily merges onto the highway and has no problem beating your typical ricers. Great highway mileage my best so far 8.4L/100km highway. This car is no too great in the city mileage wise. Low maintenance vehicle. Solid and safe vehicle.

~115000Kms~
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1992 Chevrolet Lumina

Trim: z34
by york on 11-13-2012
nice but can be expensive
nice ride and looks, good handling and power but very expensive to fix as motor is time consuming to work on...you better be rich or have the time and be able to do your own repairs. As a side note, gas mileage for driving in city seems similar to a new equinox...strange but true.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Chevrolet Lumina

by dorky on 11-10-2012
Take a look at what i think about this car who am i a previous owner
The car was reliable and drove well but had a reguler up keep with hard to find tools it was rliable for the most part but did need small repair alot the exhaust fell off but what ten years old 2
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

1996 Chevrolet Lumina

by Evforever on 11-04-2012
'96 Chevrolet Lumina Van
This van has always been reliable, over the past 5 years and 2 cross country trips, I've had to replace break pads once and other basic maintenance, very fuel efficient, roomy and the large windshield makes your blindspots smaller and making it easier for you to drive
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1997 Chevrolet Lumina

by Ale1 on 11-02-2012
Lumina: A comfortable ride
My Lumina has been a very reliable ride for over 11 years. It is also a very comfortable and smooth daily drive for me to get to work. Most repairs have been routine maintenance(oil, brakes and tires). It has definitely paid for itself and then some.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1994 Chevrolet Lumina

by Charby on 11-01-2012
V6
These were a great highway cruiser, but nothing overly great. Brakes are bad and suspension requires repairs.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1993 Chevrolet Lumina

Trim: 4-door Sedan
by IvanTrader on 10-17-2012
Nice car for restoration purposes (just change the engine)
It's a create car internally, comfortable with lots of room. The main problem is the engine, it's too big, but does not produce enough power. It would be a nice car to replace the engine in for a smaller or just better performance engine and redo the interior with leather and other bells and whistles. Max speed of the vehicle by the way is set to 140km/hr.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1995 Chevrolet Lumina

by bluestone on 10-17-2012
Friend's Lumina
To date, I don't recall having so much leg room, arm room, any room in a sedan. But apart from an original external appearance, the fun ends there. The fuel economy was simply miserable. One of friends owned this car simultaneously when I had my 93 Civic (reviewed earlier). At times, it seemed like I was getting double the mileage. Ultimately this vehicle was an unwise investment, although the purchase was pretty cheap to start. Like most American models, it was ravaged by incurable terminal illnesses to its most functions in its old age. May it be forgotten.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email