Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Chevrolet Aveo 1997-2017Change

72 reviews
4/5
Chevrolet Aveo
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2017
1 review
2008
11 reviews
2004
11 reviews
2012
1 review
2007
10 reviews
2003
1 review
2011
5 reviews
2006
6 reviews
2001
1 review
2010
5 reviews
2005
11 reviews
1997
1 review
2009
8 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 62 reviews
1 23 >

2008 Chevrolet Aveo

Trim: LS
by Jane1933 on 07-18-2015
Most reliable car I have had
I bought this car brand new in 2008 and the only issue I have had besides the usual brakes was the stereo system. I had to have it replaced 4 or 5 times but it was always covered under warranty - the dealer and the Chev engineer had never seen this issue before. I was just replaced the oil gasket after 7 years as it was leaking - wasn't as expensive as I thought it might be. I bought the manual transmission and have really enjoyed booting around the city and cruising on the highway. It is roomy enough that my 100 pound yellow lab sits in the rear seat and can easily lie down! Perfect car for those that can't afford luxury and want reliability!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Chevrolet Aveo

Trim: LS
by Gabriel6805 on 12-07-2014
Great on gas
I have never found a car that has better fuel economy than this one! It is an awesome car overall, it’s safe, reliable and comfortable. You are able to connect your phone or mp3 player to the AUX in to play your own music.

Highly recommended!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Chevrolet Aveo

by DThompson on 11-29-2014
Was Good, Then nothing but problems
I have had this car for 5 years now. At first I loved it, it was so small that it could fit anywhere and I loved the colour (orange) I could find it in any parking lot. I even loved the style so much that I am now looking into getting the Suzuki model that looks exactly the same.

The problems began after the first year. First it was that my transmission fluid had gotten black and sludgy even though I had changed it when I was supposed to. Then it was 2 simultaneous oil leaks one was the pan and the other was a much bigger ordeal. This car has and foreign engine and for that reason a lot of repairs that should be simple are not, in this case there was a $4 tube that had a tear which was leaking ALOT of oil but it was located underneath the transmission so I had to pay $800 for this repair. Any of the other brands model of this same car this repair would have been under 100$...

The problems only continued with little things such as the latch on the gas cap constantly getting jammed despite being replaced several times, so I always had to have my trusty screw driver to pry it open if need be at a gas station... Or the trunk door handle jamming constantly causing it not to latch closed (this was also replaced more than once). Also the recall on the lights which apparently catch fire but the dealership still doesn't have the parts to get those fixed...

Then the check engine light....oh that light which never leaves no matter how many things you fix, including the sensor just incase. With spending approx $200 a month this past year this car still had 7 codes that come up and still almost stalls at intersections (mine is automatic) and goes through half a tank in gas driving less than an hr. Among several other issues, finally after giving this car 4 years of chances and becoming several mechanics best friend (because after having so many issues I made sure to get second and 3rd opinions just incase), enough is enough and I am saying good riddance to this car.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo

Trim: LT
by BBROWN on 09-10-2014
Couldn't Ask For More!
Mom owned, son driven. Then son owned, mom driven lol. Small and compact, has the get up and go when you need it, and it's always been reliable. Never left me stranded, never had any unexpected issues. Was under extended warranty for an extra 3 years so it's been all up to date with everything. The car was treated well and in turn it's treated me well!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 Chevrolet Aveo

Trim: LS
by Jacquie3338 on 08-26-2014
Great, economical car
This has been a wonderful car and lots of fun for me. It`s been reliable, and comfortable. It has lots of space, particularly, when you fold the seats down.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Chevrolet Aveo

Trim: RS
by Ioz on 08-22-2014
Great Commuter
Great on gas and a stylish look. Perfect car for a student or someone wanting a reliable commuter car.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2010 Chevrolet Aveo

by RedAveo on 08-03-2014
Excellent Fuel Saver
Excellent ride for a smaller vehicle Lots of trunk space especially when the seats are folded down. Excellent winter car always starts with no problem.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Chevrolet Aveo

Trim: LT
by MAP on 07-12-2014
This car served me well
This car has never given me any trouble. It handles well in the winter. Great for a first time car. Good for a student. Very large trunk.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Chevrolet Aveo

Trim: LT
by Greg8 on 04-11-2014
Great car for a good price!
It is fantastic on gas, easy to drive and very comfortable. The interior design is great, and it has a lot of awesome specs that many cars from the same year don't have. It is a great commuter car, very cheap and efficient to get you from point a to b. The trunk is big which is always beneficial and scheduled maintenance is very easy and affordable.

I gave the performance a 3 star rating because it obviously isn't the most powerful car. The engine is small, but that helps a lot with fuel efficiency. Other than that it runs very smoothly and I definitely got my moneys worth!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Chevrolet Aveo

Trim: LT
by PB89 on 06-28-2013
Do your research first!
This is my second Aveo hatchback. My first was a 2007 (see review by PB89). My 2007 was amazing, never had any issues and held up through a high speed high side impact crash. For these reasons I decided to replace it with a 2008 that had 30,00KM's less on it (bought it at 23,000KM).

Do not buy a 2008. I cannot stress this enough. I've had nothing but issues since I bought this car and its newer then my old one! In this car the speakers have stopped working, only the passenger side front works. The air conditioning has already stopped working and is now in for extensive repair.

But the biggest most annoying issue is the horrid noise that comes from the drivers front area when you are driving 100km's+ and/or its really windy. It sounds like someone blowing across a jug except it sometimes gets louder and its more frequent. Turning up the stereo doesn't work (especially if the speakers aren't working!). Our mechanic shop cannot find anything actually wrong with it and further investigation online proves a lot of other aveo owners having the same issues because it is just the way the car is made.

Don't buy a 2008 model and look into other years prior to purchasing.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2010 Chevrolet Aveo

Trim: 2010 Chevrolet Aveo5 LT
by Jenny5239 on 04-15-2013
Its a Great car
This car is very reliable and it offers alot of features
smooth ride and has power when you need it highway driving no rattling still nice and smooth air conditioner is cools the car quickly and the heat is the same
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Chevrolet Aveo

Trim: LT
by PB89 on 03-30-2013
Amazing Car I will Miss
I've got a 2007 Chev Aveo Hatchback LT. This is my first car I've ever owned and I loved it to pieces. Unfortunately I was "T-boned" in an accident a few days ago and it would appear that it will be a write off. This car is great for anyone learning, it is incredibly roomy and the amount of stuff you can cram into this car will amaze you. Great on gas and in its last shine it protected me very well and I am very lucky that I did not get more damaged. Thank you little car for saving my life, I am looking to get the exact same or similar again.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 Chevrolet Aveo

Trim: LT
by princezzdes on 03-23-2013
LOVE IT
i love this car. it's handles great and the gas mileage is amazing. i made a 5.5 hour trip and didn't have to fill up until i was ready to head back home.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Chevrolet Aveo

by kimmykid on 03-18-2013
looks like egg
Lots of maintenance but good on gas looks like egg very roomy interior is too close to seats and unless you special order options just a boot around car
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 Chevrolet Aveo

by CRAL on 03-15-2013
Reliable and Affordable
I've had this car for a few years now, I bought it as a University student. It's been great on gas and a great little first car! I would recommend the car to anyone who needs a basic car that is reliable and good on gas.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Chevrolet Aveo

by ahiusser on 03-13-2013
Nice looking car, but...
The car is great on gas, but it is built for a very small person. There is ample room in the back seat and in the trunk, but I find my legs get cramped when I drive the car. My biggest complaint is the exterior styling of the car. It looks okay, but the car is too tall and narrow and every little gust of wind catches it and throws it all over the road. My other chief complaint is that the car is too light and while it wouldn't matter in good weather, I'm from Canada and I slide all over the road anytime it snows if i don't weigh my Aveo down. As far as repairs go, I have put 80,000km on it in four years and have done very little work to it - mostly regular maintenance. I liked the car when I purchased it, but after driving it for four years, I can honestly say that it is just average and I probably won't buy another.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Chevrolet Aveo

by missyp23 on 03-09-2013
Great on Fuel
the Chevrolet Aveo, is a great car and good on fuel, the design of the car is perfect, It is perfect for a family car. I love this car for long road trips, or basic trips to the grocery store. The trunk has a surprisingly good amount of space.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Chevrolet Aveo

by Kaylina on 03-04-2013
Love the gas milage!!
It's a great car, it is small...fits in small places and is great on gas!! I would recommend this vehicle to anyone who is looking to save money...
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 Chevrolet Aveo

by jakdonark on 02-02-2013
2010 Chevrolet Aveo
I've had this car for over two years. It's been extremely reliable and is driven 60-70 kms every day in both city and highway traffic. Fuel econmy is great, power is adequate, and it's comfortable for 4 large adults. I would recommend this car for commuting or for a small family for short trips.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 Chevrolet Aveo

by Vit100 on 02-02-2013
Nice car for city/commute
i have it since 2004, 125000km driven - no problem.
change oil every 5k.
There were 2 GM recalls - minor issues, were fixed in 30 min by GM.
nice car.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 Chevrolet Aveo

by Amzing on 02-02-2013
Amazing
This car is great on gas, fits in all spots. The design doesnt make it look like a cheap little car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 Chevrolet Aveo

Trim: 5 star
by llm3645 on 01-25-2013
excellent
ive been driving this car for 6 years, i havent had much problems. I would recommend this car to anyone, whether new drivers or old drivers. Id say the color blue looks sharp, but any color will do
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2009 Chevrolet Aveo

by Aveo5494 on 01-25-2013
Standard City Car
This a simple car, good on gas, and is basically good for driving in the city. It doesn't feel that solid or safe, so its no family car by any means. But, if you had a family and this is the only car you have, then it will do the trick. Its not terribly fast, but its not meant to be. I would say it should belong mostly to a college student.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Chevrolet Aveo

by Brittany92 on 01-24-2013
Very Fuel Efficient
This car was originally bought by my mother, who then sold it to me when she bought her Dodge Avenger.
Very good on gas.
The hose to the coolant was changed, head gasket, DRL was all changed...
Overall
4.0
Comfort
2/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Chevrolet Aveo

by Mac1 on 01-21-2013
The Aveo
Pros: This car is species inside for a little car, its fuel efficient and has a nice size trunk. It is also compact so it fits in to small spaces. It performs well at high speeds.

Cons: The timing belt is good for 70,00km (when you change it, get the timing belt kit, which comes with a new pulley water pump and gaskets.) and if something goes wrong like the idler pull you have to rebuild the entire engine. The day light running lights don't stay on all the time, and you always feel all the bumps when you’re driving. The power doors sometime get a mind of their own and when driving on the hwy and its windy you really feel it.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
2/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 23 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email