Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

BMW X5 1994-2016Change

97 reviews
4.5/5
BMW X5
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2016
1 review
2009
5 reviews
2003
13 reviews
2014
2 reviews
2008
11 reviews
2002
7 reviews
2013
3 reviews
2007
9 reviews
2001
4 reviews
2012
5 reviews
2006
13 reviews
2000
1 review
2011
6 reviews
2005
6 reviews
1994
1 review
2010
4 reviews
2004
6 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 97 reviews
1 234 >

2014 BMW X5

by gpmotorun on 11-19-2017
what is good about this car
well i bought x5 in 2014 brand new its ride great looks great and only little bit bad about is the sits because they are really not comfortable but you can live with it.Fuel is not that great it does eat up alot and ride it self secure and safe.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2016 BMW X5

by rambam on 11-10-2017
It's an amazing car
Comfortable drive, amazing car. comfortable feel, cameras very helpful for parking anywhere, bird eye.






Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 BMW X5

Trim: 35D
by sdfriesen on 08-23-2017
Sweet Ride!
I recently purchased one of these, and LOVE it! Handles like a sports car, awesome on fuel, great tourque on the hills, and nice pull around town. A++
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 BMW X5

by BMW4sale on 02-24-2017
Fantastic ride
The drive of a BMW X5 is amazing. Lots of room for passengers, 7 seats, or storage as the last 2 rows of seats completely fold down.
Mileage for the diesel can't be beat! 800 kms per tank!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 BMW X5

Trim: M sport
by BMW20134084 on 02-08-2017
Fun to drive
Have owned 2 X5 and I love it. Strong sturdy car, I felt safe knowing that my children were safe in this vehicle
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 BMW X5

Trim: M sport
by Beemer_Driver on 10-31-2016
One of the best SUVs
Secure, Reliable, Dependable and Comfortable.
I have been driving 2 of them since 2006.
Prefer them over Porsche, Mercedes and Lexus.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 BMW X5

Trim: sport
by BlackSapphire on 09-21-2016
Great ride
Great ride, solid vehicle with superb handling. AWd provides confidence in all weather. 85 litre tank and run flat tires.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2013 BMW X5

Trim: Silver with towing package
by perforamance on 08-29-2016
It was a terrific ride
As would be expected from an over $90,000 BMW X5Drive32i SUV, for four years the Vehicle had delivered terrific performance and comfort from the $18,000 spent on our annual maintenance over that time period, excluding warranty. Certainly, as an owner you can feel the prestige of driving this BMW down the street, with superior exterior styling and the comfortable interior. The fuel economy was OK, but certainly a bit pricey due to the need for premium gas fill-ups. Then unexpectedly as my daughter drove down the 407 Highway she heard an engine knock and acceleration gave out, thank god she was able to pull over safely. We had the Vehicle transported to our dealer for assessment, where we heard the diagnosis, that the engine needed to be replaced after only four years and 140,000 KM of usage. In hind site, the price/performance of the vehicle, safety of my family and now the concern with resale value given our experience should have been a bigger part of our consideration. Certainly, one does not expect any vehicle never mind a premium brand to have such a short viable life span before requiring major repairs.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
1/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 3 found this review helpful.

2012 BMW X5

by Michelle7481 on 05-15-2016
Gorgeous but unreliable and expensive without warranty
I love the look and feel of my X5 Diesel, however, it breaks down, if it isnt one little thing its another. It is under warranty until 2018 (bought extended) but I have to say, I will be getting rid of it before that because if a person had to pay for any repairs, they would go broke. Buyer beware of any BMW without a warranty.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2007 BMW X5

Trim: Sport
by Romaz on 05-08-2016
Nice truck but horrid reliability
The car itself is pretty nice and looks great but the BMW x5 series seem to be BMW's lemon series. Issues with just about everything, engine, transmission, differentials, cooling and electrical systems. Every issues is also $1000+ to fix.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2007 BMW X5

Trim: 4.8i
by iceman208 on 12-02-2015
Family and Performance in 1 Pkg
The 335hp with 335torque means that this car can haul its weight with no problem.

It's not easy on gas, especially in the city so try to have as few stop-and-go and engine off/on moments as possible.

Interior heats up quickly in winter.

General maintenance can be affordable if you shop deals and avoid the dealership (ie: bought engine oil from WalMart on sale, and had a shop do the change, with the filter bought from the dealer). Know you're stuff or research, and money can be saved.

Performance: It flies! Add the extra wide tires at the back during summer (315 in back and 275 in front), and stability, looks, and ride quality grow beyond anything else!

Family: Backseat is very comfortable. Third row seating is for little people. Back seat reclines and adjusts similar to the ones in the front. Climate control w/seat warmers available in the back also

Winter ride still has to be done...but recommend winter tires.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2014 BMW X5

Trim: xDrive 35d
by Best_in_Class on 08-24-2015
The Boss of all SUV's
Pretty Solid.
Extreme Performance.
Ultra Luxurious.
Ultimate Engine.
Second to none fuel consumption.
Monster torque and acceleration.
Comfort ride.
Variety of options and features.
Impeccable Design.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
4 out of 6 found this review helpful.

2006 BMW X5

by Brad1506 on 06-07-2015
great suv overall
Love my X5 but its getting on in mileage and years. still drives and handles great. a few bumps in the road but overall most people love driving it. Interior is in great shape and the body has no rust.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2006 BMW X5

Trim: Premium Sport packages
by MacJames on 05-17-2015
It is an extremely safe for highway driving
Car has been very reliable and safe vehicle for our travels south and back, pulling a trailer with golf cart for 7 years. We have never had a problem until this year when the battery finally gave out after 8 years. Never had another problem.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 BMW X5

Trim: LOADED
by TJLeslieMotors2 on 01-27-2015
The Best of the Best
Simply the best. Comfort, Power, Safety, Toys, Convenience. SUV with fold down seats makes it the most versatile. Can't be beat!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
0 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2006 BMW X5

Trim: 4.4
by Porsche991 on 12-15-2014
2006 BMW X5
The 4.4 BMW X5 is a awesome year round vehicle. It rides great, and is very good in poor driving conditions. This SUV is very luxurious and good on gas.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 BMW X5

by x5xdrive on 11-29-2014
x54.8i
The branding for the X5 from late 2008 onwards follows the new BMW nomenclature scheme, for example the X5 3.0si is now called the X5 xDrive30i, and the X5 4.8i is called the X5 xDrive48i.

Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 3 found this review helpful.

2008 BMW X5

Trim: V8 4.8i
by x5xdrive on 11-28-2014
white bmw x5 2008 4.8i
pros: highly acalimed one of the best ssuv its still nice looking everybody wants to drive
cons: requires special attention and expensive to maintain
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2008 BMW X5

by carchic on 11-13-2014
Piece of Garbage
When I first bought this car, I loved it! It's responsive, it's powerful, it handles like a car on corners but this car soon let me down over and over and over again. I will NEVER buy another BMW because of the experience I've had with this vehicle. I have spent approximately $15,000 in additional expenses over the past 3 years because of issues that were no longer covered by the warranty. I have had an electrical gremlin since I bought the car and that causes numerous issues on a regular basis but the entire fuel system has been replaced, the coolant system currently needs replacing and I can't even remember how many other parts this car has had replaced. Even still, I'm in the shop every other week for additional issues. As soon as one thing is fixed, another goes wrong! Just yesterday, while being towed back to the dealer yet again, the driver said he could live off of just towing BMW's and Mercedes!

AVOID THIS CAR!!! Save yourself unbelievable amounts of frustration and money and run in the other direction!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 3 found this review helpful.

2011 BMW X5

Trim: Executive Sport Premium
by Hakima on 11-12-2014
Amazing piece of machinery
It's the most amazing vehicle I've driven very sad to sell it for business reasons.

So good on mileage its your money's worth.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 BMW X5

by BMW-X5 on 10-28-2014
BEAUTIFUL PIECE OF MACHINERY !
never had any problems with my BMW, & what a great smooth ride! Holds on the highway amazingly even on the worst snow & ice storms! Got to experience it, to know it!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2011 BMW X5

Trim: X5 XDrive 35i
by Moha9374 on 10-18-2014
My lovely BMW
The vehicle that was be ready all the time for me. Even in worst winter condition in GTA, It's never put me down.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 BMW X5

Trim: LEATHER
by BMW8136 on 10-08-2014
GORGEOUS VEHICLE
This has been an amazing car for our family. Unfortunately we are in need of a bigger SUV and sadly will have to give this one up. We never had any issues whatsoever with it...this vehicle will make someone very very happy.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2001 BMW X5

Trim: 4.4i
by Guersh on 09-26-2014
Beautiful SUV
My experience with this vehicle has been amazing!
It drives in snow like no other suvs. Great handling!
Summer rims (19" staggered) give it a muscly, sporty look!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2006 BMW X5

Trim: Sport
by 2006X5 on 09-17-2014
X5 is a piece of ART!
Love this SUV. Solid and Comfortable to drive with great horsepower! Perfect for young profession and young family.

Definitely will go for another BMW SUV. It is a piece of art!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 234 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email